Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 288ft.   3 / 341ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Combinatorics Fore You

2-4    4/5/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of combinations.
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of potential other tee, fairway, and basket buzzing - better have a good set of lungs when crowded!
Other Thoughts:
The course is set at the end of a multi-purpose park, with a main road forming one side, and houses/fenceline the other side. In-between with have a steady, but very gently, upward-sloping land, and randomly-scattered upon it, tall, but relatively small-diameter trees - a nice setting for a disc golf course, with no underbrush, so minimal chance a disc loss.

With four choices of tee location and two baskets per hole, the choice of how long to play the course is completely up to you. Short-to-short is fine for newer players, and offer experienced players a lot of birdy opportunities. Long-to-long provides a good challenge for intermediate/advanced. Want it harder still? Go find the toeboards!

The scattered trees do typically suggest a preferred throwing lane, but the trees are far enough part that on many holes secondary lanes abound, and it is often easy to recover from a wayward shot, although this likely means you're throwing from a neighbouring fairway. The primary throwing lanes require a variety of left/right/S/no turns from the tee, but few, if any, are overly sharp, and primarily mid/late fairway.

Tee areas were top notch. Signs, with distance information, at both concrete tees. Shorter tees also has bag holders, benches, and trash cans. Most of the toeboard tees were findable without too much looking.

Navigation: With the excellent map, not too bad for this first-time visitor. Short tees to short baskets has the most natural flow, i.e. minimizes backtracking. Tee-1 and tee-10 both start near the parking lot, and it is simple enough to include, or exclude, the two extra holes between 13. and 14.

A solid course. Although the terrain is fairly homogeneous, the multiple baskets and tees offer a variety of lengths and throwing lanes. Worth a visit if in the area, but if playing in a fully-attended tournament, wear a helmet!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Where it all started for me

5+    2/10/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: GhostAcer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Will challenge players of all skill levels. There are 2 holes (white and red) for each hole along with 4 possible tee boxes (white, blue, red and gold) making a total of 8 different ways to play the course. The gold tees are fairly new and may require some help from the locals to find all of them. Despite our outward appearance, we're quite friendly and will help you with anything you need. You can pretty much catch someone playing at any time of day. There's benches at each hole to rest and there's also two bonus holes making this a 20 hole course. The Bayville Disc Golf Club does an excellent job maintaining the course and are a fun bunch to hang with. They host regular tournaments including summer weekly tournaments on Monday nights and monthly tournaments as well. If you're new to the area and are looking for some dg buddies, just show up. You'll meet plenty.
Cons: Can get crowded pretty quick. I told ya' there's always someone out there. Not as many trees as there used to be. Most holes are wide open playing the shorts.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play as a beginner or a pro.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Suitable for newbies and pros alike

2-4    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had planned on playing at Bennett's creek (my local course) but it was closed due to a cycling event so I drove over to Bayville to check it out. I found the fairways to be more open and forgiving compared to some others in the area and is suitable for players of all skill levels. There are plenty of trees to penalize errant shots and to provide a nice challenge but its not so much that newcomers to the sport would get discouraged. The lack of shrubs, bushes and long grass was appreciated as well as it reduced the amount of time searching for discs. Being able to see my disc land each shot and not have to search in the brush, trees etc was nice as well. I enjoy playing on technical courses a lot but it is good to know that is I am hankering for a more open park course Bayville will fit the bill. Here are some other observations:
1: Large map at hole 1 showing the map of the entire course.
2: There is a practice basket between holes 1 and 10 so you can warm up before your round.
3: Each hole is well sign posted and has a simple map so you see where you should be aiming.
4: Each hole has two baskets and two tee pads so it is suitable for all skill levels. Plus playing to the alternate red baskets provides something a little different.
5: It is fairly easy to find the next tee especially if you are playing the short tees to yellow baskets.
6: Concrete tee pads on all holes. There are also benches and places to hang your bags on most holes. Plenty of trash cans too.
7: Its pretty difficult to lose a disc here even in autumn. As long as you know roughly where the disc landed you should be good.
8: There are enough trees and obstacles to challenge the advanced player but not so many that it would discourage new players.
Cons: I enjoyed the course and have very positive thoughts about it and plan to visit again in the future. There were just a few minor things that you should be aware of.
1: Some of the fairways are close to each other. Its not a major issue but you do need to be aware of people around you. (I had a few discs come close to me during my round)
2: Not a lot of variety in the course. Its mainly a case of throw the disc straight down the fairway and avoid the trees. There are a few holes that stood out like Hole 16 (yellow) and hole 17 so its not all the same. Again a minor thing.
3: No big open holes so your distance driver will likely spend a lot of time in the bag.
Other Thoughts: 1: The course can be very popular, particularly on weekends but most groups are friendly and will let you play through if they are holding you up.
2: This is the perfect course to introduce friends and family to the sport. It will allow them to develop their throwing skill while having a good time and not being frustrated.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Bensontbjj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signs
Shaded nearly the whole way
Great parking
Cons: Some holes are close to one another, I heard four yelled a couple of times :-)
Other Thoughts: Really had a good time on this course. Will be fun for advanced and novice both.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in VA Beach

1    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Family friendly course
-Variety of skill level play
-Restroom on site
-Good map of course at hole #1
-Good location
-Cement tee pads, signs at each hole*
-Clean course
-Easy course to navigate
-Not much of a chance of losing a disc
Cons: -Fairways a little tight
-People walking dogs through course
-Course could be interesting on a busy day
-No big arm drives, mostly all wooded play

Other Thoughts: Fun course! Was vacationing here for a few days and course was easy to find. Played in the morning on a Saturday, so do not know how crowded it could be in the middle fo the day. A few people playing when I was there, but in no way a crowded issue. Nice course that has been around since 1977 from what I understand. Nice restroom facility with good parking. Apparently there is a baseball field and kids area on the other side, but did not see it as I was just there for the course. Pretty much entire course is in the woods, but not so much that you could loose a disc here. The only place I could see someone losing a disc would be on whole 17 where there is a small marshy area with high grass and water. Two different tee pads to throw from. Most shots from the short pads were around 180-220', with the long tees around 210-300' to the basket from what I remember. Cement tee pads were in good shape. Tee signs at every hole* except for hole 13(b-c). I found 13c but didn't see 13b?? These two extra holes had wooden poles with numbers marked on them at the top, I guess for each extra hole. I believe there is a picture of one of them on here. Plenty of shade with the obstacles providing it the only real interference to the basket. My biggest concern on this course was just the fairways being close together and playing this course on a busy day could get very interesting. If you play on a busy day, be aware of other golfers throwing around you. Clean course with trash cans around. There are benches on the course at different holes. Oh, there are also different basket locations for each pad you throw from as well. Basically two tee pads and two baskets for each hole, which is nice depending on your skill level. While you don't need to throw big here, the course does provide a fun game for a beautiful afternoon, or morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unexpected Surprise

2-4    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Different ways to play each hole, increasing replay value.
Practice basket
No elevation. Great for bags/carts with wheels
Nice benches and garbage cans
Concrete pads
Nice community of golfers, most people who play here are locals or vacationing nearby.
Shade,Shade,Shade! Great for stayng cool.
Original design by Ed Headrick
Front 9 and Back 9 easy access from parking lot and dedicated lot for course away from kids park.
Cons: Navigation is tough to new players.
Long layout has potential to be a tournament caliber course, It would have to have staggered tee times or smart pad/baksket choices forlane intersect concerns.
Fairways are sometimes too close to each other and an errant throw can sometimes land where someone else is playing.
Some fairway signs have some conversation between 2 or 3 people about cig butts on ground or some other nonsence, was comical did not take away from sign purpose.
signs need to be remarked for out of town people, as there are blue and yellow pads which are covered. [red pads were more challenging than the blue here]
Can get busy, small kids can venture into the area from the giant playgrounds so watch where you throw.
Mandos are for saftey only not for lane direction for difficulty.
You are almost never forced to make a specific shot or shoot a certain line here. But if you are inaccurate there are enough trees to punish you.
No elevation. Not the fault of the course.
Long walk to restrooms, children and close view to roadway and nearby houses may be concern if your bladder can't hold it. Aim with caution.
Time of year can be a potential issue, lots of trees may be issue in fall/winter from down leaves,
Other Thoughts: Stroller friendly
If you're looking for a 4 or 5 star course, you'll have to drive a distance.
If you are vacationing at Virginia Beach, this place is worth checking out.
I only played current red long-red long (once), shot a 55 was fun, going to play the yellow [short-short] before I leave town with
a lid disc for nostalgic reasons. I played an old course in great shape,
club recently added gold pads [found out after] They have some singles event/leauge on mondays,
after walking around aimlessly after ten holes a local club member, who joined me and my brother on the back 9 think his name was tony[ i hope so bad with names, you were putting with grid avairs] acted as our guide and was a blast to play with. Great time.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly fun course

1    6/15/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In a very pretty wooded area of a nice neighborhood.
It's really cool how it works, they have 2 tees and 2 baskets for every hole, so every skill level is met.
Nice benches and garbage cans
Some very hard shots, especially on the longer tees, hard lefts and rights through wooded areas.
Just wooded enough to enjoy the area, and not get super frustrated.
Cons: Very narrow, you sometimes feel like you are throwing onto people becuase the holes are so close.
Not much variety, mostly just 200' ish wooded shots.
The whole area this course is in is probably 20 acres tops.
Other Thoughts: A guy sells discs out of his van, he's awesome and will help you navigate the course if you ask him. He was a riot

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/12/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Signs with distances and pars
-Color coded baskets
-Not to bad mix of lefts and rights.
-Practice basket
-Multiple tees
-2 baskets

Cons: -Very tight shoelace layout
-Have to be cautious when ripping them when others are around which could lead to a bad kick off of a tree into another lane on a different hole.
-Not to much variety or suprises though
Other Thoughts: Fun little park in Va beach that we stopped at to play while down in the area.
Very packed on a Thursday afternoon and I can only imagine what its like on the weekend here.
Ha almost got a contact high while playing the courses ;).
Solid city course as far as im concerned!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/21/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Prandyseth
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: teepads are nice concrete ones unless you play form the LONG pads.
Cons: Many holes are too close and nearly intersect with one another (holes 1 and 2 are literally right next to each other going opposite directions)
Navigation is tough for a first timer and the leaves on the ground will devour your disc so pay close attention to where it lands even with bright colored discs.
Other Thoughts: not the greatest but a good course to play if you just need to play a quick round.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Rounds

2-4    11/25/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 tees and 2 baskets per hole
- lots of benches
- concrete tee pads
- trashcans
- tourney board and practice cage at the start
- Hole 1 and hole 10 both close to the parking lot
- Solid opportunities for aces
- 2 bonus holes
Cons: - Graffiti
- Not overly challenging
- Leaves swallow discs
- Park can get super busy
- Small/tight layout
Other Thoughts: Bayville...this is a 20 hole course that's in a city park...the park isn't the biggest, but whoever laid out the course did a pretty good job of fitting everything in. There are 2 sets of baskets and 2 sets of tees, so there is essentially 4 courses, although the difference in tees isn't overly drastic. Enjoy long tees to red cages for a solid, fun game.

There are lots of benches throughout the course, and there are signs at the beginning of each hole showing the basket locations and course layout. Some of the basket markers have been warn off, but it's still pretty easy to work it out. There are trashcans for trash...the course is mostly devoid of trash. It seems that, despite how busy it is, it's well taken care of.

The extra two holes are nice (13b & c.) There are some solid ace opportunities here, especially if playing short to short. Downside...there are conversations taking place via sharpie on the hole signs, mostly about cigarette butts. The course is a solid beginner to intermediate level course, and is in my VA Beach rotation when playing with newer players for that reason.

The course can get pretty slammed, and some of the holes line up next to each other, so be sure to call out if you have a wild's not uncommon to hear "fore" regularly. Nicely though, hole 10 is also right next to the parking area, so if there is a line @ 1, you can take off on the back nine instead.

There are mostly hardwood trees which are currently dropping a ton of leaves, and these leaves swallow discs. We played the other day and spent a ton of time trying to find our discs in the leaves, regardless of what color they were.

There are some really fun lines, and some good mandos too. Navigation is a little shaky in that you can't always tell which basket is the one you are aiming for, but it was relatively easy to figure out based on the signs and a little common sense.

All in all, Bayville isn't the most difficult course, but it IS entertaining, and it's easy to get to and find.

On a more personal note, I have yet to meet a grouch on this course. All the locals are super chill and happy to help/point you in the right direction.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.