Williamsburg, VA 
New Quarter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 302ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Amazing course, terrible ticks

1    6/10/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: norcalrock15
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Holes were very challenging
Scorecard and map were very helpful
Disc store at front office
Nice variety of holes
Cons: TICKS!!!
Five of us played, three of us hit with ticks. One of us ended up having five ticks on him. Bugspray just isn't enough here my friends. These things are swarming.

The only other con is that this course can definitely be a disc eater if your throw veers to far off.
Other Thoughts: I wish the old man at the office would of just given us at least a heads up about the tick infestation when we paid. That way we would of been searching for the ticks, instead of finding them 2 hours later sucking our bodies dry and giving us lyme disease.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Class of the Area

1    5/29/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 119  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The course is in disc golf only area situated in a large, regional park designated a 'bird sanctuary'
* DG office has a good variety of discs for sale as well as discs/bags available for rental
* Maps/scorecard available at office minimize possible navigation issues
* Amenities on site (bathroom, water)
* Am/Pro Concrete Tee pads facilitate enjoyment for multiple skill levels
* Tee signs at AM tees / baskets in good condition
* The benches provide a needed break on multiple holes
* Nice balance of open/wooded holes
* Necessitates shot variety with a mix of right/left/straight throws off the tee and/also as the hole progresses
* Well designed course with a nice flow with the available elevation incorporated ingeniuosly
* Challenging mentally and physically
* Minimal possibility of disc loss and lack of other annoyances leaves one free to focus on enjoying the round

Cons: * $3 pay to play may be disincentive for some players however this place is worth it
* Abundance of ticks
* Lack of tee signs at Pro tees (not really a problem, just being picky cuz ya pay to play)

Other Thoughts: What a pleasure it is to have the opportunity to play a course such as this.
Practically every aspect is well thought out and designed with emphasis on the player's enjoyment.
It appeals to a wide range of players - from those who've never played (with disc/bag rental availability,
amateur tees, maps/scorecards, helpful/friendly/instructional staff, amenities) to seasoned veterans
(pro tees offering a greater challenge w/more shot variety needed and physical/mental demands).


While the pay to play aspect may deter some, it was worth the 3 bucks as far as I'm concerned.
I could nit-pick about the lack of tee signs at the pro tees but with the map provided at the office,
this wasn't a real concern - its the type of course you'd be familiar with after just a single round.

I will mention that the ticks were excessive even with bug spray. After every hole, we did a tick check
at each tee and I'd say either one of us found a tick (usually on our socks) on over half the holes - so be mindful.


What I was most impressed with was the balance playing from the pro tees - a good mix of right/left/straight shots,
distance, risk/reward, elevation, shot variety (backhand/foerhand/roller/tomahawk/open bombs/precise woods carving, etc)
and most of all - Fun Factor. I never felt at risk of losing a disc as the woods holes were clear of thick brush and
the open holes provided ample room to avoid the dense brush/woods on the borders.

The design and flow of the course was seamless - it just felt 'right' when playing (meaning no major issues or problems
which detracted from trying to play a solid round). I didn't feel there were any 'epic' holes but certainly
some wonderfully fun/challenging ones which stick in my mind. However, I usually look at a course as a whole rather
than focusing on 'stand out' holes so this wasn't at all an issue.


Although challenging, I wouldn't consider this course excessively difficult from the pro tees - really fair in my mind.
Its one of those must plays if in, around or near the area - a destination course for sure. As described by a response to
a roadtrip forum post I created: 'This is the class of the area'. True words indeed. So give New Quarter Park a play - you'll have a blast.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Party like it's 1799 in Williamsburg

2-4    5/24/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very good course, enjoyable play on a tough, fair course.
- Course does a great job of using natural obstacles - well placed baskets behind trees, along the edge of the woods, elevation variations, etc.
- Good variety of hole layouts. Two birdie chances to start the round, then plenty of tougher holes. I liked the tight, wooded, downhill shot on #4 followed by the tight, uphill, dogleg right on #5. Even the open holes required some strategic shots, especially #6 & 7. You'll definitely find a couple holes you really liked on this course, and also a couple you really don't care for.
- Great mix of open and wooded holes. I really liked the back-and-forth flow of open and wooded holes throughout the course. There are a couple open, followed by a couple wooded holes throughout, so you never felt like you were getting too many of one.
- Course has long & short basket placements to spice things up. I really enjoyed some of the longer basket placements, especially #10. Instead of a average, ho-hum hole, the long basket plays into the woods.
- Nice clubhouse with a huge selection of discs. Newbies can rent discs or buy ones if they choose. The guy working there was really helpful. I also liked the added touch of having cans of bug spray right outside the front door. It's the little things like that which go a long way.
- Nice detailed course map and scorecards are available.
- Low risk of losing discs for having so many wooded holes. The wooded holes aren't thick with trees, so should be able to find any errant shots.
- Great natural scenery. For the most part, course is very secluded from the rest of the park.
- Park is very clean. I don't remember seeing any trash - bottles, cans, etc. anywhere on the course. Maybe the $3 keeps the litterbugs away.
Cons: No major problems to speak of, only a couple small things.
- Course had minor flow problems on, or between, a couple holes. On #3 tee, it's hard to pinpoint which opening in the woods is the fairway. Markers/ribbons on trees would help. Between #2 & 7, the long tee pads are somewhat close, so better signage/tee marker can clear up an possible confusion. Also walk between a couple holes was slightly confusing. Again, these were minor problems.
- Baskets are metallic colored, instead of bright yellow DISCatchers, so they're hard to spot on some of the wooded holes, especially when playing on a cloudy day (like I was).
- For those who care, you don't pass any water fountains or restrooms once out on the course. It's a short walk back to the building, so it's not a real problem.
- There was little variety in shots/hole layouts from the short to long tees. Almost every hole had the long tee essentially placed right behind the short tee 50 - 150 feet back, so you didn't get different looks or angles playing one to the other.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. To date, this is my favorite course in Virginia, and in the top 10% of all my favorites.
- It is a better version of Hornets Nest in Charlotte. Hornets Nest is my old home course, but I'm proud calling NQ a step up from HN.
- The course kept things very simple. Sometimes a well-placed basket behind one or two trees is just as difficult as one placed behind 20.
- This course had more dogleg right holes than normal courses. There are seven true dog legs (#4, 5, 9, 10, 15, 17 &18), with some being minor/gradual doglegs to extreme ones (#5).
- There were a lot of fun, well laid-out holes on this course. The back-to-back of #15 & 16 was a great stretch. #15 tees off at the edge, and over, a slight ridge to a dogleg right. #16 is a wooded hole to a basket in the bottom of a slight ravine. Both take smart shots; both have good risk/reward factor, and both have nice scenery to take in.
- I think all types of players will enjoy this course - from beginners to advanced, to those who prefer open courses to wooded-hole fans. Everyone should enjoy the variation.
- The $3 daily play/$25 year-long pass is well worth the price. Anyone living in Williamsburg is getting there money's worth for the season pass.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth every Quarter

1    4/25/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice duel concrete teepads at each hole, with excellent and informative teesigns. Multiple pin locations offer additional flexibility. Each basket has an arrow indicating the direction of the next tee. This made course navigation much easier, and a map wasn't really necessary.

Great use of elevation, present at almost every hole. Maybe the best mix of left/right, open/wooded and long/short holes I've seen, it has basically every type of hole one can think of.

On site pro shop, with disc/equipment for sale, score card and map available as well as clean bathrooms.

Well maintained, the grass and surrounding areas are very nice. The nice Irish gentleman at the Park Office is very helpful directing you to the course for first timers.
Cons: Very little to complain about here. I felt that the teepads were a little too short for my liking, and where only noticeable on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: You have to pay $3/day or $25/annually. If this was my home course, I would have no issues paying the annual fee. My home course is in a state park that charges an entrance fee, that is more per year than $25. I've also paid over $7 to play a crappy 9 hole course for one round, so this is a bargain.

This is a very beautiful family park, that has plenty of other things for the family to do while you are out playing around or two.

Conveniently located not too far off of I64, stop by, it's well worth it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 It's all good!

1    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything. Course is located in a really nice park. $3 fee to play, but it is worth it. Great place to bring the family. Nice playground, trails, Volleyball. Good clean bathrooms. The office has a large selection of Innova discs, drinks and snacks.

Long and short tee pads on every hole except #15. Pads were all concrete and good sized. Signs at the short pads showed distances and hole layouts. Course was fairly easy to navigate. Scorecards and maps at the office help. Great variety. There was never a time when I felt anything was repetitive. There were some uphills, downhills, rights and lefts. Course layout uses everything that is available. Basket positions added to the challenge of the course. Every hole had a line to hit, and made sense. No holes that were gimicky or squeezed in. If you like to aire it out there are holes for you. If you like to shape lines in the woods there are holes for you.
Cons: None. I could nitpick and whine about no water hazards, baskets on boulders or man-made hills, or the fact that this course doesn't have beautiful mountain views. But I won't. It's a great course, built in the woods in Williamsburg. Everything that was available was used well.
Other Thoughts: Not much elevation on the holes with hills, but what there is gets used. Some of the baskets were in alternate and longer positions. It added some length and challenge compared to where the baskets were normally located. #4 is a nice downhill tunnel shot into the woods. #5 goes uphill and bends around to the right. Nice hole. #10 stands out as an excellent hole. It's about 300' from the long tee and ends up down in the woods. When the basket is in an alternate position like it was today it's even longer. The basket is hidden down in the woods with lots of trees to keep you from an easy layup. #16 is also a really good hole. Through the woods and ending up to the left behind some more trees. Fun, challenging and fair.

#18 lets you finish by throwing a bomb. It's about 600' of open field ending up with a tunnel into the woods for the last 100' or so. A great way to finish.

Go to Williamsburg. You will not be disappointed.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 New Quarter Park

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! It all begins where you pay your
3 dollars in the pro shop with a great selection of gear. The staff are great people too. Grab a map and scorecard there. Then the fun begins.
-2 Well maintained concrete tee pads for each hole
-bag hooks
-perfect signs
-practice baskets
-great land usage
-a variety of shots needed
-wooded and open shots
-long bombs and shorter finese holes
-trash baskets and benches
-clean bathrooms
-Amazing scenery and elevation
-litter free park
Cons: not many but , beginers may be overwhelmed
Other Thoughts: The staff pointed out where confusion can happen on the course which helped out. The baskets had been moved to a longer position so they had an updated map to follow since the tee signs just show the two basket positions they could be in. I was hoping to play through twice but it was tiring, bring water! Mountain bike trails look awesome too. The first few holes don't seem too tough but it seems to get more and more challenging each hole. If you are down this way hit this course (it's the best around.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in HR area

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Top notch course with excellent use of natural obstacles, elevation changes, extremely challenging terrain, and boomer shots. This is th ebest course in the Greater Hampton Roads area and is a must-play for any aspiring player.
The obstacles are "fair" in that they can be circumvented with the right throw -- i.e., they're not freaking impossible and downright stupid like you see on some courses.
Great workout walking up and down hills, in and out of forest.
The rough/brush is certainly challenging, but your disc is at least recoverable/"findable," so you don't have to worry about losing a disc in some impregnable swamp.
Extra challenging for RHBH players due to predominantly right-benders in the course -- have you anhyzer ready!
Hole 18 is freaking awesome (600+ feet!) and you will feel it later in the day.
This course rewards players who have more than one kind of throw in their bags.
The Pro Shop is impressive and the best in the area.
$3 per person includes scorecard and mini-pencils.
New Quarter Park is HUGE. Bring refreshments.
Cons: First timers -- print out the map! Finding the next hole can be very tricky sometimes, so the map is a lifesaver.
Although most wood/forest obstacles are "fair," some are not and require a one-in-a-thousand shot.
Not necessarily a Con, but the baskets are way out of site of several of the holes, so it's bad news for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the best course in the area

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Quater Park

1    9/14/2008   7/7/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course. This is what a disc golf course should look like. If you are a boomer you will love this course. But you can still three par most of the holes even if you are not. If you are playing the course for the first time I suggest that you walk up and look at eighteen before you throw. the sign doesn't do the basket area justice. The park staff is friendly. Good selection of plastic.
Cons: If you play here in the spring summer and fall bring the bug repelent. The chiggers are something awful. mosquitos mostly a problem in the spring and early sumer.
Other Thoughts: Yeah they charge 3 dollars. So what. I would pay twice that much to play this course. Make sure you have your walking shoes on when you go up there.it is a long course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Solid course

1    6/29/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: jdobber
Played: 73  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park, friendly staff, stocked "pro shop", good variety of holes, challenging from both the white and blue tees.

Clean, well maintained, quiet and fun to play. Lots of deer even in the middle of the day to see.
Cons: Difficult to find (probably more user error than anything)

Bugs can get nasty in the middle of the summer (I played when it was upper-80s and sunny), but the park provided (and encouraged) a good spray of bug spray before starting the round.

A few holes do not make it clear or intuitive where to go next, but the park employee did point this out before the round.
Other Thoughts: Watch our for the massive red ant hill near 3's basket.

The bag holders on each hole were a nice touch

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, diverse course

1    6/6/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting...as I turned into the large field where the tee for 10 was located--I could see about 5 deer
DIscs fo sale in park office
Friendly staff (offered to walk me over to the first tee since it was my first time--even had bug spray available for free)
Two very nice cement tee pads per hole
Excellent signage
Good mix of wooded and open holes
Good mix of various layouts for holes...long, short, hyzer, anhyzers and dead straight away
Creative use of available space and terrain--the holes that go in to or out of the woods are very creative
Wooded holes have challenging yet distince paths to the basket available
Great use of limited elevation--no 100' + drops but excellent use of what's available (if you like woods and elevation changes...hole 16 is awesome...the best of everything)
Bag hangers at each hole
Well maintained and groomed
Very intuitive layout
Great map that can be downloaded or pick one up for free at the park office
Cons: Not many cons at all...
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course...worth whatever it takes to get there to play
The price ($3) is not an issue...I've played courses that aren't half this good for twice the price

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.