Layout Extinct

Oshkosh, WI 
Winnebago County Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: parkem24 Hole #22 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Cty Park

1    6/25/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: theycallmejg15
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The designers did an alright job laying out this course.
Love the bridges crossing the ditches that have water in them.
They use the available trees and water to make it as challenging as they possibly can.
Holes do not all go same direction so no favoring lefty/righty shots.
Cons: Have to walk quite a ways to get to the next tee pad from previous hole.
Not completely 18 holes.
Only 15 baskets up
Random tee pads located through course with no basket.(Hole number 5 starts way over by pond)
Other Thoughts: This course has major potential. I could see them revising this course and making it possibly 2 courses of 18 holes each. Once they finish making this 18 my rating will go up. Holes were somewhat easier but still took quite a long drive to get anywhere close on some holes.Concrete tee pads were amazing! There is no tee pad/sign for pad 10.. we ended up walking right up to basket at 10 following the white spray paint and were like where the heck is the pad? then to get to 11 is a nice walk to the east past the archery range. Once again if they revise this a little it has some major potential!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: eaglechick123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: some good technical holes, good mix of long and short, blind shots, plenty of garbage bins
Cons: not all pads are finished, one hole goes across a baseball diamond, signs need to be re-done, not 18 hole yet, not kept up very well, it can be a pain to find you disc if it gets off the fairway on many of the holes, a minute or two between each hole for walk time
Other Thoughts: A good overall course, They are redoing the course so there will be a 18 hole along with a 9 hole

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: mojo2090
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-some long holes
- a few challenging drives along the lake
Cons: -holes not mapped out for you
-pretty easily to get lost
-had to go swimming three times for my disc
-lost a disc in the lake
-not much variety in holes
Other Thoughts: ok course but nothing spectacular

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 15 hole course I have ever played

1    4/20/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety in shot making. Has a couple holes near or around water. Nicely tucked baskets on a handful of holes protected by trees or shrubs. has a couple holes straight away through prairie type grass with a mowed fairway. Has a couple long holes. Has a basket tucked on tp of a mound protected in front by boulders, railroad ties, and plant material, and a fence beyond it to stop some long putts.

2) Awesome park with tons of amenities. Ball fields, walking areas, plenty of ponds for fishing, bathrooms, etc. Disc golf course is well removed from all these other activities so it is nice to not have to worry about where your disc is going to end up.

3) Teesign posts on all holes, but the hole diagrams or maps could use some help.

4) Concrete tee pads are nice where they are.

Cons: 1) Tee areas leave a lot to be desired. Random concrete tees make things confusing. I threw over the pond on #5 thinking that was my tee and sorrily lost my first disc I ever owned (Valkyrie)because of it, then I realized there was a seperate tee located down the path a little ways.

2) No elevation change, but they did the best they could with the property they have.

3) Nothing too out of the ordinary or spectacular, but has a few key components that give the course some interest.

4) Teepads are wore down to dirt on a few of the tees and concrete would make this much better.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course despite the weather I played in and confusion costing me a disc. It was my favorite of the 4 courses I played that day (Adelaide, Red Arrow, Riverside Park (Berlin)). I would go out of my way to play this course again over the others because of its overall maintenance and fun factor.

It looks like it is still under construction with new tee pads and this apparent ghost #16 hole. I asked a local and he said some of the concrete pads are for when they host a tournament. I saw at least 5 or 6 concrete pads though, so maybe they have more than 18 for tourneys.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Info Please?

5+    4/6/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Midwest82000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A nice spread out course good for a relaxing walk or jog.
Cons: Bad tee boxes, bad course design.
Other Thoughts: Does anyone have any real info on the progress of this course? I hope that they actually finish it this year... im tired of playing 15 holes. Someone said hole 16 is up but I can not find it and I know the park well.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 County

5+    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a good mix of short and long holes. Teaches you how to play in the wind. It is also clean compared to the other courses in the area.
Good use of the water in the park as well.
Cons: Not many trees. Very open on just about every hole. Mostly Natural teepads but that is being changed. It is worth a play or two but if you live closer to Appleton than Oshkosh just play any of those courses instead.
Other Thoughts: Hole 16 is in now. Not sure what is going on with the rest of the holes. Whoever is in charge of the course is doing some weird stuff. Five or so of the holes now have concrete teepads and there are a bunch of other concrete teepads around the park but no baskets to throw to with them. I am not sure why they didn't put teepads on the holes with baskets first but oh well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Potential

5+    9/12/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun park with lots going on. Not too many trees, but enough to be a hassle and prevent you from completely unloading every shot. Water comes into play a couple times. Benches, trash, and signs aplenty. Even a small "pro shop" by the swimming area.
Cons: Not all 18 holes completed yet, but my rating will jump a touch when they are.
Other Thoughts: The park is a nice place for the whole Family to enjoy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Longer Course for Fox Valley

8/6/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Better than average length for the area courses. Good mix of short technical holes and available water.
Cons: Still only 15 holes. Plans are to add three more for the front 18 and an additional recreational 9 in an open area.
Other Thoughts: The course can be lengthened and made significantly harder for tournaments by using the water hazards.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.