Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 308ft.   3 / 418ft.   3 / 418ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
A great fun place to play

2-4    6/20/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: xred54x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout, flat course without major hazzards. A great place to practice and develop your shots.
Cons: Crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Just wish I had this park close to my home. I would play here all the time if I lived closer. Park envy all the way from Connecticut.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than 3 stars

5+    12/17/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: DgDamon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I started at Bayville nearly 15 years ago and after moving out of the area played it 5 times this week while visiting the area. The new layout is great and allows you to play 4 different courses.

Tees: Concrete, all in great shape
Signage: Excellent, easy to understand
Baskets: Also great

The holes are challenging but not impossible. The two practice baskets plus benches and trashcans on every hole help this smaller course bat above it's length.
Cons: It can get crowded on weekends. The primary crowd is a little rougher around the edges than other courses I've played. The leaves are an issue in the Fall but there could be snow so leaves are a small price to pay.
Other Thoughts: While there's not a huge grassy bomb on this course it has everything else you'd want, even a guy selling discs in the parking lot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great play while in VA beach

1    7/9/2015   7/12/2015
Review By: jbrian24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice signage at each tee complete with bag hangers for those who like to use them.

-Two well marked tee pads and baskets for every hole.

-While most holes are wooded, they do require a different mix of shots.

-Thank you for not going crazy with mandos. The couple that are present are well placed. Some courses get way to gimmicky with mandos.

-Great next tee singage. This was my first time playing and I never had to consult the course map on my phone. Kudos for this!

Course is well maintained. As I was playing there was a guy going around with a blower and making sure all tees were clear of debris.

-Lots of trash cans and benches
Cons: -Would be nice if they had the area to throw in a couple open holes for more mix.
Other Thoughts: I played this course around 7:00 a.m. on a Thursday morning and had the disc golf course to myself the entire time. There were a few walkers and joggers, but they never came into play. Large parking area and nice course information board are what you are greeted with. Nice practice basket with plenty of room to warm up located next to parking area. Two tees and baskets for each hole. Both tees have their own signage, which was really nice. I personally played the red tees to the yellow baskets, which gave you a tougher tee shot and shorter basket location. This course is clean and well maintained and provides a lot of shade for those hot summer days. If you are in the VA beach area and looking for a nice round, then don't hesitate to stop by this park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/27/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course has a cute use of the space. The park itself is relatively small, but none of the fairways really interfere with one another.

-It's free!

-There is a good variety in hole length and design, with some shots being a bit more open and others being a bit more technical. It has a few unique holes which are fun to experience. (I like throwing to the basket on top of the hill!)

-Lots of trash cans and several benches are placed throughout the park. (Some older reviews mention a lack of these things but the remodel has progressed since then and the amenities have indeed been added.) Also, almost the entire course is in the shade.

-Very entertaining layout with nice tees and two tees/pin positions at every hole.
Cons: -As the only park in the area, it tends to get busy during peak hours.

-This course is towards the tail end of a redesign. While hole #1 has the new prototype sign posted (it is a very nice quality sign and I am excited for them to be implemented at every hole), the rest of the course is still operating under the system of spray painted numbers on trash cans. Once the signs are finished, the park probably deserves to be bumped up to a 3.5 rating.
Other Thoughts: -Because of the soil composition, our discs skip an awful lot at this park!

-This is a really great casual park to play at for your daily round. I enjoy playing here a lot as it has challenging holes without being demoralizing. (It's entertaining for skilled and amateur players alike.) It's very good quality and fun, making a great home course and is definitely worth the stop for people passing through.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course lots of leaves

5+    11/22/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: liverbuzzz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoy playing this course especially after the redesign that happened this year. Every hole has at least 2 cement tee pads and several holes have a red and yellow basket so it makes for a great variety of shots and holes. The lines are pretty clear even though it is heavily wooded but still very doable to make it to each basket without hitting trees (no impossible holes).

The course is well maintained and is very user friendly so it was just enjoyable. It also plays quickly and I was able to get in 4 rounds in an afternoon.

One last thing is the nice variety of shots both right and left dog legs, tunnel shots, straight a head and various others.
Cons: Since the redesign the course does not have updated signage. Even though it is usually clearly marked where the next hole is it still took a little time searching during our first round to find each tee pad. Also the course map is now obsolete.

This is more of a seasonal thing but there were a ton of leaves so finding discs was not always easy.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Crowded but fun

2-4    9/15/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets. Multiple layouts. Clean. Decent signage. Nice array of shots and multiple paths for same hole usually.
Cons: Wow it was so busy. I've never seen so many people t a single course. By the third round we were having to take five minute breaks at each hole to wait.
The course does not circle around the bathroom. There are a lot of cars and waay to many people and not very many bushes. It's a long walk back and you basically have to take the the bike path back or dodge a good fifty discs going threw the course.
Other Thoughts: It was a great course and really would normally get a much higher rating. But I don't like getting thrown at and I have to pee a lot

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun

5+    8/4/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course with good variety. Lots of options with multi tee pads and baskets. Tees easy to find and course is overall very easy to navigate.Very fun when not crowded.
Cons: This place gets crowded in the early afternoon on any nice day.If you want to play with no crowds, get here early! Some fairways run close so an errant throw can put you on a fairway where you don't wanna be. Lots of big crowds here. I have got stuck behind groups of 5- 8 people playing that ignore the rule of let faster and smaller groups play through. This is why we go elsewhere to play most of the time.
Other Thoughts: The simple fact is that the hampton roads area needs many more courses to play as big as it is. I find myself and my girlfriend taking the drive to Munden Point where there is never a crowd.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Course of the Future

1    4/11/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: JoeStewart
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Duh - its at the beach. J/K it is a wonderful course all around. Multiple Tee's and basket placements on all holes.
Cons: That it isn't closer to my house.
Other Thoughts: This is the best use of public space I've ever seen. It is dead in the heart of a very populated town but the way the course is designed it like having 6 courses in one. Since they have multiple Tee's and baskets on every hole you can play all day and never see the same hole twice. You can play Red to Red, Red to white, white to gold, blue to gold any combo you can think of and have a completely different experience every time. I think it is the most environmentally friendly design I've ever seen and I think it could be a model for future urbane courses.Play this one, you'll have a blast! and friendly local players.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 NOB sailor likes the "hometown" course

5+    3/30/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice flat course with easy tee-to-basket sight.

Moderately wooded which gives the course a challenge for skilled and amateur players alike.

The course was recently remodeled, so it seems like a brand new course to play.

Two tees and two baskets on each hole give the course a nice variety when playing.

Easy to follow layout with hole numbers on each trash can at each tee.

Two practice baskets to help with overcrowding while practicing your putts.

There's a port-a-potty near the parking lot for "quick use" and a larger building with both male and female restrooms for the "extended stay".
Cons: Lots of dead leaves on the ground make it difficult to find discs that slide under them.

There are still a lot of "divots and potholes" so be careful when treading on the dead leaves. I've almost twisted my ankle more than once.

A huge amount of overcrowding can be a problem when traveling with a group. I seem to do just fine when traveling solo, but I still have to play through a few groups.

The course seems a bit cramped between holes. If you miss the fairway on one hole, you seem to be on the fairway of another. It's very close quarters.
Other Thoughts: After the remodeling, there are no benches at any of the holes. Apparently, the city had ordered the wrong benches and are waiting for the correct ones to arrive. It's been about three weeks since the remodeling and I've yet to see any benches placed on the course. I'm not sure when they will be there, so plan on standing the whole time or taking a seat on the ground. It doesn't bother me at all, but for some it's a hassle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5+    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 63  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Concrete tee pads

- Nice park

- Clean

- Trashcans aplenty

- Two tees & two pins at each hole

- Relatively easy navigation

- Good variety of pin placements to allow several different shot variations

- Locals selling new & used equipment on site

- Local club has offers many events throughout the year and they're posted prominently on the bulletin board at #1
Cons:
- Really busy course. Like CRAZY busy. I guess with this really being the only legitimate course in Virginia Beach it was bound to be packed. However, the over-crowding borders on the ridiculous. Played early in the morning solo and it wasn't too bad -- still had to play through a couple people -- but by the afternoon my buddy and I literally waited on every hole. 6-domes and 7-domes were everywhere and a couple of them were real douchebags.

- Down leaves makes finding your disc difficult

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway
Other Thoughts: I was stationed in Norfolk for three years before I got into disc golf, so when visiting friends for Thanksgiving I was eager to check out the local layout and introduce my buddy to the game. Bayville came as advertised and was the perfect course to teach my friend and his son. Being a fairly open course but having enough woodland to make it challenging, they enjoyed the rounds immensely.

As stated by others, this is a perfect course to introduce new players to the game, but with the alternate tees and baskets on each hole it will definitely give advanced players a run for their money. The course got really busy when we were there, but the locals were friendly and weren't shy about letting faster groups play through. Get there early if you want a fast round.

All in all, Bayville is definitely worth checking out if you find yourself in the Hampton Roads area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.