Williamsburg, VA 
New Quarter Park Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Makes the most of the land

1    8/16/2013   9/29/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 81  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course makes the absolute most of the land it has available. From the white tees, it is a little on the short side, but is a great Am course. The blue tees add a little more distance but it still doesn't feel like a premier championship level from there.

There is a seemingly even number of open and wooded holes, some having a little of both. Big arms will rejoice when they get to air a few holes out. Technical shots will be required in the woods.

The layout doesn't favor backhand/forehand, so in that respect it is great. There are a few holes that you may drive with a putter or midrange, but most will involve a driver of some sort.

There isn't any apparent filler holes (designed to get you from one hole to the next without much thought), which is a welcoming change. However, coincidentally, there isn't a signature hole either.

The signs were top quality and I don't recall any major navigational issues. Additionally, I don't recall any major chance of losing discs, despite being in the woods for many holes. The underbrush is minimal so you should feel OK about tossing a blind shot.

The wildlife on the course was excellent. You're almost guaranteed to see deer while playing. The park is also nestled close to some historic sites and civil war reenactments can often be heard while playing. There is plenty to do in the area outside of dg, so don't hesitate to make a trip to the area.

The pro shop on site is excellent and definitely adds to the experience. Paying $3 to play for the day is certainly not a problem. The maintenance of the park itself, in addition to the disc golf course, is top notch.
Cons: There is very little elevation changes on the whole course. This is to be expected of a course so close to the ocean, but it still detracts from the overall difficulty and rating of the course.

There isn't any water involved. To be a premier course, you have to have a water element. I could easily see giving this course a 4.5 if it had h2o.

No signature hole. All of the holes seem to have a purpose and aren't "forced", however none of them stand out. Just a minor setback.

The course didn't challenge me like I was anticipating. Most of the holes are fairly straight forward and many allow you to open up with no fear of trees or other hazards. Precarious pin positions are the only real obstacle to be had other than a few narrow wooded fairways. The course could benefit by adding more distance to the open holes and more dog legs if available.

Seasonal closings. The course is only open at certain times during the winter, so you will either need to walk into the park during the closed hours or arrive at a scheduled opening.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play on the east coast. Definitely a must play when driving through and I'd even suggest a trip to the area since there is plenty of other attractions to keep your attention between rounds. Give New Quarter a shot!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Quarter, No Question!

1    8/16/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Quarter Park disc golf course is a good one for sure. Sort of has two faces, alternating styles through out the 18 holes. First, showing wide open grassy holes, and then into fully wooded and much tighter fairways. Opens up for a couple of holes, then into the woods again, and so on. The last hole is open, and is over 800 feet from the long tees. The open holes are nice, featuring a few mature trees, and some have a bit of elevation change. Grass was thick, no skips. I prefer the other woodsy style holes. Where the shot placement is a little more important, and the terrain was a little rougher. Hole 12, and 15 were two of the best I thought. In either case, the course is versatile with multiple concrete tees and two or more pin locations on all holes, except for hole 15, having just one concrete tee and two pin positions. A good mix of throws are required in terms of left and right, and varying in distance also. There are several long holes, white tees measuring 5500+ feet, and blues are nearly 7000 feet. This park is very nicely kept, and the staff were very pleasant also. I didn't encounter significant amounts of water or mud anywhere. The condition of the disc golf baskets, tees and signs were all good. Scorecards, pencils, bug spray and other things are available at the park office. I enjoyed the experience playing a round here, and would have liked to see what else the park has to offer, if I'd had the time.
Cons: No real issues for me to mention. The $3 cost is fair, and facilities seemed excellent from what I saw. The open holes were very sound, operational disc golf holes, but I do tend to find them less stimulating. Pets must be leashed, and I will list this as a con, though I understand some would not. Rules are rules, sorry Charley
Other Thoughts: New Quarter Park disc golf course is fun and challenging. I played the longer blue tees, and finished with a 67 on my first visit. That is 5 over par according to the scorecard I printed. I blame some bad putting, and bonking a couple of trees. I did manage a couple of birdies. I did like this course and would say it is well worth a visit. Rating by average review scores is accurate, in my opinion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

1    7/12/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.5 Years
Pros: Great variety, open and wooded. Beautiful and well maintained course. I like that the holes get moved periodically to keep the course different. Not a course that gets crowded.
Cons: Long and tough, very technical. This course will test your skills. Some holes are par 3 that are difficult to get to in 3 if you are just a recreational player like myself and my girlfriend. Also a long course with elevation change. Makes you want to wear hiking boots!
Other Thoughts: We loved this course although it was tough. We will be back. Like the shop and the logo discs that they sell. We loved the toughness of #16. Long with elevation changes and beautiful scenery.

No Quarter or Take No Prisoners

1    3/17/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual concrete tees with chainstar baskets and multiple pin locations. Nice tee signs and bag holders. Navigation is pretty easy. 2 loops of 9 holes. Excellent variety of challenges from mostly open to heavily wooded holes. Little underbrush. Disc golf only area of park. Bathrooms, water, office and pro shop by parking lot.
Cons: No major detractors here. No pin indication for basket position at tee. IMO Hole 13 from the long tee doesn't seem to be a golf shot to me. No Gold level layout. Holly trees in the rough.
Other Thoughts: Set in historic Colonial Williamsburg, New Quarter Park is a modern age professionally built championship style disc golf course for intermediate to advanced level players with an odd arrangement of par 3s, a couple par 4s, and a par 5. Overall I really enjoyed the course, it features a few long open bombs and several technical wooded fairways. The mostly open holes play over only slight elevation changes while the heavily wooded holes play along more significant elevation changes, personally I would prefer more elevation changes on the mostly open holes to make them more interesting, but that's just my preference and mother nature didn't plan the land out that way. I found the overall design to have significantly more left to right turns so the balance of shots was a little off. The park maintenance crew grooms this course like it's Augusta National. The crew in the pro shop/office were awesome to talk to, and provide you a map after you pay the $3/day fee to play.

I go back and forth is New Quarter a 4 or 4.5? I feel it would be a weak 4.5 compared to the other courses I've rated that. This is easily the top course I've ever given a 4, wish there was a 4.25 option. If you are going up/down I-95 near Richmond this is well worth the one way 50min detour, however I love more elevation so I would rather detour I64 the opposite direction 1hr 20 to Walnut Creek. If you happen to be going across I64 you have some awesome courses to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

New Quarter

5+    4/7/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: huckman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. There is a nice mix of wooded and open holes. Couse is marked well except going from 4 to 5 or 5 to 6., then you back track once. Hilly at times, bring your hiking shoes. Course is clean It is kept up by park personell and local volunteers. The main office offers an awesome selection of innova discs. If you are passing though the area it is not far off interstate. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
Cons: I have no cons about this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great

2-4    7/25/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: darkside73
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a very wide verity, ranging from long open holes to short technical holes. The holes themselves are very well thought up and challenging. It is very well kept and has a very friendly crowd.
Cons: The course as a whole is poorly set up. There is a lot of doubling back to get to the next hole. It is almost challenging at times to locate the entrance to the next hole. There is also a $3 admission fee.
Other Thoughts: There was an entire family of deer living in the within the course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wish I Could Play It Quarterly (More Often, Actually)

2-4    4/4/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Variety! (See Other Thoughts)

Two pin positions per hole (#1 and #16 have a third position). Colour (red/blue/white) of flag on top of basket will tell you if the basket is in original/alternate/tournament position (alternate typically longer than original, but not always). The day I played, number 1 and 16 were in tournament position, front nine in original, back nine in alternate.

Two concrete (4'x'10') concrete teepads per hole. Excellent teesigns at shorter teepads. Bag holders. Smattering of benches and trash cans.

Maps, scorecards, practice basket, maintenance, shop, restrooms, parking, etc., all of fine quality.
Cons:
It would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position, as the flag is not always readily visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts:
The course is located in the open space and along the bordering wooded ridges towards the back of a large, public park. The course is set away from the other park users, and there is a various non-dg activities to enjoy.

Variety is the strength of this course - a very even blend between open (which typical offer a tree, or two, or cluster to avoid mid/late fairway), entirely wooded (tall hardwoods, playing well below their branches, trying to avoid their trunks), and blended (typically starting in the open, finding the basket within the treeline, with these trees being smaller, and supported by bushes, creating challenging windows to hit) holes.

From the tee, straight will serve you well on most occasions, although some left/right turns, typically subtle, will be needed. In a similar way, many holes play fairly flat, or gently downslope - for the most part, nothing too extreme. Length-wise, depending upon basket position, and tee played, average hole-length can vary from ~300' to ~470'.

Favourite hole: gotta go with #16. One of the longer holes, and playing entirely in the woods, the fairway is defined by scattered tall hardwoods, creating a primary fairway, but offering some alternate lines, too. Roughly 2/3rds down the fairway, the ridge you've been playing across drops steeply downward, with the tournament position being eye-level to you, on the opposite ridge, the trees continuing to offer fair-but-g lines. Honourable mentions: #12, an in-woods, sweeping left-turner, up-n-over a small ridge at the end to find a basket tucked in an ever-tightening group of small trees

A fine course, offering a good variety of bombing and control, plenty of length, well-kitted out tee areas, and within a very nice park - definitely the cream of the Richmond-Virginia Beach disc golf corridor.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful & Quiet

1    10/10/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park and course
-Pro shop on site
-Great variety of skill level play
-Cement tee pads, maps, and tee signs at every hole
-Much more to offer than a disc golf course at park
-Restroom at parking lot
-Very well maintained
Cons: -Not really too much as far as cons. Got turned around on a couple of holes
-Par # not on scorecards
Other Thoughts: Great course! Had a beautiful day the day I played here. We were here on vacation visiting Colonial WIlliamsburg, which is just across the interstate, and thought I would try out the course. This park has so much to offer with hiking, biking, floating pier, canoeing, playground for kids, softball field, plus an 18 hole disc golf course. Just follow road till it dead ends into parking lot with the office at entrance of parking lot. There you will need to pay a $3 fee to play all day. I did not list this as a con since it goes towards what they are offering. The office has lots of discs and equipment to get you playing even if you walk in there with nothing to play with. The office also has maps of the course, plus, and this was a first for me, they have actual score cards and pencils. The only thing that was missing was the golf cart, which I asked, they do not have. The only bathroom with a roof over it was there by the office.
Once you trek over to the first tee pad your good to go. You have two selections of tee pads at most holes, but make sure you are at the right pad. One of the best things I noticed right away was that each basket has a flag atop a pole on top of each basket for easier location of your goal. Figuring out the course layout should not too difficult with a printed map and course map on your scorecard from the office. I played in the middle of the week in the middle of the day and only saw one other person playing, so basically had the course to myself. Fairways are not too close and run in and out of the wooded areas nicely. Most of your tee off shots are in the open with your next throw into the woods. Even with flags attached I still needed to go in search of the basket on occasion. Cement tee pads at every hole along with really nice signs with tee pad location, distance, hole #, par and basket location with obstacles shown along the way. Most of the open area shots are on a flat surface, however playing in the woods the elevation changes at just about every basket. The wooded areas are not so much you should loose a disc, but do require some skill on certain holes, going to the basket and teeing off depending on which way you are headed. I could definitley see this course being played for tournaments. A bit of a long course but well worth excercise. I believe this course has a lot to offer to both the experienced and the novice. Very clean and beautiful. Would really recommend playing if your in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Location

1    1/9/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Dual Tees. I think all but 1 hole had a long and short tee-pad. This gives people the ability to choose their adventure. I caught up with a father and son who were playing the shorts… I played along with them from the longs without much hassle.
- Championship Level Golf. There was definitely some championship level golf to be played out there… especially from the long pads. There were a couple Par 4's and a Par 5 that I can remember.
- Open/Wooded/Open/Wooded. I love how the course starts in the open for 3 holes, goes into the woods for two holes, plays back in the open for two holes, and then goes back into the woods for three holes… throughout the entire course.
- History. Behind the 15th tee-pad (if I remember correctly) there is a hillside that was terraced into a series of bunkers and berms that were constructed during the civil war. Apparently no major fight took place at that location, but it was still really neat to see. Some people have found musket balls and other war artifacts in the park in the past.
Cons:
- Quirky Pin Positions. A few of the Holes had some really quirky pin positions: pins tucked behind a row of trees, and pins tucked into an alcove in the woods (on a woods hole). It seemed as if the designers didn't want you to have a good putt some of the time.
- Pin Next to Largest Tulip Poplar in the State. I want to say that on Hole 16, there is a large Tulip Poplar tree that is claimed to be the largest Tulip Poplar in Virginia. While that may seem cool, as a natural resources minded person, I take offense to the pin position. Soil compaction, erosional issues associated with disc golf and wear and tear on the tree's bark due to discs hitting it do not seem like acceptable things that should be happening to that tree to me. The Hole could have easily been shortened, or the angle changed in order to take the tree out of play while still having it on the course for people to be able to witness.
- Seasonality of Course. The course is closed during the weekdays during the winter… or, more accurately, the parking lot inside the park is closed. You can still play, you just have to walk in ¾ of a mile to get to the course.
Other Thoughts:
- Kings Mill Resort. I was in town for a conference and was lucky enough to be put up in the Kings Mill Resort. If you're traveling to the area and need a place to stay, let me just say that it was incredible. Probably the nicest hotel rooms I have ever slept in… definitely the nicest bed and linens. And, the food at the resort was great! It is probably too expensive during the summer months though.
- Touristy Area. There is definitely a lot to do and see in the region: from Jamestown to Colonial Williamsburg to Busch Gardens to disc golf. Have fun.
My Score: +2 from the Blues

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course, Play it for Sure

1    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Carefully manicured and maintained
-Good tee signs, cement tee pads, and quality baskets
-Nice blend of open and wooded holes
-Wooded holes require careful throws, but aren't punishing or too rugged.

One think I liked about this course is that there weren't any real surprise holes. Some courses have one or more quirky holes that require you to really know *that hole* and how to play it. This course is very straightforward, allowing you to focus on playing golf. Driving for placement, good upshots, and putting are all rewarded equally, not knowing one or two really tricky or weird shots. Good, consistent design.
Cons: Not too many cons, this is a really nice park. The only reason I wouldn't rate this as 4.5 or 5 is that I would like to see more par 4 or 5 holes. When I played, all of the pins were in the red position, so maybe the blue pin positions would make this better, but many of the greens are reachable from the tee, even from the long tees.
Other Thoughts: The $3 pay to play is certainly worth it. The guy at the desk was helpful, marking some of the confusing transitions between holes. The map/scorecard was clearly printed and easy to read. Really a beautiful place to play. If I'm in the area again, I will certainly play this course again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.