Virginia Beach, VA
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 181ft.   3 / 281ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Locals volunteer to keep the Bayville beautiful. It is a very friendly crowd. During the summer they meet weekly. There are numerous garbage cans, benches, and bag holders. There are 20 holes and warm up baskets. 2 concrete Tees and 2 baskets for each hole. This is a great starter course for newcomers to the sport with locals who will help you along. The tall trees give a shady canopy from the Virginia sun.
Cons: It gets very crowded at peak hours, waiting can get lengthy. The course is tightly put together so you may need to let the group ahead of you tee off before you throw because many of the baskets are near the next tee. In the Fall the leaves like to hide your disc. Many holes just feel the same, needs more variety.
Other Thoughts: There aren't too many courses in the area but, Bayville is the quickest to get to from the more populated areas. If your in the area it is worth checking out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 play a piece of DG history

5+    5/20/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a series of somewhat tight but fair fairways. The lines are mostly straight looks, but there are few benders in there. You can also play a few of your own mandos to add interest but be very careful of players on adjacent fairways. Nice concrete tees and two baskets on most holes. Great location right near the bay and some good restaurants (try the cream of crab soup at Charlies), 15 minutes (without traffic) down Shore Drive to the ocean. Either the second or the third basket course ever installed depending on who you listen to, you're playing a piece of disc golf history. Great course to play with a Roc (or a Roc equivalent), you really get a chance to work on precision here. Friendly group of local golfers.
Cons: Being in Tidewater the terrain is mostly flat, but the numerous trees keep it interesting. The biggest problem here is how tight the fairways are to one another. This is exacerbated by the second biggest problem, which are the crowds. if you play here on a weekend, keep your head on a swivel. Course is pretty short so if you come here looking to throw bombs you'll likely be disappointed, though the tosses from some of the long tees (like #14) to the long pins are pretty good pokes.
Other Thoughts: I'm of the opinion that every really good course has elevation changes, but I really like this course, so I guess that's a testament to the character of this one. I like the tightly lined faiways. #6 is probably the most challenging hole for me. The stretch from 14 - 17 is probably my favorite, especially if you play #14 to the long pin on the right. #15 is a decent toss into a small grove, 16 is a shorty with a mando that can play to an elevated pin, and #17 is a nice chuck across the creek to a guarded pin. If you're in the area you owe it to yourself to stop by, on a weekday you can be out of there in an hour easy.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great VIrginia Course

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 20.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Benches and Bag Holders near every cement tee pad.. Great signs with several holes offering dual tees. All holes also feature a second longer red basket to play to as well , making this really two courses in one.
Cons: Some holes are pretty tight, so some luck is needed to drive the basket. All hole are similar in that the terrain and tree density is consistent, No water and no elevation to consider.
Other Thoughts: There are friendly locals who play here, and the park itself is pretty good for picnics.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old Faithful

5+    7/9/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: notyourfrog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has been the standard default for disc golfers for years for good reasons including (but not limited to) the highly visible pins, reasonably well-maintained grounds, and realistic pars. With multiple tees and enough variety in hole layouts Bayville manages to keep each round interesting.
Cons: The fairways are a bit tight. It's not unusual to hear "fore!" called out during your game. The traffic can get a little heavy at times, but even then most of the players are courteous. 13b and 13c are superfluous.
Other Thoughts: What I love most about Bayville is how reasonable the pars are. Every hole is a par 3, some are easier birdies than others, but I doubt you'll finish -20. (If you do, you need to step up to the next tee level.)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville

1    6/24/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you want to try your hand at Disc golf this is the place to start. The course is fairly open, but with enough technical difficulty to keep it intresting. The tee pads are concrete and kept clean by the park staff. the signage is good and it is easy to find your way around. Three holes deserve special mention. To my knowledge on hole six on the front nine has never been aced from the Pro "T". If you like a challenge try the pro T 14. like wise give the pro "T" on 18 a look But to my mind hole 13's pro "T" is as tough as they come.
Cons: Some of the fairways are a little close together. So keep your eyes open. This course has a lot of traffic on the weekend and friday afternoon. plan accordingly. And be patient with the newbies.
Other Thoughts: If you play in the fall before they rake up the leaves. Make sure you get a mark on your disc. The leaves do a good job of hiding them. Also play attention to Basket placement. They move the around alot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful 3-par flagship course of Norfolk

5+    5/20/2010   7/3/2009
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful location dedicated solely to DG -- a walking trail wraps around the perimeter of the course and it has never posed a hazard / problem to my game.

After the early spring leaves are raked up, copious amounts of wood chips are laid down -- I love this as a playing surface.

Rarely muddy, and the surface is never cluttered by troublesome foliage. You rarely spend time disc searching (again, after raking).

Trees are very tall and are sparse enough to be optimal course hazards, but close enough to provide a unique, beautiful, and immensely helpful foliage canopy. It is almost like walking through a giant DG "outdoor stadium."

Maintenance and upkeep are top notch.

Hangers, trash cans, and signs at nearly every holes.

Concrete tee pads in excellent condition.

Regular movement of pins keeps course fresh.

Cons: If you play in early spring before the course is raked, watch your disc very carefully -- the carpet of leaves is thick.

The course is amost entirely flat.

That's about it. I love this course.
Other Thoughts: This is the Norfolk / Va Beach area flagship course. A must play.

Still a great place to hang out. 99% of the people are very cool, though some of the uber-regulars are weirdos. I'd swear some of them actually live at the course and would bleed bong water if you poked them...

Most people are very nice and will let you play through or tag along if you ask nicely. Have fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cool but Crowded

1    7/10/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: Wundrkid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: At the beach, 18 holes
Cons: A little too crowded in the summer. Its not a bad thing really when you think about how popular the sport is becoming. It is just terrifying when you disc is flying at Mach 1 into a crowd of players. And waiting 15 minutes to throw on each hole gets a little old after a while.
Other Thoughts: I would play it again, maybe.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: SoonerDisc
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not crowded for being in the area of few courses. This is my home course. Challenging becuase of all the trees.
Cons: Heavy trees and mud after it rains becuase the lack of grass.
Other Thoughts: They usually have mini tourney on monday evenings. have yet to enter one though.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Stuff

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my three "home courses" since I live in the Tidewater area. There is a mini tourney on Monday evenings Spring-Fall which is very well run. $5 with a $1 ace pot, Rec, Adv, and Open divisions. If you come when the weather is decent there are lots of people here, but I have yet to see it packed like ball golf courses. Usually there's no trouble playing through. On a weekday morning, in the winter, or when the weather is bad you'll have the place to yourself. There are 20 holes rather than just 18 like most courses in the area. The two additions (labeled 13b and 13c) add some variety and challenge. Just watch out for the leaf ditch. I kid you not there are 2 or 3 feet of leaves in that ditch. It's a disc eater. The biggest pro of this course is that over half the holes have two tees and two separate baskets, giving you four combinations to play: short-short (pitch and putt, 200-300 foot holes with main obstacles being 5 or 10 large trees on each hole), short-long, long-short, and long-long (easy to double-bogey some of these, birdies are nearly impossible.) This really helps with the variety. It's free. Tee pads are longer than the other courses in the area and every single one of them is paved. Lots of bag posts, benches, trash cans, parking etc.
Cons: Can get muddy due to lack of grass. Small area for 20 holes so you hear a lot more "Fore" than at the other courses in the area. No big wide open "huck it" holes. Even the long holes favor the "Roc down the middle" style of play due to the plethora of trees. Just a few true fairways, just trees every 15 feet throughout the park with baskets strategically placed. On the other hand, you can often throw multiple lines on every hole-anhyzer or hyzer for instance. Despite what other reviews say, there aren't a lot of straight shots. I can only think of 6 holes that you can throw straight at the basket, and that's just in the short-short configuration. Usually you've got to have at least a little hyzer or anhyzer to really park it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Local Favorite

1    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great play if your looking to squize in a quick game. Lots of good people to b.s. with. Good short game with lots of precision shots. Also maintained really well. Plenty of benches trash cans signs and concrete tees. With 2 tee's and 2 baskets at virtually every hole you can get a lot of variety out of this course.
Cons: A bit small and crowded. I often have to wait at holes to continue playing.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I love it. It's a great place to spend the afternoon. It's a small course, so playing 2 games doesn't take up the whole day. Got my only ACE here at hole 7!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.