Williamsburg, VA
New Quarter Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 242ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
New Quarter

5+    4/7/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: huckman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. There is a nice mix of wooded and open holes. Couse is marked well except going from 4 to 5 or 5 to 6., then you back track once. Hilly at times, bring your hiking shoes. Course is clean It is kept up by park personell and local volunteers. The main office offers an awesome selection of innova discs. If you are passing though the area it is not far off interstate. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
Cons: I have no cons about this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great

2-4    7/25/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: darkside73
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a very wide verity, ranging from long open holes to short technical holes. The holes themselves are very well thought up and challenging. It is very well kept and has a very friendly crowd.
Cons: The course as a whole is poorly set up. There is a lot of doubling back to get to the next hole. It is almost challenging at times to locate the entrance to the next hole. There is also a $3 admission fee.
Other Thoughts: There was an entire family of deer living in the within the course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wish I Could Play It Quarterly (More Often, Actually)

2-4    4/4/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variety! (See Other Thoughts)

Two pin positions per hole (#1 and #16 have a third position). Colour (red/blue/white) of flag on top of basket will tell you if the basket is in original/alternate/tournament position (alternate typically longer than original, but not always). The day I played, number 1 and 16 were in tournament position, front nine in original, back nine in alternate.

Two concrete (4'x'10') concrete teepads per hole. Excellent teesigns at shorter teepads. Bag holders. Smattering of benches and trash cans.

Maps, scorecards, practice basket, maintenance, shop, restrooms, parking, etc., all of fine quality.
Cons:
It would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position, as the flag is not always readily visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts:
The course is located in the open space and along the bordering wooded ridges towards the back of a large, public park. The course is set away from the other park users, and there is a various non-dg activities to enjoy.

Variety is the strength of this course - a very even blend between open (which typical offer a tree, or two, or cluster to avoid mid/late fairway), entirely wooded (tall hardwoods, playing well below their branches, trying to avoid their trunks), and blended (typically starting in the open, finding the basket within the treeline, with these trees being smaller, and supported by bushes, creating challenging windows to hit) holes.

From the tee, straight will serve you well on most occasions, although some left/right turns, typically subtle, will be needed. In a similar way, many holes play fairly flat, or gently downslope - for the most part, nothing too extreme. Length-wise, depending upon basket position, and tee played, average hole-length can vary from ~300' to ~470'.

Favourite hole: gotta go with #16. One of the longer holes, and playing entirely in the woods, the fairway is defined by scattered tall hardwoods, creating a primary fairway, but offering some alternate lines, too. Roughly 2/3rds down the fairway, the ridge you've been playing across drops steeply downward, with the tournament position being eye-level to you, on the opposite ridge, the trees continuing to offer fair-but-g lines. Honourable mentions: #12, an in-woods, sweeping left-turner, up-n-over a small ridge at the end to find a basket tucked in an ever-tightening group of small trees

A fine course, offering a good variety of bombing and control, plenty of length, well-kitted out tee areas, and within a very nice park - definitely the cream of the Richmond-Virginia Beach disc golf corridor.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful & Quiet

1    10/10/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park and course
-Pro shop on site
-Great variety of skill level play
-Cement tee pads, maps, and tee signs at every hole
-Much more to offer than a disc golf course at park
-Restroom at parking lot
-Very well maintained
Cons: -Not really too much as far as cons. Got turned around on a couple of holes
-Par # not on scorecards
Other Thoughts: Great course! Had a beautiful day the day I played here. We were here on vacation visiting Colonial WIlliamsburg, which is just across the interstate, and thought I would try out the course. This park has so much to offer with hiking, biking, floating pier, canoeing, playground for kids, softball field, plus an 18 hole disc golf course. Just follow road till it dead ends into parking lot with the office at entrance of parking lot. There you will need to pay a $3 fee to play all day. I did not list this as a con since it goes towards what they are offering. The office has lots of discs and equipment to get you playing even if you walk in there with nothing to play with. The office also has maps of the course, plus, and this was a first for me, they have actual score cards and pencils. The only thing that was missing was the golf cart, which I asked, they do not have. The only bathroom with a roof over it was there by the office.
Once you trek over to the first tee pad your good to go. You have two selections of tee pads at most holes, but make sure you are at the right pad. One of the best things I noticed right away was that each basket has a flag atop a pole on top of each basket for easier location of your goal. Figuring out the course layout should not too difficult with a printed map and course map on your scorecard from the office. I played in the middle of the week in the middle of the day and only saw one other person playing, so basically had the course to myself. Fairways are not too close and run in and out of the wooded areas nicely. Most of your tee off shots are in the open with your next throw into the woods. Even with flags attached I still needed to go in search of the basket on occasion. Cement tee pads at every hole along with really nice signs with tee pad location, distance, hole #, par and basket location with obstacles shown along the way. Most of the open area shots are on a flat surface, however playing in the woods the elevation changes at just about every basket. The wooded areas are not so much you should loose a disc, but do require some skill on certain holes, going to the basket and teeing off depending on which way you are headed. I could definitley see this course being played for tournaments. A bit of a long course but well worth excercise. I believe this course has a lot to offer to both the experienced and the novice. Very clean and beautiful. Would really recommend playing if your in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Location

1    1/9/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Dual Tees. I think all but 1 hole had a long and short tee-pad. This gives people the ability to choose their adventure. I caught up with a father and son who were playing the shorts… I played along with them from the longs without much hassle.
- Championship Level Golf. There was definitely some championship level golf to be played out there… especially from the long pads. There were a couple Par 4's and a Par 5 that I can remember.
- Open/Wooded/Open/Wooded. I love how the course starts in the open for 3 holes, goes into the woods for two holes, plays back in the open for two holes, and then goes back into the woods for three holes… throughout the entire course.
- History. Behind the 15th tee-pad (if I remember correctly) there is a hillside that was terraced into a series of bunkers and berms that were constructed during the civil war. Apparently no major fight took place at that location, but it was still really neat to see. Some people have found musket balls and other war artifacts in the park in the past.
Cons:
- Quirky Pin Positions. A few of the Holes had some really quirky pin positions: pins tucked behind a row of trees, and pins tucked into an alcove in the woods (on a woods hole). It seemed as if the designers didn't want you to have a good putt some of the time.
- Pin Next to Largest Tulip Poplar in the State. I want to say that on Hole 16, there is a large Tulip Poplar tree that is claimed to be the largest Tulip Poplar in Virginia. While that may seem cool, as a natural resources minded person, I take offense to the pin position. Soil compaction, erosional issues associated with disc golf and wear and tear on the tree's bark due to discs hitting it do not seem like acceptable things that should be happening to that tree to me. The Hole could have easily been shortened, or the angle changed in order to take the tree out of play while still having it on the course for people to be able to witness.
- Seasonality of Course. The course is closed during the weekdays during the winter… or, more accurately, the parking lot inside the park is closed. You can still play, you just have to walk in ¾ of a mile to get to the course.
Other Thoughts:
- Kings Mill Resort. I was in town for a conference and was lucky enough to be put up in the Kings Mill Resort. If you're traveling to the area and need a place to stay, let me just say that it was incredible. Probably the nicest hotel rooms I have ever slept in… definitely the nicest bed and linens. And, the food at the resort was great! It is probably too expensive during the summer months though.
- Touristy Area. There is definitely a lot to do and see in the region: from Jamestown to Colonial Williamsburg to Busch Gardens to disc golf. Have fun.
My Score: +2 from the Blues

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course, Play it for Sure

1    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Carefully manicured and maintained
-Good tee signs, cement tee pads, and quality baskets
-Nice blend of open and wooded holes
-Wooded holes require careful throws, but aren't punishing or too rugged.

One think I liked about this course is that there weren't any real surprise holes. Some courses have one or more quirky holes that require you to really know *that hole* and how to play it. This course is very straightforward, allowing you to focus on playing golf. Driving for placement, good upshots, and putting are all rewarded equally, not knowing one or two really tricky or weird shots. Good, consistent design.
Cons: Not too many cons, this is a really nice park. The only reason I wouldn't rate this as 4.5 or 5 is that I would like to see more par 4 or 5 holes. When I played, all of the pins were in the red position, so maybe the blue pin positions would make this better, but many of the greens are reachable from the tee, even from the long tees.
Other Thoughts: The $3 pay to play is certainly worth it. The guy at the desk was helpful, marking some of the confusing transitions between holes. The map/scorecard was clearly printed and easy to read. Really a beautiful place to play. If I'm in the area again, I will certainly play this course again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just an FYI

2-4    10/29/2009   1/9/2011
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Chainstars. Enough said.
Cons: It's been more than a year. I really don't remember. Must have not been any. Besides, I'm only writing this review for the info posted below.
Other Thoughts: I skimmed through the other reviews and I didn't see but if so, I wanted to re-iterate that your $3 fee is good for 24 hours: that is if you were to buy your round at 2:10 PM you can play until 2:10PM the next day.

Other than that, I've nothing to add to the reviews already posted. I only played twice and it was more than a year ago. I would play again.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing course, terrible ticks

1    6/10/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: norcalrock15
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Holes were very challenging
Scorecard and map were very helpful
Disc store at front office
Nice variety of holes
Cons: TICKS!!!
Five of us played, three of us hit with ticks. One of us ended up having five ticks on him. Bugspray just isn't enough here my friends. These things are swarming.

The only other con is that this course can definitely be a disc eater if your throw veers to far off.
Other Thoughts: I wish the old man at the office would of just given us at least a heads up about the tick infestation when we paid. That way we would of been searching for the ticks, instead of finding them 2 hours later sucking our bodies dry and giving us lyme disease.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Class of the Area

1    5/29/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 114  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course is in disc golf only area situated in a large, regional park designated a 'bird sanctuary'
* DG office has a good variety of discs for sale as well as discs/bags available for rental
* Maps/scorecard available at office minimize possible navigation issues
* Amenities on site (bathroom, water)
* Am/Pro Concrete Tee pads facilitate enjoyment for multiple skill levels
* Tee signs at AM tees / baskets in good condition
* The benches provide a needed break on multiple holes
* Nice balance of open/wooded holes
* Necessitates shot variety with a mix of right/left/straight throws off the tee and/also as the hole progresses
* Well designed course with a nice flow with the available elevation incorporated ingeniuosly
* Challenging mentally and physically
* Minimal possibility of disc loss and lack of other annoyances leaves one free to focus on enjoying the round

Cons: * $3 pay to play may be disincentive for some players however this place is worth it
* Abundance of ticks
* Lack of tee signs at Pro tees (not really a problem, just being picky cuz ya pay to play)

Other Thoughts: What a pleasure it is to have the opportunity to play a course such as this.
Practically every aspect is well thought out and designed with emphasis on the player's enjoyment.
It appeals to a wide range of players - from those who've never played (with disc/bag rental availability,
amateur tees, maps/scorecards, helpful/friendly/instructional staff, amenities) to seasoned veterans
(pro tees offering a greater challenge w/more shot variety needed and physical/mental demands).


While the pay to play aspect may deter some, it was worth the 3 bucks as far as I'm concerned.
I could nit-pick about the lack of tee signs at the pro tees but with the map provided at the office,
this wasn't a real concern - its the type of course you'd be familiar with after just a single round.

I will mention that the ticks were excessive even with bug spray. After every hole, we did a tick check
at each tee and I'd say either one of us found a tick (usually on our socks) on over half the holes - so be mindful.


What I was most impressed with was the balance playing from the pro tees - a good mix of right/left/straight shots,
distance, risk/reward, elevation, shot variety (backhand/foerhand/roller/tomahawk/open bombs/precise woods carving, etc)
and most of all - Fun Factor. I never felt at risk of losing a disc as the woods holes were clear of thick brush and
the open holes provided ample room to avoid the dense brush/woods on the borders.

The design and flow of the course was seamless - it just felt 'right' when playing (meaning no major issues or problems
which detracted from trying to play a solid round). I didn't feel there were any 'epic' holes but certainly
some wonderfully fun/challenging ones which stick in my mind. However, I usually look at a course as a whole rather
than focusing on 'stand out' holes so this wasn't at all an issue.


Although challenging, I wouldn't consider this course excessively difficult from the pro tees - really fair in my mind.
Its one of those must plays if in, around or near the area - a destination course for sure. As described by a response to
a roadtrip forum post I created: 'This is the class of the area'. True words indeed. So give New Quarter Park a play - you'll have a blast.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/24/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very good course, enjoyable play on a tough, fair course.
- Course does a great job of using natural obstacles - well placed baskets behind trees, along the edge of the woods, elevation variations, etc.
- Good variety of hole layouts. Two birdie chances to start the round, then plenty of tougher holes. I liked the tight, wooded, downhill shot on #4 followed by the tight, uphill, dogleg right on #5. Even the open holes required some strategic shots, especially #6 & 7. You'll definitely find a couple holes you really liked on this course, and also a couple you really don't care for.
- Great mix of open and wooded holes. I really liked the back-and-forth flow of open and wooded holes throughout the course. There are a couple open, followed by a couple wooded holes throughout, so you never felt like you were getting too many of one.
- Course has long & short basket placements to spice things up. I really enjoyed some of the longer basket placements, especially #10. Instead of a average, ho-hum hole, the long basket plays into the woods.
- Nice clubhouse with a huge selection of discs. Newbies can rent discs or buy ones if they choose. The guy working there was really helpful. I also liked the added touch of having cans of bug spray right outside the front door. It's the little things like that which go a long way.
- Nice detailed course map and scorecards are available.
- Low risk of losing discs for having so many wooded holes. The wooded holes aren't thick with trees, so should be able to find any errant shots.
- Great natural scenery. For the most part, course is very secluded from the rest of the park.
- Park is very clean. I don't remember seeing any trash - bottles, cans, etc. anywhere on the course. Maybe the $3 keeps the litterbugs away.
Cons: No major problems to speak of, only a couple small things.
- Course had minor flow problems on, or between, a couple holes. On #3 tee, it's hard to pinpoint which opening in the woods is the fairway. Markers/ribbons on trees would help. Between #2 & 7, the long tee pads are somewhat close, so better signage/tee marker can clear up an possible confusion. Also walk between a couple holes was slightly confusing. Again, these were minor problems.
- Baskets are metallic colored, instead of bright yellow DISCatchers, so they're hard to spot on some of the wooded holes, especially when playing on a cloudy day (like I was).
- For those who care, you don't pass any water fountains or restrooms once out on the course. It's a short walk back to the building, so it's not a real problem.
- There was little variety in shots/hole layouts from the short to long tees. Almost every hole had the long tee essentially placed right behind the short tee 50 - 150 feet back, so you didn't get different looks or angles playing one to the other.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It reminded me a lot of Hornets Nest, which is a very good thing.
- The course kept things very simple. Sometimes a well-placed basket behind one or two trees is just as difficult as one placed behind 20.
- This course had more dogleg right holes than normal courses. There are seven true dog legs (#4, 5, 9, 10, 15, 17 &18), with some being minor/gradual doglegs to extreme ones (#5).
- There were a lot of fun, well laid-out holes on this course. The back-to-back of #15 & 16 was a great stretch. #15 tees off at the edge, and over, a slight ridge to a dogleg right. #16 is a wooded hole to a basket in the bottom of a slight ravine. Both take smart shots; both have good risk/reward factor, and both have nice scenery to take in.
- I think all types of players will enjoy this course - from beginners to advanced, to those who prefer open courses to wooded-hole fans. Everyone should enjoy the variation.
- The $3 daily play/$25 year-long pass is well worth the price. Anyone living in Williamsburg is getting there money's worth for the season pass.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.