Williamsburg, VA
New Quarter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 235ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Blue Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
The Total Package

2-4    2/15/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is separate from the rest of the park, allowing you to focus completely on your game.

The environment is very pretty and extremely well kept, especially considering the small fee to play ($3.00).

The holes are long, varied, and flow extremely well with the soft rolling hills of Williamsburg. Some in the open fields, some in the woods, some in and out; there's no lack of variety here.

The holes are quite long and you really have to take a second to plan an effective approach or you'll find yourself wasting shots. I think this course is great for developing a more serious game considering the challenge of getting 400' from a field down through tight woods in only 3 throws.
Cons: The only real con I could come up with is hole length. Some of these bad boys are pushing 400-500' and still are expected to be par 3. For a beginning player, it can become quite frustrating to fall short of par EVERY hole.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course was closer to home. It is really a remarkable environment that offers a perfect afternoon of disc golf!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Dollar Park

1    3/9/2012   10/9/2013
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably one of the best maintained courses I've played with well groomed woods and huge mowed fields. Dual concrete tees, dual baskets, excellent signage....but more importantly. Just amazing caliber of disc golf shots. This place really surprised me. Big open field holes and true fairway golf through dense eastern hardwoods. Elevation drops and gains. Shots from the open into the wooded abyss, out of the woods into the open, par 3s and par 4s and a huge finishing hole that requires distance and then some line threading back into the woods. I really was impressed and rank this course right up there with all the National gems. At times you feel like you are playing on a ball golf course and at times you feel like you're playing appalachian woodlands golf. Just a pristine park and best of all it's disc golf only turf so no interference from other parkgoers. You will need to throw far to do well here but theres still enough obstacles, strategy, gap hitting, and line hitting to keep it very cerebral and interesting. I really am bewildered that this course hasn't gotten as much attention as some of the higher rated DUDs on this site.
Cons: Despite the array of really amazing holes none of them really stood out.......however this is the sign of a high caliber course as there are no filler holes and every hole pretty much brings challenge and beauty at you simultaneously. No water for the water shot nerds out there. I truly cannot complain...hell after playing the 1 mile hike out of the park during the off season seemed like I was walking on air...
Other Thoughts: Again I'm tempted to throw a 5 on this course but it just lacked that 1 hole or 1 shot that burned into my memory......this is perhaps the best public disc golf in Virginia and IMO has what it takes to host a high quality NT event. Do yourself a favor and make the trip or make the time to play this course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

New Quarter

5+    4/7/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: huckman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. There is a nice mix of wooded and open holes. Couse is marked well except going from 4 to 5 or 5 to 6., then you back track once. Hilly at times, bring your hiking shoes. Course is clean It is kept up by park personell and local volunteers. The main office offers an awesome selection of innova discs. If you are passing though the area it is not far off interstate. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
Cons: I have no cons about this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great

2-4    7/25/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: darkside73
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a very wide verity, ranging from long open holes to short technical holes. The holes themselves are very well thought up and challenging. It is very well kept and has a very friendly crowd.
Cons: The course as a whole is poorly set up. There is a lot of doubling back to get to the next hole. It is almost challenging at times to locate the entrance to the next hole. There is also a $3 admission fee.
Other Thoughts: There was an entire family of deer living in the within the course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Quality Quarterly

1    7/6/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Quarter Park is an impressive park with tons of activities. It has walking/biking trails, sand volleyball, basketball, softball, horseshoe pits, playgrounds, and access to the water. It's a very well kept park with restroom facilities.

There is a small clubhouse near the parking lot. The $3 fee was a bargain. The workers were super nice and supply you with a score card.

The course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. With all the other activities in the park they did a great job keeping it isolated. It has some nice elevation in places. The woods punish you but it's not that bad locating discs. It's very clean and well maintained. It has some great variety with a good mix of traditional par 3 and newer par 4 golf. It depends on if you play the long or short pads and where the pins are located (short or long). I threw a lot of different discs and lines during the round.

Awesome short & long concrete tee pads.

Multiple Pin positions on each hole.

Very descriptive tee signs. Bag holders.

Discraft chainstar baskets which are in great condition.
Cons: The tee signs are only located at the short tee.

The pins were located in all the short positions the day I played. There were some very awesome looking long pin positions. This course would be an ideal candidate for a 2nd set of permanent pins that are a different color.
Other Thoughts: If you are on vacation and headed down to Virginia Beach or the Outer Banks this is a must play.

I really wish I had this as a home course. It has everything that I want in a course. It's fun and challenging.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wish I Could Play It Quarterly (More Often, Actually)

2-4    4/4/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variety! (See Other Thoughts)

Two pin positions per hole (#1 and #16 have a third position). Colour (red/blue/white) of flag on top of basket will tell you if the basket is in original/alternate/tournament position (alternate typically longer than original, but not always). The day I played, number 1 and 16 were in tournament position, front nine in original, back nine in alternate.

Two concrete (4'x'10') concrete teepads per hole. Excellent teesigns at shorter teepads. Bag holders. Smattering of benches and trash cans.

Maps, scorecards, practice basket, maintenance, shop, restrooms, parking, etc., all of fine quality.
Cons:
It would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position, as the flag is not always readily visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts:
The course is located in the open space and along the bordering wooded ridges towards the back of a large, public park. The course is set away from the other park users, and there is a various non-dg activities to enjoy.

Variety is the strength of this course - a very even blend between open (which typical offer a tree, or two, or cluster to avoid mid/late fairway), entirely wooded (tall hardwoods, playing well below their branches, trying to avoid their trunks), and blended (typically starting in the open, finding the basket within the treeline, with these trees being smaller, and supported by bushes, creating challenging windows to hit) holes.

From the tee, straight will serve you well on most occasions, although some left/right turns, typically subtle, will be needed. In a similar way, many holes play fairly flat, or gently downslope - for the most part, nothing too extreme. Length-wise, depending upon basket position, and tee played, average hole-length can vary from ~300' to ~470'.

Favourite hole: gotta go with #16. One of the longer holes, and playing entirely in the woods, the fairway is defined by scattered tall hardwoods, creating a primary fairway, but offering some alternate lines, too. Roughly 2/3rds down the fairway, the ridge you've been playing across drops steeply downward, with the tournament position being eye-level to you, on the opposite ridge, the trees continuing to offer fair-but-g lines. Honourable mentions: #12, an in-woods, sweeping left-turner, up-n-over a small ridge at the end to find a basket tucked in an ever-tightening group of small trees

A fine course, offering a good variety of bombing and control, plenty of length, well-kitted out tee areas, and within a very nice park - definitely the cream of the Richmond-Virginia Beach disc golf corridor.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

W.O.W.

1    11/29/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Incredible variation of holes from open to wooded (some starting off open and ending wooded and vice versa)
-Beautiful park
-cement tee pads
-pro shop on sight that lets you test out the disks before you buy!!!
-bag holders
-friendly staff
-trash free and well kept landscaping
Cons: -Not all the signs were labeled correctly considering the tee placement is changed constantly
-pay to play
-the course is not closer to were i live :(
Other Thoughts: Did a solo trip here on a beautiful day and was not disappointed by the outstanding reviews i had read about the place. The course was challenging and absolutely gorgeous. I will 100% be back to play at this course again and would recommend it to anyone who likes a challenge!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful & Quiet

1    10/10/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park and course
-Pro shop on site
-Great variety of skill level play
-Cement tee pads, maps, and tee signs at every hole
-Much more to offer than a disc golf course at park
-Restroom at parking lot
-Very well maintained
Cons: -Not really too much as far as cons. Got turned around on a couple of holes
-Par # not on scorecards
Other Thoughts: Great course! Had a beautiful day the day I played here. We were here on vacation visiting Colonial WIlliamsburg, which is just across the interstate, and thought I would try out the course. This park has so much to offer with hiking, biking, floating pier, canoeing, playground for kids, softball field, plus an 18 hole disc golf course. Just follow road till it dead ends into parking lot with the office at entrance of parking lot. There you will need to pay a $3 fee to play all day. I did not list this as a con since it goes towards what they are offering. The office has lots of discs and equipment to get you playing even if you walk in there with nothing to play with. The office also has maps of the course, plus, and this was a first for me, they have actual score cards and pencils. The only thing that was missing was the golf cart, which I asked, they do not have. The only bathroom with a roof over it was there by the office.
Once you trek over to the first tee pad your good to go. You have two selections of tee pads at most holes, but make sure you are at the right pad. One of the best things I noticed right away was that each basket has a flag atop a pole on top of each basket for easier location of your goal. Figuring out the course layout should not too difficult with a printed map and course map on your scorecard from the office. I played in the middle of the week in the middle of the day and only saw one other person playing, so basically had the course to myself. Fairways are not too close and run in and out of the wooded areas nicely. Most of your tee off shots are in the open with your next throw into the woods. Even with flags attached I still needed to go in search of the basket on occasion. Cement tee pads at every hole along with really nice signs with tee pad location, distance, hole #, par and basket location with obstacles shown along the way. Most of the open area shots are on a flat surface, however playing in the woods the elevation changes at just about every basket. The wooded areas are not so much you should loose a disc, but do require some skill on certain holes, going to the basket and teeing off depending on which way you are headed. I could definitley see this course being played for tournaments. A bit of a long course but well worth excercise. I believe this course has a lot to offer to both the experienced and the novice. Very clean and beautiful. Would really recommend playing if your in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!

1    8/5/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Jpcole9702
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, clean, challenging, fun course. Great variety of holes, well laid out, easy to follow and so much fun.
Cons: Too many deer on the course? No, there really are not any cons, as long as you pay attention at the tee and watch were the next tee box is after the hole you will be just fine.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in a beautiful park, there is something for the whole family here, and perfect for a family outing or anything else you can think of to get a chance to play some disc golf. I would recommend this course to everyone, as it is by far my favorite course so far!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best!

2-4    8/6/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: WOW!
This place is amazing.
-Super clean park that is quiet and pristine.
-Multiple tee pads and pin locations.
-The long tees are LONG so bring your BIG arm.
-Amazing variety of shots. Some open to wooded and some wooded to open.
-Great course for leftys, righties, flickers, and back arm throwers.
-Massive mature trees that tower above the ground. Make sure to look up while in the woods
-The DG course is amazingly well manicured
-Tee pads are nice and large (5 x 8-10)
-Almost every hole is amazing.
-Super nice Discraft baskets
-Each hole has 3 pin locations and they use a flag system so that the throwers can tell from the tee pad what pin location the basket is in. (Red/Blue/White)
-the Flags are tall above the baskets so that you can see even the blind throws
-Pro shop has disc to purchase and a great variety of Innova.
Cons: -I really can't think of any. I know that is not popular but unless you have played this course, you just don't know how nice this course is. I guess the only con would be that it's not closer to my house. :)
-No water hazards. is that even a con?
Other Thoughts: You must make time to get over to Va and play this jewel. You will be blown away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.