Layout Extinct

Oshkosh, WI
Winnebago County Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: parkem24 Hole #25 (Taken 9/2010)
5 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee: Basket is in the upper right-hand corner.



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Winnebago county park

1    6/12/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tee pads
2) tee signs help find your way around the course
3) uses water decently
4) for the most part other park activities won't interfere with play
5) good use of the, lackluster, land
6) fairly spread out over the whole park so holes dont interfere with each other
7) well manicured fairways and greens
8) green are protected fairly well on most holes
Cons: 1) not very many obsticals
2) Lots of bird poop by the water
3) the walk from 10 to 11 is through the archery range (safety issue)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a quite good course. Even though the land is very lackluster and bland they made a good course with what they had.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  County Park

5+    5/7/2011   1/21/2010
Review By: Mr. Orange
Played: 77  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 23 unique holes are now up, The 7 new holes (17-18 and 22-27) add a new degree of challenge from the original 15 holes
Cons: Not all tees have concrete, finding some holes is not easy for the first time player, only has one hole with any elevation change.
Other Thoughts: There is a poster at the course that says that there will be 27 unique holes and all 27 holes will have concrete by this summer. It also states that when funds are raised an additional 9 holes will be put in on the berms on the north side of the park. These improvements will definitely increase the rating of the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: eaglechick123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: some good technical holes, good mix of long and short, blind shots, plenty of garbage bins
Cons: not all pads are finished, one hole goes across a baseball diamond, signs need to be re-done, not 18 hole yet, not kept up very well, it can be a pain to find you disc if it gets off the fairway on many of the holes, a minute or two between each hole for walk time
Other Thoughts: A good overall course, They are redoing the course so there will be a 18 hole along with a 9 hole

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 15 hole course I have ever played

1    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety in shot making. Has a couple holes near or around water. Nicely tucked baskets on a handful of holes protected by trees or shrubs. has a couple holes straight away through prairie type grass with a mowed fairway. Has a couple long holes. Has a basket tucked on tp of a mound protected in front by boulders, railroad ties, and plant material, and a fence beyond it to stop some long putts.

2) Awesome park with tons of amenities. Ball fields, walking areas, plenty of ponds for fishing, bathrooms, etc. Disc golf course is well removed from all these other activities so it is nice to not have to worry about where your disc is going to end up.

3) Teesign posts on all holes, but the hole diagrams or maps could use some help.

4) Concrete tee pads are nice where they are.

Cons: 1) Tee areas leave a lot to be desired. Random concrete tees make things confusing. I threw over the pond on #5 thinking that was my tee and sorrily lost my first disc I ever owned (Valkyrie)because of it, then I realized there was a seperate tee located down the path a little ways.

2) No elevation change, but they did the best they could with the property they have.

3) Nothing too out of the ordinary or spectacular, but has a few key components that give the course some interest.

4) Teepads are wore down to dirt on a few of the tees and concrete would make this much better.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course despite the weather I played in and confusion costing me a disc. It was my favorite of the 4 courses I played that day (Adelaide, Red Arrow, Riverside Park (Berlin)). I would go out of my way to play this course again over the others because of its overall maintenance and fun factor.

It looks like it is still under construction with new tee pads and this apparent ghost #16 hole. I asked a local and he said some of the concrete pads are for when they host a tournament. I saw at least 5 or 6 concrete pads though, so maybe they have more than 18 for tourneys.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Longer Course for Fox Valley

8/6/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Better than average length for the area courses. Good mix of short technical holes and available water.
Cons: Still only 15 holes. Plans are to add three more for the front 18 and an additional recreational 9 in an open area.
Other Thoughts: The course can be lengthened and made significantly harder for tournaments by using the water hazards.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.