Disc Golf Store
Virginia Beach, VA
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 202ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
NOB sailor likes the "hometown" course

5+    3/30/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice flat course with easy tee-to-basket sight.

Moderately wooded which gives the course a challenge for skilled and amateur players alike.

The course was recently remodeled, so it seems like a brand new course to play.

Two tees and two baskets on each hole give the course a nice variety when playing.

Easy to follow layout with hole numbers on each trash can at each tee.

Two practice baskets to help with overcrowding while practicing your putts.

There's a port-a-potty near the parking lot for "quick use" and a larger building with both male and female restrooms for the "extended stay".
Cons: Lots of dead leaves on the ground make it difficult to find discs that slide under them.

There are still a lot of "divots and potholes" so be careful when treading on the dead leaves. I've almost twisted my ankle more than once.

A huge amount of overcrowding can be a problem when traveling with a group. I seem to do just fine when traveling solo, but I still have to play through a few groups.

The course seems a bit cramped between holes. If you miss the fairway on one hole, you seem to be on the fairway of another. It's very close quarters.
Other Thoughts: After the remodeling, there are no benches at any of the holes. Apparently, the city had ordered the wrong benches and are waiting for the correct ones to arrive. It's been about three weeks since the remodeling and I've yet to see any benches placed on the course. I'm not sure when they will be there, so plan on standing the whole time or taking a seat on the ground. It doesn't bother me at all, but for some it's a hassle.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

5+    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Concrete tee pads

- Nice park

- Clean

- Trashcans aplenty

- Two tees & two pins at each hole

- Relatively easy navigation

- Good variety of pin placements to allow several different shot variations

- Locals selling new & used equipment on site

- Local club has offers many events throughout the year and they're posted prominently on the bulletin board at #1
Cons:
- Really busy course. Like CRAZY busy. I guess with this really being the only legitimate course in Virginia Beach it was bound to be packed. However, the over-crowding borders on the ridiculous. Played early in the morning solo and it wasn't too bad -- still had to play through a couple people -- but by the afternoon my buddy and I literally waited on every hole. 6-domes and 7-domes were everywhere and a couple of them were real douchebags.

- Down leaves makes finding your disc difficult

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway
Other Thoughts: I was stationed in Norfolk for three years before I got into disc golf, so when visiting friends for Thanksgiving I was eager to check out the local layout and introduce my buddy to the game. Bayville came as advertised and was the perfect course to teach my friend and his son. Being a fairly open course but having enough woodland to make it challenging, they enjoyed the rounds immensely.

As stated by others, this is a perfect course to introduce new players to the game, but with the alternate tees and baskets on each hole it will definitely give advanced players a run for their money. The course got really busy when we were there, but the locals were friendly and weren't shy about letting faster groups play through. Get there early if you want a fast round.

All in all, Bayville is definitely worth checking out if you find yourself in the Hampton Roads area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Technical and Short

2-4    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good hole signage, concrete teepads, and reliably maintained. Course as I understand was designed by Steady Ed, and was the second developed on the east coast

The course is great for both beginners and the experienced player. With two teepads and two pin locations on most holes, you'll have great variation and different looks each time you visit.

Front 9 feels shorter than the back 11(two extra holes - 13b and 13c - added after the original 18). Woods are in play for 16 of the 20 holes, and the course can challenge your technical abilities really well. For experienced players, playing short to yellow yield a lot of Ace Run opportunities.
Cons: So, there's one glaring problem with the course. It's TIGHT. Not throwing lines, but the course if fitted into a smaller area that if you do not have great control, you can easily hit players at the next tee on some holes - especially playing 10 and the teepad for 11.

Several times we were forced to wait because of back-ups from groups ahead of us. This was partly because of the space issue, and also because groups ahead were playing slowly(of course).

The only other knock I found was unless you had the map on your phone, there were no next tee signs, however you could usually orientate yourself easily by looking up, as most were less than 20-30 feet away.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I'm relocating from Fredericksburg, Virginia - and while it's no Loriella or Blockhouse - it's a great, fun course that can be challenging and will make you shape every type of shot possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course for Beginners and Advanced Players

5+    9/7/2013   9/11/2013
Review By: jskew113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fairly Open Layout
-Older Course that has matured nicely
-Multiple Tees and Baskets
-Excellent Signage
-Good Scoring Opportunities
-Very Easy to get to
-Decent Ace opportunities
-Nice mix of shot lines required for success
Cons: -Fairly Open Layout
-Alternate Tees can be hard to find
-Concrete tees can be slick when wet
-Can be very busy
-Fairways are close together
-Fairly short course
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to introduce new players to. Fairways are open and it is all but impossible to loose disc. There is virtually no undergrowth. Very nice concrete tee pads and signage. 2 concrete tees, 2 natural tees, and 2 baskets per hole. 20 unique holes. Course is close to the interstate and various convenience stores and restaurants. The Putt'r Van is usually there if one would like to get new discs and enjoy conversation.

It seems the course is getting a good deal of tree work being done what will make the course much more open and take away some of the challenge. Most fairways are roughly graded mulch of poor quality.

This is really is a fun course to play. In the summer it is one of the cleanest courses in the area and undergrowth is never a problem. It can be one of the heaviest played courses in the area, so traffic can be an issue. The multiple tees and baskets creates very nice variation on the same course. The player can adjust the tees and baskets to play the course at their desired difficulty. The local club does a good job with leagues on Mondays and regular tournaments. I have no problem driving 45 minutes from my house to play the course regularly and it is a great addition to the area

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Combinatorics Fore You

2-4    4/5/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of combinations.
Cons:
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of potential other tee, fairway, and basket buzzing - better have a good set of lungs when crowded!
Other Thoughts:
The course is set at the end of a multi-purpose park, with a main road forming one side, and houses/fenceline the other side. In-between with have a steady, but very gently, upward-sloping land, and randomly-scattered upon it, tall, but relatively small-diameter trees - a nice setting for a disc golf course, with no underbrush, so minimal chance a disc loss.

With four choices of tee location and two baskets per hole, the choice of how long to play the course is completely up to you. Short-to-short is fine for newer players, and offer experienced players a lot of birdy opportunities. Long-to-long provides a good challenge for intermediate/advanced. Want it harder still? Go find the toeboards!

The scattered trees do typically suggest a preferred throwing lane, but the trees are far enough part that on many holes secondary lanes abound, and it is often easy to recover from a wayward shot, although this likely means you're throwing from a neighbouring fairway. The primary throwing lanes require a variety of left/right/S/no turns from the tee, but few, if any, are overly sharp, and primarily mid/late fairway.

Tee areas were top notch. Signs, with distance information, at both concrete tees. Shorter tees also has bag holders, benches, and trash cans. Most of the toeboard tees were findable without too much looking.

Navigation: With the excellent map, not too bad for this first-time visitor. Short tees to short baskets has the most natural flow, i.e. minimizes backtracking. Tee-1 and tee-10 both start near the parking lot, and it is simple enough to include, or exclude, the two extra holes between 13. and 14.

A solid course. Although the terrain is fairly homogeneous, the multiple baskets and tees offer a variety of lengths and throwing lanes. Worth a visit if in the area, but if playing in a fully-attended tournament, wear a helmet!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Where it all started for me

5+    2/10/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: GhostAcer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Will challenge players of all skill levels. There are 2 holes (white and red) for each hole along with 4 possible tee boxes (white, blue, red and gold) making a total of 8 different ways to play the course. The gold tees are fairly new and may require some help from the locals to find all of them. Despite our outward appearance, we're quite friendly and will help you with anything you need. You can pretty much catch someone playing at any time of day. There's benches at each hole to rest and there's also two bonus holes making this a 20 hole course. The Bayville Disc Golf Club does an excellent job maintaining the course and are a fun bunch to hang with. They host regular tournaments including summer weekly tournaments on Monday nights and monthly tournaments as well. If you're new to the area and are looking for some dg buddies, just show up. You'll meet plenty.
Cons: Can get crowded pretty quick. I told ya' there's always someone out there. Not as many trees as there used to be. Most holes are wide open playing the shorts.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play as a beginner or a pro.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Suitable for newbies and pros alike

2-4    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had planned on playing at Bennett's creek (my local course) but it was closed due to a cycling event so I drove over to Bayville to check it out. I found the fairways to be more open and forgiving compared to some others in the area and is suitable for players of all skill levels. There are plenty of trees to penalize errant shots and to provide a nice challenge but its not so much that newcomers to the sport would get discouraged. The lack of shrubs, bushes and long grass was appreciated as well as it reduced the amount of time searching for discs. Being able to see my disc land each shot and not have to search in the brush, trees etc was nice as well. I enjoy playing on technical courses a lot but it is good to know that is I am hankering for a more open park course Bayville will fit the bill. Here are some other observations:
1: Large map at hole 1 showing the map of the entire course.
2: There is a practice basket between holes 1 and 10 so you can warm up before your round.
3: Each hole is well sign posted and has a simple map so you see where you should be aiming.
4: Each hole has two baskets and two tee pads so it is suitable for all skill levels. Plus playing to the alternate red baskets provides something a little different.
5: It is fairly easy to find the next tee especially if you are playing the short tees to yellow baskets.
6: Concrete tee pads on all holes. There are also benches and places to hang your bags on most holes. Plenty of trash cans too.
7: Its pretty difficult to lose a disc here even in autumn. As long as you know roughly where the disc landed you should be good.
8: There are enough trees and obstacles to challenge the advanced player but not so many that it would discourage new players.
Cons: I enjoyed the course and have very positive thoughts about it and plan to visit again in the future. There were just a few minor things that you should be aware of.
1: Some of the fairways are close to each other. Its not a major issue but you do need to be aware of people around you. (I had a few discs come close to me during my round)
2: Not a lot of variety in the course. Its mainly a case of throw the disc straight down the fairway and avoid the trees. There are a few holes that stood out like Hole 16 (yellow) and hole 17 so its not all the same. Again a minor thing.
3: No big open holes so your distance driver will likely spend a lot of time in the bag.
Other Thoughts: 1: The course can be very popular, particularly on weekends but most groups are friendly and will let you play through if they are holding you up.
2: This is the perfect course to introduce friends and family to the sport. It will allow them to develop their throwing skill while having a good time and not being frustrated.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Bensontbjj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signs
Shaded nearly the whole way
Great parking
Cons: Some holes are close to one another, I heard four yelled a couple of times :-)
Other Thoughts: Really had a good time on this course. Will be fun for advanced and novice both.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course in VA Beach

1    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Family friendly course
-Variety of skill level play
-Restroom on site
-Good map of course at hole #1
-Good location
-Cement tee pads, signs at each hole*
-Clean course
-Easy course to navigate
-Not much of a chance of losing a disc
Cons: -Fairways a little tight
-People walking dogs through course
-Course could be interesting on a busy day
-No big arm drives, mostly all wooded play

Other Thoughts: Fun course! Was vacationing here for a few days and course was easy to find. Played in the morning on a Saturday, so do not know how crowded it could be in the middle fo the day. A few people playing when I was there, but in no way a crowded issue. Nice course that has been around since 1977 from what I understand. Nice restroom facility with good parking. Apparently there is a baseball field and kids area on the other side, but did not see it as I was just there for the course. Pretty much entire course is in the woods, but not so much that you could loose a disc here. The only place I could see someone losing a disc would be on whole 17 where there is a small marshy area with high grass and water. Two different tee pads to throw from. Most shots from the short pads were around 180-220', with the long tees around 210-300' to the basket from what I remember. Cement tee pads were in good shape. Tee signs at every hole* except for hole 13(b-c). I found 13c but didn't see 13b?? These two extra holes had wooden poles with numbers marked on them at the top, I guess for each extra hole. I believe there is a picture of one of them on here. Plenty of shade with the obstacles providing it the only real interference to the basket. My biggest concern on this course was just the fairways being close together and playing this course on a busy day could get very interesting. If you play on a busy day, be aware of other golfers throwing around you. Clean course with trash cans around. There are benches on the course at different holes. Oh, there are also different basket locations for each pad you throw from as well. Basically two tee pads and two baskets for each hole, which is nice depending on your skill level. While you don't need to throw big here, the course does provide a fun game for a beautiful afternoon, or morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Surprise

2-4    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Different ways to play each hole, increasing replay value.
Practice basket
No elevation. Great for bags/carts with wheels
Nice benches and garbage cans
Concrete pads
Nice community of golfers, most people who play here are locals or vacationing nearby.
Shade,Shade,Shade! Great for stayng cool.
Original design by Ed Headrick
Front 9 and Back 9 easy access from parking lot and dedicated lot for course away from kids park.
Cons: Navigation is tough to new players.
Long layout has potential to be a tournament caliber course, It would have to have staggered tee times or smart pad/baksket choices forlane intersect concerns.
Fairways are sometimes too close to each other and an errant throw can sometimes land where someone else is playing.
Some fairway signs have some conversation between 2 or 3 people about cig butts on ground or some other nonsence, was comical did not take away from sign purpose.
signs need to be remarked for out of town people, as there are blue and yellow pads which are covered. [red pads were more challenging than the blue here]
Can get busy, small kids can venture into the area from the giant playgrounds so watch where you throw.
Mandos are for saftey only not for lane direction for difficulty.
You are almost never forced to make a specific shot or shoot a certain line here. But if you are inaccurate there are enough trees to punish you.
No elevation. Not the fault of the course.
Long walk to restrooms, children and close view to roadway and nearby houses may be concern if your bladder can't hold it. Aim with caution.
Time of year can be a potential issue, lots of trees may be issue in fall/winter from down leaves,
Other Thoughts: Stroller friendly
If you're looking for a 4 or 5 star course, you'll have to drive a distance.
If you are vacationing at Virginia Beach, this place is worth checking out.
I only played current red long-red long (once), shot a 55 was fun, going to play the yellow [short-short] before I leave town with
a lid disc for nostalgic reasons. I played an old course in great shape,
club recently added gold pads [found out after] They have some singles event/leauge on mondays,
after walking around aimlessly after ten holes a local club member, who joined me and my brother on the back 9 think his name was tony[ i hope so bad with names, you were putting with grid avairs] acted as our guide and was a blast to play with. Great time.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.