Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
good variety

1    8/18/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of open and wooded holes. The turf tees are surprisingly good. Several really tight fairways and some long bombs. Also had a good mix of elevation changes and hazards. Some very unique holes such as the cattle chute hole where the basket is surrounded by fences.

The staff was friendly.
Cons: Only con would be that based on the terrain they have there they could have easily added a few really cool watershots that would've spiced things up a bit.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Place

1    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: krob190
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The Sunnyside Course uses a great combination of wooded and open holes to always keep you guessing. There is a challenge to the course, but it plays fair at the same time. The conditions are excellent and the facilty is accomodating of all skill levels.
The maintenance of the facility was quite impressive, a lot of time and thought go into the design details which makes it well worth the $5 price to play all day.
The pro shop on site had Innova and Discraft discs to purchase at prices that are cheaper than most retail stores.
Cons: There was the occasion where I was not sure how to get to the next hole. But, a long look around allowed me to figure it out pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: I have only been playing disc golf for a couple of months, but I am really impressed with the Blockhouse facility. Great pro shop, friendly staff. I feel like this course was difficult enough to challenge an experienced player yet not so tough that a beginner would get frustrated in the least. I will definitely be returning here.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Keep on the Sunnyside

1    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Good mix of hole types and a solid mixture of distances. Gives you a lot of different looks and makes you work your disc.

Good use of the elevation and other features on the property. Some really good uphill/downhill shots. They use the creeks/ponds on the course very effectively to create risk/reward.

Lots of interesting basket placements; one in a corral, one surrounded by tall bushy plants, some near a creek and water, a few guarded by trees.

The course has a really good flow to it that brings you in and out of the woods and keeps the round interesting. It's also pretty easy to follow the course as paths are defined.

The open bomber holes are fun to let some discs rip but also forces you to be accurate. The shorter holes usually make you work a disc through some tight gaps.

Equipment - Large astroturf pads, could be a problem for some but I had no problem with them. Most of the baskets are in good shape and had big flags making them visible which helps with the blind shots. Good signage on the course and benches at most holes.

There were water coolers set up on the course with some fresh cold water as well.

Atmosphere - The Blockhouse as a whole has a good feel to it but the Sunnyside course just has something extra that makes the round super fun.

Lots of great looking shots on an amazing rolling hills property which is maintained at a top notch level. Some cool decorations are thrown in places along with hole themes.

Some cool facilities on the property as well like a pro shop, bathrooms, arcade...
Cons: Layout - Possibly a few to many 300ish wooded tight holes. Going in to it I figured there would be more open to the Sunnyside. There are some holes that aren't anything special. 18 is on that list and isn't the best way to finish such a great course.

There were a few confusing spots where at first it seemed like you were playing to a mini basket. Look for the flags on top of the baskets.

Atmosphere - A few muddy marsh type areas you have to avoid, they're usually marked off with flags as OB. Some holes didn't look as great as others.

Equipment - The pads could be an issue for some being that they are astroturf. I thought they were appropriate. Some of the baskets weren't in the best condition.
Other Thoughts: Easily my favorite of the three courses on the property. Much funner round than Darkside while still providing a stiff challenge. You'll use more of your repetoire on this one. Really is a special place.

They also use the back 9 of Sunnyside for glow along with the Tiki course. Played that and had a blast, encourage everyone to experience this place at night at least once.

This course is pay to play and it's worth it. This is a must hit if you're in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course!

1    7/10/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was so much fun to play. Awesome variety of open and wooded holes, close and far holes. The grass fairways were well groomed, the tee boxes were set up nicely, and some of the bushes were even hedged. You can tell that the owners take care of this course alot!
Cons: Tee pads were horrible. They were all of different materials and it seemed like none of them were the same size. Some were dirt, some artifical turf, some carpet. Kind of annoying, especially when there isn't a place to the side of the tee to throw from...so even if the tee was muddy or wet etc, you couldn't even throw from the side of the tee box to prevent injury.

I didn't see any trash cans. Not a big deal, but might be nice.

$5.00 greens fees is a little pricey for this course. I would go to this course again, but at $5 a pop, I wouldn't be going here that often.
Other Thoughts: Great course, and well worth the drive to check it out if you have never been. I'm glad I made the trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Easier Side

2-4    5/23/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes, with two 9 hole loops that bring you back to the club house area.

Water comes into play on a few holes, either by having to throw over it, or by avoiding it. Some nice views of the course and property from the higher elevated tees.

Great tee pads, most of which are the top grade synthetic ones. They drain well and are plenty wide and long. Tee signs with basket location(s) and distances provided.

Course navigation is fairly straight forward and not difficult even with out a map.

Club house, bathroom, game room and pro shop, not to mention two other courses on the property. Very convenient to I-95, about half way between Richmond and DC.
Cons: Muddy and swampy in spots, especially during or after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: This course, along with the other two courses on property, make this a disc golfers paradise. Only about 15 minutes off of I-95, it is a nice diversion to your trip on the I-95 corridor.

Besides all the disc golf that one can play here, there are other amenities, such as the game room and snack bar to keep you entertained between rounds.

Seeing is believing, so make sure you stop by and see for yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Outstanding

2-4    11/10/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mike T. and his merry band have created a most enchanting disc golf experience. Two 18 hole championship courses plus a bonus Tiki (par 2 night course) await you. Plan an entire afternoon to enjoy this labor of love.

This course features a classic disc golf layout of open rolling farm pasture that will allow you to air out your drivers and tight woods that will use Everything in your bag. Many of these wooded holes are even more wooded than the Dark Side, so don't plan on leaving your accuracy game behind. The property is gorgeous and was sheer delight to be playing during the golden evening hours. Flow was outstanding and seemed easy to navigate (though I was with a group of locals). The 9th hole finished at the clubhouse, which was nice. This hole which I call "The Corral" is a fenced in area at about 300' distance (it is slated to become #18 as it is a more classic finish).
Each hole seemed unique from the others. One is a monster that doglegs right through a tight fairway then thick woods-which they plan to lengthen another 100'. It should rate a par 4 for certain. Teepads are in top condition with AstroTurf on many and crushed granite on others (this apparently eliminates mud and drains well).
Cons: As with the Darkside, would do good to have a couple "next tee" signs, but this is a minor nitpick. Also, a couple holes could be rated par 4's.
Other Thoughts: I prefer this slightly over the Darkside course, but recommend you take at least a half day to play both and then include the Tiki course as your early night wind-down.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Private Course

1    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of very interesting holes on this course. Hole 9 stands out in this regard. You throw across a small valley to a basket that is inside of a small fenced in area. This is complicated because of structures on the backside and right side of the fenced area.
While called "Sunnyside" there are a good number of holes in the woods with pretty narrow fairways. There are not as many tight wooded holes as on "Darkside" but still plenty for a good mix.
This is an exceptionally well maintained course. The tees are all well packed and have rakes alongside to fix any problem spots. All the holes have seating available for the rest of the members of your party and many of them even have covered spots to get out of the elements or the sun. The seating is everything from wooden benches to old connected "airport" chairs. There are new looking tee signs on every hole and they look great. While heavily wooded this is one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have played. There were signs pointing to the next tee in almost every situation where there would be a question as where to go next. Additionally even though there is a great possibility of a couple of throws going off the fairway this is not a huge problem because it is very easy to locate your disc. There is really no underbrush to speak of and most discs stand out well in contrast to the leaf covered ground.
Cons: Not too much to say here. While navigation is fairly easy between holes it would still be nice to have a map. Also a lot of the holes felt like "tweeners" to me. They are difficult to birdie but almost more difficult to bogey (if you can stay on the fairway with your drive). Of course this observation might just because of where I am as a player right now.
Other Thoughts: This was my first experience with a privately owned course. I have to admit I was a little apprehensive at first. It seemed very strange to pull into someone's driveway and then get out and play disc golf. I quickly got past this because of how welcoming Mike and the others who maintain this course are to all the visitors.
I appreciate very accurate directions on the "course info" section of this site because when navigating my way to a new course I am always wondering if I am going the right direction. Once exit I-95 and get on Rte 606 it turns into Rte 208 after about 6 miles. If you go straight through this intersection then Rte 648 is two miles down the road. The rest of the directions are perfect.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A course to remember.

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first of 3 courses at the Grange's 56 acre piece of land. It has a slightly more contemporary feel than its sister course the Darkside.

It starts out with a big bomb over a pond and finishes over a marsh area with the basket in an old cattle truck loading pen.

The baskets are well placed with the area surrounding them well maintained. They are all in good shape and do a good job of catching the disc.

The tee pads are old carpet and I think astro turf. But they play well. Some are the rock dust and chips and I understand that will be the case with all of them eventually.

They have just put up new tee signs and I like them very much. They are colorful and easy to understand.

They have used the course topography well. The fairways are kept clean and are manageable.I saw no crossing fairways and the no areas where you could be in harms way when someone else is throwing from another basket. After the first couple accuracy and patience become the game here. Forcing your throw and getting into the woods will add many throws. While there are a lot of trees finding a disc was not abnormally hard because they do work at keeping the undergrowth down. However there are several water hazards and OB's but they are well defined with rope and the signs show them accurately. There is a variety of straight, left to right and right to left. Some will give you multiple looks. There is enough variety in distances to have an ace chance and to go for distance. It has more balance to it than the Darkside course.

Like the Darkside, to me the best part was the flow of the course. It just seemed to fit. Because of this and the obvious wear on the paths it was easy to get around the course. Even without a map.

This course is more contemporary than the Darkside. It mixes the fairways with a couple of bombers and has some very tight alleys. It also has a section where deuces can be hide by a good rec player.

I did not see any foliage that was hazardous (poison ivy, oak and such) but I do hate those prickly hollies that are everywhere.

There are plenty of benches and several of the tee areas have small covered structures to get under.

Many of the tees on all three courses have a theme. My favorite was here and was called the fish hole. A three hundred foot dog leg right that goes down then up. I did it in 3.

There are regular events to take part in. Every Friday is a glow game, The monthly played on Saturday mornings, and the Virginia Open is played here.

The attitude of everyone I met was great and Mike, the owner, is one of a kind.

There is a good pro shop on site.
Cons: There are not many cons here but its not perfect.

This course has thicker foliage and some marsh areas that the other 2 courses do not and can eat a disc.

Drainage was also a problem in some areas. I found myself slipping and sliding even when I stayed on the fairway.

Bring plenty to drink.The physical exertion is high here and there are no water fountains. There are a few 5 gallon water jugs spread out but I could not bring myself to use them. Its not Mike and the gang but not everyone is as trustworthy.

Parking could be tight on a busy day.

There are no par markings on any of the baskets and it is assumed that all are a 3. At least a couple of them should be 4's

They serve beer here and while I did not see anyone acting inappropriate it may be an issue with some.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I do not want an easy time but I don't want it to half kill me either. This course accomplishes that. Aside from the water hazards, marsh and some poor drainage this is a course more suited to a wider variety of people.

If you only have time for one course to play and you have group of people with various skill levels than this is the one to play.

Everyone from Mike to the players were nice and willing to work with a first time player to this course.

With its old school charm (hippie and courses) and overall quality experience I now understand why this place has become sort of the holy grail for disc gold in Virginia.

There is also a nice in ground pool here. So bring the family and they can swim while you play. Then dive in when you or all of you are done playing golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfer's Paradise

2-4    10/17/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great experience. Baskets lit up with rope lights at night. A gumball dispenser that had led lights for discs. Some great power throw opportunities with many technical holes. Good variety of elevation and a couple good water shots. Almost every kind of throw comes into play here. They have the coolest clubhouse on the planet. A stage with live music, food, big arcade, swimming pool, hot tub, a bus load of discs for sale, and an all around good vibe. For a private course this place is unbelievable.
Cons: Can be tricky to find your way through the first time but not too bad.

Variety of tee pads. Wish they were concrete

The hole they call plinko is very tough to maneuver your disc through. It sits behind many skinny trees that stand close together.
Other Thoughts: Camping was a blast. If possible make a weekend of it. You won't wanna leave. Very cool owners that deserve a donation and a round of applause for making this place. Every town needs a Grange.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Mecca!

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *The grange overall = Two 18-hole challenging & immaculately groomed courses, an 18-hole lit practice course, a clubhouse with an old-school video game arcade and a pool -- all on the same piece of private land!
*Challenging holes with variety of open & wooded, short & long
*Defined fairways - I thought both courses were tight but very fair - good shots are rewarded and bad shots punished
*Character - lots of it, in random artwork, varying teepads, etc
*Aesthetic appeal - beautiful & beautifully maintained piece of land
*Extras like covered tee areas - I haven't seen this before and imagine it would be amazing on a super hot or rainy day
*All 3 courses are extremely fun to play
Cons: *Not all tee signs have distances marked
*Not very beginner friendly
*Par 3 courses

Really not much in the way of cons...
Other Thoughts: We played the grange courses immediately after playing the courses in Paw Paw, WV -- so they seemed very friendly in comparison. The courses alone are probably 4-4.5 star courses, but when you combine the setting, atmosphere & having everything at one location, this sets the bar for courses in my opinion.

Sunnyside has a mix of open & wooded holes & seemed to be easier; Darkside is entirely wooded & seemed a bit tougher. I liked both about the same - different in a good & complimentary way.

This is an amazing place to visit and should definitely be high on your list of places to play.

$5 to play and worth every penny

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.