Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #17 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 133ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
good variety

1    8/18/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of open and wooded holes. The turf tees are surprisingly good. Several really tight fairways and some long bombs. Also had a good mix of elevation changes and hazards. Some very unique holes such as the cattle chute hole where the basket is surrounded by fences.

The staff was friendly.
Cons: Only con would be that based on the terrain they have there they could have easily added a few really cool watershots that would've spiced things up a bit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sunny Day!

1    7/5/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With two 18 hole courses on the property this place is very cool. The Sunnyside was my favorite of the two. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes. Elevation and water comes into play. There is a small pro shop on site, pool, and camping. This course was very fun to play.

The property is well manicured and clean. They've put a lot of work into sitting areas around the tees.

There are several unique greens. Hole 9 and 10 come to mind.

Excellent tee signs. Very descriptive.

DGA Mach 3 baskets.

Large and level astro turf tee pads. I liked them a lot.

There is an awesome mix of distances. I threw the entire bag on this course. A lot of traditional par 3 holes with a handful of par 4's.

Navigation was pretty easy. I did not have to use the map one time.
Cons: Most holes have only 1 pin position and only 1 tee per hole.

Some baskets had flags on them. All the baskets could use flags or bright tape on them. Some were hard to spot.

Hole #17 is the only hole on the course I did not like. It's a 133ft prayer shot thru the trees.
Other Thoughts: This was well worth the stop during vacation. With the 2 permanent courses on site and the super fun tiki course you have to check it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Place

1    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: krob190
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The Sunnyside Course uses a great combination of wooded and open holes to always keep you guessing. There is a challenge to the course, but it plays fair at the same time. The conditions are excellent and the facilty is accomodating of all skill levels.
The maintenance of the facility was quite impressive, a lot of time and thought go into the design details which makes it well worth the $5 price to play all day.
The pro shop on site had Innova and Discraft discs to purchase at prices that are cheaper than most retail stores.
Cons: There was the occasion where I was not sure how to get to the next hole. But, a long look around allowed me to figure it out pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: I have only been playing disc golf for a couple of months, but I am really impressed with the Blockhouse facility. Great pro shop, friendly staff. I feel like this course was difficult enough to challenge an experienced player yet not so tough that a beginner would get frustrated in the least. I will definitely be returning here.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

WOW, great course and time!

1    4/22/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start? Sunnyside the course when I played it for the first time was in excellent condition. Great tee pads even though they are turf. Great tee signs. Great course flow. Beautiful course and fun holes. Good balance of wooded and open holes. Grass was perfectly mowed. Big hyzers and anhyzer shots make it very fair. What I didn't know was this course is on like a "Disc golf park complex" that exists on someone's private property. They have 3 courses counting Sunnyside. with places to camp , disc golf store, fun tiki bar with tiki night course all adding to the overall enjoyment of this place.
Cons: For the course itself this may be nitpicking but mostly every hole has benches but some of those benches seemed to have been ripped out of an old movie theater and school bus and those benches though nostalgic are in pretty ratty condition. One hole could use an updated bridge or stepping stones around the pond.
Other Thoughts: Well I would start of saying if you have never played here, you need to come at some point. When you come you need to take it all in and you have to camp here. It literally feels like your at disc golf chucky cheese, but the courses themselves are legit PDGA championship courses. What a great combo! Sunnyside is the most open of the courses here and my guess because of that slightly easier than the darkside. I would love to participate in a PDGA event here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mixed emotions

1    12/31/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Greens were excellent - many had bushes, trees, ponds, ect clustered around the green making for interesting puts.

Great use of elevation.

Great distance on many holes - great for big arms.

I thought the Tee Pads were great.
Cons: Sunny side was not that sunny - With the exception of 1, the front 9 were the tightest, shortest, straightest, most wooded, holes I have ever seen. Not that original, and not what I was looking for in the "sunny side." - I was throwing thumbers on about 7/10 of these shots.
Other Thoughts: I did like this course, despite these things and I will probably return there.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Keep on the Sunnyside

1    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Good mix of hole types and a solid mixture of distances. Gives you a lot of different looks and makes you work your disc.

Good use of the elevation and other features on the property. Some really good uphill/downhill shots. They use the creeks/ponds on the course very effectively to create risk/reward.

Lots of interesting basket placements; one in a corral, one surrounded by tall bushy plants, some near a creek and water, a few guarded by trees.

The course has a really good flow to it that brings you in and out of the woods and keeps the round interesting. It's also pretty easy to follow the course as paths are defined.

The open bomber holes are fun to let some discs rip but also forces you to be accurate. The shorter holes usually make you work a disc through some tight gaps.

Equipment - Large astroturf pads, could be a problem for some but I had no problem with them. Most of the baskets are in good shape and had big flags making them visible which helps with the blind shots. Good signage on the course and benches at most holes.

There were water coolers set up on the course with some fresh cold water as well.

Atmosphere - The Blockhouse as a whole has a good feel to it but the Sunnyside course just has something extra that makes the round super fun.

Lots of great looking shots on an amazing rolling hills property which is maintained at a top notch level. Some cool decorations are thrown in places along with hole themes.

Some cool facilities on the property as well like a pro shop, bathrooms, arcade...
Cons: Layout - Possibly a few to many 300ish wooded tight holes. Going in to it I figured there would be more open to the Sunnyside. There are some holes that aren't anything special. 18 is on that list and isn't the best way to finish such a great course.

There were a few confusing spots where at first it seemed like you were playing to a mini basket. Look for the flags on top of the baskets.

Atmosphere - A few muddy marsh type areas you have to avoid, they're usually marked off with flags as OB. Some holes didn't look as great as others.

Equipment - The pads could be an issue for some being that they are astroturf. I thought they were appropriate. Some of the baskets weren't in the best condition.
Other Thoughts: Easily my favorite of the three courses on the property. Much funner round than Darkside while still providing a stiff challenge. You'll use more of your repetoire on this one. Really is a special place.

They also use the back 9 of Sunnyside for glow along with the Tiki course. Played that and had a blast, encourage everyone to experience this place at night at least once.

This course is pay to play and it's worth it. This is a must hit if you're in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sunnyside Up

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Obviously, it's been said a number of times, the course is very well maintained. Fairways are trimmed and in pristine condition.
- Signs on the tee box make it easy to find the direction of the basket from the tee.
- Artificial turf tee boxes were really soft on the feet.
- Loooots of land, not a lot of overlap on holes.
- Challenges you to use all shots, threw a tomahawk on #1 after I ended up behind the group of bushes.
- Baskets were all in great shape.
- Plenty of spots to sit down if you want to take a break during the round.
- Very quiet peaceful setting.
- Baskets indicated by huge flags.
- Not far off of 95 so if your on the road, it's a very easy stop off.
- Multiple courses on property
Cons: - Was a little more wooded that I was expecting from the "Sunnyside". Most of the front plays entirely in the woods.
- No indication of the next hole once completed. Most weren't too bad, but a couple of times I was searching around for quite a bit to find the next tee. Tee 6 and Tee 10 were particularly frustrating.
- No course map to help in figuring where everything is.
Other Thoughts: Clear to see that this is setup for tourneys. Really nice course and is worth a trip to if you are in the area. I only got to play Sunnyside when I stopped there, but is definitely set up to where you could make an entire day. Plenty of space to sit and relax and lots of disc golf to be played.

I would just suggest maybe some small printed maps of the layouts to help with navigation.

Can't wait to go back and try out the Darkside.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course!

1    7/10/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was so much fun to play. Awesome variety of open and wooded holes, close and far holes. The grass fairways were well groomed, the tee boxes were set up nicely, and some of the bushes were even hedged. You can tell that the owners take care of this course alot!
Cons: Tee pads were horrible. They were all of different materials and it seemed like none of them were the same size. Some were dirt, some artifical turf, some carpet. Kind of annoying, especially when there isn't a place to the side of the tee to throw from...so even if the tee was muddy or wet etc, you couldn't even throw from the side of the tee box to prevent injury.

I didn't see any trash cans. Not a big deal, but might be nice.

$5.00 greens fees is a little pricey for this course. I would go to this course again, but at $5 a pop, I wouldn't be going here that often.
Other Thoughts: Great course, and well worth the drive to check it out if you have never been. I'm glad I made the trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Really fun course. Great design and layout, with good signage. Lots of shot variety and a good amount of elevation change.
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: Really nice private course with 2 other courses on site. One of the best I've played.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This course was a blast!

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really cannot express how much fun this course was. There's a ton of variation in both elevation and left to right orientation. You play through several instances of water.
The best best part about this course is that the people who maintain it are the ones who play it, so it was immaculate when we arrived. The grass was short, all the baskets had flags and clearly marked fairways.
You play 4 holes that include water, including putting over a pretty sizable lake.
I love his basket placements, there's a hole on this course that the basket is around 250' from the tee enclosed in a wood fence with an opening just small enough that someone could ace it, but if you didn't end up inside this corral area, you had a real hard putt to make over top of a fence.
Was very easy to navigate without a map, but very rough to play. A lot of elevation and a very long course.
Cons: Not for beginners
Somewhat hard to find, from the road it looks like someone's house, because well it is.
Other Thoughts: The people here were amazing, he has a small pro shop on site that sells stamped discs. There's also a light up tiki course that is really awesome! Really can't express how much fun this course is! It's like the Disney World of disc golf!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.