Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Quick 9 to boost your average

5+    4/20/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course if you are looking for a little practice or to get someone introduced to the sport.. Innova baskets make it even easier.. Nice lay out with no drives interfering with another hole/tee.. Hole 5 is just begging to be aced, its only 100'.. park is well maintained and nicely built.. easy to find your way around to the next tee
Cons: heavy briar's around every turn.. a little too easy at times.. no tee boxes or much signage.. the tee for hole 9 is directly behind a bush...? rumor is that it's getting moved to the right a bit
Other Thoughts: it seems every time i play here, there is a couple of clowns throwing beach frisbee's... arrrgh

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 6-Pack of Rolling Rock...

5+    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *The woods
*Green
Cons: *Prickers Galore
*Short holes
*Akward poorly marked tee spots
*Mountain Bikers
*Troll under the Bridge
*Hole #9 is marked by a log haha
Other Thoughts: Its not a bad course, kinda makes you stop n think if u shuld throw a driver or a putter for a second, but keeps you interested enough. Thank god someone finally added real far tees in the woods tho becuz they wer cravin a re-pavin. Your best bet is to play the 6-pack, which is fars n shorts thru the woods, play the rest n go home.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great promise.

2-4    3/6/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has great potential. For a neighborhood course and for some practice this is a good place. Hole 1 is from the top of a hill near a sundial and is a very straight throw or a high hyzer over some cedars that love to catch a disc and hang it up. 2 is a 485ft blind drive down a long fairway that curves gently left with a hill on the left and woods on the right. The basket is on the right side of the fairway. 3 is down the hill and is technical. You have a straight shot through the trees and over the top of a stream that is wide enough to make disc retrieval a real chore. So it does give a person a challenge. 4 is through the trees with the stream to the left. 5 is a short 100ft but is back over the stream and has the same unforgiving trees. 6 is back on top of the hill and a long straight drive down an open fairway. Be careful there are briars on the right. 7 is an ace looking to happen. 8 is a left to right blind throw over the top of the trees or a great lefty shot or sidearm straight down and a hook to the right. The basket is on the side of the hill that tee for basket 1 is on top of and raises the challenge of the keeping the disc close for a decent putt. 9 was over the top and back of the same hill and sits under a big oak. the bridge over the stream is real nice.
Cons: The grass and dirt tees could be a real problem if this course was played a lot. There are roots that could be tripped on. Makes me wish it had 18. The directions form hole to hole are not good but most of the 6x6 markers can be easily found. 9 was the worst because the marker is in an opening of a row of cedars and the 4x4 makers in the ground are gone, as are many of the others. There are no maps to show you where the baskets are located and is a problem on 2, 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: If someone would take the time to develop this course further and add dual tees it could be a real gem. It left me wishing for more.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Course Mixed Results

1    2/18/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #1 throws from a giant compass on top of a baby hill. Followed by a surprisingly long 460 footer with a nice fairway on hole #2. The most exorbitant bridge and stairway I have ever seen for a disc golf course in the woods....was that an earmark! #8 is a good hole throwing 300 ft to the compass hillside over a nice fairway. I parked it might be biased. Overall the course has some semi-open bombs that require landing placement over reckless power, 3 tight wooded shots, and plenty of those types of holes where tomahawks and thumbers come in handy, throwing over scrub brush and low pines. A good mix of holes for a short niner. Not overly difficult to navigate for a first timer. Definetely not a boring pitch and putt.
Cons: No tees whatsoever. Just grass. If the course got more play I am sure this would become a problem. Thorns and thick shule are everywhere off of the fairways of the more open holes...especially holes 1,2,6.7.8....The 3 holes in the woods are nice looking but just too short and not technical enough to provide any fun...a shame because theres a cool stream and plenty of elevation in the back part of the course that could have made those holes far more fun. Hole #9 tee was buried inside some bushes...I guess your supposed to be forced to throw a tomahawk....I never saw a tee that odd before, I am not sure if it's a con, weird, or unique but due to the lack of a true tee I was confused so I tomahawked blindly..LOL..maybe some more obvious tee would be nice? I got lost briefly a few times..a little hint on where to go or a course map near the compass would help.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, not a great one... it has a little fun factor to it. I was really pumped after the 460 foot hole 2 and then I threw from tee #3 to hole #4 in the woods I thought that was a cool hole also until I realized I had just safaried the hole and realized 3,4, and 5 were boring and short. When you get to the park go to the rear and find the big compass on the ground...tee #1 is there and you throw off to the right for hole #1...I almost threw to the basket for hole #7 which for some reason seems the more natural fairway? If your visiting relatives in North Jersey or are from there it's a good enough course to make an excuse to go out and play due to the lack of quality in the region...have fun!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    10/1/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really liked the layout and the elevation drops when you got to the holes in the back. The first couple, and last 2 holes are in the open with large tree and grass patches that need to be avoided. The middle few holes go around a creek and through a heavily wooded area. Most of the holes are short and technical.
Cons: Thorns and more thorns, I spent hours looking for my favorite disc and shredded my legs. You need a spotter for sure on most of the holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: A guy asked me how I like the course when I was there, turned out he was the designer. Us Eagle scouts tend to make great contributions to our communities. haha

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Briars and Brambles

1    8/27/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 90  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2010
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very nice park. REALLY tight and punishes you for errant shots with briers and poison ivy (yikes)!!!
Cons: See pros
Other Thoughts: The back woods holes were fun. All of the brush beat down and it is pretty easy to walk through and find discs.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

5+    8/15/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: illnana94
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mixture of holes. (3 in the woods the rest in field). Even the field holes have some variation to them. Some holes require length (#2) and some require shot placement (#9)
Cons: Only 9 holes. No tee boxes
Other Thoughts: The course could be improved but overall a fun experience and will definately be back to play

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/27/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is on the grounds of a beautiful and well kept park. The course is not very challenging, but it is still fun to play. A great course for beginnners. The field holes (1-2, 6-9) are longer, and the rough on the sides are pretty easy to lose a disc in. The wooded holes (3-5) are short and pretty easy. They have a really nice bridge over the creek along the wooded holes, and a deck path back up the steep incline making it very easy to get from hole to hole. Overall the course is very nice and well worth playing.
Cons: Some of the signs were missing or hard to read. Also one or two of the tees were not clearly marked - these two factors kept the rating from being a 4.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if it was a full 18 hole course.
Chimney Rock is not a course to travel to, but it is definitely an above average course for locals to play. The course could use some improvments, but overall its still a fun play and an excellent way to introduce new players to the sport.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5/26/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: element42
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: 3 holes into the woods. Good variations.
Cons: 9 holes. Poorly kept with hard to read teesigns.
Other Thoughts: Easy to lose a disc.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.