Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A nice trip to VA

1    7/6/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Everything is very well marked and it is easy to find your way around. There are multiple tees on some holes and multiple pins on others. the course is nice and open for all its shots. no areas were your disc can get lost.
Cons: They say it is a 20 hole course i played all the yellow baskets and it was only 18 so i think you might have to play a combo of red and yellow to hit 20. all the holes are simple and range from 200 to at most 318 feet so not a very big distace challenge for how open the course is.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course i played outside of new york and it was well worth the time to stop by and play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: justinTHEcoastie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery, multiple tee pads and baskets, free.
Cons: Course is cramped, you have to throw over people going opposite way at times.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course. If you live in the area it's worth going, if not you have to pick your time, VA traffic is awful.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville - Virginia Beach DG

5+    5/2/2004   6/2/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course. The first course I have ever played and still love coming back home to play it.

If you are just getting going this is a great course to do it at. Most of the holes are fairly short. There are holes of all variety. Left and right hooking. Center placed tree obstacles. Short finesse shots.

And its really hard to lose a disc here! Not a lot of thick anything to get lost in.
Cons: The only con I would really say Bayville has is its lack of distance. Being a short course overall, there are no real chances to test your arm. I have not been back yet since the additional two holes were put in though.
Other Thoughts: If you are in VB and you have your discs...this is the place to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/21/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: aurelius_va
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/4/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts:

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: robz85
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is a great course to start playing on. the short tees to the short baskets are great for beginers. this course has 3 tee positions and 2 basket positions on most holes so it can be played in many different ways
Cons: on the weekends the course can be very crouded, but most of the people are good about letting faster smaller groups play thru
Other Thoughts: i have been playing this course for almost 15 years and it never seems to get old. they are always working on adding new basket locations to change the design

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Da Beach

5+    3/3/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: Dischucker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course offers a great environment for any disc golfer. It offers friendly players and a fun course. I started playing not to long ago and this is where i started. Locals helped me out and i picked it up quick. The course has a nice layout with trees and bushes to make the holes tricky. Its pretty gnarly on some holes, but dont be scared, its fun. Plenty of trees out there for sure, but landscaped perfect.
Cons: Nothing, but more hot chicks playing would be killer!
Other Thoughts: Come ace one

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Locals volunteer to keep the Bayville beautiful. It is a very friendly crowd. During the summer they meet weekly. There are numerous garbage cans, benches, and bag holders. There are 20 holes and warm up baskets. 2 concrete Tees and 2 baskets for each hole. This is a great starter course for newcomers to the sport with locals who will help you along. The tall trees give a shady canopy from the Virginia sun.
Cons: It gets very crowded at peak hours, waiting can get lengthy. The course is tightly put together so you may need to let the group ahead of you tee off before you throw because many of the baskets are near the next tee. In the Fall the leaves like to hide your disc. Many holes just feel the same, needs more variety.
Other Thoughts: There aren't too many courses in the area but, Bayville is the quickest to get to from the more populated areas. If your in the area it is worth checking out.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 play a piece of DG history

5+    5/20/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 32.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a series of somewhat tight but fair fairways. The lines are mostly straight looks, but there are few benders in there. You can also play a few of your own mandos to add interest but be very careful of players on adjacent fairways. Nice concrete tees and two baskets on most holes. Great location right near the bay and some good restaurants (try the cream of crab soup at Charlies), 15 minutes (without traffic) down Shore Drive to the ocean. Either the second or the third basket course ever installed depending on who you listen to, you're playing a piece of disc golf history. Great course to play with a Roc (or a Roc equivalent), you really get a chance to work on precision here. Friendly group of local golfers.
Cons: Being in Tidewater the terrain is mostly flat, but the numerous trees keep it interesting. The biggest problem here is how tight the fairways are to one another. This is exacerbated by the second biggest problem, which are the crowds. if you play here on a weekend, keep your head on a swivel. Course is pretty short so if you come here looking to throw bombs you'll likely be disappointed, though the tosses from some of the long tees (like #14) to the long pins are pretty good pokes.
Other Thoughts: I'm of the opinion that every really good course has elevation changes, but I really like this course, so I guess that's a testament to the character of this one. I like the tightly lined faiways. #6 is probably the most challenging hole for me. The stretch from 14 - 17 is probably my favorite, especially if you play #14 to the long pin on the right. #15 is a decent toss into a small grove, 16 is a shorty with a mando that can play to an elevated pin, and #17 is a nice chuck across the creek to a guarded pin. If you're in the area you owe it to yourself to stop by, on a weekday you can be out of there in an hour easy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great VIrginia Course

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Benches and Bag Holders near every cement tee pad.. Great signs with several holes offering dual tees. All holes also feature a second longer red basket to play to as well , making this really two courses in one.
Cons: Some holes are pretty tight, so some luck is needed to drive the basket. All hole are similar in that the terrain and tree density is consistent, No water and no elevation to consider.
Other Thoughts: There are friendly locals who play here, and the park itself is pretty good for picnics.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old Faithful

5+    7/9/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: notyourfrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has been the standard default for disc golfers for years for good reasons including (but not limited to) the highly visible pins, reasonably well-maintained grounds, and realistic pars. With multiple tees and enough variety in hole layouts Bayville manages to keep each round interesting.
Cons: The fairways are a bit tight. It's not unusual to hear "fore!" called out during your game. The traffic can get a little heavy at times, but even then most of the players are courteous. 13b and 13c are superfluous.
Other Thoughts: What I love most about Bayville is how reasonable the pars are. Every hole is a par 3, some are easier birdies than others, but I doubt you'll finish -20. (If you do, you need to step up to the next tee level.)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.