Bridgewater, NJ
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #8
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Has the potential...

1    12/29/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes, not to mention the use of a stream to add the water factor. Has some nice technical shots and the change to rip some long drives. Nice scenery.
Cons: Signage
-Should include at least a crude map to show what and where you're aiming for. Example: For #1, the sign orientation suggests to aim to the left, which I believe was actually #8's fairway. On second inspection, it seemed that the fairway was to the right of the tree line and left of the playground. Finally, after walking around a bit more, I located the basket and realized that you shoot through a prison of trees. (At this point I brought up dgcoursereview on my phone).

-Should include a next tee location as well. I could not find the tee for #4, even with the help of the site. The signs are all mounted on the same type of posts as nature trail's signs, so it got somewhat confused.

Overrall, for a first time visitor, I had a lot of trouble navigating (this does not mean the course didn't run smoothly, because it does flow nicely). I'm sure the addition of a map would solve this.

Holes
The #5 hole is a joke. I could practically spit to the basket. Yes it's over a stream, but from that close, a water hazard doesn't even factor into it. If the tee box was backed up a few hundred feet it would definitely turn into a great hole.
Other Thoughts: Should add permanent tee pads and better signage. Make #5 hole longer. Decent layout but could have utilized a lot more trails and elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be so much more

1    4/27/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Chimney Rock DGC is an interesting little course that would be good for families and those new to the sport.

In my opinion, the first hole is the best on the course. The tee sits on top of a hill and you're driving down to a basket almost completely surrounded by trees. Your drive is really an all-or-nothing throw; an off-track drive could easily put you over par, but a well-parked throw will reward a birdie.

For only 9 holes, this course has a decent amount of variety as far as the hole lengths go, from 100 to 485'. The course does make some use of both open and wooded fairways and incorporates several natural obstacles.

The baskets at Chimney Rock are in great shape.
Cons: The signage at Chimney Rock isn't the best...if it's even there at all. For those holes that actually have tee signs, the hole number and distance to pin are all that is available. For the rest of the holes, the tee signs are non-existent.

Another issue I had was with the lack of tees. Some holes had markers showing the edge of the tee, but other holes you had to figure out where the tee was based on the ruts.

Several of the fairways border very sharp and very dense briar patches. If your disc goes astray and into the thicket, good luck finding it without getting bloody (if you find it).

Although there is variety to the hole lengths, some of the holes are simply too short. No matter how you slice it, a 100' hole doesn't belong on a course unless there is significant OB or other obstacles that would make it a legitimate par 3. There are a few other holes at Chimney Rock that are extremely short and are not challenging enough for a par 3.

The layout of the course is so-so. Specifically, you have to double-back from hole 8 to play hole 9. On a few of the holes you're driving toward a blind basket and in some cases, it's near other public walkways, basketball courts, and the ice rink. This is fairly dangerous when you consider that it's a multi-use course.
Other Thoughts: This course is another example of how good land is underutilized. There are numerous mountain bike paths that dip into the woods at Chimney Rock that could either expand this course into 18 holes or at least lengthen the existing 9 holes.

You have to commend the vision of the scout that helped get this course installed, but expert advice would have really helped make this course so much more.

Specific upgrades that would really have a big impact would be tee pads, more detailed tee signs (or tee signs for those that are missing), and lengthening several of the holes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just a taste of Woods

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Woods holes
Tall grass/trees as hazards
Cons: Poor markings/tee areas
Other Thoughts: I like that the designers of this course tried to make it challenging, even though this is a small, short course. The woods holes are nicely done, and I hope they extend the course further back that way. There is certainly the possibility of lost discs here, and there are a couple of blind holes that aim directly at picnic benches and such, so be careful if the park is busy. I like this course better than Greenwood, but not quite as much as I do Harry Dunham, although I really do appreciate the few woods holes here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Chimney Rock

1    5/14/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 238  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Chimney Rock is a nice quick 9 hole, with some versatile holes. A few open holes lead to a few wooded holes then back into the open. While you'll see a variety of hole types, most play very simply. The most difficult, and my favorite of the course was the first hole. From an elevated tee you throw down to a pin in an alley created by large pine trees. Wooded holes are very short and offer pretty easy ace runs. While not very well marked, course was pretty easy to navigate. All and all a nicely kept, beginner friendly course.
Cons: Tee pads and signs could be an improvement. Tees are marked, but only with a numbered post that may or may not be vandalized. Some of the open holes have nasty rough on the edges so throw clear of that. Wooded holes may feel to simple for experienced players, something you would only throw a putter at. I'm not sure how hole 9 is supposed to be played, the numbered post is in the oddest place I've ever seen. then about a 100 ft away was a log laid down in a much more logical position with 'hole 9' written on it. Again, some signage could really clear this up.
Other Thoughts: A fine 9 hole, nothing very memorable but a nice course when compared to a lot of the other courses in new jersey. Great place for local play and practice. When combined with nearby 9 hole Greenwood Meadows and Harry Dunham Park you could have a decent 27 hole afternoon.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/27/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is on the grounds of a beautiful and well kept park. The course is not very challenging, but it is still fun to play. A great course for beginnners. The field holes (1-2, 6-9) are longer, and the rough on the sides are pretty easy to lose a disc in. The wooded holes (3-5) are short and pretty easy. They have a really nice bridge over the creek along the wooded holes, and a deck path back up the steep incline making it very easy to get from hole to hole. Overall the course is very nice and well worth playing.
Cons: Some of the signs were missing or hard to read. Also one or two of the tees were not clearly marked - these two factors kept the rating from being a 4.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if it was a full 18 hole course.
Chimney Rock is not a course to travel to, but it is definitely an above average course for locals to play. The course could use some improvments, but overall its still a fun play and an excellent way to introduce new players to the sport.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.