Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #2
4 / 485ft.   3 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A little of everything.

1    11/14/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: gbikofsky
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee#1 is on the top of a slope and is a great spot to practice long throws. We liked that three of the holes were in the woods.
Cons: The starting marker for hole 4 and 7 had fallen down and we had to look around to find where to start.
Other Thoughts: I played with my two children. They liked the three holes in the woods. The course was fun and a little bit challenging, due to the narrow fairways.. Except for the missing tee off markers, it was pretty well maintained. It is a beautiful park. After we played, we practiced distance throwing on the first tee.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't Go

1    10/21/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bathroom with running water. Grass is cut.

Good baskets
Cons: No tee pads and in most cases no clear idea where to tee from.

Some holes have tee signs and others do not.

Fairways are too narrow and the rough is a wall of thorns.

Good chance to loose a disc on every hole.

Hole 9 has a blind tee shot right at a picnic bench.
Other Thoughts: I lost two discs here, hole 7 I did not play because of super tight and dense rough. Hole 9 I did not play because unsafe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

2-4    11/5/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: turbotime69
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1 - Quality professional baskets
2 - Clean
3 - Short but enough obstacles to compensate
Cons: 1 - No tee pads, markers or anything to indicate where to tee off.
2 - Signage is poor or nonexistent
3 - Woods are THICK and littered with sticker bushes
Other Thoughts: Far ways are narrow which is ok and forces you to work on accuracy but the thickness of the woods makes going for distance unappealing as a shanked disc will get swallowed.

The course layout is pretty simple but could be really great fun if all my "Cons" are addressed.

If someone wants to organize a clean-up effort I'll help, PM me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cool course, needs a little work

2-4    5/27/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool layout, secluded, great woods holes, baskets are in great shape, was a fun course for both beginners or the more advanced
Cons: Poor signage, couldnt find Hole #9 tee box, the place needed a good mowing, WOODS ARE THICK, stay in the fairway or else you'll spend half the round in the woods searching for a needle in a haysack, i lost a Silver Discraft Ti Buzzz on the 6th hole, please call me if you find it, i had it for literally one day
Other Thoughts: The idea is there, this is my 2nd time playing this course and I'm not sure if i will go back, id rather play other courses and not spend an hour per 9 holes looking for discs.... i know i should stay in the fairway... haha but sometimes it don't work out like that, ill come back in the fall when the foliage is less thick, TONS OF PRICKERS in the woods

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Less than Decent NJ Course

5+    9/12/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 61  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2015
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. There was a decent use of terrain. Some holes were downhill, some uphill, and some flat. I especially liked the downhill holes.
2. Chimney Rock offered a long tee but half of the time I couldn't find it.
Cons: 1. There really weren't any tee pads. They were grass and on a rainy day you have absolutely no footing. They should really add new concrete tee pads
2. The signage is awful here. Most holes have faded signage and some holes don't even have signage at all! I heard that they were supposed to make new updated tee signs in January 2015 but they didn't.
3. Absolutely no course amenities. No benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Not really that much hole variety in distance. Other than one 485 par 4, all holes are 160 feet.
5. There really wasn't a signature hole on the course. Most holes are not very unique. Maybe if they extended hole 2 and moved the basket to on top of the hill, it could be signature.
6. Most important: the overall fun factor. I really don't know what to say but most of the time this course really isn't interesting at all but it is a good course for a quick round.
Other Thoughts: Don't really come here if you are looking for a challenge or hoping for a solid 4 rated course. Play the new Thompson Park or Greystone Woods.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Short Course

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Akavar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Good mix of hilly, wooded, open and flat.
Good practice for accuracy.
Cons: Could be better marked.
Could not find the 9th tee!
No benches or anything to sit on.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course that is good practice for accurate shots.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 33  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2015
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Ace runs. Playing over the creek is fun but SO short. 100ft.
Cons: Signage is awful! Overgrown, just overall terrible.There is no organization to the course. There was garbage in basket #4. You spend more time looking for where to tee off from then actually playing. Tee 6 isnt there. There are trail signs that confuse you with tee signs... Gave a .5 because there were 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: If a club adopted this course, the land and space where the course is could be turned into a great 9 hole course. The open area where hole 1,2,6,7,8,9 are could turned into a fun 3 holes and the woods could be utilized much better. but as of now they are better off donating the baskets to another 9 hole course and calling it a day.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A beginner's course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park.
- Uses the space it has adequately.
- Convenient and clean bathroom.
Cons: - No real challenges here for the serious player other than keeping your drives straight.
- Signage poor or non-existent.
- Only a couple teepads. Others are just "throw from this spot".
- Short.
Other Thoughts: If you're passing through and want a tune-up, it's cool. But not a course for a regular, avid player.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Has the potential...

1    12/29/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 65  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes, not to mention the use of a stream to add the water factor. Has some nice technical shots and the change to rip some long drives. Nice scenery.
Cons: Signage
-Should include at least a crude map to show what and where you're aiming for. Example: For #1, the sign orientation suggests to aim to the left, which I believe was actually #8's fairway. On second inspection, it seemed that the fairway was to the right of the tree line and left of the playground. Finally, after walking around a bit more, I located the basket and realized that you shoot through a prison of trees. (At this point I brought up dgcoursereview on my phone).

-Should include a next tee location as well. I could not find the tee for #4, even with the help of the site. The signs are all mounted on the same type of posts as nature trail's signs, so it got somewhat confused.

Overrall, for a first time visitor, I had a lot of trouble navigating (this does not mean the course didn't run smoothly, because it does flow nicely). I'm sure the addition of a map would solve this.

The #5 hole is a joke. I could practically spit to the basket. Yes it's over a stream, but from that close, a water hazard doesn't even factor into it. If the tee box was backed up a few hundred feet it would definitely turn into a great hole.
Other Thoughts: Should add permanent tee pads and better signage. Make #5 hole longer. Decent layout but could have utilized a lot more trails and elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice mix of the long and short

5+    11/8/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little bit of something for everybody; both long and short holes, with a few middies thrown in for good measure

Challenging for newbies and vets alike, a good course to work on all aspects of your game.

Nice mix of open lane and wooded, close quarters terrain
Cons: Signage is pretty weak, but not the worst I've seen. Once you go through the course once, well, maybe twice, you will know it like the back of your hand. No visual representations given, only distances. See the media section of this page.

Tee boxes can use some work in terms of footing and safety. Tee #5 comes to mind.

Tee #9... did the designer decide to drop some salvia then decide to put the tee literally in the bushes? Do I shoot to the left or right of the bush column? Or just straight through them? I'm going to say to the left. I usually just skip this hole for this reason. Its become a tradition now.

The pine trees and sticker bushes can get a bit annoying and will swallow discs from time to time, but its not the end of the world. Some players are just spoiled with boring, vegetation- free courses. These obstacles let you know that you need to work on accuracy. Consider hiring a caddy to do your dirty work if disc retrieval is an issue. And to carry your oh so heavy bag while their at it. And wave a palm frond/carry a parasol over your head on sweltering days. Pansy elitists.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite in NJ, but its come to grow on me. I have gotten much, much better since playing this course quite a few times. Its a great place to work on all facets of your game. Chances are you will get better too, if you give it a chance to begin with. Highly recommend a spotter.

My favorite memory of the place was when my best friend narrowly missed acing hole number 8 by six inches. Not an easy feat even for the pros, considering you can't see the hole from the tee at all, not to mention the serval rows of impervious pine trees in the way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.