Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Sweet course!

1    7/10/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was so much fun to play. Awesome variety of open and wooded holes, close and far holes. The grass fairways were well groomed, the tee boxes were set up nicely, and some of the bushes were even hedged. You can tell that the owners take care of this course alot!
Cons: Tee pads were horrible. They were all of different materials and it seemed like none of them were the same size. Some were dirt, some artifical turf, some carpet. Kind of annoying, especially when there isn't a place to the side of the tee to throw even if the tee was muddy or wet etc, you couldn't even throw from the side of the tee box to prevent injury.

I didn't see any trash cans. Not a big deal, but might be nice.

$5.00 greens fees is a little pricey for this course. I would go to this course again, but at $5 a pop, I wouldn't be going here that often.
Other Thoughts: Great course, and well worth the drive to check it out if you have never been. I'm glad I made the trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/11/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Really fun course. Great design and layout, with good signage. Lots of shot variety and a good amount of elevation change.
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: Really nice private course with 2 other courses on site. One of the best I've played.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This course was a blast!

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really cannot express how much fun this course was. There's a ton of variation in both elevation and left to right orientation. You play through several instances of water.
The best best part about this course is that the people who maintain it are the ones who play it, so it was immaculate when we arrived. The grass was short, all the baskets had flags and clearly marked fairways.
You play 4 holes that include water, including putting over a pretty sizable lake.
I love his basket placements, there's a hole on this course that the basket is around 250' from the tee enclosed in a wood fence with an opening just small enough that someone could ace it, but if you didn't end up inside this corral area, you had a real hard putt to make over top of a fence.
Was very easy to navigate without a map, but very rough to play. A lot of elevation and a very long course.
Cons: Not for beginners
Somewhat hard to find, from the road it looks like someone's house, because well it is.
Other Thoughts: The people here were amazing, he has a small pro shop on site that sells stamped discs. There's also a light up tiki course that is really awesome! Really can't express how much fun this course is! It's like the Disney World of disc golf!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny? It was a little cloudy when I played.

1    10/27/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sunnyside is everything I look for in a course.

The terrain and hole design are terrific with a great blend of tunnel shots, open bombs, over water shots, manicured fairways, creative pin placements, short holes, long holes, no RH or LH bias and elevation (both up and down). There is tons of variety through out the entire course with a leaning towards woods golf which I love. You will get a chance to use a lot of different discs and having both a BH and FH will help. The course can provide a nice challenge but if you hit your lines you should be able to get under par here.

The course is very pleasing to the eye. The wooded holes through the mature hardwoods, the rolling hills of the open holes and the manicured bushes on #10 all make for an aesthetically pleasing experience.

This course has personality. There is a personal touch through out the course that I think is missing from some of the more "polished" courses. The astro turf tees, the strange monster/mannequin at 3's tee, the surplus stadium seating that is on most holes, all seem to let you know that this a course built by disc golfers, maintained by disc golfers, for disc golfers. The effort to maintain this course is very apparent. All of the grassy areas were mowed and the wooded holes were completely clear of all debris. The condition of the course when I played could only be described as immaculate,

The tees are fantastic. They are large, firm, level astro turf tees that surprisingly felt much better than concrete and I would imagine are easier on a disc golfers shoes.

The signage at each hole was superb. Even though they are missing the signature "Grange" and Sunnyside indicators that were on the previous signs (before the change to the Blockhouse) that gave them that little extra personality, they give a clear overview of the hole with the distance.

All of the baskets were in great condition and had some large flags on top of them to help aid spotting, especially on the wooded holes.

Navigation is easy even without a map (which I did not have) after you find hole number one. Since I did not have a map and there was no one on the course we just tee'd off on the first hole #1 we could find hoping it was the Sunny Side. After that it was smooth sailing.

The Blockhouse pro shop/arcade/clubhouse area is awesome. It was a great place to chill out between nines and between courses. There are lots of baskets around to warm up your putting (tiki course)

After playing the awesomeness that is Sunnyside you have the completely separate 18, The Darkside on site to play plus the super cool Tiki putter course and a mini disc course that is really widespread.

There is camping onsite.
Cons: There is only one set of tees. This could be a bit of a downer for a beginner since the course is not all that easy even for quality players.
Never did find a map of the course even at the clubhouse check in area.

The mini baskets are sort of in the way and can be confused for the real baskets if you are not looking closely enough.

Not really a con I guess but there was a guy that was around the club house after we finished and he never talked to us at all. I have no idea if he was the course pro or something but I told him how awesome the courses were and he gave me blank look and continued his Pacman game. Very strange since my buddy and I were the only people there all morning and were around the clubhouse area for a while playing tiki etc..
Other Thoughts: I cannot say enough positive things about this course and the Blockhouse in general. It really is a great destination for disc golf. When you take the entire Blockhouse complex together, you are provided with a wonderful, all day, disc golf experience. I appreciate all the time an effort that went into establishing this oh-so cool place. The $7 dollars is easily worth what you get back from this facility.

Sunnyside individually has a very high fun factor with just the right touch of difficulty so that I would love to play here every day.

I am now more than willing to make the drive down here from Pittsburgh to play some of the PDGA tournaments here,

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    10/8/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 446  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.2 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
On the same site as another 18=hole course, tiki course, disc shop, clubhouse.

Two nine-hole loops.
#17. I closed my eyes, turned my disc perpendicular to the ground, and threw, ending up in a much better position than my friend who actually tried to navigate this extreme-pinball offering.
Other Thoughts:
The course consists of two nine-hole counter-clockwise loops, starting behind the house. The open space (minimally) and woods (primarily) forming the front nine sit upon fairly flat land, while the open space (primarily) and woods (minimally) forming the back nine play up, down, and across a slope.

About half the holes, mainly on the front nine, play within the woods formed by the tall hardwoods at the back of the property. On these holes, the narrowest parts of the flightpaths come at different locations - early/middle/late/duration, and a blend of no/left/right/S-turning shots are needed head towards the basket. Because the trees are only moderately close together, there typically will be opportunity to recover from a drive that doesn't hit the initial optimum line.

About half the holes, primarily on the back nine, are fairly open, but offer some type of problem to surmount - extra length, water, elevation gain, bushes/rises to throw up-n-over - even a basket within a paddock!

Nice course with a good blend of openness/tightness, distance, and shot-types needed, while (mostly) avoiding any extremes - worth a visit if near the area, especially considering the other courses on the same site.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The main event at a the Blockhouse

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing turf tee pads and great signage.
Benches at nearly every hole.
Great variety utilizing all natural features:elevation, water hazard, tight woods, and manicured bushes.
On site camping available!
Back 9 is often lit up for glow rounds at night.

Course starts out serious with a 600 foot anhyser shot over water followed by 7 tunnel shots.
9 uses the cow pens for a small novelty feel
Great use of water hazard on 16.
Pro Shop (Stupid Store) on premises
Music playing the entire time near the stage, stage set up for live music at night.
Arcade and snack bar on site.
Baskets in great shape with large flags to make them easier to spot in the woods.
Most holes have very clear fairways and clear well maintained paths.
Water coolers scattered through out course (I did not check to see if they were filled, but I am sure they are for events)

Cons: So many 300 ft tunnel shots.
17 is loved or despised, super short hole with no line, just pitch and pray.
small chance of disc loss on a few holes.
Only 1 tee pad, so there is no option for true beginners.
a couple times the mini baskets looked like distant baskets, look for the large flags, not the little orange flags.

Other Thoughts: This course is clearly the priority of the Blockhouse, It is a great course at a one of a kind location. $7 a day, $5 after 5, Stay and play glow. Glow discs, and various types of LED lights for sale on site.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: loved this course. open and wooded. not ridiculously hard. very well designed. i could've played this course all weekend. it treated me a little better than the darkside did. big but not too big. very fair. still challenging.
Cons: eventually i had to stop playing it.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stupid Disc Golf Utopia!

2-4    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: jrawk
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Navigation is easy after hole 1, although relatively unmarked. Just follow the worn in foot paths between each. Hole 1 is down to the right of the white building between it and the lake.

+ Fantastic variety of hole layout and line options. Up hill, down hill, over crests, over gullies, dog legs, tunnel shots, plinko shots, ace runs, and open bombs. Evenly fair course design for Righties and Lefties.

+ Great use of environmental hazards to increase difficulty. Hole 16 is a measly 210ft straight shot with one skinny tree planted in the middle of the fairway. It is enough to ruin a straight run at the basket. Hole 4 at 170ft has a splattering of small trees no more than 3 feet apart from each other making it a head-scratcher. And small water hazards on 15 and 16 add a bit of extra novelty to the already engaging downhill and uphill drives.

+ Golfers will most likely use a large variety of disc molds; putters, mids and drivers. Understable, stable, and overstable.

+ Impressive tee signs and tee pads noticeable from hole 1 until end of course. Hole 1 is concrete, while the rest are sport-turf-esque. Benches near every tee pad.

+ Spectator huts with interesting seating built near signature hole tee pads make this a great course to watch a tourney. They are shady and have comfy padded second-hand seating.

+ The course is well groomed and maintained for the most part. Nearly trash-free. If you see a piece of litter, pick it up!

+ Camping allowed. Call ahead and clear it with the staff ahead of time.
Cons: - The only missing shot variety is an immediate dog leg off the tee. While there are both DLL's and DLR's, all begin turning after a lengthy drive.

- One tee pad per hole. They were in the process of installing an extra tee pad on hole 1 to optionally avoid the water hazard.

- Poison Ivy growing on/near fairways that you normally wouldn't expect to see. It should be taken care of soon before it gets out of hand.

- No trash cans to be found out on the course, but maybe I didn't look hard enough.

- Didn't see any printed scorecards/maps, but again maybe I didn't look hard enough. I printed a scorecard from DGCR, but noticed the distances varied slightly.

- Mini disc baskets can easily confuse first time players if not being careful on the tee. The mini-disc course is interlaced in with the back nine holes.
Other Thoughts: This review was written when the Blockhouse was still named The Grange.

Stupid Disc Golf Utopia! Other reviewers have gone into how cool this place is, and most of it is worth repeating. The Blockhouse is easily worth a $7.00 -$10 donation.

- The "Stupid Store" ( ) is a small pro-shop with a huge variety of Innova plastic, small variety of Discraft, and an even smaller selection of Quest and Previously Own discs. Most discs are custom stamped with a Grange moniker or pattern. T-Shirts and other items also available. Prices are competitive. It'll be easy to find something to buy in support of their efforts.

- Hospitality is top notch. The local staff is friendly, inclusive, and willing to help out first time visitors and spend a little time chatting about recent events and course records (currently held by Brian Skinner).

- Correcting previous reviews:

- They do keep a large water cooler on the countertop for refilling your bottles. Monthly tournaments feature specific prepared food items.

- Free classic arcade games. Ask a local, they'll show you the secrets.

- No dogs allowed, but you're sure to run into Corndog, the courses free-roaming black lab mix. He escorted us from hole 1 to 14, making sure we stayed on the right routes and didn't lose our discs.

- The Tiki Course, albeit not as cool as playing at night, is a great way to warm up before taking to the courses.

- There is also a permanent 9 hole mini disc course to tickle your fancy further.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The Easier Side

2-4    5/23/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 38.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes, with two 9 hole loops that bring you back to the club house area.

Water comes into play on a few holes, either by having to throw over it, or by avoiding it. Some nice views of the course and property from the higher elevated tees.

Great tee pads, most of which are the top grade synthetic ones. They drain well and are plenty wide and long. Tee signs with basket location(s) and distances provided.

Course navigation is fairly straight forward and not difficult even with out a map.

Club house, bathroom, game room and pro shop, not to mention two other courses on the property. Very convenient to I-95, about half way between Richmond and DC.
Cons: Muddy and swampy in spots, especially during or after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: This course, along with the other two courses on property, make this a disc golfers paradise. Only about 15 minutes off of I-95, it is a nice diversion to your trip on the I-95 corridor.

Besides all the disc golf that one can play here, there are other amenities, such as the game room and snack bar to keep you entertained between rounds.

Seeing is believing, so make sure you stop by and see for yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny Side Up

1    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: luv2throw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging with some tight fairwas and some open drives as well.

Well designed

Some good distance holes.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When playing the Grange be sure to bring plenty of food and water or other drinks because there are no stores nearby and once you get there you will not want to leave. For sure.
Bring swimming trunks and bathing suits for the pool and hot tub.
Be sure to bring a tent or something in case you drink too much because they really don't want you drinking and driving.

Plan to make a full day or two of your trip.

Be sure to make friends with mike the dude with the Jester hat on most of the time. He is the owner and one of the coolest guys you'll ever meet.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.