Richmond, IN 
The Glen Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #5 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Uphill Beauty, Still Making Improvements.

2-4    9/3/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 291  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With hole distances ranging from 186 to 687 feet, this park course presents a great variety of challenge, yet exists in a 'civilized' atmosphere where you'll usually be able to quickly find your disc. The most interesting feature here may not be the tricky, steeply left-sloping green on hole 7, or the overall rolling terrain of the course, but the shark fin 'next tee' features on the excellent Predator baskets. You just need to swim in the same direction as the shark to find the next hole.

For guys who like to show off their arms, there's plenty to enjoy here at The Glen. Ten of the holes play either uphill, upslope, or over an uphill ridge. And thirteen holes are at least 320', including six over 400'. The design does give some relief to guys without big 'D', providing four or so realistic deuce opportunities for a well-placed shot under 250'. The course ranges safely throughout a huge swath of the park, and the flow is relatively intuitive (there is a map available by the practice basket and parking area on Lower Drive). The signage is helpful, and it's easy to follow the fins.

There is a nice bathroom after hole six (and the beautifully totem-carved tree trunk: check it out!), and obviously the natural spring water spot at holes one and two.
Cons: The lack of permanent tee pads is holding back better ratings for this course. I know they've talked about a fundraiser, but the sooner they can finalize them, the better (and they'll need to be pretty generous in size, flush to the ground, and or gravel-bordered). I hope they are looking at some alternate tees and safe, interesting lines for shorter armed players, as this would really ramp up the appeal of the course.

The park seems to do a reasonable job of maintenance, but the two times I've been here, the grass was a little high, and the turf somewhat spongy. And the number of dead ash trees may become a hazard, as the course already attracts a lot of players who might be there when one comes crashing down (there's a completely hollowed out tree on 15, for instance, that is doomed to crash soon). Even with these minor cons, overall, the Glen is already the best disc golf course in the region, so expect ratings to climb when these are addressed.
Other Thoughts: The first time I visited, the course was brand new, and had wooden stakes marking tee location, with a stated intent of fundraising for concrete tees. So I waited a year to come back to town and try the course again before writing a review. Hope they are able to install this needed feature in the near future.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 283 courses and written 267 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Glen

5+    7/26/2016   7/28/2016
Review By: fireawayjoel
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For full disclosure, I am a member of the club that installed and runs this course.

This course is the best in the Richmond area for a couple of reasons:
1) It is set in a beautiful, popular park with few distractions while you play.
2) It allows a couple of times for max distance throws.
3) It allows the player in many cases to throw the shot they prefer for success without being too wide open.
4) While there are trees that help shape shots, when off of the fairway, it is rare to be completely without a way to get back to the basket.
5) Several holes require the hardest shot in disc golf - long and straight.
6) The Predator baskets look nice and catch well.
Cons: There are not a lot of extreme right-turning shots.

Hole one is close to a natural spring that many non-golfers use to fill up water bottles and jugs (this could be a positive too depending on how you look at it).

Some of the layout can be confusing - check the kiosk map before you start playing and/or follow the direction of the shark fins on the basket to get to the next tee!

The current temporary signage and natural tee-pads will need to be upgraded in order to increase my rating of the course.
Other Thoughts: We are still working on fundraising to install tee-pads, new signs, benches, bridges, etc...

We are still hoping to develop a set of alternate tee-pads so that beginners won't feel so frustrated the first time they play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

5+    7/17/2016   7/25/2016
Review By: bwat8ball
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes and really love the Predator baskets. A couple bomber holes and a couple shorter technical holes. Most holes have different lines you can take.
Cons: The only thing I could possibly complain about would be the distance between a couple holes. But it's not enough to whine about. It does get pretty slippery and muddy at the tee boxes now but once the pads are put in it'll really be a top 10 course in my book.
Other Thoughts: I have really enjoyed this course since it's been put in. It's a lot more challenging than the other course in town, clear creek. I'm not a big bomber so I'm happy with being even when I play but it's easy to finish 6-10 over

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Glen

1    7/1/2016   7/14/2016
Review By: S@wyer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Front 9 is very fun.
Cons: Back 9 is the worst disc golf set up I have seen so far in my short time of playing. No clear instructions where the baskets are at from the tee box. Also multiple baskets show the wrong spots to throw to from the tee box. A few holes have no fairway and you may as well just throw your discs into a tree at home instead of waste your time playing the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Park wasn't very clean.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Glen Miller

1    7/1/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: BMock
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park
Long course
Few good holes
Cons: Throwing areas need work (mud or dirt tee box)
Hole map at some holes isn't close to what the hole really does.
If you can't see the basket, then the map at the hole needs to be accurate.
A lot trees on back 9 with some holes that have no clear path to the hole

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fairly open course

1    6/25/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 90  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 41.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly open course which gets a bit more challenging as it goes along. Nice walk in the park. Plenty of trees provide breaks from the sun. Nice changes in elevation, nothing to drastic. Clean, grassy course. Only a bit of rough on a few holes
Cons: Course map is rotated about 80 degrees. not a big deal but slightly disorienting for me.
Other Thoughts: I've updated the GPS to the parking area at hole 1. The old gps took you to the park office. The 2200 E. Main St address is the southwest entrance to the park. If you enter here, go north to your first right, this circles down and around behind the band stand. a few hundred feet more and you'll come to a small parking area. 1st tee is to the left (east side of the road) and to the right of the small pedestrian bridge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/3/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: Tyguy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The predator baskets are brand new and are a help identifying the next text tee. Make sure to follow where the base of the arrow points, if you follow the top you will be going the wrong way. This will make sense once you get playing. Natural tee surface of that's your thing.
Cons: One con, poor tee signage. Many times the sign is not even close to accurate.
Other Thoughts: Add signs to warn of rental cabins/ parking spaces that cannot be seen from tees. Overall a really nice start off for this course, I will be going back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Perfect Park for a Course!

1    12/22/2015   12/24/2015
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 369  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well-maintained established park with mature trees.
Easily visible Predator baskets.
Temp tee signs make navigation easy.
Plenty of elevation and even a creek flowing through the park.
Natural tees right now, but I can tell the course is getting plenty of play warranting teepads!
Cons: Walks across fairways from 17's basket to 18's tee and 18's basket to the parking lot where I parked next to the disc golf kiosk.

I throw majority RHBH and I threw 16 hyzers/ hyzerflips off the teepad on 18 holes. Only two holes (9 & 12) required an anhyzer or RHFH. Some of the other holes designed for anhyzers didn't force me to take that route.
Other Thoughts: I've driven by this park in the past while visiting Richmond's other courses and always thought, "Wow! That'd be a great place for a course!"

Extremely nice park and an enjoyable place to play disc golf. A step up for the locals that think they are getting too good at Clear Creek. Now they can come to The Glen and get humbled.

I like the Predator baskets. They seem to catch a lot better than the Spider baskets that dominate Central Indiana. I missed a putt a little low and to the right hitting the angled lip of the Predator basket that served as a launching pad for my putter requiring a 20 foot putt to save par! You've been warned. Don't miss!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Start

1    11/27/2015   12/1/2015
Review By: blarmour
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great holes on this course. A little something for everyone. I loved the elevation changes and loads of mature trees. I loved the Predator baskets, they catch just about everything and you feel very confident putting on them. The course was in very good shape considering it is still very new and there will be many improvements to come I'm sure, such as thinning out some trees, concrete tee pads, course maps, etc. A very fun and at times challenging course. A couple of the short holes were as challenging as some of the longer holes with all of the trees. I would make a point to stop in a play again if I were in the area.
Cons: The course itself: The first con I have is that the start is not easy to find if you don't come into the park on the right street. We drove around for a while looking for the start and ended up starting on hole 5, which was not a big deal, and would have been easy to spot #1 if we entered the park in the right place, but GPS decided to bring us to a different entrance. The next con is the distance between the baskets and the next tee pads was pretty far apart on a lot of the holes. As a player and course designer, I wasn't sure why some of them were so far apart. This is a huge park and looked like plenty of room to get another 18 holes put in at some point in the future, if the holes were a little closer. Maybe there is a good reason for this, but I sure couldn't figure it out. This brings me to my last con regarding the baskets. I loved the Predator baskets, my only problem was the fins on top of some of them, which are supposed to be pointing towards the next tee pad, were not exactly close to where the tees actually were. The directions were off just enough to make you question where you should go and which basket was the correct one the first time playing it.
Other Thoughts: The next course I design I would really consider the Predator baskets, especially if they are able to come in different colors. There were a couple of holes where the basket sat on a little elevation and the sky was the background and the white was difficult to see. (I'm guessing they will be very difficult to see in the winter with snow on the ground and on the baskets) Same issue with DGA baskets that don't have the orange tape on them. I think a hot pink would have great visibility during every season of the year, regardless of the background!
Once they thin out a few trees, get concrete tee pads and course map, this will be a top notch course well worth making the trip for!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Potential!

2-4    11/14/2015   11/19/2015
Review By: jesscat606
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really nice use of available space, through a stand of large, mature trees; plays with a creek for a few holes, and a number of holes where park roads come into play as boundaries.

Makes the most of elevation changes; Quite a few uphill shots.

A longer course than it seems; subtle elevation changes make it seem even longer.
Cons: The stand of large trees that the course plays through in the back half is, in some places, really dense, not showing much in the way of lines or fairways.

As a LH/BH player, there are a number of holes that dogleg or finish hard left, and none that dogleg right. This lack of balance gives RH/BH players a definite advantage over LH/BH players without an accurate forehand.

Other Thoughts: Watch for civilians, joggers, etc., in the park and along the various roads; the course is new, so they probably aren't watching out for you!

The freshwater spring at holes 1 and 2 is a popular spot, give leeway to people filling water bottles.

We were told that 50+ trees are scheduled to be removed over the winter; this should open up some lines!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.