Vancouver, BC 
Quilchena DGC Share
Uploaded By: Drivethrutke Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Pretty Course In A Multi-Use Park!

1    8/17/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is technical but not in the normal sense. Normally, when one is speaking of a technical course, you're talking about throwing through small windows in trees. Quilchena is technical in the vertical sense in that on about three of the holes, you have to keep your disc low enough as to pass under branches but high enough to carry any distance. I thought this made for a very interesting course feature. Like many of the BC courses, metal numbers were screwed into the concrete teepads. This helped with navigation. The baskets are fine but the #'s are mostly worn off. Unlike Vancouver's other courses,Quilchena does offer a couple of holes for the big bombers. #'s 9 and 11 are both 500 feet plus. And I'll have to respectfully disagree with previous reviewers who have stated that there were no interesting holes of note. I think the basket placement alone on # 5 makes for a very cool disc golf hole. Although it's only about 225 ft., the basket is set in a grove of 17 smaller trees. A very short putt here can be an adventure trying to get through the tiny cracks between the guardian trees. It's a plus to play a course with no thick underbrush lurking nearby.
Cons: Definitely, the foot traffic here could be a major con. On the day I played, I did have to wait a few times for walkers. It's probably more of an intermediate course. Advanced players might get a little bored with it.
Other Thoughts: The park is in a very nice, upcale neighborhood with either condos or apartments right across the street from # 1. It would be wonderful to live there and get in a quick round simply by walking across the street. It was nice to finally be able to stretch the arm out after playing the other shorter Vancouver courses. This is my favorite Vancouver area course.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Quilchena DGC

1    11/1/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful multi purpose park, Quichena DGC plays along the perimeter of this park, and is located in an upscale neighborhood. Along with a disc golf course this park includes a baseball field as well as an open area for what looked like soccer and smaller games such as bocce ball. Driving directions were easy to follow and this course is close to Jericho Hill and Little Mountain DGC in Q.E. Park (all in Vancouver).

Quilchena DGC provided cement tee pads which were in great shape and the Mach 2 baskets were well kept up.
The general course design had a nice flow with hole twelve ending close to where hole one began. Foliage and maintenance was wonderful with no underbrush. Blackberry bushes were apparent but were out of the way for the most part unless an errant shot was done on holes nine and eleven. Because I played in the fall, the trees were full of vibrant colors ready to drop, making the course visually appealing and that more enjoyable.Trash bins, benches, water, and restrooms were all accessable making this course more useful for all park users.
Cons: As the previous reviewers have stated, walking paths entertwine throughout the course making it quite difficult to play when busy. During the warmer months park users are found walking, running, playing various sports, playing or even training dogs, or picnicing. Even though these things are completely normal in parks and quite expected, it makes it very difficult to play a round of disc golf.

The course has little elevation and for the most part few obstacles making it even less of a challenge. Even though I enjoyed the round I played here there were no holes on the course that I felt were really memorable (with the exception of maybe hole 2 which was a low tunnel shot that weaved through several trees). The majority of holes were fairly short with maybe two holes over 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: Just being is Vancouver, B.C. is always an enjoyable experience. The locals are always very kind and the atmosphere is positive and diverse,reminding me of my hometown of Seattle, Wa.

When traveling through this beautiful city I would recommend playing all three courses here, but if you only have time for one I would recommend Little Mountain DGC in Q.E. Park, Quilchena, then Jericho in that order. Hopefully you will have time to stay and enjoy the wonderful food and nightlife of Vancouver but if not, the disc golf alone is well worth it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Course Ruined by Walking Paths

1    10/26/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: dcookie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Best distance of any of the three main Vancouver courses.
Cons: Walking paths cut through most of the fairways and other park users seem annoyed by the presence of disc golfers. I had to ask people to watch out or step aside. There were also a lot of dogs off-leash which doesn't bug me, but there was a time that I was afraid one of the dogs would pick up my disc.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh..

1    8/26/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of longer and shorter holes, but has a longer feel than the rest of the courses around Vancouver. It has concrete teepads and even though there are no signs or maps at the course, it is fairly easy to navigate.

Although the holes are not overly interesting, a few of the baskets are well guarded by mature trees leaving only tight shots at the chains.
Cons: The course design itself seems uninspired, no special or memorable holes. The park space is completely maxed out and on a summer day the park will be full of non disc golfers which would be ok if there weren't paths through many fairways. I found myself waiting for people walking their dog, playing bocce, or baseball. Overall the course just seems like it was an after thought.
Other Thoughts: There are no pars or distances given at the course but there are two holes I believe could be considered to be par 4's. Hole #9 appears to exceed 500 feet and is uphill. #11 appears to be more like 600ft, also uphill.

One last thought, don't pay attention to the numbers on the basket. While occasionally correct, more often than not, they are wrong.

Update: I've updated my rating from 1.5 to 2.5 as I believe it is average. It does not belong in the company of Shirley Macey Park or Winskill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Has since changed...

4/18/2004   9/18/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plays longer than the other two downtown Vancouver courses.
Cons: Apparently, the park has undergone some changes, including a footpath that meanders through at least one fairway. Park space maxed out, 12 holes is an odd number, safari action required to play 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Another beautiful, clean BC park. Course was only 9 holes when I played there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.