Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 layout ruins potential

1    7/5/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice park, a few interesting holes with elevation changes. hole #1 is the best of the bunch
Cons: signage is an absolute joke, very thick thorns and briar patches just off the fairway, course, 100 ft holes with no obstacles are pointless
Other Thoughts: like others have said this course has potential, but is not worth the headaches.

couldnt play holes #4 or #9 due to not being able to find the tees. picked a natural staring point for hole #6 since the sign also appeared missing. the sign for hole #1 points in a different direction then the shot, took a while to find this basket as well. no tee areas at all, not even dirt, just random pieces of wood with numbers written on them. if course was crowded the poor hole layout would result in lots of traffic on the fairways.

there are lots of extremely thick thorns and briar patches just off the fairway, long socks or pants are a must. there is a hill near basket #2 consisting solely of monster thorns, dont bother entering this if your disc goes here, not worth it.

hole #1 (once found) is really cool, a downhill shot into a clearing between tree patches. hole #3 is fun, a severe downhill drop into the woods and hole #8 is a cool shot as well. the straight shot 100 ft holes are wastes, not sure how someone would need more than 2 shots on these or how these holes are fun or helpful at all.

overall, the frustration of wandering around trying to figure out where to shoot outweighs any of the positives of this course. all the baskets are relatively easy to find (except #1), but you might as well just create your own tee in some cases since the course makes no sense. the course area is very nice, but a waste of potential, not worth a return trip.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the next &$%# hole?!?!

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing Greenwood Meadows, it was nice to use different shots and discs other than my mids. Holes 3, 4, & 5 are the best holes on the course. They play down the hill and incorporate water hazards (#4 especially).
Cons: There is no course map. If I hadn't read on here that the first tee was behind the basketball court, I wouldn't even think that there was a disc golf course in the park. The signage is terrible, it just has the hole number, length, and par listed (if the sign isn't missing), doesn't tell you where the pin in located or where the next tee could be found. The sign for #9 was missing completely, or maybe it wasn't but I couldn't find it.
Since the signs are terrible and there are other sign posts in the area with information about the planets, navigating is the hardest part to the course.
Other Thoughts: If the signage issue was taken care of this course would be an excellent 9 holer. This can be combined with Greenwood Meadows and Harry Dunham to make up a fair 27 holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad for a quick round

1    12/22/2010   2/14/2011
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was a short enough course where we could get around and play nine holes in 30-45 minutes. That included three of us - a pro, a newer player and a mid-range player. The overall feel of the course wasn't bad and it was pretty easy to navigate. I didn't think the signs were too bad and it seemed simple enough to follow along. Still, I was with two people who had played it before, so that made it easier.

The course, for the most part was pretty open. Tees were basically the ground you stood on. The woods holes are very nice. I enjoyed those the most.

If I lived in the area, it seemed like a nice little course where you could come work on a few things and then move along.
Cons: Though we came in the winter, I could see where this would be a difficult course in parts during the warmer months because of overgrown brush and briars. I had one drive go off in the trees and it was hell trying to find it during the cold months, worrying about prickers and such. This could be difficult.

The open holes weren't that creative and as long as you can drive decently straight, you should be OK. Still, these holes weren't anything special.
Other Thoughts: As someone newer to the game, I enjoy seeing different courses - old, new, good and bad. It gives me a feel for what I like and what I can do. This was a basic course. I wouldn't expect to play a tournament here and I wouldn't ever expect to see 10-15 playing here on a weekend. But if I was out and about and wanted to chuck some plastic and this course was near me, I'd definitely utilize it. Not bad overall.

Not a bad course for beginners. The woods holes make it worth playing as they are decently done.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small course not worth the trip

1    11/3/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: mrbeaudette
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Interesting and scenic holes in the woods, nice part of the state.
Cons: Terrible signage. Terrible flow. The course would have been not too bad but the lack of any comprehensible flow and no guidance, it was just too much of a thought process to figure where everything was. It was a dissapointment because it seemed like the potential is/was there. But the course has fallen into a bit of neglect.
Other Thoughts: Harry Dunham, close by, is so much better. But is useful for a change of pace...I guess.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Unrecognized

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 hole course located in a well-groomed township park with other athletic fields, playground and picnic area. Clean bathrooms on the premises. The course itself is primarily open but does incorporate the woods on three of the holes. Fairways are clear and usually mowed. Nice Innova baskets. A decent balance of holes with a few providing a challenge while others provide ace/birdie opportunities.
Cons: While not particularly difficult to find your way around, the signage is an embarrassment. It is either misleading (hole #1 faces straight ahead instead of towards the basket), damaged (hole #4) or non-existent (#3, #6). Graffitti is scrawled on several of the baskets.No directional markers throughout the course to guide you. Natural tees. Several of the 6x6 poles used for tee signs are damaged and/or completely ripped out of the ground. Oppressive shrubbery/thorns invite loads of trouble for those who leave the fairway. You simply have to see the location of the hole 9 tee post to believe it.
Other Thoughts: Finding this place was a fiasco- and hardly worth the trouble. The Course Review directions were wrong, and no one in town seemed to know where this place was. Chimney Rock has potential, and should be much better than it is. Unused areas in the woods could make this course a hidden gem. As this was apparently a young man's Eagle Scout Project, he is to be commended for his efforts, but he would have greatly benefitted from adults who knew a little bit about disc golf and course design. Much more upsetting is the complete lack of regard park employees have for minor maintenance items. It would take a couple of hours and minimal expense to fix the tee signs, clean the graffitti and reset the 6x6 poles, yet obviously these guys feel it isn't worth the effort- instead choosing to write "4" in magic marker on a broken and rotted pole leaning on its side by the tee box. It's a disgraceful lack of pride by park maintenance. As others have pointed out, play the course only if you also plan to play a couple other courses in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could be so much more

1    4/27/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Chimney Rock DGC is an interesting little course that would be good for families and those new to the sport.

In my opinion, the first hole is the best on the course. The tee sits on top of a hill and you're driving down to a basket almost completely surrounded by trees. Your drive is really an all-or-nothing throw; an off-track drive could easily put you over par, but a well-parked throw will reward a birdie.

For only 9 holes, this course has a decent amount of variety as far as the hole lengths go, from 100 to 485'. The course does make some use of both open and wooded fairways and incorporates several natural obstacles.

The baskets at Chimney Rock are in great shape.
Cons: The signage at Chimney Rock isn't the best...if it's even there at all. For those holes that actually have tee signs, the hole number and distance to pin are all that is available. For the rest of the holes, the tee signs are non-existent.

Another issue I had was with the lack of tees. Some holes had markers showing the edge of the tee, but other holes you had to figure out where the tee was based on the ruts.

Several of the fairways border very sharp and very dense briar patches. If your disc goes astray and into the thicket, good luck finding it without getting bloody (if you find it).

Although there is variety to the hole lengths, some of the holes are simply too short. No matter how you slice it, a 100' hole doesn't belong on a course unless there is significant OB or other obstacles that would make it a legitimate par 3. There are a few other holes at Chimney Rock that are extremely short and are not challenging enough for a par 3.

The layout of the course is so-so. Specifically, you have to double-back from hole 8 to play hole 9. On a few of the holes you're driving toward a blind basket and in some cases, it's near other public walkways, basketball courts, and the ice rink. This is fairly dangerous when you consider that it's a multi-use course.
Other Thoughts: This course is another example of how good land is underutilized. There are numerous mountain bike paths that dip into the woods at Chimney Rock that could either expand this course into 18 holes or at least lengthen the existing 9 holes.

You have to commend the vision of the scout that helped get this course installed, but expert advice would have really helped make this course so much more.

Specific upgrades that would really have a big impact would be tee pads, more detailed tee signs (or tee signs for those that are missing), and lengthening several of the holes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just a taste of Woods

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Woods holes
Tall grass/trees as hazards
Cons: Poor markings/tee areas
Other Thoughts: I like that the designers of this course tried to make it challenging, even though this is a small, short course. The woods holes are nicely done, and I hope they extend the course further back that way. There is certainly the possibility of lost discs here, and there are a couple of blind holes that aim directly at picnic benches and such, so be careful if the park is busy. I like this course better than Greenwood, but not quite as much as I do Harry Dunham, although I really do appreciate the few woods holes here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Barely Okay

2-4    7/31/2007   7/31/2009
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park.....Elevated tee on Hole 1. Hole 2 has a nice fairway and is the longest hole at 485 feet. Nice bathrooms and water available.
Cons: I thought this course was poor due to the grass overgrowth and ultra thick rough. Awkward design and poorly placed holes. Big punishment for errant throws. Most holes are pretty short. I think the designer made several holes blind to up the challenge. This course did not make much sense to me.
Other Thoughts: This course wasn't worth the trip for me because I didn't enjoy playing here. I enjoy playing the other courses nearby such as Harry Dunham in Liberty Corners or Greenwood Meadows in Warren.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Chimney Rock

1    5/14/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Chimney Rock is a nice quick 9 hole, with some versatile holes. A few open holes lead to a few wooded holes then back into the open. While you'll see a variety of hole types, most play very simply. The most difficult, and my favorite of the course was the first hole. From an elevated tee you throw down to a pin in an alley created by large pine trees. Wooded holes are very short and offer pretty easy ace runs. While not very well marked, course was pretty easy to navigate. All and all a nicely kept, beginner friendly course.
Cons: Tee pads and signs could be an improvement. Tees are marked, but only with a numbered post that may or may not be vandalized. Some of the open holes have nasty rough on the edges so throw clear of that. Wooded holes may feel to simple for experienced players, something you would only throw a putter at. I'm not sure how hole 9 is supposed to be played, the numbered post is in the oddest place I've ever seen. then about a 100 ft away was a log laid down in a much more logical position with 'hole 9' written on it. Again, some signage could really clear this up.
Other Thoughts: A fine 9 hole, nothing very memorable but a nice course when compared to a lot of the other courses in new jersey. Great place for local play and practice. When combined with nearby 9 hole Greenwood Meadows and Harry Dunham Park you could have a decent 27 hole afternoon.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9 to boost your average

5+    4/20/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course if you are looking for a little practice or to get someone introduced to the sport.. Innova baskets make it even easier.. Nice lay out with no drives interfering with another hole/tee.. Hole 5 is just begging to be aced, its only 100'.. park is well maintained and nicely built.. easy to find your way around to the next tee
Cons: heavy briar's around every turn.. a little too easy at times.. no tee boxes or much signage.. the tee for hole 9 is directly behind a bush...? rumor is that it's getting moved to the right a bit
Other Thoughts: it seems every time i play here, there is a couple of clowns throwing beach frisbee's... arrrgh

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.