Layout Extinct

Oshkosh, WI 
Winnebago County Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 open fielder

5+    7/29/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.5 Years
Pros: Free.
Open field style play.
Concrete pads.
Mach 3 baskets.
Some water to deal with on a couple holes.
Long course.
Cons: Not much of a challenge.
Course doesn't flow well in certain spots.
Flat course with little to no elevation change.
Police station across the street from course.
Other Thoughts: Play this if you don't plan on leaving Oshkosh to play a round of disc golf.

 Great Practice Course

5+    8/13/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Concrete Tees
+ Expanding course
+ Difficult and Easy holes mixed well in full course
+ Great, forgiving practice course
Cons: + Lack of trees (uses what it has well though)
+ Lack of garbage cans
+ Repetitive shots
+ Can get congested around the shorter holes
Other Thoughts: Course plays like a giant open field for the most part which can be great or boring depending on what you enjoy. I find this course to be a great practice for gauging distances of shots and placement, very little line shaping necessary. Newer holes are being added that should up the difficulty, fun factor, and reduce congestion

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for exercise

1    8/17/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: jeepluvr81
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of nice long shots to practice variety of distance throws, which means lots of walking on this course.
Challenging holes. Our party lost two discs in water, we retrieved one of them.
Clearly marked tees.
The final holes are fun in the woods.. a good change of pace from wide open fields.
Cons: If your disc hits water, you probably won't see it again.
No garbage cans.
Not much for elevation changes. Only slightly on hole 11 near the basket.
Maybe too many flat, open holes.
Spent a lot of time looking for my disc in the "rough." That might be my fault though.
Other Thoughts: Best discing in Oshkosh. Well worth driving out of town, or from nearby to practice, and perfect your distance throws, and fine tune your game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Winnebago county park

1    6/12/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tee pads
2) tee signs help find your way around the course
3) uses water decently
4) for the most part other park activities won't interfere with play
5) good use of the, lackluster, land
6) fairly spread out over the whole park so holes dont interfere with each other
7) well manicured fairways and greens
8) green are protected fairly well on most holes
Cons: 1) not very many obsticals
2) Lots of bird poop by the water
3) the walk from 10 to 11 is through the archery range (safety issue)
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a quite good course. Even though the land is very lackluster and bland they made a good course with what they had.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

1    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid concrete tee pads
-The new nine holes have shiny new baskets.
-Many water holes with risk/reward play
-OK tee signs that give you somewhat of a clue to where the next hole is.
-A few open bomber holes that really test your arm.
-This course is located in a great family park.
Cons: -No garbage cans throughout the course.
-Goose poo is EVERYWHERE on all the water holes.
-Some holes only have dirt tee pads.
-Not much elevation.
-Hole 1 has a giant tree root in the tee pad that could cause you to trip.
-Hole 18 is just kind of thrown in there.
-It is very easy to get lost here (Print out a course map)
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend printing out a course map for this one (Here is the link for it http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../553d9274.pdf ). I would say hole 11 would be this course's signature hole due to it being on top of a fancy hill. Overall it is a decent course but it has much room for improvement.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open and windy

1    7/5/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling multi-use park that is very flat and has several water hazards. The water comes into play a little, and adds some risk, especially when the wind is blowing. There is some goood distance out here, with several longer holes where you can really throw a drive. Many holes have nice concrete tee pads and good signs with the full course map and distances making it a little easier to follow the course. The course is supposedly expanding to 36 holes, it's cool to see that kind of commitment from the parks people.
Cons: The course is flat, open, and boring, and most holes have only wind and distance as obstacles. The course gets very repetitive, and I didn't see much that makes me believe the second 18 will really be any different. The course doesn't feel complete, with missing tees and signs, and bland signposts and unused tees in various places around, probably the start of course expansion. There are some spots where it's not at all obvious where to go to get to the next hole, finishing the signage would help a lot with this. The last two holes aren't fully cleared, adding to the unfinished feel here.
Other Thoughts: This is a boring course, and doesn't have all that much going for it. The few holes near the water don't use it all that well, and are covered in goose poop. It's an ok place to work on open drives and playing in the wind, but otherwise it's not very interesting. Beginners will find it a bit long, and more experienced players won't find much variety or challenge.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

5+    5/17/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Carno364
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice Baskets

2. Nice concrete pads, when available

3. Bathroom facilities, when open

4. Food stand, when open

5... I am trying, but I really can't think of much
Cons: 1. No challenge. No elevation, just flat land and hardly any trees. Almost every hole is a straight clear shot. Two holes with water, and by the time you get to them you don't want to risk putting your disc in the bottomless disc eating lakes because the course isn't worth it.

2. Only about half the concrete pads for holes 1 - 18 are even put in. They have a few pads already poured for holes 19-36, but didn't finish 1 - 18.

3. Holes 17 & 18 are just a starting point and a basket. The actual design of the hole hasn't been started yet. I don't even play these holes as of right now, because there is no path to throw your disc, and no fairway either.

4. One hole plays across a baseball diamond, that was in use one day when we played.

5. The course is confusing, even for someone who knows the area. One path to the following hole even cuts across a regularly used soccer field.

6. There is only one tee and one basket per hole. There is plenty of space, but its not utilized for the course.

7. The park is busy, and has lots of people. There are children playing, people walking dogs, an archery range, a pool, soccer games, baseball games, etc.

8. Bird and Dog droppings are everywhere. Especially near water, watch out.

9. The signs at the beginning of each hole are hard to understand if they are even there. The image of the hole is just a grainy satellite image of the hole.
Other Thoughts: 5 years ago when they announce a 36 hole disc golf course at the Winnebago County Fair I was excited. A lot of money was donated to create this disc course, and I am left more than just a little disappointed in the results. It feels like the designers figure as long as they put up a basket and have a starting point for the hole, they have a discing hole.

It may be a work in progress, but unless they transplant some trees, build some man made rivers, bring in some dirt for hills, I would rather spend my time throwing my discs in an open field to a friend. I am not even looking forward to the next 18 holes completion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: thecoyotekitchen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Has nice baskets.
2. Has some risk/reward with water coming into play.
3. Has lot's of growth potential (from what I saw)
4. Let's you air it out on some holes.
Cons: 1. Lot's of the same shot...over and over.
2. Confusing layout. Several times I had to walk back to previous teebox to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: This course has some major potential. I would really like to see more technical midrange shots or well thought out par 4's. Arrow pointing to next tee would do wonders for the first timers.

Possible Pro tees???? That would be pretty cool.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  County Park

5+    5/7/2011   1/21/2010
Review By: Mr. Orange
Played: 77  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 23 unique holes are now up, The 7 new holes (17-18 and 22-27) add a new degree of challenge from the original 15 holes
Cons: Not all tees have concrete, finding some holes is not easy for the first time player, only has one hole with any elevation change.
Other Thoughts: There is a poster at the course that says that there will be 27 unique holes and all 27 holes will have concrete by this summer. It also states that when funds are raised an additional 9 holes will be put in on the berms on the north side of the park. These improvements will definitely increase the rating of the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Water your discs here instead.

5+    7/4/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: JustinSane
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Get your driving arm in shape. Long distance drives with many out of bounds challenges. Nice maintenance.
Cons: Almost every hole is the same, a long-generally straight drive 200-400 yarder with extensive amounts of goose poo on holes near the water.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad play, it'll get your arm in shape and allow for some interesting short game to mid-range approaches. A breath of fresh air from Oshkosh's Red Arrow Course which is more of a short game course. Cleaner than Red Arrow generally a better choice when tossing in Oshkosh.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.