Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #13 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun in the Sun

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Grange is a privately owned "Disc Golf Resort" located in Spolsylvania, Virginia. The Grange features three Disc Golf Courses, The Sunny Side, The Dark Side and the mini Tiki putting course. In addition, The Grange also has an outdoor bar, with live band stage, video games, a swimming pool with hottub and camping. If you're in the Central Virginia area, a stop at The Grange is a must.

I played the Sunny Side on a hot, sunny day...how appropriate. Here's a hole by hole review of the course:

Hole 1: 615 feet, a long, open right fading hole, with a large pond that comes into play over the first 165 feet. You need to throw with power and accuracy to clear the pond, and get a good location for the up shot.

Hole 2: 324 Feet, runs you from the clearing into the woods. The entrance to the wooded area is flanked by two, count 'em, two sets of two trees, making it a challenging "thread the needle" hole. Once you do thread that needle, there's another needle threading to be done for the hole.

Hole 3: 304 feet- is a snaking hole with a tight line to the hole. A hard wrist snap, and a fast disc are key on this hole.

Hole 4: 192 feet- sounds easy, right? I mean, 192 feet and straight, should be able to ace it every time...but not so fast, my friend. the fairway is tight as a hookers skirt, and the hole is hidden behind a wall of leaves...so if you ace this hole, you're a stud.

Hole 5: 363 feet- The basket is located right in front of you...unfortunately, the tight fairway bends left, then right, with large trees constricting the fairway to a narrow window at 151 feet.

Hole 6: 363 feet, another hole with the basket right in front of you....but this is the grange, so it can't be easy, right? First theres the narrow fairway 136 feet out, then there's the huge tree in the center of the fairway, 233 feet down, then a coprse of trees encroaches into the fairway from the right, making the putt have to come from the left side.

Hole 7: 240 Feet- A nice, right turner with some trees about 105 feet down making the turn a challenge to hit, just right.

Hole 8-272 Feet- 98 feet out, coming from the left is a large OB swampy area, then a pari of large trees behind the marsh make this a litte more challenging. In addition, there's an OB stream bed running down the fairway on the right side. Be careful of the mud...I almost lost a shoe walking to my tee shot!

Hole 9: 272 feet- Probably the signature Grange hole, first you must clear a nasty scrub marsh area, out to 130 feet, then you are throwing into a basket located inside a corral, with a pig chute, fences and shed. Fun stuff!

Hole 10: 535 feet- A great hole to rear back and throw, the basket is up the hill to the left, flanked by a set of firs making the putt and excercise in precision.

Hole 11: 550 Feet- is a fairly straight shot, with a narrowing fairway with low brush on the flanks.

Hole 12: 247 feet- A slightly wooded hole, with a snaking fairway, this hole features to basket placements on either side of the fairway.

Hole 13: 210 Feet- Is a straight fairway, and fairly short...but as usual, the course has some nasty surprises... like a large tree smack-dab in the way of your tee shot, and the smaller trees flanking the basket making the up shot harder.

Hole 14: 289 feet- has a large tree 158 feet in the middle of the fairway, and scrub brush on both sides.

Hole 15: 210 feet- Nice and short, so should be easy, right? No way! First there's the nasty mound covered in brush blocking the hole, and curving in around the mound can land you in the thick woods on either side of the basket. Saw a nice big Black Rat Snake here, so beware!

Hole 16: 210-320 feet, depending on tee used (three choices) The hole is located right behind a large, brackish pond, making this hole VERY risky. If you come up short, your disc is getting wet.

Hole 17: 163 feet- Heavily wooded fairway with almost no clear path to the basket. All the trees are very young and thin, so it's even more frustrating, as the hole is so tantelizing close...I think it was laughing at me.

Hole 18: 250 Feet- A gorgeous, long hole bringing you home, with three large trees arrayed down the fairway, at 119, 186 and 259 feet. Also, beware of the small streambed that runs across the fairway at about 195 feet.
Cons: Not too many cons, just be careful of widelife.
Other Thoughts: A wonderful "must play" for anyone in the area, and a great Disc Golf Destination.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Private Course

1    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of very interesting holes on this course. Hole 9 stands out in this regard. You throw across a small valley to a basket that is inside of a small fenced in area. This is complicated because of structures on the backside and right side of the fenced area.
While called "Sunnyside" there are a good number of holes in the woods with pretty narrow fairways. There are not as many tight wooded holes as on "Darkside" but still plenty for a good mix.
This is an exceptionally well maintained course. The tees are all well packed and have rakes alongside to fix any problem spots. All the holes have seating available for the rest of the members of your party and many of them even have covered spots to get out of the elements or the sun. The seating is everything from wooden benches to old connected "airport" chairs. There are new looking tee signs on every hole and they look great. While heavily wooded this is one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have played. There were signs pointing to the next tee in almost every situation where there would be a question as where to go next. Additionally even though there is a great possibility of a couple of throws going off the fairway this is not a huge problem because it is very easy to locate your disc. There is really no underbrush to speak of and most discs stand out well in contrast to the leaf covered ground.
Cons: Not too much to say here. While navigation is fairly easy between holes it would still be nice to have a map. Also a lot of the holes felt like "tweeners" to me. They are difficult to birdie but almost more difficult to bogey (if you can stay on the fairway with your drive). Of course this observation might just because of where I am as a player right now.
Other Thoughts: This was my first experience with a privately owned course. I have to admit I was a little apprehensive at first. It seemed very strange to pull into someone's driveway and then get out and play disc golf. I quickly got past this because of how welcoming Mike and the others who maintain this course are to all the visitors.
I appreciate very accurate directions on the "course info" section of this site because when navigating my way to a new course I am always wondering if I am going the right direction. Once exit I-95 and get on Rte 606 it turns into Rte 208 after about 6 miles. If you go straight through this intersection then Rte 648 is two miles down the road. The rest of the directions are perfect.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A course to remember.

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first of 3 courses at the Grange's 56 acre piece of land. It has a slightly more contemporary feel than its sister course the Darkside.

It starts out with a big bomb over a pond and finishes over a marsh area with the basket in an old cattle truck loading pen.

The baskets are well placed with the area surrounding them well maintained. They are all in good shape and do a good job of catching the disc.

The tee pads are old carpet and I think astro turf. But they play well. Some are the rock dust and chips and I understand that will be the case with all of them eventually.

They have just put up new tee signs and I like them very much. They are colorful and easy to understand.

They have used the course topography well. The fairways are kept clean and are manageable.I saw no crossing fairways and the no areas where you could be in harms way when someone else is throwing from another basket. After the first couple accuracy and patience become the game here. Forcing your throw and getting into the woods will add many throws. While there are a lot of trees finding a disc was not abnormally hard because they do work at keeping the undergrowth down. However there are several water hazards and OB's but they are well defined with rope and the signs show them accurately. There is a variety of straight, left to right and right to left. Some will give you multiple looks. There is enough variety in distances to have an ace chance and to go for distance. It has more balance to it than the Darkside course.

Like the Darkside, to me the best part was the flow of the course. It just seemed to fit. Because of this and the obvious wear on the paths it was easy to get around the course. Even without a map.

This course is more contemporary than the Darkside. It mixes the fairways with a couple of bombers and has some very tight alleys. It also has a section where deuces can be hide by a good rec player.

I did not see any foliage that was hazardous (poison ivy, oak and such) but I do hate those prickly hollies that are everywhere.

There are plenty of benches and several of the tee areas have small covered structures to get under.

Many of the tees on all three courses have a theme. My favorite was here and was called the fish hole. A three hundred foot dog leg right that goes down then up. I did it in 3.

There are regular events to take part in. Every Friday is a glow game, The monthly played on Saturday mornings, and the Virginia Open is played here.

The attitude of everyone I met was great and Mike, the owner, is one of a kind.

There is a good pro shop on site.
Cons: There are not many cons here but its not perfect.

This course has thicker foliage and some marsh areas that the other 2 courses do not and can eat a disc.

Drainage was also a problem in some areas. I found myself slipping and sliding even when I stayed on the fairway.

Bring plenty to drink.The physical exertion is high here and there are no water fountains. There are a few 5 gallon water jugs spread out but I could not bring myself to use them. Its not Mike and the gang but not everyone is as trustworthy.

Parking could be tight on a busy day.

There are no par markings on any of the baskets and it is assumed that all are a 3. At least a couple of them should be 4's

They serve beer here and while I did not see anyone acting inappropriate it may be an issue with some.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I do not want an easy time but I don't want it to half kill me either. This course accomplishes that. Aside from the water hazards, marsh and some poor drainage this is a course more suited to a wider variety of people.

If you only have time for one course to play and you have group of people with various skill levels than this is the one to play.

Everyone from Mike to the players were nice and willing to work with a first time player to this course.

With its old school charm (hippie and courses) and overall quality experience I now understand why this place has become sort of the holy grail for disc gold in Virginia.

There is also a nice in ground pool here. So bring the family and they can swim while you play. Then dive in when you or all of you are done playing golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Grange- Sunyside

1    5/9/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is a great amount of variety on this course, as well as a VERY good setup for social get togethers.
Cons: Holes are poorly marked. Holes 2-5 are muck ponds when it rains. Most holes have tight, tunnels, only six feet wide, for you to get your disk through.
Other Thoughts: There is no doubt that The Grange is a one of a kind course, tucked away in rural Virginia, sporting some challenging Virginian terrain. The Sunnyside starts out tough, but gets easier and easier, to a surreal point. By Hole 18, the course is a breeze. But Hole one is arguably the longest one there, with several challenging holes that follow, in the early part of the course.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfer's Paradise

2-4    10/17/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great experience. Baskets lit up with rope lights at night. A gumball dispenser that had led lights for discs. Some great power throw opportunities with many technical holes. Good variety of elevation and a couple good water shots. Almost every kind of throw comes into play here. They have the coolest clubhouse on the planet. A stage with live music, food, big arcade, swimming pool, hot tub, a bus load of discs for sale, and an all around good vibe. For a private course this place is unbelievable.
Cons: Can be tricky to find your way through the first time but not too bad.

Variety of tee pads. Wish they were concrete

The hole they call plinko is very tough to maneuver your disc through. It sits behind many skinny trees that stand close together.
Other Thoughts: Camping was a blast. If possible make a weekend of it. You won't wanna leave. Very cool owners that deserve a donation and a round of applause for making this place. Every town needs a Grange.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grange Me Baby

5+    11/18/2008   2/18/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What can you say about The Grange? If you haven't paid a visit, well then - shame on you! Like most private courses, this one is owned /operated by some of the most welcoming and wonderful people you could ever hope to meet. Mike and Jenny Trapasso have made available an ever changing and beautiful piece of property for your frisbee throwing pleasure.
The Sunnyside was the first of two 18 hole courses, and went through several course configurations before settling into the current layout. Always striving to improve the course, Mike pushed and pulled the holes into an increasingly challenging venue. Mostly wooded, but with a few big bombers, the Sunnyside demands accuracy, and if you fail to be precise and take advantage of the birdie opportunities, your score will suffer. Double digits used to be common on the Sunnyside, but these days anything in the 40's is a solid round - and will be moving you way up the leaderboard.

There are so many other amenities/Pros to the Grange. The original house and garage that were on the property, now serve as clubhouse, and arcade (there must be 40-50 video games in the old garage). Add event tents and a permanent gas grill, and there is a ready made outdoor kitchen, ping pong, bumper pool, and a sound stage for jammin. Oh and let's not forget the swimming pool w/built in hot tub. Ahh if only I could win the lottery............
Cons: One section of the course is sort of deuce alley (holes 13-17) that are perhaps a little redundant in how you traverse a modest hillside. But it could be argued as a "Pro" as it can balance out the more difficult front nine.
Other Thoughts: Many tees are old carpet remnants, which work suprisingly well, even in wet weather. The Grange is also home to another 18 Holer (The Darkside) and an 18 hole lighted tiki (par 2) course which uses all the original home made baskets. It's really quite amazing to play a round of tiki in the middle of the night, surrounded by christmas lights in the woods. Haven't seen that ANYWHERE but here. By all means - if you're heading north on 95 - stop before you hit the DC traffic, and spend a day at The Grange. You won't be disappointed.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course!

2-4    1/31/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Old school feel. This course is on private land owned, I'm sure, by Disc Golf enthusiasts from the old school. Baskets everywhere! Not even counting the ones on the courses! A tent clubhouse with old arcade video games and a Lost & Found for missing dics. It has an honor system box for Pay to Play ($5) and just feels like its owned by one of the original Frisbee Golfers (Didn't get to meet the owner, got there early and it was in winter!)


Now on to the Course! This course is a good mix of wooded and open holes. Unlike its Sister (?) Course, the Darkside, it is much more forgiving. More of a traditional DG course and a lot of fun. Not as challenging as The Darkside, but I'd say more fun for DGers of all skill levels. Yellow (light) flags mark all Sunnyside baskets. Benches on all or most tees. Good markers and maps at each tee. Nice use of water hazards on a few holes. All of the OB (out of bounds) are clearly marked when used. If your disc lands inside the roped off area, then you are out of bounds! Very scenic and excellent basket placements make Sunnyside a classic! Perfect flow from one hole to the next.
Cons: No restrooms to be found. No distance or par markings on the Tee maps. Again it was assumed the entire course was Par 3. Some holes on Sunnyside, it can be argued, could be Par 4. Other than these nit picking statements, Sunnyside is a near perfect course.
Other Thoughts: A great course for all skill levels! I'd have to slightly rate this higher than Darkside simply because it is fun for all without being daunting. Sunnyside is a near perfect course, where Darkside is almost the same while maybe being too tough for the casual player. A great day out of DG either way!

Favorite holes: 9, the basket is found inside a high fenced in area.

16 (I believe it was), had the basket just across a small pond. The Tee is placed in a wooded area, throwing out to the open. Once across the pond, watch your approach or you'll be in trouble. A great hole!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Mecca!

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *The grange overall = Two 18-hole challenging & immaculately groomed courses, an 18-hole lit practice course, a clubhouse with an old-school video game arcade and a pool -- all on the same piece of private land!
*Challenging holes with variety of open & wooded, short & long
*Defined fairways - I thought both courses were tight but very fair - good shots are rewarded and bad shots punished
*Character - lots of it, in random artwork, varying teepads, etc
*Aesthetic appeal - beautiful & beautifully maintained piece of land
*Extras like covered tee areas - I haven't seen this before and imagine it would be amazing on a super hot or rainy day
*All 3 courses are extremely fun to play
Cons: *Not all tee signs have distances marked
*Not very beginner friendly
*Par 3 courses

Really not much in the way of cons...
Other Thoughts: We played the grange courses immediately after playing the courses in Paw Paw, WV -- so they seemed very friendly in comparison. The courses alone are probably 4-4.5 star courses, but when you combine the setting, atmosphere & having everything at one location, this sets the bar for courses in my opinion.

Sunnyside has a mix of open & wooded holes & seemed to be easier; Darkside is entirely wooded & seemed a bit tougher. I liked both about the same - different in a good & complimentary way.

This is an amazing place to visit and should definitely be high on your list of places to play.

$5 to play and worth every penny

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Home On The Grange!

7/15/2003   3/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've got to admire (wonder about?) someone who puts this kind of time, $ and commitment into building and maintaining two full 18 hole courses plus a smaller putting course. 54 baskets plus? The courses sit on a lovely piece of property in the Virginia countryside. There's lots of elevation changes, fairways cut into the deep forrest, benches, open holes, holes that throw over ponds. One basket sits in a corral. On one course, you finish on both #17 and #18, with throws downhill over ponds. One basket was placed right on the edge of the pond adding to the challenge. The courses features two sets of tees. In summary, these courses feature an amazing amount of work put into by the owners and will CHALLENGE your game!
Cons: Some of wooded fairways are ridiculously tight, maybe 6 feet wide. Hit a tree and carom into some real trouble on those. I think we had a little trouble navigating parts of the course. The signs weren't always the most clear.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I'd probably rate this course a little lower because I felt it was pretty much "over my skill level" as a recreational player. I enjoyed my experience there one time but if it were my home course, I would soon grow weary of looking for errant throws in the woods and gullys and fishing my discs out of the ponds. But I'll stand by this rating knowing that many disc golfers would absolutely love everything about the Grange experience. Remember it's private so call first.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 The Grange

1    8/7/2007   3/7/2008
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two full challenging courses and 18 tiki holes you can play at night. Excellent use of two small ponds and one of the only sand traps I've seen on a disc golf course. #9 pin on the Sunnyside is inside a pen which gives the course character. Nice mix of right, left and straight holes, mostly tight but a few open bombs thrown in for variety. You start out with an open field bomb but then you enter the woods for some classic tight Virginia disc golf. Some of these holes aren't all that long but there's a real sense of accomplishment when you birdie one, particularly when you turn around and look at the fairway you just negotiated! Just when you're beginning to wonder if you're ever going to get out of the woods you get out to a clearing for another bomb. Everyone's in a good mood at the Grange!
Cons: No concrete tees but the carpet works amazingly well. There can be some nasty flies in mid to late spring, bug repellant just seemed to serve as a condiment for them. Keep a close eye on your disc on the back nine of the Darkside, some tough rough back there.
Other Thoughts: There's a real premium on accuracy here on most holes, if you get off the fairway it can be a tough recovery for par. The place is constantly improving, when I first came here 10 years ago there was just one 19 hole course. Proprieter Mike is good people.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.