Virginia Beach, VA
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 278ft.   3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign (Long)



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 A nice change of pace

1    12/2/2006   12/2/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2008
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most people who play this course will be locals or people who are vacationing nearby. This course is a nice change of pace when you are sunburnt and want to stay out of the sun for a bit.

Bayville Park is a relatively straight forward course, and is a typical pitch and putt course. The layout uses the available trees quite well, with several possible routes on most of the holes.

This is not a tournament caliber course, but is good for a relaxed round. It is a place people can come to work on their game. Although not extremely challenging, this course requires a good mix of shots from the teepad and will reward players with accuracy.
Cons: The course is short, and floods easily. It is a mix of dirt and sand which can get pretty messy when you add water to the mix.

Course is probably too easy for most advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course at all. It is in a neighborhood and gets a decent amount of traffic. If you are vacationing at Virginia Beach, this place is worth checking out.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 FAMILY COURSE

5+    10/12/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: WELL MARKED
EASY TO SEE NEXT HOLE/BASKET
IN TREES (MOSTLY) SO SHADED DURING SUMMER
TRASH CAN & BENCH AT EVERY TEE
2 TEES AND 2 BASKETS FOR MOST HOLES
Cons: USUALLY CROWDED
FAIRWAYS TOO CLOSE TOGETHER
SOME BIG GROUPS DON'T LET PLAY-THRU
NO SCORECARD / MAP
Other Thoughts: GOOD FAMILY PARK
IF YOU ARE BY YOURSELF WITH THE KIDS, NOT TOO HARD TO PUSH THE STROLLER
PRACTICE TEE

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course.

5+    8/23/2008   8/23/2008
Review By: Riley
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great fun playing here. Technical shots are a must on some holes which makes this course what it is. Great people and fun holes. Play this course for a while and your putting will be tops.
Cons: No real crusher holes.
Other Thoughts: It's my home course and i love it. Great place just to chill with other golfers. Paul is usually there selling discs out of his van and has a great inventory for a mobile disc golf supplier.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated Course

5+    8/19/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Benches and Tee Signs on most holes
- Cool community of golfers
Cons: - Very poor design
- There really aren't fairways here, holes are seemingly just placed in random spots
- No grass, discs get filthy and discs skip REALLY far
- Serious danger of getting hit by someone else due to poor design, "fairways" criss cross or border each other.
- Just a pitch and putt, only 1 or 2 holes of 300+ feet.
- Seems like it was designed to be played with 80's technology.
Other Thoughts: I guess they did the best they could with the land here. I bet this course was a bear in the 80's but today you can throw your putter or midrange and all but 1 or 2 holes. Seemingly just rewards good putting.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Friendly Neighborhood Community DGC

8/1/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to. Good Concrete tees, benches at many of the tees. Nice pratice tee area. Good use of available space. Shaded for most of course.
Cons: No grass to speak of, mostly sand. Very close tight course. Not technical, but if you throw badly you can very easily end up in your neighbors fairway. Not cool.
Other Thoughts: Wooded for most of the course, it seems like a nice local course. It's very active, even during the day. Could use some better signage, got confused between a couple of holes. Shorter course than can be played fairly quickly, even for me.

Favorite holes 16 - Shoot over a small canal with OB hazard to a basket bordered by canal and small hill behind, and the 17 shooting over canal again to back in the woods.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Bit More Than A Neighborhood Pitch & Putt

7/10/2003   2/22/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2008
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's in a nice little neighborhood park, it's well marked with benches, it's mostly shady on those hot Virginia days, you can play a round in an hour or less, it's easy to find and it utilizes the natural setting about as well as one could ask for. There are cement tee pads to throw from. It's just a step ahead of a little pitch and putt course but that's OK. It's a fun little course that won't be holding any major tournaments but it's great for sharpening your game or bringing out the new players. Accurate throwers can rack up some nice scores here.
Cons: Nothing major. What you get here is just your basic little neighborhood park disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a 4 or 5 star course, you'll have to drive a distance. If you live in Virginia Beach, you'll probably throw here.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Suburban DG Near the Ocean

5/17/2003   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 12.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities, nice setting
Other Thoughts: Like the course in Newport News, Bayville Park benefits from nice amenities, with good tee pads, good signs, and benches at I think every hole. And this course is set among a nice grove of trees - not real thick, but thick enough to make this a woods course for 16 of its 18 holes.

But set on less land than most of the 18-hole courses I've played, the Bayville course is a little tight, and is also one of the shorter courses I've played. Most every hole is a straight shot and the challenge is restricted to avoiding the trees. From the amateur tees it was easy to overthrow the baskets, but the length was more reasonable from the pro tees. In fact, both this course and Newport News reminded me of some of the Florida layouts, with am tees being a little easier than what I'm used too, and pro tees being just a little longer than what I'm used to. So I suggest the pro tees for all but beginners.

Overall, this course was a mixture, with no hole as tight as some of the woods holes found at Dorey Park or Newport News, but no hole open either. Since my game favors precision over power, this course suited me real well, but I bet a lot of players leave their long range drivers in the bag for most holes here. Also, the course does a good job squeezing 18 holes into the space available, although that only leaves one hole requiring anything other than a mostly straight path to the basket. And I did enjoy the quiet, arboreal air of the place. If you're in the area, check it out.

Favorite Hole - #17 - Longer hole over small canal, starting out in the open but throwing to basket back among the trees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.