Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 307ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice but not very challenging

2-4    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: LDietz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nice well maintained course.
2. With short and long tee boxes as well as short and long baskets there are really 4 coursed in one here.
3. Good beginner and intermediate course.
4. Trees to keep you on your toes and provide summer shade.
Cons: 1. No elevation. Not the fault of the course; what else would you expect on flat land.
2. It is not always clear which basket is the correct basket for the tee you might be standing on.
3. Fairways are sometimes too close to each other and an errant throw can sometimes land where someone else is playing.
4. No tee shots required a left turn or a right turn. You always had an option to go either way. This doesn't force a person to learn varied shots.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing here. There were several other disc golfers near the parking lot and they were all very friendly and helpful. They pointed out the first tee pad and gave us some hints.

My background: I'm 68 years old and have been playing about a year and most of my tee shots go about 200 ft. I've played 11 courses in 4 states, so take my comments with that in mind.

I like the fact that you can play 4 courses (short-short, short-long, long-short, or long-long) although I only played short-short (twice).

Although this is a wooded course, if you don't hit the trees, even an errant shot usually provides a good opportunity to get within putting range in 2 shots. There are very few bushes or dense tree populations to block shots. I never found the need for a thumber or tomahawk.

To find the next tee box just look for the red basket at the hole you just played, then look for the closest concrete pad. This worked for all but one hole. I don't remember which one. Navigation was only slightly difficult the first round and much easier the second.

Suggestions to those who maintain the course:
1. Put white numbers on the red baskets so they will be easier to see.
2. Put arrows pointing to the basket on each tee box.
3. Try putting the porta-potty on level ground.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Reliable

1    9/14/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs at each tee showing basket positions and distance.

Very good concrete pads. Multiple pads foreach hole gives you several distance and options when playing the course.

Two baskets for each hole. Yellow plays in the shorter position with a red basket for the alternate or longs. Both baskets were in excellent condition at every hole.

Lots of trees and shade. Not what I'd call woods or a true technical course, but there is enough trees everywhere to keep you honest.

Porta potty near 1, 18 and practice basket. Bag hooks at most of the holes.
Cons: Older course so things were a little crowded. Many baskets are visible from the tee pads so in some place it was a little confusing for a first timer out there.

Some of the holesmhad unmarked alternate tee pads. I think it was mostly on 13, 13b and 13c. I hate the hole 13b and c thing. Just renumber the damn holes. But maybe that's only my problem???

Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent little course. It's similar to some of the older ones in that there isn't a ton of room between holes and tees. There also isn't a lot of long holes. I think the max holes here were right around 400' and there was only a couple of them. Many of the holes are in the 220-300' range. One of those courses where you can play a quick round just using a putter and mid.

Course has lots of what I'd call scattered trees. This usually let's you pick out a line and go for it. You are almost never forced to make a specific shot or shoot a certain line here. But if you are inaccurate there are enough trees to punish you.

Zero elevation. No ups, no downs. Zero water shots or lost disc opportunities. Pretty much just basic, solid disc golf. Not really any bad holes here, but there really aren't any memorable ones either. It is certainly worth playing if you are nearby, but not worth a long drive either.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For All

2-4    6/19/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A van selling discs hangs out on the weekends.

It's a decent course and a must play but it won't be a heavy challenge for better players. Each hole has multiple basket options. The reds are very easy and the white/blue adds a little distance or slight obstacle to the hole but it won't require the perfect shot to get in for a birdie. That's actually some of the fun of playing this course...it's possible for anyone to compete.

It has 2 holes in the middle of the course that add a little fun because they're extra.

The course challenges include trees and lots of them but they're spaced out enough to leave plenty of wide open avenues to cut through.
Cons: It's a very popular course and the holes are tight so it's easy to end up on waiting on multiple holes throughout the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Out of Town Visit

1    2/15/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I Like the Two baskets per hole. The Bag poles where nice and simple. The Tee boxes were strait forward concrete pads. You could tell most of the baskets, by the signs at the tee box. Well wooded with little undergrowth, but see below for more details.
Cons: Leaves Leaves Every where. They swallow disc's whole, never to be found again. Getting from the basket of the hole you just played to the Tee box of the next can be very confusing.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had more time to play this course, I only got part way through it, before having to leave. I will have to come back and play again, and look for my disc's. I Lost two discs on this course, Both covered in leaves I guess.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville

1    2/2/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: VB Chains
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very good course. Multiple tees and baskets. Very fun to play!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: The crowd it attracts makes it look like a homeless camp.

Openly smoking marijuana and drinking beer all over the course.

Not a place I woud bring my young son to play.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/9/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've played lots of courses in the tree, but this course really does have achievable tree holes. Each hole has its fair share of woods, but there is a defined route to get to the basket without just getting lucky. Also, many opportunities to refine your short game. I also like the option of being able to play 4 diff. courses. You could play either basket off of each tee pad...2 pads and pins per hole.
Cons: No elevation. Everything is flat.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of benches, bag poles, and bathrooms around. Good little course to practice refining your game on. I will definitely add this course to my summer playlist.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 love this course

5+    1/3/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: Zootaroonee
Played: 89  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete tees. multiple tees. there are either multiple tees or baskets for each hole. there are also some dirt tees marked with sunken posts that are kinda hard to find but it makes for a possible 4 courses in one depending on which baskets you are shooting at and from what tee. Not much elevation change so its easy to walk. They change the basket placements fairly often so it keeps you on your toes if you play there regularly. Tees 1 and 9 are almost right next to each other and between them are the 9 and 18 baskets so you can play either 1-9 or 10-18 or both and end up right back at your car. Plenty of trees to challenge any play style. Trash cans, benches, and well manicured grounds.
Cons: the course intertwines so sometimes you might throw at someone 3-5 holes ahead of you by accident. Keep your head on a swivel here if you see more than one group as discs will come by you. The whole park in general is wicked fun but they only have porta-potties. Seems a shame considering how nice the rest of the place is.
Other Thoughts: the two extra holes are at the far end of the park. they are marked as 13b and c ( i think its 13 anyway). They are easy enough to find tho~ they are at the other end of the course from where you start :) Most certainly if you are in Va Beach for any length of time you'll want to stop thru. There are on occasion big storms that go thru va beach and knock down trees. Sadly last year a couple *charlie brown kite eater* trees were knocked down and made the course different. The multiple basket placements were brought in to save the day. :)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    12/17/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: Madhatter575
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: One thing I find unique about this course is if your a lefty like myself this course is very left hand friendly. If your a beginner this course might be one of the best for you to make as your home course, given the fact it is always busy and the locals dont mind giving you some tips. This course is also good for those players who dont have long drives.
Cons: Not too many cons about this course they did well with the limited space they have. The many con would be the amount of players on warm days it seems like your always waiting at the tee, but other then that its a good course.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a course with long holes this is not it!!! This course is all about placement, a lot of times longer drives actually put you in a worse postion because the fairways are so close to eachother. Playing this course in the fall and winter i would suggest playing with very bright discs!! lots of trees means lots of leaves and once you drive you better keep an eye on it because your disc is gonna be covered.

 Great Signs

1    9/28/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: Borrachos
Played: 55  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Obvious fairways in a very wooded course, nice long tee pads, quick to play even with several groups on the course, holes are designed in a nice out and in so there isn't a long walk back to the parking lot. Great signs!!! Baskets were great as well and it was easy to tell which to throw to depending on which tees you were playing.
Cons: Get ready to yell fore. It's a small area so chances of getting hit or hitting someone (which I did, sorry about that!) is high. Plus, ricocheting off a tree or errant throw will put you in another fairway. Could be confusing if you are from out of town, like me, but the signs come in handy.
Other Thoughts: Interesting course and it seems Va Beach DGer's take care of the course. Didn't see any litter and the signs haven't been messed with. My favorite holes were either 14 or 16. Great course to work on your accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bayville

5+    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: No wait time during the weekday. I love how the front and back 9 end in the same area. Can be in and out in 45 min if needed.
Cons: I wish that there wasn't so much light interference at night with traffic and houses. Glow golf would be way more fun. Big groups on weekends and evenings. Should be a a rule of no groups bigger than 5.
Other Thoughts: Seems like the club does change some of the basket positions regularly. Thumbs up on that! Great course check it out if your in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.