Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 219ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Bayville

1    6/24/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you want to try your hand at Disc golf this is the place to start. The course is fairly open, but with enough technical difficulty to keep it intresting. The tee pads are concrete and kept clean by the park staff. the signage is good and it is easy to find your way around. Three holes deserve special mention. To my knowledge on hole six on the front nine has never been aced from the Pro "T". If you like a challenge try the pro T 14. like wise give the pro "T" on 18 a look But to my mind hole 13's pro "T" is as tough as they come.
Cons: Some of the fairways are a little close together. So keep your eyes open. This course has a lot of traffic on the weekend and friday afternoon. plan accordingly. And be patient with the newbies.
Other Thoughts: If you play in the fall before they rake up the leaves. Make sure you get a mark on your disc. The leaves do a good job of hiding them. Also play attention to Basket placement. They move the around alot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful 3-par flagship course of Norfolk

5+    5/20/2010   7/3/2009
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful location dedicated solely to DG -- a walking trail wraps around the perimeter of the course and it has never posed a hazard / problem to my game.

After the early spring leaves are raked up, copious amounts of wood chips are laid down -- I love this as a playing surface.

Rarely muddy, and the surface is never cluttered by troublesome foliage. You rarely spend time disc searching (again, after raking).

Trees are very tall and are sparse enough to be optimal course hazards, but close enough to provide a unique, beautiful, and immensely helpful foliage canopy. It is almost like walking through a giant DG "outdoor stadium."

Maintenance and upkeep are top notch.

Hangers, trash cans, and signs at nearly every holes.

Concrete tee pads in excellent condition.

Regular movement of pins keeps course fresh.

Cons: If you play in early spring before the course is raked, watch your disc very carefully -- the carpet of leaves is thick.

The course is amost entirely flat.

That's about it. I love this course.
Other Thoughts: This is the Norfolk / Va Beach area flagship course. A must play.

Still a great place to hang out. 99% of the people are very cool, though some of the uber-regulars are weirdos. I'd swear some of them actually live at the course and would bleed bong water if you poked them...

Most people are very nice and will let you play through or tag along if you ask nicely. Have fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cool but Crowded

1    7/10/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: Wundrkid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: At the beach, 18 holes
Cons: A little too crowded in the summer. Its not a bad thing really when you think about how popular the sport is becoming. It is just terrifying when you disc is flying at Mach 1 into a crowd of players. And waiting 15 minutes to throw on each hole gets a little old after a while.
Other Thoughts: I would play it again, maybe.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: SoonerDisc
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not crowded for being in the area of few courses. This is my home course. Challenging becuase of all the trees.
Cons: Heavy trees and mud after it rains becuase the lack of grass.
Other Thoughts: They usually have mini tourney on monday evenings. have yet to enter one though.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Stuff

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my three "home courses" since I live in the Tidewater area. There is a mini tourney on Monday evenings Spring-Fall which is very well run. $5 with a $1 ace pot, Rec, Adv, and Open divisions. If you come when the weather is decent there are lots of people here, but I have yet to see it packed like ball golf courses. Usually there's no trouble playing through. On a weekday morning, in the winter, or when the weather is bad you'll have the place to yourself. There are 20 holes rather than just 18 like most courses in the area. The two additions (labeled 13b and 13c) add some variety and challenge. Just watch out for the leaf ditch. I kid you not there are 2 or 3 feet of leaves in that ditch. It's a disc eater. The biggest pro of this course is that over half the holes have two tees and two separate baskets, giving you four combinations to play: short-short (pitch and putt, 200-300 foot holes with main obstacles being 5 or 10 large trees on each hole), short-long, long-short, and long-long (easy to double-bogey some of these, birdies are nearly impossible.) This really helps with the variety. It's free. Tee pads are longer than the other courses in the area and every single one of them is paved. Lots of bag posts, benches, trash cans, parking etc.
Cons: Can get muddy due to lack of grass. Small area for 20 holes so you hear a lot more "Fore" than at the other courses in the area. No big wide open "huck it" holes. Even the long holes favor the "Roc down the middle" style of play due to the plethora of trees. Just a few true fairways, just trees every 15 feet throughout the park with baskets strategically placed. On the other hand, you can often throw multiple lines on every hole-anhyzer or hyzer for instance. Despite what other reviews say, there aren't a lot of straight shots. I can only think of 6 holes that you can throw straight at the basket, and that's just in the short-short configuration. Usually you've got to have at least a little hyzer or anhyzer to really park it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Local Favorite

1    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great play if your looking to squize in a quick game. Lots of good people to b.s. with. Good short game with lots of precision shots. Also maintained really well. Plenty of benches trash cans signs and concrete tees. With 2 tee's and 2 baskets at virtually every hole you can get a lot of variety out of this course.
Cons: A bit small and crowded. I often have to wait at holes to continue playing.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I love it. It's a great place to spend the afternoon. It's a small course, so playing 2 games doesn't take up the whole day. Got my only ACE here at hole 7!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice change of pace

1    12/2/2006   12/2/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most people who play this course will be locals or people who are vacationing nearby. This course is a nice change of pace when you are sunburnt and want to stay out of the sun for a bit.

Bayville Park is a relatively straight forward course, and is a typical pitch and putt course. The layout uses the available trees quite well, with several possible routes on most of the holes.

This is not a tournament caliber course, but is good for a relaxed round. It is a place people can come to work on their game. Although not extremely challenging, this course requires a good mix of shots from the teepad and will reward players with accuracy.
Cons: The course is short, and floods easily. It is a mix of dirt and sand which can get pretty messy when you add water to the mix.

Course is probably too easy for most advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course at all. It is in a neighborhood and gets a decent amount of traffic. If you are vacationing at Virginia Beach, this place is worth checking out.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 FAMILY COURSE

5+    10/12/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: WELL MARKED
EASY TO SEE NEXT HOLE/BASKET
IN TREES (MOSTLY) SO SHADED DURING SUMMER
TRASH CAN & BENCH AT EVERY TEE
2 TEES AND 2 BASKETS FOR MOST HOLES
Cons: USUALLY CROWDED
FAIRWAYS TOO CLOSE TOGETHER
SOME BIG GROUPS DON'T LET PLAY-THRU
NO SCORECARD / MAP
Other Thoughts: GOOD FAMILY PARK
IF YOU ARE BY YOURSELF WITH THE KIDS, NOT TOO HARD TO PUSH THE STROLLER
PRACTICE TEE

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course.

5+    8/23/2008   8/23/2008
Review By: Riley
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great fun playing here. Technical shots are a must on some holes which makes this course what it is. Great people and fun holes. Play this course for a while and your putting will be tops.
Cons: No real crusher holes.
Other Thoughts: It's my home course and i love it. Great place just to chill with other golfers. Paul is usually there selling discs out of his van and has a great inventory for a mobile disc golf supplier.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated Course

5+    8/19/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 166  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 21 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Benches and Tee Signs on most holes
- Cool community of golfers
Cons: - Very poor design
- There really aren't fairways here, holes are seemingly just placed in random spots
- No grass, discs get filthy and discs skip REALLY far
- Serious danger of getting hit by someone else due to poor design, "fairways" criss cross or border each other.
- Just a pitch and putt, only 1 or 2 holes of 300+ feet.
- Seems like it was designed to be played with 80's technology.
Other Thoughts: I guess they did the best they could with the land here. I bet this course was a bear in the 80's but today you can throw your putter or midrange and all but 1 or 2 holes. Seemingly just rewards good putting.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.