Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #2
4 / 485ft.   3 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Not Worth Your Time

1    6/3/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: ChainSmoker19
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes in the woods have some potential.
1-2 of the wooded holes go over a creek, which is always a plus.
Cons: Holes either poorly marked or not marked at all.
Cars park on the course during weekends.
Brush is incredibly thick, you have to play extremely conservative if you don't want to lose any discs.
Hole 9 is in the middle of a picnic area, which surely could cause an issue if being used by pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what this course was like when it opened, but I know it is in very rough condition now. There are a couple better courses in the area, so I truly cannot think of any reason ever to go back to this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

CERTAINLY NOT

1    6/4/2016   6/6/2016
Review By: Spirit of Rich
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's about 15 minutes away from Harry Dunham Park in Bernards, a nice 9-hole course that respects the integrity of the game.

The first hole in the woods wasn't bad.
Cons: This "frisbee golf" course had several holes virtually unplayable due to crowding for a softball tournament, which led to park goers treating the fairway of hole 1 as a parking space and people literally driving through other parts of the course. If you still wish to pursue this tumultuous experience, avoid weekend afternoons.

When it came to the holes that were playable, we spent more time trying to figure out where to start most holes than actually playing. What a mess!

Hole 7 is a disc eater. Simply unethical to have rough this wild.
Other Thoughts: If this is your hometown course you gotta respect your roots, but otherwise I can't justify coming to this course without major changes. Sad!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A little of everything.

1    11/14/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: gbikofsky
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee#1 is on the top of a slope and is a great spot to practice long throws. We liked that three of the holes were in the woods.
Cons: The starting marker for hole 4 and 7 had fallen down and we had to look around to find where to start.
Other Thoughts: I played with my two children. They liked the three holes in the woods. The course was fun and a little bit challenging, due to the narrow fairways.. Except for the missing tee off markers, it was pretty well maintained. It is a beautiful park. After we played, we practiced distance throwing on the first tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't Go

1    10/21/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bathroom with running water. Grass is cut.

Good baskets
Cons: No tee pads and in most cases no clear idea where to tee from.

Some holes have tee signs and others do not.

Fairways are too narrow and the rough is a wall of thorns.

Good chance to loose a disc on every hole.

Hole 9 has a blind tee shot right at a picnic bench.
Other Thoughts: I lost two discs here, hole 7 I did not play because of super tight and dense rough. Hole 9 I did not play because unsafe.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Needs Work

2-4    11/5/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: turbotime69
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1 - Quality professional baskets
2 - Clean
3 - Short but enough obstacles to compensate
Cons: 1 - No tee pads, markers or anything to indicate where to tee off.
2 - Signage is poor or nonexistent
3 - Woods are THICK and littered with sticker bushes
Other Thoughts: Far ways are narrow which is ok and forces you to work on accuracy but the thickness of the woods makes going for distance unappealing as a shanked disc will get swallowed.

The course layout is pretty simple but could be really great fun if all my "Cons" are addressed.

If someone wants to organize a clean-up effort I'll help, PM me.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course, needs a little work

2-4    5/27/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool layout, secluded, great woods holes, baskets are in great shape, was a fun course for both beginners or the more advanced
Cons: Poor signage, couldnt find Hole #9 tee box, the place needed a good mowing, WOODS ARE THICK, stay in the fairway or else you'll spend half the round in the woods searching for a needle in a haysack, i lost a Silver Discraft Ti Buzzz on the 6th hole, please call me if you find it, i had it for literally one day
Other Thoughts: The idea is there, this is my 2nd time playing this course and I'm not sure if i will go back, id rather play other courses and not spend an hour per 9 holes looking for discs.... i know i should stay in the fairway... haha but sometimes it don't work out like that, ill come back in the fall when the foliage is less thick, TONS OF PRICKERS in the woods

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Less than Decent NJ Course

5+    9/12/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 72  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2015
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. There was a decent use of terrain. Some holes were downhill, some uphill, and some flat. I especially liked the downhill holes.
2. Chimney Rock offered a long tee but half of the time I couldn't find it.
Cons: 1. There really weren't any tee pads. They were grass and on a rainy day you have absolutely no footing. They should really add new concrete tee pads
2. The signage is awful here. Most holes have faded signage and some holes don't even have signage at all! I heard that they were supposed to make new updated tee signs in January 2015 but they didn't.
3. Absolutely no course amenities. No benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Not really that much hole variety in distance. Other than one 485 par 4, all holes are 160 feet.
5. There really wasn't a signature hole on the course. Most holes are not very unique. Maybe if they extended hole 2 and moved the basket to on top of the hill, it could be signature.
6. Most important: the overall fun factor. I really don't know what to say but most of the time this course really isn't interesting at all but it is a good course for a quick round.
Other Thoughts: Don't really come here if you are looking for a challenge or hoping for a solid 4 rated course. Play the new Thompson Park or Greystone Woods.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Short Course

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Akavar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained.
Good mix of hilly, wooded, open and flat.
Good practice for accuracy.
Cons: Could be better marked.
Could not find the 9th tee!
No benches or anything to sit on.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course that is good practice for accurate shots.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dislike

2-4    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2015
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Ace runs. Playing over the creek is fun but SO short. 100ft.
Cons: Signage is awful! Overgrown, just overall terrible.There is no organization to the course. There was garbage in basket #4. You spend more time looking for where to tee off from then actually playing. Tee 6 isnt there. There are trail signs that confuse you with tee signs... Gave a .5 because there were 9 baskets.
Other Thoughts: If a club adopted this course, the land and space where the course is could be turned into a great 9 hole course. The open area where hole 1,2,6,7,8,9 are could turned into a fun 3 holes and the woods could be utilized much better. but as of now they are better off donating the baskets to another 9 hole course and calling it a day.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A beginner's course

1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park.
- Uses the space it has adequately.
- Convenient and clean bathroom.
Cons: - No real challenges here for the serious player other than keeping your drives straight.
- Signage poor or non-existent.
- Only a couple teepads. Others are just "throw from this spot".
- Short.
Other Thoughts: If you're passing through and want a tune-up, it's cool. But not a course for a regular, avid player.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.