Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sunny? It was a little cloudy when I played.

1    10/27/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sunnyside is everything I look for in a course.

The terrain and hole design are terrific with a great blend of tunnel shots, open bombs, over water shots, manicured fairways, creative pin placements, short holes, long holes, no RH or LH bias and elevation (both up and down). There is tons of variety through out the entire course with a leaning towards woods golf which I love. You will get a chance to use a lot of different discs and having both a BH and FH will help. The course can provide a nice challenge but if you hit your lines you should be able to get under par here.

The course is very pleasing to the eye. The wooded holes through the mature hardwoods, the rolling hills of the open holes and the manicured bushes on #10 all make for an aesthetically pleasing experience.

This course has personality. There is a personal touch through out the course that I think is missing from some of the more "polished" courses. The astro turf tees, the strange monster/mannequin at 3's tee, the surplus stadium seating that is on most holes, all seem to let you know that this a course built by disc golfers, maintained by disc golfers, for disc golfers. The effort to maintain this course is very apparent. All of the grassy areas were mowed and the wooded holes were completely clear of all debris. The condition of the course when I played could only be described as immaculate,

The tees are fantastic. They are large, firm, level astro turf tees that surprisingly felt much better than concrete and I would imagine are easier on a disc golfers shoes.

The signage at each hole was superb. Even though they are missing the signature "Grange" and Sunnyside indicators that were on the previous signs (before the change to the Blockhouse) that gave them that little extra personality, they give a clear overview of the hole with the distance.

All of the baskets were in great condition and had some large flags on top of them to help aid spotting, especially on the wooded holes.

Navigation is easy even without a map (which I did not have) after you find hole number one. Since I did not have a map and there was no one on the course we just tee'd off on the first hole #1 we could find hoping it was the Sunny Side. After that it was smooth sailing.

The Blockhouse pro shop/arcade/clubhouse area is awesome. It was a great place to chill out between nines and between courses. There are lots of baskets around to warm up your putting (tiki course)

After playing the awesomeness that is Sunnyside you have the completely separate 18, The Darkside on site to play plus the super cool Tiki putter course and a mini disc course that is really widespread.

There is camping onsite.
Cons: There is only one set of tees. This could be a bit of a downer for a beginner since the course is not all that easy even for quality players.
Never did find a map of the course even at the clubhouse check in area.

The mini baskets are sort of in the way and can be confused for the real baskets if you are not looking closely enough.

Not really a con I guess but there was a guy that was around the club house after we finished and he never talked to us at all. I have no idea if he was the course pro or something but I told him how awesome the courses were and he gave me blank look and continued his Pacman game. Very strange since my buddy and I were the only people there all morning and were around the clubhouse area for a while playing tiki etc..
Other Thoughts: I cannot say enough positive things about this course and the Blockhouse in general. It really is a great destination for disc golf. When you take the entire Blockhouse complex together, you are provided with a wonderful, all day, disc golf experience. I appreciate all the time an effort that went into establishing this oh-so cool place. The $7 dollars is easily worth what you get back from this facility.

Sunnyside individually has a very high fun factor with just the right touch of difficulty so that I would love to play here every day.

I am now more than willing to make the drive down here from Pittsburgh to play some of the PDGA tournaments here,

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Luke

1    10/8/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
On the same site as another 18=hole course, tiki course, disc shop, clubhouse.

Two nine-hole loops.
Cons:
#17. I closed my eyes, turned my disc perpendicular to the ground, and threw, ending up in a much better position than my friend who actually tried to navigate this extreme-pinball offering.
Other Thoughts:
The course consists of two nine-hole counter-clockwise loops, starting behind the house. The open space (minimally) and woods (primarily) forming the front nine sit upon fairly flat land, while the open space (primarily) and woods (minimally) forming the back nine play up, down, and across a slope.

About half the holes, mainly on the front nine, play within the woods formed by the tall hardwoods at the back of the property. On these holes, the narrowest parts of the flightpaths come at different locations - early/middle/late/duration, and a blend of no/left/right/S-turning shots are needed head towards the basket. Because the trees are only moderately close together, there typically will be opportunity to recover from a drive that doesn't hit the initial optimum line.

About half the holes, primarily on the back nine, are fairly open, but offer some type of problem to surmount - extra length, water, elevation gain, bushes/rises to throw up-n-over - even a basket within a paddock!

Nice course with a good blend of openness/tightness, distance, and shot-types needed, while (mostly) avoiding any extremes - worth a visit if near the area, especially considering the other courses on the same site.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The main event at a the Blockhouse

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing turf tee pads and great signage.
Benches at nearly every hole.
Great variety utilizing all natural features:elevation, water hazard, tight woods, and manicured bushes.
On site camping available!
Back 9 is often lit up for glow rounds at night.

Course starts out serious with a 600 foot anhyser shot over water followed by 7 tunnel shots.
9 uses the cow pens for a small novelty feel
Great use of water hazard on 16.
Pro Shop (Stupid Store) on premises
Music playing the entire time near the stage, stage set up for live music at night.
Arcade and snack bar on site.
Baskets in great shape with large flags to make them easier to spot in the woods.
Most holes have very clear fairways and clear well maintained paths.
Water coolers scattered through out course (I did not check to see if they were filled, but I am sure they are for events)

Cons: So many 300 ft tunnel shots.
17 is loved or despised, super short hole with no line, just pitch and pray.
small chance of disc loss on a few holes.
Only 1 tee pad, so there is no option for true beginners.
a couple times the mini baskets looked like distant baskets, look for the large flags, not the little orange flags.

Other Thoughts: This course is clearly the priority of the Blockhouse, It is a great course at a one of a kind location. $7 a day, $5 after 5, Stay and play glow. Glow discs, and various types of LED lights for sale on site.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: loved this course. open and wooded. not ridiculously hard. very well designed. i could've played this course all weekend. it treated me a little better than the darkside did. big but not too big. very fair. still challenging.
Cons: eventually i had to stop playing it.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stupid Disc Golf Utopia!

2-4    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Navigation is easy after hole 1, although relatively unmarked. Just follow the worn in foot paths between each. Hole 1 is down to the right of the white building between it and the lake.

+ Fantastic variety of hole layout and line options. Up hill, down hill, over crests, over gullies, dog legs, tunnel shots, plinko shots, ace runs, and open bombs. Evenly fair course design for Righties and Lefties.

+ Great use of environmental hazards to increase difficulty. Hole 16 is a measly 210ft straight shot with one skinny tree planted in the middle of the fairway. It is enough to ruin a straight run at the basket. Hole 4 at 170ft has a splattering of small trees no more than 3 feet apart from each other making it a head-scratcher. And small water hazards on 15 and 16 add a bit of extra novelty to the already engaging downhill and uphill drives.

+ Golfers will most likely use a large variety of disc molds; putters, mids and drivers. Understable, stable, and overstable.

+ Impressive tee signs and tee pads noticeable from hole 1 until end of course. Hole 1 is concrete, while the rest are sport-turf-esque. Benches near every tee pad.

+ Spectator huts with interesting seating built near signature hole tee pads make this a great course to watch a tourney. They are shady and have comfy padded second-hand seating.

+ The course is well groomed and maintained for the most part. Nearly trash-free. If you see a piece of litter, pick it up!

+ Camping allowed. Call ahead and clear it with the staff ahead of time.
Cons: - The only missing shot variety is an immediate dog leg off the tee. While there are both DLL's and DLR's, all begin turning after a lengthy drive.

- One tee pad per hole. They were in the process of installing an extra tee pad on hole 1 to optionally avoid the water hazard.

- Poison Ivy growing on/near fairways that you normally wouldn't expect to see. It should be taken care of soon before it gets out of hand.

- No trash cans to be found out on the course, but maybe I didn't look hard enough.

- Didn't see any printed scorecards/maps, but again maybe I didn't look hard enough. I printed a scorecard from DGCR, but noticed the distances varied slightly.

- Mini disc baskets can easily confuse first time players if not being careful on the tee. The mini-disc course is interlaced in with the back nine holes.
Other Thoughts: This review was written when the Blockhouse was still named The Grange.

Stupid Disc Golf Utopia! Other reviewers have gone into how cool this place is, and most of it is worth repeating. The Blockhouse is easily worth a $7.00 -$10 donation.

- The "Stupid Store" (http://www.thestupidstore.com ) is a small pro-shop with a huge variety of Innova plastic, small variety of Discraft, and an even smaller selection of Quest and Previously Own discs. Most discs are custom stamped with a Grange moniker or pattern. T-Shirts and other items also available. Prices are competitive. It'll be easy to find something to buy in support of their efforts.

- Hospitality is top notch. The local staff is friendly, inclusive, and willing to help out first time visitors and spend a little time chatting about recent events and course records (currently held by Brian Skinner).

- Correcting previous reviews:
THEY DO NOT SERVE ALCAHOL.
THE POOL AND HOTTUB ARE PRIVATE AND ARE INVITATIONAL ONLY.

- They do keep a large water cooler on the countertop for refilling your bottles. Monthly tournaments feature specific prepared food items.

- Free classic arcade games. Ask a local, they'll show you the secrets.

- No dogs allowed, but you're sure to run into Corndog, the courses free-roaming black lab mix. He escorted us from hole 1 to 14, making sure we stayed on the right routes and didn't lose our discs.

- The Tiki Course, albeit not as cool as playing at night, is a great way to warm up before taking to the courses.

- There is also a permanent 9 hole mini disc course to tickle your fancy further.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The Easier Side

2-4    5/23/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes, with two 9 hole loops that bring you back to the club house area.

Water comes into play on a few holes, either by having to throw over it, or by avoiding it. Some nice views of the course and property from the higher elevated tees.

Great tee pads, most of which are the top grade synthetic ones. They drain well and are plenty wide and long. Tee signs with basket location(s) and distances provided.

Course navigation is fairly straight forward and not difficult even with out a map.

Club house, bathroom, game room and pro shop, not to mention two other courses on the property. Very convenient to I-95, about half way between Richmond and DC.
Cons: Muddy and swampy in spots, especially during or after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: This course, along with the other two courses on property, make this a disc golfers paradise. Only about 15 minutes off of I-95, it is a nice diversion to your trip on the I-95 corridor.

Besides all the disc golf that one can play here, there are other amenities, such as the game room and snack bar to keep you entertained between rounds.

Seeing is believing, so make sure you stop by and see for yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny Side Up

1    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: luv2throw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging with some tight fairwas and some open drives as well.

Well designed

Some good distance holes.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When playing the Grange be sure to bring plenty of food and water or other drinks because there are no stores nearby and once you get there you will not want to leave. For sure.
Bring swimming trunks and bathing suits for the pool and hot tub.
Be sure to bring a tent or something in case you drink too much because they really don't want you drinking and driving.

Plan to make a full day or two of your trip.

Be sure to make friends with mike the dude with the Jester hat on most of the time. He is the owner and one of the coolest guys you'll ever meet.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This is the easy one?

1    2/21/2008   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Long! Short! Water! Trees! Fields! Elevation! Rough! Sand traps! Bunkers! Island Greens! HFS!!! I loved every second on this course. It is not begginer friendly but who cares. It is beutiful
Cons: It can get pretty muddy and homeboy needs afew new box's so don't forget to donate!!!
Other Thoughts: Every player owes him or herself a trip out to the grange. DONATE!!!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 DG Oasis

2-4    6/9/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has been a while since my trip to the Grange, but it was a memorable trip and I will be returning as soon as possible. The Sunnyside is one of two full-length, 18-hole courses on site, and it was my favorite of the two. As the name implies, it is the more open course - but there are still plenty of wooded holes. The course design here is very creative, making this one of the best rounds of disc in the state. The course gets off to a great start, throwing over a pond into an open field on #1, followed by a series of wooded holes. The highlights for me were #1 and #9, which plays slightly uphill to a basket in a small fenced area.

There is little to complain about at the Grange. The teepads are all excellent, the signage is great, and most holes have a place to sit (some even have little huts built behind the tees to provide shade on hot days). Clearly a lot of work has gone into making this place what it is today - bridges, benches, huts, and all kinds of decorations make the courses at the Grange truly unique.
Cons: With a name like "Sunnyside," I expected this course to be more open than it is. Looking at these 18-holes alone, the variation is as good as it gets. However, in contrast to the heavily wooded Darkside course, I was hoping that there would be more open holes here. It doesn't take away from the experience, though.

Both courses on site are also longer than the average course. This isn't a problem for me at all, but it's something to keep in mind when planning your trip.
Other Thoughts: The course is pay-to-play, but considering all the work that's gone into the place, and the fact that it's on private property, I can't list that as a con. There is a clubhouse area that provides a great place to rest between rounds, and while there was nobody there when I played, it looks like they sell drinks (beers!) there, probably during big tourneys. There is also a huge inventory of discs at the entrance, so you can stock up before your rounds (or replace whatever you threw in the pond on #1). Between the Sunnyside, Darkside, and Tiki Course, the Grange is a disc golf oasis, and one of the best places to play in the state. Highly recommended.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Outstanding

2-4    11/10/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mike T. and his merry band have created a most enchanting disc golf experience. Two 18 hole championship courses plus a bonus Tiki (par 2 night course) await you. Plan an entire afternoon to enjoy this labor of love.

This course features a classic disc golf layout of open rolling farm pasture that will allow you to air out your drivers and tight woods that will use Everything in your bag. Many of these wooded holes are even more wooded than the Dark Side, so don't plan on leaving your accuracy game behind. The property is gorgeous and was sheer delight to be playing during the golden evening hours. Flow was outstanding and seemed easy to navigate (though I was with a group of locals). The 9th hole finished at the clubhouse, which was nice. This hole which I call "The Corral" is a fenced in area at about 300' distance (it is slated to become #18 as it is a more classic finish).
Each hole seemed unique from the others. One is a monster that doglegs right through a tight fairway then thick woods-which they plan to lengthen another 100'. It should rate a par 4 for certain. Teepads are in top condition with AstroTurf on many and crushed granite on others (this apparently eliminates mud and drains well).
Cons: As with the Darkside, would do good to have a couple "next tee" signs, but this is a minor nitpick. Also, a couple holes could be rated par 4's.
Other Thoughts: I prefer this slightly over the Darkside course, but recommend you take at least a half day to play both and then include the Tiki course as your early night wind-down.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.