Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #18 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
  Home On The Grange!

7/15/2003   3/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've got to admire (wonder about?) someone who puts this kind of time, $ and commitment into building and maintaining two full 18 hole courses plus a smaller putting course. 54 baskets plus? The courses sit on a lovely piece of property in the Virginia countryside. There's lots of elevation changes, fairways cut into the deep forrest, benches, open holes, holes that throw over ponds. One basket sits in a corral. On one course, you finish on both #17 and #18, with throws downhill over ponds. One basket was placed right on the edge of the pond adding to the challenge. The courses features two sets of tees. In summary, these courses feature an amazing amount of work put into by the owners and will CHALLENGE your game!
Cons: Some of wooded fairways are ridiculously tight, maybe 6 feet wide. Hit a tree and carom into some real trouble on those. I think we had a little trouble navigating parts of the course. The signs weren't always the most clear.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I'd probably rate this course a little lower because I felt it was pretty much "over my skill level" as a recreational player. I enjoyed my experience there one time but if it were my home course, I would soon grow weary of looking for errant throws in the woods and gullys and fishing my discs out of the ponds. But I'll stand by this rating knowing that many disc golfers would absolutely love everything about the Grange experience. Remember it's private so call first.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 The Grange

1    8/7/2007   3/7/2008
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 33.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two full challenging courses and 18 tiki holes you can play at night. Excellent use of two small ponds and one of the only sand traps I've seen on a disc golf course. #9 pin on the Sunnyside is inside a pen which gives the course character. Nice mix of right, left and straight holes, mostly tight but a few open bombs thrown in for variety. You start out with an open field bomb but then you enter the woods for some classic tight Virginia disc golf. Some of these holes aren't all that long but there's a real sense of accomplishment when you birdie one, particularly when you turn around and look at the fairway you just negotiated! Just when you're beginning to wonder if you're ever going to get out of the woods you get out to a clearing for another bomb. Everyone's in a good mood at the Grange!
Cons: No concrete tees but the carpet works amazingly well. There can be some nasty flies in mid to late spring, bug repellant just seemed to serve as a condiment for them. Keep a close eye on your disc on the back nine of the Darkside, some tough rough back there.
Other Thoughts: There's a real premium on accuracy here on most holes, if you get off the fairway it can be a tough recovery for par. The place is constantly improving, when I first came here 10 years ago there was just one 19 hole course. Proprieter Mike is good people.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice private course off I-95

1    5/12/2007   9/12/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 351  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 37.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2008
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sunnyside is one of 3 courses in an incredible disc golf complex with over over 60 baskets! It's amazing that it's all on private property. There is good terrain variety, with some elevation changes. Most of the holes are in the woods, but a few long open holes let you air it out. There are lots of fun holes out there. You start on a long open hole shooting over a pond, then you go into the woods where the holes can be really tight and narrow.
Cons: I had to think a while to come up something here, so these are mere quibbles. Take each comment in the context that this is a private course, after all, and a stupendous amount of work has been done on the 54 holes out there!
-It would be great for all the tee signs to have the hole lengths.
-There seems to have been some redesign and I wasn't clear if there are still Alt tees on some holes. It seems that now there is only one tee per hole, but I'm not positive. It would be nice to get that clarified.
-It would be wonderful to have cement teepads on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White

Favorite hole- #16. Tons of risk vs. reward on a short downhill shot to a basket just on the other side of a small pond.
Hole 10 was also a nice shot to let it rip out over a valley of grass and back up the hill.


17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.