Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: MattWithTwoTs Hole #8 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / 246ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great place to play on that beach vacation

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked tee pads with good signs.
2 tees, 2 baskets per hole, for 4 looks.
Plenty of benches and trash cans throughout the course, clean park.
A good variety of shots through some thin woods. You gotta bring out most of your shots here.
Hard packed sandy greens, makes approach accuracy important
Cons: Not many, it's pretty flat, but it's right on the coast so that is to be expected. It's really hot and humid in August, but again that's to be expected. There were some downed trees and branches that need to be cleaned up, but I'm sure that's not normal.
Other Thoughts: If you are going on vacation in Virginia Beach, or a local getting into the game this course is worth a visit. Every hole has at least a couple different lines to take. The trees are not thick like I'm used to in western Maryland, they are more spaced out, but the course is well designed in this environment. This course rewards a good gameplan and well placed shots. You can get skips for days on this hard sand.

Overall, I think it's a fun course. Clean, well maintained and well marked. Worth playing if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great fun place to play

2-4    6/20/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: xred54x
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout, flat course without major hazzards. A great place to practice and develop your shots.
Cons: Crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Just wish I had this park close to my home. I would play here all the time if I lived closer. Park envy all the way from Connecticut.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than 3 stars

5+    12/17/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: DgDamon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I started at Bayville nearly 15 years ago and after moving out of the area played it 5 times this week while visiting the area. The new layout is great and allows you to play 4 different courses.

Tees: Concrete, all in great shape
Signage: Excellent, easy to understand
Baskets: Also great

The holes are challenging but not impossible. The two practice baskets plus benches and trashcans on every hole help this smaller course bat above it's length.
Cons: It can get crowded on weekends. The primary crowd is a little rougher around the edges than other courses I've played. The leaves are an issue in the Fall but there could be snow so leaves are a small price to pay.
Other Thoughts: While there's not a huge grassy bomb on this course it has everything else you'd want, even a guy selling discs in the parking lot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Bensontbjj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signs
Shaded nearly the whole way
Great parking
Cons: Some holes are close to one another, I heard four yelled a couple of times :-)
Other Thoughts: Really had a good time on this course. Will be fun for advanced and novice both.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 love this course

5+    1/3/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: Zootaroonee
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tees. multiple tees. there are either multiple tees or baskets for each hole. there are also some dirt tees marked with sunken posts that are kinda hard to find but it makes for a possible 4 courses in one depending on which baskets you are shooting at and from what tee. Not much elevation change so its easy to walk. They change the basket placements fairly often so it keeps you on your toes if you play there regularly. Tees 1 and 9 are almost right next to each other and between them are the 9 and 18 baskets so you can play either 1-9 or 10-18 or both and end up right back at your car. Plenty of trees to challenge any play style. Trash cans, benches, and well manicured grounds.
Cons: the course intertwines so sometimes you might throw at someone 3-5 holes ahead of you by accident. Keep your head on a swivel here if you see more than one group as discs will come by you. The whole park in general is wicked fun but they only have porta-potties. Seems a shame considering how nice the rest of the place is.
Other Thoughts: the two extra holes are at the far end of the park. they are marked as 13b and c ( i think its 13 anyway). They are easy enough to find tho~ they are at the other end of the course from where you start :) Most certainly if you are in Va Beach for any length of time you'll want to stop thru. There are on occasion big storms that go thru va beach and knock down trees. Sadly last year a couple *charlie brown kite eater* trees were knocked down and made the course different. The multiple basket placements were brought in to save the day. :)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice trip to VA

1    7/6/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Everything is very well marked and it is easy to find your way around. There are multiple tees on some holes and multiple pins on others. the course is nice and open for all its shots. no areas were your disc can get lost.
Cons: They say it is a 20 hole course i played all the yellow baskets and it was only 18 so i think you might have to play a combo of red and yellow to hit 20. all the holes are simple and range from 200 to at most 318 feet so not a very big distace challenge for how open the course is.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course i played outside of new york and it was well worth the time to stop by and play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville - Virginia Beach DG

5+    5/2/2004   6/2/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course. The first course I have ever played and still love coming back home to play it.

If you are just getting going this is a great course to do it at. Most of the holes are fairly short. There are holes of all variety. Left and right hooking. Center placed tree obstacles. Short finesse shots.

And its really hard to lose a disc here! Not a lot of thick anything to get lost in.
Cons: The only con I would really say Bayville has is its lack of distance. Being a short course overall, there are no real chances to test your arm. I have not been back yet since the additional two holes were put in though.
Other Thoughts: If you are in VB and you have your discs...this is the place to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/21/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: aurelius_va
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/4/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts:

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: robz85
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is a great course to start playing on. the short tees to the short baskets are great for beginers. this course has 3 tee positions and 2 basket positions on most holes so it can be played in many different ways
Cons: on the weekends the course can be very crouded, but most of the people are good about letting faster smaller groups play thru
Other Thoughts: i have been playing this course for almost 15 years and it never seems to get old. they are always working on adding new basket locations to change the design

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great VIrginia Course

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Benches and Bag Holders near every cement tee pad.. Great signs with several holes offering dual tees. All holes also feature a second longer red basket to play to as well , making this really two courses in one.
Cons: Some holes are pretty tight, so some luck is needed to drive the basket. All hole are similar in that the terrain and tree density is consistent, No water and no elevation to consider.
Other Thoughts: There are friendly locals who play here, and the park itself is pretty good for picnics.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.