Brockport, NY 
Sweden Town Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK  
Practice Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
So much potential...

2-4    9/13/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 33  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms on site
- Practice Basket near parking lot
- Good mix of shots required (BH, FH, thumber, etc).
- Multiple pin positions on several holes.
- Fun island hole with a nice ring of stone / fencing.
Cons: - Hole 1. I am starting here as you are smacked with this when you start the course. I can deal with 15' wide winding fairways. I can deal with thick, nasty, thorn filled schule. I can deal with blind shots. Just don't put them together in 1 hole. This is a recipe for frustration and lost discs and is a horrible first impression to a course. To play this hole to par (4), you are forced to make at least 1 blind shot into a winding fairway ~15' wide with punishing nasty rough on both sides. Not many people can do this consistently (and if you could...the rest of the course wouldn't be much of a challenge) and most find themselves either bushwacking, playing super conservative NAGS to stay clean (and take a 6) or just skipping the hole. I normally wouldn't let 1 hole affect a review this much but it dropped a 1/2 star for me because it is just NOT FUN to play.
- Signage. Some holes are lacking signs and those that are there are weird. Instead of long/short distances you get this weird A/B(tee) X/Y (pin) matrix where A>B = 50', B>X = 200', X>Y = 30'. So if you are shooting A>Y it would be ~280 (assuming they are all in line which they are not. There are generally reasonable next tee signs where needed but a few more could be helpful.
- Tees. They are all natural (except 1 which has a way too small rubber mat) which i can deal with. The big problem is - where are they supposed to be? A few have small surveyors flags to mark them. A few are marked with stone piles. A few are completely unmarked (or i couldn't decipher the mark) but have a worn in spot from play. Then there were a few where I just had to completely guess. No discernible marking anywhere so i guess this looks good. Oh - and this is for the 'long' tees. Good luck finding the shorts....
- Hole 14 (may be incorrect as its from memory) someone has stacked logs and made a small circle ~15' behind the pin. This is a longer hole through the woods so there is a decent potential for a long upshot if short or offline on your drive. These logs catch overthrown upshots 15' from the pin and take away all of the risk on that upshot skipping/sliding past the pin for a long putt. Might as well run that basket as you'll end up with at worst a 15' putt.
- Not a huge factor but something to be aware of is in the spring the front 9 is very, very muddy. At a time where other courses were playable but wet the front 9 had deep sticky mud throughout. If playing in the spring you may want to consider playing only the back 9 (or wear good boots and bring an extra towel).
Other Thoughts: This is a course that I would love to like as it is one of the closer courses to me...but to be honest I'd rather drive the extra 20 minutes to play basil if I was after a game of tight, technical golf. There are some fun holes on the course. There are many tight & technical shots. There are a few super short ace runs. But the cons just make me drive past to one of the many better Rochester courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad

1    5/12/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: potential
Cons: this course is short lots of trees no good signs no tee pad not worth going to play at all by far worse course in rochester long walk to hole one between 9-10 hole one is the worst designed hole in Rochester by far if u go off the path u batter say goodbye to the disc playable with putter or Frisbee on most holes no good direction to hole one or hole 10 faded signage not real clear
Other Thoughts: Major redesign needed or clearing of brush. needs new signage. needs some help. not my cup of tea don't have to agree with me just my opinion

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Lend a hand!

5+    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Brugizzle
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety!
-This course offers a lot of variety from wooded holes with defined lanes (1/2/4/6/814/15/16/17/18), Holes to grip it and rip it (7/9/10/11), and many holes with multiple tee and basket placements.
-Its a pretty easy course to navigate as long as you've played it once or twice.
-Many birdie and Ace opportunity holes
-Great course for all us thumber handed players!
Cons: Some of this may be redundant, but stick with me!
-Tee signs - Many of them are very hard to read and understand how the hole should be played for those not used to playing it
- Tee Pads - Many holes can be somewhat dangerous because of uneven ground, stumps, and roots, be very careful with teeing off
- Along with Tee Pads - Wet and muddy, if it rains, make sure you're on some good ground because this course does not drain well
- Next tee signs - The small yellow ones have since been disappearing and the silver metal ones a friend and I made a few years back have slowly been disappearing
- Hole 7/9 -> Burn or remove the brush piles and brush forrest filled with nothing but thick thorns and Poison Ivy, Look out!
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts - The hole point to my title is to let you know that its not just up to the local pro and designer to keep the course looking good. My Uncle and I try to help out in any way we can to improve the look of the course. Some of the work we've done

Basket 2 -> Hole 3 tee - Path is cleaned up and defined as well as the tee area cleaned up.
Hole 6 Tees - Some rocks moved to define tee area and markers with rocks moved from Hole 5 rock pile.
Hole 15 Tees - Tee pad area cleared and defined with tree limbs and rocks
Hole 17 basket -> 18 Tees - Our pride and joy. My uncle and I, every tie we play move 5 or 6 rocks at a time from the surrounding rock piles to make the rock circle at 18's tees all the way back to both basket placements of 17.

Now did I write all this for a pat on the back? Nope. I'm writing this to show that its not just the duty of the course pro to keep the course up to par and look good, lend a hand and help out, even if it's by moving a few rocks at a time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short but fun course

5+    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - short course can be played quickly if in a hurry
- almost every hole requires a certain line which can makes this course a challenge despite being short
- several short holes that are possible birdies or aces
- bathrooms on site at parking lot
- separate parking area that you can use if you only want to play back 9 (which plays faster than front 9)
- while there are no "wow" holes, the holes are varied and interesting
- navigation of course is good, it can be navigated fairly well without a map or directional signs as long as you know #10 starts across the road from #9 by the pond
- not much time is spent looking for discs except for Hole #1 and Hole #9
- multiple basket placements (which aren't changed all that much)
- while course is mostly wooded there are some relatively open holes which provide a little more freedom (4 holes to be exact #7,9,10,11)
- not a lot of people to contend with or wait for while playing disc golf- non disc golf use of the park does not interfere with the course except for the occasional dog walker which doesn't really affect your round
Cons: - no tee pads
- signs are in disrepair
- tees are not very clear. Sometimes they are marked with flags and sometimes with painted sticks. The color of the flag doesnt always match the sticks. At least two holes #1, and #16 do not have tee markers.
- no amazing holes
- not too much variety with the kinds of shots required. Most holes can be accomplished with a hyzer shot, although a line needs to be mantained to avoid trees.
- not much use of elevation. Hole #11 is the only hole with elevation
- no method of marking what basket is in place (really not a problem because they never change them)
Other Thoughts: This course while not having any amazing features can be quite fun to play especially if in a hurry. Watch out for hole 1. It can be easy to lose discs here. Many people are not a fan of this hole and skip it. I am a fan of it because it provides a challenge. The brush has been cut back from what it used to be. There is also a lot of brush on hole #9. There are two ways to reach the basket. You can throw through the narrow path with semi-dense brush on both sides or hyzer around the brush altogether. On hole 6 the mandatory is to the left of the tree. On hole 15 there is a M on a tree. Either ignore the mandatory or pick a side of the tree for your round, there is no set mandatory (there used to be a revolving mandatory but that disappeared. The right of the tree is the easier path at least for right handers. Hole 16 can be thought of as an island hole. There are white stakes around the rocks surrounding the green although I never usually play this way. I also saw a yellow flag further up the fairway which may be a drop zone or it could just be the short tee. I am trying to confirm that with the course designer. All in all this course can be quite fun to play and you will figure out where to tee from after playing several times. I would rate this course a three if the tee situation was fixed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NOT BAD NOT GREAT

2-4    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some nice challenging holes being both wooded and open. a few nice lanes to the baskets.
Cons: NEED BETTER SIGNS!!!!!!!!! and some work on the tee pads cuz someone is gunna twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: there is nothing wrong with hole #1. those of you who skip this hole are just a bunch of wuss'

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better then Rated

5+    1/8/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: theeassassin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few open holes but mainly wooded and built for accuracy. Most holes have good lanes to the basket. Nice baskets. Around football and baseball fields that make it fun rip thru a few bags a discs to get a judgement on drive power. Easy navigation.
Cons: Can get pretty muddy. Just since October I have noticed that many of the hole and next tee signs have come up missing which could make it hard to navigate for first time players. Could use some better mat tee's for the muddier holes. Falling off lanes and into roughs can take some extra shots to get back on track.
Other Thoughts: Whats everyone's deal with hole 1? Yes its narrow and about as harsh as a rough can get but its a short par 4, just play it smart and dont let overconfidence and wanna be big arm get the best of you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 much improved

5+    5/28/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - short, mostly wooded course (only 4 holes in the open). could be played with fairway, mid, and putter because this course is more about accuracy
- back 9 has more interesting change in scenery/topography, helping create more enjoyable holes. hole 10 begins over by the pond
- course designer has been working hard to improve course recently, widening some fairways and adding new basket placements
- nearly every hole has 2 basket placements (if not 3) that are changed during the year. these changes can alter disc selection and your line (rather than simply causing you to "just throw farther") and help the holes feel fresh. this is the only course in rochester that has so many different basket placements, which i consider a very cool feature
- several baskets are elevated on top of rocks, which make for a fun putting experience

Cons: - hole #1. fairway is now more reasonable, but if you go off the fairway, the rough is a beast. if playing with a group, use spotters. can be EXTREMELY frustrating, and can really make the start of your round sluggish.
- signs. they're somewhat functional, giving you an idea of basket location and tees, but the graphics are horrible.
Other Thoughts: suggestions:
- skip #1 altogether to avoid a slow/annoying start to your round. instead, start with #2 and finish with #19 (the practice basket near the parking lot) by teeing off near the woods after 18. or, we also like to finish by using the tee for #12 (the peninsula tee) and throw over the pond to basket #10. very fun.
- if you find the front 9 to be too wet, consider heading over to the back 9. i've never found it too wet to play and is usually considerably drier if there's been rain.
thanks to the designer:
he's put in a lot of work recently and you can tell that he really cares about improving the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/4/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 67  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: multiple basket placements throughout the year

creative mandatories, and names for every hole

practice basket by the parking lot.

a lot of fun to play in the winter.

steaks on top of the baskets make them visible from a distance.

Cons: located at a town park with a large amount of athletic fields for football, baseball, and soccer. can be very busy during the nicer months. some of the holes play very close to a number of these fields.

most of the signs have been updated, some still have complicated "distance addition" on them (hard to explain check it out for yourself).

Other Thoughts: course has undergone quite an overhaul this fall. many changes have been made to fairways, adding a kiosk by the practice basket, and even hole locations. some little changes including updating the signage, steaking out multiple tees, and adding steaks to the tops of the baskets have made a big difference for the better. this is a nice course for the winter since the park is a lot quieter without sports going on. this course still doesn't crack my top 10, but its a step in the right direction to being something great someday.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Expected

2-4    12/31/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Optional Mandos, mix of shot types, good introduction to tournament style courses with an optional Island Green hole. Some wooded holes, other more open holes.

Several different course design tricks like guarded baskets and elevated baskets make different techniques necessary.

Pretty good signage, arrows pointing to next tees and tee signs. The signs could actually show a map or something, but they're a lot better than nothing.
Cons: Hole might be as bad as everybody says, but I played with some locals and apparently nobody actually PLAYS hole 1.

Is that good course design? No. Should it be fixed? Probably. Does it really affect the casual round when you're just going to check out a course? No!

Just do like the locals, play basket 9 from somewhere near the parking lot, basket 2 is just a VERY short walk behind basket 9 in that direction, and the course flows great this way.

The only other thing I don't like is on the actual hole 9 there's not a lot of places to avoid going in the rough, there's a 6' wide path between a ton of prickers and tall grasses, and not a good bailout around the outsides.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is actually pretty cool, but I can see why a lot of people don't like it.

I don't think it deserves such a low score, but I think people are unwilling to bend the rules for casual play. Let's be perfectly clear here, there is no umpire in the bushes with a whistle that is going to kick you out if you miss a mando. Nobody's going to beat you with a stick or fine you for not following the island green rule.

Just play the game to have fun, play the course the way you want to, and you'll have an enjoyable round on this at times challenging but never truly unfair course.

//

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Could have been good

1    7/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: hmmm...it has baskets and is better then a poke in the eye with a sharp stick.
Cons: The only course I've ever played to the wrong basket. Oh yeah the loose rocks are crazy. IF YOU WANT TO TURN AN ANKLE PLAY THIS COURSE. It has tee signs on 95 percent of the holes but they make no sense.
Other Thoughts: The worst thing is this course could have been so much more. I think I would laugh in someone's face if they said they wanted to play here.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.