Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 249ft.   3 / 259ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Out of Town Visit

1    2/15/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I Like the Two baskets per hole. The Bag poles where nice and simple. The Tee boxes were strait forward concrete pads. You could tell most of the baskets, by the signs at the tee box. Well wooded with little undergrowth, but see below for more details.
Cons: Leaves Leaves Every where. They swallow disc's whole, never to be found again. Getting from the basket of the hole you just played to the Tee box of the next can be very confusing.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had more time to play this course, I only got part way through it, before having to leave. I will have to come back and play again, and look for my disc's. I Lost two discs on this course, Both covered in leaves I guess.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville

1    2/2/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: VB Chains
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very good course. Multiple tees and baskets. Very fun to play!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: The crowd it attracts makes it look like a homeless camp.

Openly smoking marijuana and drinking beer all over the course.

Not a place I woud bring my young son to play.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/9/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've played lots of courses in the tree, but this course really does have achievable tree holes. Each hole has its fair share of woods, but there is a defined route to get to the basket without just getting lucky. Also, many opportunities to refine your short game. I also like the option of being able to play 4 diff. courses. You could play either basket off of each tee pad...2 pads and pins per hole.
Cons: No elevation. Everything is flat.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of benches, bag poles, and bathrooms around. Good little course to practice refining your game on. I will definitely add this course to my summer playlist.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 love this course

5+    1/3/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: Zootaroonee
Played: 88  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tees. multiple tees. there are either multiple tees or baskets for each hole. there are also some dirt tees marked with sunken posts that are kinda hard to find but it makes for a possible 4 courses in one depending on which baskets you are shooting at and from what tee. Not much elevation change so its easy to walk. They change the basket placements fairly often so it keeps you on your toes if you play there regularly. Tees 1 and 9 are almost right next to each other and between them are the 9 and 18 baskets so you can play either 1-9 or 10-18 or both and end up right back at your car. Plenty of trees to challenge any play style. Trash cans, benches, and well manicured grounds.
Cons: the course intertwines so sometimes you might throw at someone 3-5 holes ahead of you by accident. Keep your head on a swivel here if you see more than one group as discs will come by you. The whole park in general is wicked fun but they only have porta-potties. Seems a shame considering how nice the rest of the place is.
Other Thoughts: the two extra holes are at the far end of the park. they are marked as 13b and c ( i think its 13 anyway). They are easy enough to find tho~ they are at the other end of the course from where you start :) Most certainly if you are in Va Beach for any length of time you'll want to stop thru. There are on occasion big storms that go thru va beach and knock down trees. Sadly last year a couple *charlie brown kite eater* trees were knocked down and made the course different. The multiple basket placements were brought in to save the day. :)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    12/17/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: Madhatter575
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: One thing I find unique about this course is if your a lefty like myself this course is very left hand friendly. If your a beginner this course might be one of the best for you to make as your home course, given the fact it is always busy and the locals dont mind giving you some tips. This course is also good for those players who dont have long drives.
Cons: Not too many cons about this course they did well with the limited space they have. The many con would be the amount of players on warm days it seems like your always waiting at the tee, but other then that its a good course.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a course with long holes this is not it!!! This course is all about placement, a lot of times longer drives actually put you in a worse postion because the fairways are so close to eachother. Playing this course in the fall and winter i would suggest playing with very bright discs!! lots of trees means lots of leaves and once you drive you better keep an eye on it because your disc is gonna be covered.

 Great Signs

1    9/28/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: Borrachos
Played: 55  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Obvious fairways in a very wooded course, nice long tee pads, quick to play even with several groups on the course, holes are designed in a nice out and in so there isn't a long walk back to the parking lot. Great signs!!! Baskets were great as well and it was easy to tell which to throw to depending on which tees you were playing.
Cons: Get ready to yell fore. It's a small area so chances of getting hit or hitting someone (which I did, sorry about that!) is high. Plus, ricocheting off a tree or errant throw will put you in another fairway. Could be confusing if you are from out of town, like me, but the signs come in handy.
Other Thoughts: Interesting course and it seems Va Beach DGer's take care of the course. Didn't see any litter and the signs haven't been messed with. My favorite holes were either 14 or 16. Great course to work on your accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville

5+    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No wait time during the weekday. I love how the front and back 9 end in the same area. Can be in and out in 45 min if needed.
Cons: I wish that there wasn't so much light interference at night with traffic and houses. Glow golf would be way more fun. Big groups on weekends and evenings. Should be a a rule of no groups bigger than 5.
Other Thoughts: Seems like the club does change some of the basket positions regularly. Thumbs up on that! Great course check it out if your in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A nice trip to VA

1    7/6/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Everything is very well marked and it is easy to find your way around. There are multiple tees on some holes and multiple pins on others. the course is nice and open for all its shots. no areas were your disc can get lost.
Cons: They say it is a 20 hole course i played all the yellow baskets and it was only 18 so i think you might have to play a combo of red and yellow to hit 20. all the holes are simple and range from 200 to at most 318 feet so not a very big distace challenge for how open the course is.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course i played outside of new york and it was well worth the time to stop by and play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: justinTHEcoastie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery, multiple tee pads and baskets, free.
Cons: Course is cramped, you have to throw over people going opposite way at times.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course. If you live in the area it's worth going, if not you have to pick your time, VA traffic is awful.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville - Virginia Beach DG

5+    5/2/2004   6/2/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course. The first course I have ever played and still love coming back home to play it.

If you are just getting going this is a great course to do it at. Most of the holes are fairly short. There are holes of all variety. Left and right hooking. Center placed tree obstacles. Short finesse shots.

And its really hard to lose a disc here! Not a lot of thick anything to get lost in.
Cons: The only con I would really say Bayville has is its lack of distance. Being a short course overall, there are no real chances to test your arm. I have not been back yet since the additional two holes were put in though.
Other Thoughts: If you are in VB and you have your discs...this is the place to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.