Vancouver, BC 
Quilchena DGC Share
Uploaded By: Drivethrutke Hole #9 (Taken 8/2011)
-- / --   4 / 440ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    9/8/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: tugboat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is the variety of distances. Holes 3 and 12 use a midrange at most, while hole 9 is a full out drive and 11 takes two full shots even for an above average player. The rest are mostly fairway drives, with a couple of slightly uphill shots that might require a full throw depending on the player. This course can look pretty easy at first, but a bad shot can really put you behind. If you don't make it through the trees on 1, it's a tough save for par. Into the left woods on 8 or 9, and a drop might be the best option. Finally, the course does a great job of protecting the baskets with the few trees that are present. Holes 2, 3, 5 and 6 would be easy birdie chances if it weren't for the tough greens (5 is in the middle of about 10 trees).
Cons: Quilchena is a very popular, multi-purpose park. You are constantly having to pay attention to the walkway for joggers and children, there are often soccer or softball games going on, and there is an off-lease dog park in the middle of the fairway for holes 10 and 11. If you're not comfortable asking people to look out, or confident in being able to control your tee shot, then you might be better off playing somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: As a result of the public traffic, there usually aren't many disc golfers on the course, so it can be a good place to take someone who wants to learn. And since it is in a really nice park, take a picnic basket and a ball for a whole day with some friends.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but not well marked

2-4    2/10/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: iainw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All baskets, no tonals and the tee pads have numbers on the concrete. The course is fun with some short, some long and some technical holes.
Cons: No map and its hard to find your way at times, there are a couple of unknown baskets and tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I'd play it again, but not before I play others in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    1/7/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: theHip
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like this course because it has a variety of short and long sots, open and tight. Fun course to play.
Cons: It took me a while to figure out the layout of the course. If you haven't played there before and are by yourself it is kind of confusing. Also, this is a multi use course, and both times I went there were a lot of people walking dogs. Not really a con, but sometimes you have to wait to shoot.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good 12 hole course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Too busy, unfortunately

5+    11/25/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
Pros: Some really neat signature holes, the one with all the tree guards is awesome. A good design for a small park, except for one exception... Dog park in the middle of 2 of the holes. Stay away on the weekends. Try to play this course in the mornings on weekdays, or when its raining. Lots of room to air out some big drives in the later stages of the course.
Cons: Way too busy, There's a dog park smack dab in the middle of a couple of the fairways. A couple pretty dreary holes.
Other Thoughts: Unless you play this in the rain, or really early in the morning, you will find it impossible to play without feeling like you will seriously injure a person/dog.
I've updated my rating because I played this course on a cool januarys monday morning and found myself really enjoying it. If it were strictly a disc golf course, it would rival the best in the lower mainland I believe.

 Pretty Course In A Multi-Use Park!

1    8/17/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is technical but not in the normal sense. Normally, when one is speaking of a technical course, you're talking about throwing through small windows in trees. Quilchena is technical in the vertical sense in that on about three of the holes, you have to keep your disc low enough as to pass under branches but high enough to carry any distance. I thought this made for a very interesting course feature. Like many of the BC courses, metal numbers were screwed into the concrete teepads. This helped with navigation. The baskets are fine but the #'s are mostly worn off. Unlike Vancouver's other courses,Quilchena does offer a couple of holes for the big bombers. #'s 9 and 11 are both 500 feet plus. And I'll have to respectfully disagree with previous reviewers who have stated that there were no interesting holes of note. I think the basket placement alone on # 5 makes for a very cool disc golf hole. Although it's only about 225 ft., the basket is set in a grove of 17 smaller trees. A very short putt here can be an adventure trying to get through the tiny cracks between the guardian trees. It's a plus to play a course with no thick underbrush lurking nearby.
Cons: Definitely, the foot traffic here could be a major con. On the day I played, I did have to wait a few times for walkers. It's probably more of an intermediate course. Advanced players might get a little bored with it.
Other Thoughts: The park is in a very nice, upcale neighborhood with either condos or apartments right across the street from # 1. It would be wonderful to live there and get in a quick round simply by walking across the street. It was nice to finally be able to stretch the arm out after playing the other shorter Vancouver courses. This is my favorite Vancouver area course.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Has since changed...

4/18/2004   9/18/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plays longer than the other two downtown Vancouver courses.
Cons: Apparently, the park has undergone some changes, including a footpath that meanders through at least one fairway. Park space maxed out, 12 holes is an odd number, safari action required to play 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Another beautiful, clean BC park. Course was only 9 holes when I played there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.