Vancouver, BC 
Jericho Hill Share
Uploaded By: maniak Hole #7
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tonal course needs tees.

1    7/19/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 84  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played disc golf actively for six years and finally got to play a tonal course. I was very excited about this, and it was fun hitting tonal targets instead of baskets.
Cons: Having said that, the tonal course needs some maintenance. Even with the map on my phone I had a hard time deciding where the tees were. Eventually my wife and I gave up on the tees and just picked our own.

The basket side of things was missing the third basket. There was a lot of foot traffic in the park because of the Folk Music Festival so we gave up on the basket side after #4.
Other Thoughts: The tonal course was fun to play. With the swinging tone poles it was harder than hitting chains. Tonal courses are so rare and this one needs more attention. Please someone mark the tees!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not to Bad

1    5/22/2010   2/22/2011
Review By: CarsonWebber
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is built on a great hillside, with wonderful views of both North and Downtown Vancouver. I love the proximity to the beach and other amenities. Most people play the set 9 holes and call it a mediocer course (which is fair), but the possibilities for a crative mind can easy turn this course into a challenging and interesting one. Shooting 450 ft off a 50 foot drop over thick blackberry bushes comes to mind.
Cons: If you aren't willing to create a few holes (or rock it with the locals) and make the best of it, you will find a lot of walking up hills to make boring shots that ends to soon. The tonals are small and hard to find without guidance.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a well designed course with tonnes of space, you wont find it here. If you want a hill-filled blank canvas of a course for your own interpretation, in a great park with lots of trees and no people than its worth the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/10/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the course plays back and forth along the side of a fairly steep hill. This creates a unique challenge because if your disc starts to turn downhill you need accomodate for that when you throw. There is also the chance of hitting the basket, bouncing off, and your disc rolling 50' - 100' down the hill. Hole #8 has a great view of the North Shore mountains from the tee and is a short hole with a lot of elevation change. Each time I've played this course, there has been hardly anyone playing.
Cons: A couple holes are rather uninspired such as hole # 5. There are some blackberry bushes near some of the fairways that can make disc retrieval a difficult task. This is the only course in the City of Vancouver with no cement tee pads. Some of the tee locations are poor and unlevel, covered in tree roots. This makes getting proper footing a bit a chore.
Other Thoughts: There is no map at the course, so I recommend looking at one before you play. Once you've played through once, you'll know it well enough. All in all this is a fun little course that offers something a little different from the other two courses in Vancouver and is worth checking out if you're in the neighborhood.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.