Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: tradgunkie Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Could be so much more

1    4/27/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chimney Rock DGC is an interesting little course that would be good for families and those new to the sport.

In my opinion, the first hole is the best on the course. The tee sits on top of a hill and you're driving down to a basket almost completely surrounded by trees. Your drive is really an all-or-nothing throw; an off-track drive could easily put you over par, but a well-parked throw will reward a birdie.

For only 9 holes, this course has a decent amount of variety as far as the hole lengths go, from 100 to 485'. The course does make some use of both open and wooded fairways and incorporates several natural obstacles.

The baskets at Chimney Rock are in great shape.
Cons: The signage at Chimney Rock isn't the best...if it's even there at all. For those holes that actually have tee signs, the hole number and distance to pin are all that is available. For the rest of the holes, the tee signs are non-existent.

Another issue I had was with the lack of tees. Some holes had markers showing the edge of the tee, but other holes you had to figure out where the tee was based on the ruts.

Several of the fairways border very sharp and very dense briar patches. If your disc goes astray and into the thicket, good luck finding it without getting bloody (if you find it).

Although there is variety to the hole lengths, some of the holes are simply too short. No matter how you slice it, a 100' hole doesn't belong on a course unless there is significant OB or other obstacles that would make it a legitimate par 3. There are a few other holes at Chimney Rock that are extremely short and are not challenging enough for a par 3.

The layout of the course is so-so. Specifically, you have to double-back from hole 8 to play hole 9. On a few of the holes you're driving toward a blind basket and in some cases, it's near other public walkways, basketball courts, and the ice rink. This is fairly dangerous when you consider that it's a multi-use course.
Other Thoughts: This course is another example of how good land is underutilized. There are numerous mountain bike paths that dip into the woods at Chimney Rock that could either expand this course into 18 holes or at least lengthen the existing 9 holes.

You have to commend the vision of the scout that helped get this course installed, but expert advice would have really helped make this course so much more.

Specific upgrades that would really have a big impact would be tee pads, more detailed tee signs (or tee signs for those that are missing), and lengthening several of the holes.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just a taste of Woods

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woods holes
Tall grass/trees as hazards
Cons: Poor markings/tee areas
Other Thoughts: I like that the designers of this course tried to make it challenging, even though this is a small, short course. The woods holes are nicely done, and I hope they extend the course further back that way. There is certainly the possibility of lost discs here, and there are a couple of blind holes that aim directly at picnic benches and such, so be careful if the park is busy. I like this course better than Greenwood, but not quite as much as I do Harry Dunham, although I really do appreciate the few woods holes here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Barely Okay

2-4    7/31/2007   7/31/2009
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park.....Elevated tee on Hole 1. Hole 2 has a nice fairway and is the longest hole at 485 feet. Nice bathrooms and water available.
Cons: I thought this course was poor due to the grass overgrowth and ultra thick rough. Awkward design and poorly placed holes. Big punishment for errant throws. Most holes are pretty short. I think the designer made several holes blind to up the challenge. This course did not make much sense to me.
Other Thoughts: This course wasn't worth the trip for me because I didn't enjoy playing here. I enjoy playing the other courses nearby such as Harry Dunham in Liberty Corners or Greenwood Meadows in Warren.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Chimney Rock

1    5/14/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 282  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chimney Rock is a nice quick 9 hole, with some versatile holes. A few open holes lead to a few wooded holes then back into the open. While you'll see a variety of hole types, most play very simply. The most difficult, and my favorite of the course was the first hole. From an elevated tee you throw down to a pin in an alley created by large pine trees. Wooded holes are very short and offer pretty easy ace runs. While not very well marked, course was pretty easy to navigate. All and all a nicely kept, beginner friendly course.
Cons: Tee pads and signs could be an improvement. Tees are marked, but only with a numbered post that may or may not be vandalized. Some of the open holes have nasty rough on the edges so throw clear of that. Wooded holes may feel to simple for experienced players, something you would only throw a putter at. I'm not sure how hole 9 is supposed to be played, the numbered post is in the oddest place I've ever seen. then about a 100 ft away was a log laid down in a much more logical position with 'hole 9' written on it. Again, some signage could really clear this up.
Other Thoughts: A fine 9 hole, nothing very memorable but a nice course when compared to a lot of the other courses in new jersey. Great place for local play and practice. When combined with nearby 9 hole Greenwood Meadows and Harry Dunham Park you could have a decent 27 hole afternoon.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9 to boost your average

5+    4/20/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course if you are looking for a little practice or to get someone introduced to the sport.. Innova baskets make it even easier.. Nice lay out with no drives interfering with another hole/tee.. Hole 5 is just begging to be aced, its only 100'.. park is well maintained and nicely built.. easy to find your way around to the next tee
Cons: heavy briar's around every turn.. a little too easy at times.. no tee boxes or much signage.. the tee for hole 9 is directly behind a bush...? rumor is that it's getting moved to the right a bit
Other Thoughts: it seems every time i play here, there is a couple of clowns throwing beach frisbee's... arrrgh

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 6-Pack of Rolling Rock...

5+    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 25  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *The woods
*Green
Cons: *Prickers Galore
*Short holes
*Akward poorly marked tee spots
*Mountain Bikers
*Troll under the Bridge
*Hole #9 is marked by a log haha
Other Thoughts: Its not a bad course, kinda makes you stop n think if u shuld throw a driver or a putter for a second, but keeps you interested enough. Thank god someone finally added real far tees in the woods tho becuz they wer cravin a re-pavin. Your best bet is to play the 6-pack, which is fars n shorts thru the woods, play the rest n go home.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great promise.

2-4    3/6/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has great potential. For a neighborhood course and for some practice this is a good place. Hole 1 is from the top of a hill near a sundial and is a very straight throw or a high hyzer over some cedars that love to catch a disc and hang it up. 2 is a 485ft blind drive down a long fairway that curves gently left with a hill on the left and woods on the right. The basket is on the right side of the fairway. 3 is down the hill and is technical. You have a straight shot through the trees and over the top of a stream that is wide enough to make disc retrieval a real chore. So it does give a person a challenge. 4 is through the trees with the stream to the left. 5 is a short 100ft but is back over the stream and has the same unforgiving trees. 6 is back on top of the hill and a long straight drive down an open fairway. Be careful there are briars on the right. 7 is an ace looking to happen. 8 is a left to right blind throw over the top of the trees or a great lefty shot or sidearm straight down and a hook to the right. The basket is on the side of the hill that tee for basket 1 is on top of and raises the challenge of the keeping the disc close for a decent putt. 9 was over the top and back of the same hill and sits under a big oak. the bridge over the stream is real nice.
Cons: The grass and dirt tees could be a real problem if this course was played a lot. There are roots that could be tripped on. Makes me wish it had 18. The directions form hole to hole are not good but most of the 6x6 markers can be easily found. 9 was the worst because the marker is in an opening of a row of cedars and the 4x4 makers in the ground are gone, as are many of the others. There are no maps to show you where the baskets are located and is a problem on 2, 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: If someone would take the time to develop this course further and add dual tees it could be a real gem. It left me wishing for more.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Course Mixed Results

1    2/18/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole #1 throws from a giant compass on top of a baby hill. Followed by a surprisingly long 460 footer with a nice fairway on hole #2. The most exorbitant bridge and stairway I have ever seen for a disc golf course in the woods....was that an earmark! #8 is a good hole throwing 300 ft to the compass hillside over a nice fairway. I parked it might be biased. Overall the course has some semi-open bombs that require landing placement over reckless power, 3 tight wooded shots, and plenty of those types of holes where tomahawks and thumbers come in handy, throwing over scrub brush and low pines. A good mix of holes for a short niner. Not overly difficult to navigate for a first timer. Definetely not a boring pitch and putt.
Cons: No tees whatsoever. Just grass. If the course got more play I am sure this would become a problem. Thorns and thick shule are everywhere off of the fairways of the more open holes...especially holes 1,2,6.7.8....The 3 holes in the woods are nice looking but just too short and not technical enough to provide any fun...a shame because theres a cool stream and plenty of elevation in the back part of the course that could have made those holes far more fun. Hole #9 tee was buried inside some bushes...I guess your supposed to be forced to throw a tomahawk....I never saw a tee that odd before, I am not sure if it's a con, weird, or unique but due to the lack of a true tee I was confused so I tomahawked blindly..LOL..maybe some more obvious tee would be nice? I got lost briefly a few times..a little hint on where to go or a course map near the compass would help.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, not a great one... it has a little fun factor to it. I was really pumped after the 460 foot hole 2 and then I threw from tee #3 to hole #4 in the woods I thought that was a cool hole also until I realized I had just safaried the hole and realized 3,4, and 5 were boring and short. When you get to the park go to the rear and find the big compass on the ground...tee #1 is there and you throw off to the right for hole #1...I almost threw to the basket for hole #7 which for some reason seems the more natural fairway? If your visiting relatives in North Jersey or are from there it's a good enough course to make an excuse to go out and play due to the lack of quality in the region...have fun!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    10/1/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked the layout and the elevation drops when you got to the holes in the back. The first couple, and last 2 holes are in the open with large tree and grass patches that need to be avoided. The middle few holes go around a creek and through a heavily wooded area. Most of the holes are short and technical.
Cons: Thorns and more thorns, I spent hours looking for my favorite disc and shredded my legs. You need a spotter for sure on most of the holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: A guy asked me how I like the course when I was there, turned out he was the designer. Us Eagle scouts tend to make great contributions to our communities. haha

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Briars and Brambles

1    8/27/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 92  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2010
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice park. REALLY tight and punishes you for errant shots with briers and poison ivy (yikes)!!!
Cons: See pros
Other Thoughts: The back woods holes were fun. All of the brush beat down and it is pretty easy to walk through and find discs.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.