Bridgewater, NJ
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #8
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
So so

2-4    9/12/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 20  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love how the woods isn't all muddy. Some of the holes are straight fairways and no trees, so you always like that. Hole 5 is really short. It is a hole for aces. My brother got one on this hole!
Cons: Some of the holes are hard to find. Where is the hole 9 tee? and where is the hole 6 tee? If it wasn't for that, I would've given this course a very good rating.
Other Thoughts: Not many.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short Course

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Akavar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Good mix of hilly, wooded, open and flat.
Good practice for accuracy.
Cons: Could be better marked.
Could not find the 9th tee!
No benches or anything to sit on.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course that is good practice for accurate shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dislike

2-4    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course could have many pros but they are crushed by how poor it is.
Cons: Signage is awful! There is no organization to the course. There was garbage in basket #4. You spend more time looking for where to tee off from then actually playing.
Other Thoughts: If this place was cleaned up, tees were created and signage was posted it could be a nice quick 9.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A beginner's course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park.
- Uses the space it has adequately.
- Convenient and clean bathroom.
Cons: - No real challenges here for the serious player other than keeping your drives straight.
- Signage poor or non-existent.
- Only a couple teepads. Others are just "throw from this spot".
- Short.
Other Thoughts: If you're passing through and want a tune-up, it's cool. But not a course for a regular, avid player.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Has the potential...

1    12/29/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes, not to mention the use of a stream to add the water factor. Has some nice technical shots and the change to rip some long drives. Nice scenery.
Cons: Signage
-Should include at least a crude map to show what and where you're aiming for. Example: For #1, the sign orientation suggests to aim to the left, which I believe was actually #8's fairway. On second inspection, it seemed that the fairway was to the right of the tree line and left of the playground. Finally, after walking around a bit more, I located the basket and realized that you shoot through a prison of trees. (At this point I brought up dgcoursereview on my phone).

-Should include a next tee location as well. I could not find the tee for #4, even with the help of the site. The signs are all mounted on the same type of posts as nature trail's signs, so it got somewhat confused.

Overrall, for a first time visitor, I had a lot of trouble navigating (this does not mean the course didn't run smoothly, because it does flow nicely). I'm sure the addition of a map would solve this.

Holes
The #5 hole is a joke. I could practically spit to the basket. Yes it's over a stream, but from that close, a water hazard doesn't even factor into it. If the tee box was backed up a few hundred feet it would definitely turn into a great hole.
Other Thoughts: Should add permanent tee pads and better signage. Make #5 hole longer. Decent layout but could have utilized a lot more trails and elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice mix of the long and short

5+    11/8/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little bit of something for everybody; both long and short holes, with a few middies thrown in for good measure

Challenging for newbies and vets alike, a good course to work on all aspects of your game.

Nice mix of open lane and wooded, close quarters terrain
Cons: Signage is pretty weak, but not the worst I've seen. Once you go through the course once, well, maybe twice, you will know it like the back of your hand. No visual representations given, only distances. See the media section of this page.

Tee boxes can use some work in terms of footing and safety. Tee #5 comes to mind.

Tee #9... did the designer decide to drop some salvia then decide to put the tee literally in the bushes? Do I shoot to the left or right of the bush column? Or just straight through them? I'm going to say to the left. I usually just skip this hole for this reason. Its become a tradition now.

The pine trees and sticker bushes can get a bit annoying and will swallow discs from time to time, but its not the end of the world. Some players are just spoiled with boring, vegetation- free courses. These obstacles let you know that you need to work on accuracy. Consider hiring a caddy to do your dirty work if disc retrieval is an issue. And to carry your oh so heavy bag while their at it. And wave a palm frond/carry a parasol over your head on sweltering days. Pansy elitists.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite in NJ, but its come to grow on me. I have gotten much, much better since playing this course quite a few times. Its a great place to work on all facets of your game. Chances are you will get better too, if you give it a chance to begin with. Highly recommend a spotter.

My favorite memory of the place was when my best friend narrowly missed acing hole number 8 by six inches. Not an easy feat even for the pros, considering you can't see the hole from the tee at all, not to mention the serval rows of impervious pine trees in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun time!

2-4    3/13/2013   10/11/2012
Review By: SZRoll
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -All 9 baskets are present and in good shape

-The park was not crowded

-The park was clean
Cons: -No hole signs

-Missing tee signs
Other Thoughts: A good course for practice and beginners. The tees do flow with the baskets however there are no signs to show you which direction they are in. So it takes a little bit to walk around and locate all the tees your first time through but after that first time the course flows.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Underrated!

5+    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Room to work, ability to create tee shots further from baskets to overcompensate for shorter holes. Longer tee-pads for holes 3-5 makes the trip in the woods worth my trip every time to this gem. Great place to practice each and every shot!
Cons: Signage is poor, however course flow is easier than portrayed. Check out the Media section...there's a guided tour of the course. Know before you go!
Other Thoughts: Great practice course! Even though I lost a few discs in the brambles on my first play, I learned quickly how to play in tight conditions.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful course!

1    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: gemini55
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am shocked at all the negative comments about chimney rock. its a really beautiful and fun course. 3 of the holes go into the woods, its really nicely designed.
Cons: agree that the course needs better signage, however i don't think its that complicated to follow the course, even without signs i was able to navigate from hole to hole

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 layout ruins potential

1    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice park, a few interesting holes with elevation changes. hole #1 is the best of the bunch
Cons: signage is an absolute joke, very thick thorns and briar patches just off the fairway, course, 100 ft holes with no obstacles are pointless
Other Thoughts: like others have said this course has potential, but is not worth the headaches.

couldnt play holes #4 or #9 due to not being able to find the tees. picked a natural staring point for hole #6 since the sign also appeared missing. the sign for hole #1 points in a different direction then the shot, took a while to find this basket as well. no tee areas at all, not even dirt, just random pieces of wood with numbers written on them. if course was crowded the poor hole layout would result in lots of traffic on the fairways.

there are lots of extremely thick thorns and briar patches just off the fairway, long socks or pants are a must. there is a hill near basket #2 consisting solely of monster thorns, dont bother entering this if your disc goes here, not worth it.

hole #1 (once found) is really cool, a downhill shot into a clearing between tree patches. hole #3 is fun, a severe downhill drop into the woods and hole #8 is a cool shot as well. the straight shot 100 ft holes are wastes, not sure how someone would need more than 2 shots on these or how these holes are fun or helpful at all.

overall, the frustration of wandering around trying to figure out where to shoot outweighs any of the positives of this course. all the baskets are relatively easy to find (except #1), but you might as well just create your own tee in some cases since the course makes no sense. the course area is very nice, but a waste of potential, not worth a return trip.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.