Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #5
3 / 100ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Has the potential...

1    12/29/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes, not to mention the use of a stream to add the water factor. Has some nice technical shots and the change to rip some long drives. Nice scenery.
Cons: Signage
-Should include at least a crude map to show what and where you're aiming for. Example: For #1, the sign orientation suggests to aim to the left, which I believe was actually #8's fairway. On second inspection, it seemed that the fairway was to the right of the tree line and left of the playground. Finally, after walking around a bit more, I located the basket and realized that you shoot through a prison of trees. (At this point I brought up dgcoursereview on my phone).

-Should include a next tee location as well. I could not find the tee for #4, even with the help of the site. The signs are all mounted on the same type of posts as nature trail's signs, so it got somewhat confused.

Overrall, for a first time visitor, I had a lot of trouble navigating (this does not mean the course didn't run smoothly, because it does flow nicely). I'm sure the addition of a map would solve this.

Holes
The #5 hole is a joke. I could practically spit to the basket. Yes it's over a stream, but from that close, a water hazard doesn't even factor into it. If the tee box was backed up a few hundred feet it would definitely turn into a great hole.
Other Thoughts: Should add permanent tee pads and better signage. Make #5 hole longer. Decent layout but could have utilized a lot more trails and elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice mix of the long and short

5+    11/8/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little bit of something for everybody; both long and short holes, with a few middies thrown in for good measure

Challenging for newbies and vets alike, a good course to work on all aspects of your game.

Nice mix of open lane and wooded, close quarters terrain
Cons: Signage is pretty weak, but not the worst I've seen. Once you go through the course once, well, maybe twice, you will know it like the back of your hand. No visual representations given, only distances. See the media section of this page.

Tee boxes can use some work in terms of footing and safety. Tee #5 comes to mind.

Tee #9... did the designer decide to drop some salvia then decide to put the tee literally in the bushes? Do I shoot to the left or right of the bush column? Or just straight through them? I'm going to say to the left. I usually just skip this hole for this reason. Its become a tradition now.

The pine trees and sticker bushes can get a bit annoying and will swallow discs from time to time, but its not the end of the world. Some players are just spoiled with boring, vegetation- free courses. These obstacles let you know that you need to work on accuracy. Consider hiring a caddy to do your dirty work if disc retrieval is an issue. And to carry your oh so heavy bag while their at it. And wave a palm frond/carry a parasol over your head on sweltering days. Pansy elitists.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite in NJ, but its come to grow on me. I have gotten much, much better since playing this course quite a few times. Its a great place to work on all facets of your game. Chances are you will get better too, if you give it a chance to begin with. Highly recommend a spotter.

My favorite memory of the place was when my best friend narrowly missed acing hole number 8 by six inches. Not an easy feat even for the pros, considering you can't see the hole from the tee at all, not to mention the serval rows of impervious pine trees in the way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun time!

2-4    3/13/2013   10/11/2012
Review By: SZRoll
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -All 9 baskets are present and in good shape

-The park was not crowded

-The park was clean
Cons: -No hole signs

-Missing tee signs
Other Thoughts: A good course for practice and beginners. The tees do flow with the baskets however there are no signs to show you which direction they are in. So it takes a little bit to walk around and locate all the tees your first time through but after that first time the course flows.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Underrated!

5+    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2014
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Room to work, ability to create tee shots further from baskets to overcompensate for shorter holes. Longer tee-pads for holes 3-5 makes the trip in the woods worth my trip every time to this gem. Great place to practice each and every shot!
Cons: Signage is poor, however course flow is easier than portrayed. Check out the Media section...there's a guided tour of the course. Know before you go!
Other Thoughts: Great practice course! Even though I lost a few discs in the brambles on my first play, I learned quickly how to play in tight conditions.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

1    8/18/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: gemini55
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am shocked at all the negative comments about chimney rock. its a really beautiful and fun course. 3 of the holes go into the woods, its really nicely designed.
Cons: agree that the course needs better signage, however i don't think its that complicated to follow the course, even without signs i was able to navigate from hole to hole

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 layout ruins potential

1    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice park, a few interesting holes with elevation changes. hole #1 is the best of the bunch
Cons: signage is an absolute joke, very thick thorns and briar patches just off the fairway, course, 100 ft holes with no obstacles are pointless
Other Thoughts: like others have said this course has potential, but is not worth the headaches.

couldnt play holes #4 or #9 due to not being able to find the tees. picked a natural staring point for hole #6 since the sign also appeared missing. the sign for hole #1 points in a different direction then the shot, took a while to find this basket as well. no tee areas at all, not even dirt, just random pieces of wood with numbers written on them. if course was crowded the poor hole layout would result in lots of traffic on the fairways.

there are lots of extremely thick thorns and briar patches just off the fairway, long socks or pants are a must. there is a hill near basket #2 consisting solely of monster thorns, dont bother entering this if your disc goes here, not worth it.

hole #1 (once found) is really cool, a downhill shot into a clearing between tree patches. hole #3 is fun, a severe downhill drop into the woods and hole #8 is a cool shot as well. the straight shot 100 ft holes are wastes, not sure how someone would need more than 2 shots on these or how these holes are fun or helpful at all.

overall, the frustration of wandering around trying to figure out where to shoot outweighs any of the positives of this course. all the baskets are relatively easy to find (except #1), but you might as well just create your own tee in some cases since the course makes no sense. the course area is very nice, but a waste of potential, not worth a return trip.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the next &$%# hole?!?!

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing Greenwood Meadows, it was nice to use different shots and discs other than my mids. Holes 3, 4, & 5 are the best holes on the course. They play down the hill and incorporate water hazards (#4 especially).
Cons: There is no course map. If I hadn't read on here that the first tee was behind the basketball court, I wouldn't even think that there was a disc golf course in the park. The signage is terrible, it just has the hole number, length, and par listed (if the sign isn't missing), doesn't tell you where the pin in located or where the next tee could be found. The sign for #9 was missing completely, or maybe it wasn't but I couldn't find it.
Since the signs are terrible and there are other sign posts in the area with information about the planets, navigating is the hardest part to the course.
Other Thoughts: If the signage issue was taken care of this course would be an excellent 9 holer. This can be combined with Greenwood Meadows and Harry Dunham to make up a fair 27 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad for a quick round

1    12/22/2010   2/14/2011
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was a short enough course where we could get around and play nine holes in 30-45 minutes. That included three of us - a pro, a newer player and a mid-range player. The overall feel of the course wasn't bad and it was pretty easy to navigate. I didn't think the signs were too bad and it seemed simple enough to follow along. Still, I was with two people who had played it before, so that made it easier.

The course, for the most part was pretty open. Tees were basically the ground you stood on. The woods holes are very nice. I enjoyed those the most.

If I lived in the area, it seemed like a nice little course where you could come work on a few things and then move along.
Cons: Though we came in the winter, I could see where this would be a difficult course in parts during the warmer months because of overgrown brush and briars. I had one drive go off in the trees and it was hell trying to find it during the cold months, worrying about prickers and such. This could be difficult.

The open holes weren't that creative and as long as you can drive decently straight, you should be OK. Still, these holes weren't anything special.
Other Thoughts: As someone newer to the game, I enjoy seeing different courses - old, new, good and bad. It gives me a feel for what I like and what I can do. This was a basic course. I wouldn't expect to play a tournament here and I wouldn't ever expect to see 10-15 playing here on a weekend. But if I was out and about and wanted to chuck some plastic and this course was near me, I'd definitely utilize it. Not bad overall.

Not a bad course for beginners. The woods holes make it worth playing as they are decently done.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small course not worth the trip

1    11/3/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: mrbeaudette
Played: 65  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Interesting and scenic holes in the woods, nice part of the state.
Cons: Terrible signage. Terrible flow. The course would have been not too bad but the lack of any comprehensible flow and no guidance, it was just too much of a thought process to figure where everything was. It was a dissapointment because it seemed like the potential is/was there. But the course has fallen into a bit of neglect.
Other Thoughts: Harry Dunham, close by, is so much better. But is useful for a change of pace...I guess.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Potential Unrecognized

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course located in a well-groomed township park with other athletic fields, playground and picnic area. Clean bathrooms on the premises. The course itself is primarily open but does incorporate the woods on three of the holes. Fairways are clear and usually mowed. Nice Innova baskets. A decent balance of holes with a few providing a challenge while others provide ace/birdie opportunities.
Cons: While not particularly difficult to find your way around, the signage is an embarrassment. It is either misleading (hole #1 faces straight ahead instead of towards the basket), damaged (hole #4) or non-existent (#3, #6). Graffitti is scrawled on several of the baskets.No directional markers throughout the course to guide you. Natural tees. Several of the 6x6 poles used for tee signs are damaged and/or completely ripped out of the ground. Oppressive shrubbery/thorns invite loads of trouble for those who leave the fairway. You simply have to see the location of the hole 9 tee post to believe it.
Other Thoughts: Finding this place was a fiasco- and hardly worth the trouble. The Course Review directions were wrong, and no one in town seemed to know where this place was. Chimney Rock has the potential to be REALLY good- and should be much better than it is. Unused areas in the woods could make this course a hidden gem. Unfortunately, no one seems to have taken the time or the initiative to give the course a little care. Most upsetting is the complete lack of regard park employees have for minor maintenance items. It would take a couple of hours and minimal expense to fix the tee signs, clean the graffitti and reset the 6x6 poles, yet obviously these guys feel it isn't worth the effort- instead choosing to write "4" in magic marker on a broken and rotted pole leaning on its side by the tee box. It's a disgraceful lack of pride. As others have pointed out, play the course only if you also plan to play a couple other courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.