Williamsburg, VA 
New Quarter Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 387ft.   3 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Worth the $3

2-4    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation, elevation, elevation. Compared to other courses in the area (flat and heavily forested) this one has a great combination of open and wooded holes as well as uphill and downhill holes. Several true par 4s and even a true par 5. Missing the fairways on the wooded holes will really hurt you. Having a short arm on the open holes or lacking the experience to throw in the wind will also hurt you.

Maintenance. There is a real commitment to disc golf here. They cut down trees and pulled out stumps here to make fairways.

Hardly any trash. Good selection of Innova in the shop. Beautiful, historical setting.
Cons: Pay to play, and they're nazis about it. At least they have a nice selection of discs and a very well-maintained course to make up for it. You actually feel like you're getting your money's worth here. But I fail to understand why I can ride my mountain bike here for free but have to pay money to play disc golf. They both take similar amounts of upkeep.

Can be a long walk. The elevation is cool to play, but can be tough for the stroller/kid crowd. We have a nice jogging stroller, but I'd hate to push a crappy one on this course. Don't even think about taking that stroller down the hill on 16.

Closed Monday-Thursday. Actually, you can still play (and for free) but you have to walk a mile from the gate to the course.

It is really hard to find too. The directions on this website were much more accurate than the ones I got off google.
Other Thoughts: Don't miss this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

2-4    9/28/2008   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The woods holes are top shelf, including the ones that enter and exit the forest. Beautiful old growth trees, nice contours and some elevation (rare in eastern VA) thrown in for good measure. Nice mix of long and short holes in a clean, well maintained park. #3 is a nice huck across a field before entering the woods, make sure you spot the basket before you drive here as you really want to be 'in the slot' to have a good approach. Nice mix of technical woods and open air holes. The a stretch of woods holes in the middle of the back nine are classic, big trees define tight but fair fairways that roll up and down over a good sized ravine. Save some arm for #18, you'll need it.

They sell a nice selection of discs in the Park Office. The folks working there are friendly and a couple of them are golfers. They even keep some bug spray there for your use if you forgot yours. Picked up a sweet Wraith there with a NQ stamp.
Cons: Course tends to favor the classic lefty lines. Seems like there are 3 or 4 indentical 200-220 right fades with woods on the right. Could benefit with some better signage, gets a little hard to follow around 8-10. Fair length walk from the parking lot to #1 and #18
Other Thoughts: I dearly love this course. Along with Walnut Branch is one of the best public courses in VA. Bring water, especially in the summer, it's a hike

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Winter Course

2-4    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variables. Open holes, wooded holes, uphill, downhill, up and over hills, long holes. This course has it all and is beautiful to play.
Cons: Played once in the summer and it was way too hot, muggy, and the bugs were ferociouse. I'll stick to winter play at this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is layed out great. Nestled in historic Colonial Williamsburgh the beauty of this course will take you away. I love the way the holes role in and out of the woods.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A King Course in Virginia!

2-4    1/31/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The killer selection in the disc shop. The massive size of the course. The majestic challenges.The physical tole it can take on you.
Cons: There aren't more courses like this.
Other Thoughts: New Quarter Park is a MUST PLAY course. It is one of Virginia's finest and it sports some of the most challenging holes. It is loaded with walks through the majestic woods of Virginia, with deep hills and old trees. Hole 18 is the most challenging par 5 an average player will encounter (though not as hilled as Bryan Park). The shop is great with a massive collection of discs, all Innova brand though, no Discraft. All discs are listed alphabetically with DX, Champion, and Star plastics to choose from. There are also many open field shots.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    3/7/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I need to start out by saying that this review is being completely redone. New Quarter was one of the first courses I played and I judged it poorly because of the lack of experience. I have now played many more courses and have gained a lot more experience and knowledge in which to judge this course.

This course is well maintained, picturesque, and tough.

There are wonderful picnic sites, a pro shop, bathrooms, playgrounds, fitness trails,and several other amenities. Bring the family here for the day. There is so much to do. It has plenty of parking.

I found it to be well laid out with a nice natural flow and progression. There is a lot of elevation change, technical and bomb shots, and even an ace run or two. It does not favor left or right handed throwers.

The tees are concrete and there is a sign for each basket. Also a post to hang your bag off of the ground. The fairways are tough but well maintained and the baskets are in excellent shape.

No criss-crossing fairways.

The course map is a good one. But because it is gaining in popularity the walking paths are getting more pronounced.

You will use every shot you have here.That is said of many courses but is is really true here.

Hole 1) A straight or annie will work well here. The trees do protect it but it is a nice basket to begin with. The annie works good for me.

2) A straight throw with a hard right to left at the end. If you get behind the last bunch of trees they are hard to get through.

3) It is a straight throw and the last 80 feet are a narrow opening in the woods. Don't get into the trees on the right or you will find yourself with a 5 or 6 here.

4) A tight downhill straight fairway. Can be aced from the white.

5) Commonly thought of as the meanest basket here. There is no cutting across. The first 100 feet are flat but then it starts an uphill grade around to the basket. Which is also protected by a huge fallen tree.

6) A long gently turning left to right along the trees. With the basket tucked into a hollow at the bottom of a hill.

7) My favorite basket. It is tucked into the trees about 100 feet. but can be birdied with a real good drive that hyzers hard (RHBH) at the end into the trees.

8) Nice hole that gives a choice of a left or right fairway. But the basket is behind a big split tree so a hard but short break at the end of the flight is good.

9) Another tight but doable fairway.

10) A straight throw that needs a hard left to right break at the end.It is thrown along the trees and if you get in there your score is going to be high.

11) You can go left or right here but the left is more forgiving. On the right is the heavy underbrush again which again is going to cause extra throws.

12) Straight up and over the hill. If you do not get over the hill and it rolls it will roll along way.

13) A tight shot out on to an open area with a hard right to left at the end of the throw. You can sneak it through the trees but it is high reward and high risk.

14) A nice straight throw but you better not get into the trees.

15) High risk and high reward. If you can get it through its a birdie. If not then you have your work cut out for you. Better hope it doesn't roll down to the right.

16) Through the trees in front of you then a break to the left. Tougher than it looks.

17) Not a tough throw but still very unforgiving if you get into the tree line on the right. This is a great basket for a gentle annie (RHBH).

18) The signature basket. It is a long drive then a long up shot with the basket about 100 feet into the trees. The opening in the trees is doable but you will add extra throws if you don't hit the opening.
Cons: Not many.... The shule is rough and will eat discs. Especially along the tree line. Chiggers can be bad here. Get a good spray and you will be okay. Not beginner friendly unless you have an experienced player with you. Get a few rounds and some basic understanding of the game and you can begin to understand how good this course is. Could use some "too the next tee signs",
Very few benches.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course but not for the faint of heart. It is best to have someone who knows it go with you the first time to help you find your disc and pass along a good way to throw the hole. If you do play by yourself play to not go into the fringe shule.

This came close to a 5 but the shule is just to rough and some additional signs at both white and blue teepads would be nice along with some benches. The bug problem is not a reason to downgrade most all courses have that problem.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/2/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout with a good mix of holes going into and out of the woods. It also makes good use of the hilly country side. They have concrete tee pads, good signage, and a great scorecard that shows an overview of the course on the back side. You can pick up the scorecard along with some loaner discs, and even a loaner bag at the nice pro shop. Pro shop even sells brand new discs, and minis.
Cons: I can't think of any improvements to this course other than to move the bag holders to either the front tees or back tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pay to play, but well worth it. We saw deer, and heard musket sounds, and canons when we were there. This is a very nice historic place, it was cool to be playing where civil war soldiers once walked and fought. They have a nice mountain biking trail, along with baseball, and basketball areas, picnic areas and of course the best Disc Golf course in the area. There is Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg, Water Country USA, and even and outlet mall go near by. This course is not designed to bring strollers along, but with so many other things to do close to the course, there is plenty to keep the rest of the family entertained.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Love this Course

5+    9/14/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: JMWoods
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a lot of variety. This is the course I learned on and play on most often and it never gets old. Plenty of uphills and downhills and directional changes, so it is fairly challenging, especially for a beginner. But by the same token it will give you a pretty good idea of what you'll see on most other courses. Highly recommend for beginners to give it a shot. Also, there are almost always deer wandering around on the back 9, as well as other wildlife, which is pretty sweet.
Cons: Not many, walking it is a bit long. Sorry I don't have much negative to say, I've played it a lot and can't complain.
Other Thoughts: Favorite Hole: 18th, Par 5
This hole feels like a ball golf par 5, looks long, plays longer, it would be extremely difficult to reach in 2 because it's hidden in the woods. It almost always takes me 3 just to get within 40 ft. Great hole to end on.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 High level course

5+    7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course, very clean, well maintained. Nice long holes, with many baskets placed just behind trees and around corners making even the open holes challenging. The wooded holes are very technical, but not as tight as Newport News, with some major up and downhill shots.

They have a great club house that sells a pretty good variety of discs, markers, bags, snacks and drinks. They have complimentary bugspray and scorecards.
Cons: The wooded holes are a killer! Summer bugs abound here. I wish that the course was better marked. Hole number on the bag post would be a great thing. Got confused as this was my first time with the tees for #2 and the pro tee for #7 for a minute.
Other Thoughts: Long course for a beginner but very nice, beautiful course. Seems like a very high caliber course, and a good challenge for everyone. Will definately return when I can throw better (not to mention straight throws!)

One of the best things about this course for me was that the baskets all had little arrow stickers at least showing you the general direction of the next hole as sometimes you walk a bit on this long course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Historic and Clean Course!

5+    6/16/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2011
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! Located in one of the cleanest parks we've seen in Virginia (My wife even raved about the public bathrooms! The Public bathrooms!) This is a pay to play course ($3 dollars per player for all day, but well worth the price!) The course was perfectly marked with concrete tee pads, posts to hang your bags, and maps detailing the path to the basket. A great mix of wooded and open holes. The wooded ones were terrific with trees enough to cause difficulty, but without being impossible. Each hole was named with what I suppose was Colonial Revolutionary references (I wish the names were explained, but still a great addition!) A cool clubhouse with water and snacks, discs, markers and bags for sale and course maps and scorecards. They even had a worker from the clubhouse riding around the course on a Gator with helpful tips or directions! Really an almost perfect course and a great day out of disc golf. I only wish I lived closer, if I did I'd be here all the time. This was a day trip for Father's Day and was a perfect trip. They may be putting in bag posts an both Tee Boxes soon.
Cons: Not much. Hole 18 was marked off with caution tape and that wasn't explained at the office, but we played around it. Hole 15 has only one tee pad, not two (Blue and White like all the others). The wooded back half is tough terrain and if it rained recently could be treacherous. Wear good shoes for hiking. The area can be buggy. Many a horsefly harassed us around the course. Careful to step too far from the course. My son sent a disc into the waist high grass and came out after gathering it with a tick attached! Bug spray is a must! Luckily the Club house offers that as well. This is all nit picking, but just want to be informative. The course is really top notch, despite the few Cons listed.
Other Thoughts: Favorite Holes:
#4: A down hill wooded slope with the basket sitting at the edge of a steep drop off!

#5: I think this was named "Pike's Pit" A cool uphill wooded track that has you throw over a huge pit. We imagined that the Pit was caused by some Revolutionary battle. Again an explanation for the name would have been interesting, but a fun hole none the less.

#16: The one we called "The Gully" A semi wooded track that has a huge gully off to the right. It can be avoided, but of course after a bad putt my disc rolled straight into the monster! The basket set on a slope leading back into the gully. A fun hole and one of the last before leaving the woods.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Elite Virginia Course in Historic Williamsburg

2-4    6/5/2007   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting, tee pads
Other Thoughts: New Quarter disc golf course has most of the factors necessary for an exemplary disc golf experience. The course is longer than average, but not too long, has a good bit of uphill and downhill, despite its coastal setting, nice long tee pads, and is very well maintained. Overall, this course clearly belongs in the upper echelon of Virginia disc golf courses.

New Quarter is reminscent of some of the other top level courses in the region - it snakes in and out of well manicured open areas and beautiful old growth woods, like Patapsco or Seneca, it has excellent tee pads, both pro and am, and it also takes full advantage of ridgelines running down to the waterside for some fun downhill holes, a couple of real challenging uphill holes, and a couple of holes with a little of both.

The park itself is along a beautiful stretch of tidal creeks and salt marsh, but the course does not have any water obstacles or take in any expansive views. Also, while New Quarter has many fun holes for all tastes, the majority are still basically par 3, so it falls just a notch short of elite status compared to some of the other Mid-Atlantic courses. Even so, the woods holes are tough without being unreasonable, and only a couple of the holes out in the open lack some significant obstacle that make you think before you throw. The balance at New Quarter, with open and woods, up and down, is excellent. Challenging, varied, well cared for all add up to a fun disc golf course that I look forward to playing many times over the years.

Favorite Hole - #4 - Sharp downhill hole in woods, rolling down to a stream.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.