Bridgewater, NJ
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #1
3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Short Course

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Akavar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Good mix of hilly, wooded, open and flat.
Good practice for accuracy.
Cons: Could be better marked.
Could not find the 9th tee!
No benches or anything to sit on.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course that is good practice for accurate shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice mix of the long and short

5+    11/8/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little bit of something for everybody; both long and short holes, with a few middies thrown in for good measure

Challenging for newbies and vets alike, a good course to work on all aspects of your game.

Nice mix of open lane and wooded, close quarters terrain
Cons: Signage is pretty weak, but not the worst I've seen. Once you go through the course once, well, maybe twice, you will know it like the back of your hand. No visual representations given, only distances. See the media section of this page.

Tee boxes can use some work in terms of footing and safety. Tee #5 comes to mind.

Tee #9... did the designer decide to drop some salvia then decide to put the tee literally in the bushes? Do I shoot to the left or right of the bush column? Or just straight through them? I'm going to say to the left. I usually just skip this hole for this reason. Its become a tradition now.

The pine trees and sticker bushes can get a bit annoying and will swallow discs from time to time, but its not the end of the world. Some players are just spoiled with boring, vegetation- free courses. These obstacles let you know that you need to work on accuracy. Consider hiring a caddy to do your dirty work if disc retrieval is an issue. And to carry your oh so heavy bag while their at it. And wave a palm frond/carry a parasol over your head on sweltering days. Pansy elitists.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite in NJ, but its come to grow on me. I have gotten much, much better since playing this course quite a few times. Its a great place to work on all facets of your game. Chances are you will get better too, if you give it a chance to begin with. Highly recommend a spotter.

My favorite memory of the place was when my best friend narrowly missed acing hole number 8 by six inches. Not an easy feat even for the pros, considering you can't see the hole from the tee at all, not to mention the serval rows of impervious pine trees in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the next &$%# hole?!?!

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing Greenwood Meadows, it was nice to use different shots and discs other than my mids. Holes 3, 4, & 5 are the best holes on the course. They play down the hill and incorporate water hazards (#4 especially).
Cons: There is no course map. If I hadn't read on here that the first tee was behind the basketball court, I wouldn't even think that there was a disc golf course in the park. The signage is terrible, it just has the hole number, length, and par listed (if the sign isn't missing), doesn't tell you where the pin in located or where the next tee could be found. The sign for #9 was missing completely, or maybe it wasn't but I couldn't find it.
Since the signs are terrible and there are other sign posts in the area with information about the planets, navigating is the hardest part to the course.
Other Thoughts: If the signage issue was taken care of this course would be an excellent 9 holer. This can be combined with Greenwood Meadows and Harry Dunham to make up a fair 27 holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 6-Pack of Rolling Rock...

5+    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *The woods
*Green
Cons: *Prickers Galore
*Short holes
*Akward poorly marked tee spots
*Mountain Bikers
*Troll under the Bridge
*Hole #9 is marked by a log haha
Other Thoughts: Its not a bad course, kinda makes you stop n think if u shuld throw a driver or a putter for a second, but keeps you interested enough. Thank god someone finally added real far tees in the woods tho becuz they wer cravin a re-pavin. Your best bet is to play the 6-pack, which is fars n shorts thru the woods, play the rest n go home.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    10/1/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really liked the layout and the elevation drops when you got to the holes in the back. The first couple, and last 2 holes are in the open with large tree and grass patches that need to be avoided. The middle few holes go around a creek and through a heavily wooded area. Most of the holes are short and technical.
Cons: Thorns and more thorns, I spent hours looking for my favorite disc and shredded my legs. You need a spotter for sure on most of the holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: A guy asked me how I like the course when I was there, turned out he was the designer. Us Eagle scouts tend to make great contributions to our communities. haha

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

5+    8/15/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: illnana94
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mixture of holes. (3 in the woods the rest in field). Even the field holes have some variation to them. Some holes require length (#2) and some require shot placement (#9)
Cons: Only 9 holes. No tee boxes
Other Thoughts: The course could be improved but overall a fun experience and will definately be back to play

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5/26/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: element42
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: 3 holes into the woods. Good variations.
Cons: 9 holes. Poorly kept with hard to read teesigns.
Other Thoughts: Easy to lose a disc.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.