Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 219ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun

5+    8/4/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course with good variety. Lots of options with multi tee pads and baskets. Tees easy to find and course is overall very easy to navigate.Very fun when not crowded.
Cons: This place gets crowded in the early afternoon on any nice day.If you want to play with no crowds, get here early! Some fairways run close so an errant throw can put you on a fairway where you don't wanna be. Lots of big crowds here. I have got stuck behind groups of 5- 8 people playing that ignore the rule of let faster and smaller groups play through. This is why we go elsewhere to play most of the time.
Other Thoughts: The simple fact is that the hampton roads area needs many more courses to play as big as it is. I find myself and my girlfriend taking the drive to Munden Point where there is never a crowd.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

NOB sailor likes the "hometown" course

5+    3/30/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice flat course with easy tee-to-basket sight.

Moderately wooded which gives the course a challenge for skilled and amateur players alike.

The course was recently remodeled, so it seems like a brand new course to play.

Two tees and two baskets on each hole give the course a nice variety when playing.

Easy to follow layout with hole numbers on each trash can at each tee.

Two practice baskets to help with overcrowding while practicing your putts.

There's a port-a-potty near the parking lot for "quick use" and a larger building with both male and female restrooms for the "extended stay".
Cons: Lots of dead leaves on the ground make it difficult to find discs that slide under them.

There are still a lot of "divots and potholes" so be careful when treading on the dead leaves. I've almost twisted my ankle more than once.

A huge amount of overcrowding can be a problem when traveling with a group. I seem to do just fine when traveling solo, but I still have to play through a few groups.

The course seems a bit cramped between holes. If you miss the fairway on one hole, you seem to be on the fairway of another. It's very close quarters.
Other Thoughts: After the remodeling, there are no benches at any of the holes. Apparently, the city had ordered the wrong benches and are waiting for the correct ones to arrive. It's been about three weeks since the remodeling and I've yet to see any benches placed on the course. I'm not sure when they will be there, so plan on standing the whole time or taking a seat on the ground. It doesn't bother me at all, but for some it's a hassle.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Combinatorics Fore You

2-4    4/5/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of combinations.
Cons:
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of potential other tee, fairway, and basket buzzing - better have a good set of lungs when crowded!
Other Thoughts:
The course is set at the end of a multi-purpose park, with a main road forming one side, and houses/fenceline the other side. In-between with have a steady, but very gently, upward-sloping land, and randomly-scattered upon it, tall, but relatively small-diameter trees - a nice setting for a disc golf course, with no underbrush, so minimal chance a disc loss.

With four choices of tee location and two baskets per hole, the choice of how long to play the course is completely up to you. Short-to-short is fine for newer players, and offer experienced players a lot of birdy opportunities. Long-to-long provides a good challenge for intermediate/advanced. Want it harder still? Go find the toeboards!

The scattered trees do typically suggest a preferred throwing lane, but the trees are far enough part that on many holes secondary lanes abound, and it is often easy to recover from a wayward shot, although this likely means you're throwing from a neighbouring fairway. The primary throwing lanes require a variety of left/right/S/no turns from the tee, but few, if any, are overly sharp, and primarily mid/late fairway.

Tee areas were top notch. Signs, with distance information, at both concrete tees. Shorter tees also has bag holders, benches, and trash cans. Most of the toeboard tees were findable without too much looking.

Navigation: With the excellent map, not too bad for this first-time visitor. Short tees to short baskets has the most natural flow, i.e. minimizes backtracking. Tee-1 and tee-10 both start near the parking lot, and it is simple enough to include, or exclude, the two extra holes between 13. and 14.

A solid course. Although the terrain is fairly homogeneous, the multiple baskets and tees offer a variety of lengths and throwing lanes. Worth a visit if in the area, but if playing in a fully-attended tournament, wear a helmet!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in VA Beach

1    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Family friendly course
-Variety of skill level play
-Restroom on site
-Good map of course at hole #1
-Good location
-Cement tee pads, signs at each hole*
-Clean course
-Easy course to navigate
-Not much of a chance of losing a disc
Cons: -Fairways a little tight
-People walking dogs through course
-Course could be interesting on a busy day
-No big arm drives, mostly all wooded play

Other Thoughts: Fun course! Was vacationing here for a few days and course was easy to find. Played in the morning on a Saturday, so do not know how crowded it could be in the middle fo the day. A few people playing when I was there, but in no way a crowded issue. Nice course that has been around since 1977 from what I understand. Nice restroom facility with good parking. Apparently there is a baseball field and kids area on the other side, but did not see it as I was just there for the course. Pretty much entire course is in the woods, but not so much that you could loose a disc here. The only place I could see someone losing a disc would be on whole 17 where there is a small marshy area with high grass and water. Two different tee pads to throw from. Most shots from the short pads were around 180-220', with the long tees around 210-300' to the basket from what I remember. Cement tee pads were in good shape. Tee signs at every hole* except for hole 13(b-c). I found 13c but didn't see 13b?? These two extra holes had wooden poles with numbers marked on them at the top, I guess for each extra hole. I believe there is a picture of one of them on here. Plenty of shade with the obstacles providing it the only real interference to the basket. My biggest concern on this course was just the fairways being close together and playing this course on a busy day could get very interesting. If you play on a busy day, be aware of other golfers throwing around you. Clean course with trash cans around. There are benches on the course at different holes. Oh, there are also different basket locations for each pad you throw from as well. Basically two tee pads and two baskets for each hole, which is nice depending on your skill level. While you don't need to throw big here, the course does provide a fun game for a beautiful afternoon, or morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Signs with distances and pars
-Color coded baskets
-Not to bad mix of lefts and rights.
-Practice basket
-Multiple tees
-2 baskets


Cons: -Very tight shoelace layout
-Have to be cautious when ripping them when others are around which could lead to a bad kick off of a tree into another lane on a different hole.
-Not to much variety or suprises though
Other Thoughts: Fun little park in Va beach that we stopped at to play while down in the area.
Very packed on a Thursday afternoon and I can only imagine what its like on the weekend here.
Ha almost got a contact high while playing the courses ;).
Solid city course as far as im concerned!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Rounds

2-4    11/25/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 tees and 2 baskets per hole
- lots of benches
- concrete tee pads
- trashcans
- tourney board and practice cage at the start
- Hole 1 and hole 10 both close to the parking lot
- Solid opportunities for aces
- 2 bonus holes
Cons: - Graffiti
- Not overly challenging
- Leaves swallow discs
- Park can get super busy
- Small/tight layout
Other Thoughts: Bayville...this is a 20 hole course that's in a city park...the park isn't the biggest, but whoever laid out the course did a pretty good job of fitting everything in. There are 2 sets of baskets and 2 sets of tees, so there is essentially 4 courses, although the difference in tees isn't overly drastic. Enjoy long tees to red cages for a solid, fun game.

There are lots of benches throughout the course, and there are signs at the beginning of each hole showing the basket locations and course layout. Some of the basket markers have been warn off, but it's still pretty easy to work it out. There are trashcans for trash...the course is mostly devoid of trash. It seems that, despite how busy it is, it's well taken care of.

The extra two holes are nice (13b & c.) There are some solid ace opportunities here, especially if playing short to short. Downside...there are conversations taking place via sharpie on the hole signs, mostly about cigarette butts. The course is a solid beginner to intermediate level course, and is in my VA Beach rotation when playing with newer players for that reason.

The course can get pretty slammed, and some of the holes line up next to each other, so be sure to call out if you have a wild throw...it's not uncommon to hear "fore" regularly. Nicely though, hole 10 is also right next to the parking area, so if there is a line @ 1, you can take off on the back nine instead.

There are mostly hardwood trees which are currently dropping a ton of leaves, and these leaves swallow discs. We played the other day and spent a ton of time trying to find our discs in the leaves, regardless of what color they were.

There are some really fun lines, and some good mandos too. Navigation is a little shaky in that you can't always tell which basket is the one you are aiming for, but it was relatively easy to figure out based on the signs and a little common sense.

All in all, Bayville isn't the most difficult course, but it IS entertaining, and it's easy to get to and find.

On a more personal note, I have yet to meet a grouch on this course. All the locals are super chill and happy to help/point you in the right direction.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but not very challenging

2-4    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: LDietz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nice well maintained course.
2. With short and long tee boxes as well as short and long baskets there are really 4 coursed in one here.
3. Good beginner and intermediate course.
4. Trees to keep you on your toes and provide summer shade.
Cons: 1. No elevation. Not the fault of the course; what else would you expect on flat land.
2. It is not always clear which basket is the correct basket for the tee you might be standing on.
3. Fairways are sometimes too close to each other and an errant throw can sometimes land where someone else is playing.
4. No tee shots required a left turn or a right turn. You always had an option to go either way. This doesn't force a person to learn varied shots.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing here. There were several other disc golfers near the parking lot and they were all very friendly and helpful. They pointed out the first tee pad and gave us some hints.

My background: I'm 68 years old and have been playing about a year and most of my tee shots go about 200 ft. I've played 11 courses in 4 states, so take my comments with that in mind.

I like the fact that you can play 4 courses (short-short, short-long, long-short, or long-long) although I only played short-short (twice).

Although this is a wooded course, if you don't hit the trees, even an errant shot usually provides a good opportunity to get within putting range in 2 shots. There are very few bushes or dense tree populations to block shots. I never found the need for a thumber or tomahawk.

To find the next tee box just look for the red basket at the hole you just played, then look for the closest concrete pad. This worked for all but one hole. I don't remember which one. Navigation was only slightly difficult the first round and much easier the second.

Suggestions to those who maintain the course:
1. Put white numbers on the red baskets so they will be easier to see.
2. Put arrows pointing to the basket on each tee box.
3. Try putting the porta-potty on level ground.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Reliable

1    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs at each tee showing basket positions and distance.

Very good concrete pads. Multiple pads foreach hole gives you several distance and options when playing the course.

Two baskets for each hole. Yellow plays in the shorter position with a red basket for the alternate or longs. Both baskets were in excellent condition at every hole.

Lots of trees and shade. Not what I'd call woods or a true technical course, but there is enough trees everywhere to keep you honest.

Porta potty near 1, 18 and practice basket. Bag hooks at most of the holes.
Cons: Older course so things were a little crowded. Many baskets are visible from the tee pads so in some place it was a little confusing for a first timer out there.

Some of the holesmhad unmarked alternate tee pads. I think it was mostly on 13, 13b and 13c. I hate the hole 13b and c thing. Just renumber the damn holes. But maybe that's only my problem???

Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent little course. It's similar to some of the older ones in that there isn't a ton of room between holes and tees. There also isn't a lot of long holes. I think the max holes here were right around 400' and there was only a couple of them. Many of the holes are in the 220-300' range. One of those courses where you can play a quick round just using a putter and mid.

Course has lots of what I'd call scattered trees. This usually let's you pick out a line and go for it. You are almost never forced to make a specific shot or shoot a certain line here. But if you are inaccurate there are enough trees to punish you.

Zero elevation. No ups, no downs. Zero water shots or lost disc opportunities. Pretty much just basic, solid disc golf. Not really any bad holes here, but there really aren't any memorable ones either. It is certainly worth playing if you are nearby, but not worth a long drive either.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/9/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've played lots of courses in the tree, but this course really does have achievable tree holes. Each hole has its fair share of woods, but there is a defined route to get to the basket without just getting lucky. Also, many opportunities to refine your short game. I also like the option of being able to play 4 diff. courses. You could play either basket off of each tee pad...2 pads and pins per hole.
Cons: No elevation. Everything is flat.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of benches, bag poles, and bathrooms around. Good little course to practice refining your game on. I will definitely add this course to my summer playlist.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville

5+    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No wait time during the weekday. I love how the front and back 9 end in the same area. Can be in and out in 45 min if needed.
Cons: I wish that there wasn't so much light interference at night with traffic and houses. Glow golf would be way more fun. Big groups on weekends and evenings. Should be a a rule of no groups bigger than 5.
Other Thoughts: Seems like the club does change some of the basket positions regularly. Thumbs up on that! Great course check it out if your in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.