Brockport, NY 
Sweden Town Park Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Decent course, might need a chainsaw

1    6/15/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: InternationalLog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was a decent wooded course. Some of the holes seemed inventive through the use of mandatories and basket placement. The park also has a nice restroom at the beginning/end of the course.
Cons: As stated before, Hole 1 is atrocious. There needs to be an amateur tee for that hole. Additionally, I feel that the tees needed to be more clearly marked, as it is difficult to determine where you are actually supposed to throw from. Sometimes a bit hairy in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Although the park is shared with many other activities, the disc golf course completely avoids potential problems with other park users.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This desrves better

1    6/3/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a lot of realy nice woods shots and it is realy layed out nice. the holes were well marked and easy to find. (short of the first) 16 read the sign there is a very interesting manditory that is a fun spin on that hole if your willing and skillful enough to try it
Cons: the first hole is the most discouraging hole i have ever played. I played in eairly june and it was so saveirly over grown just use a mid range short all of your shots so you can keep it on the fairway after that your free and clear to let loose and throw your brains out, on 17 i would not sugest trying for the basket with a dx because the basket is on a pile of rocks that if you hit hard enough you will break a disk.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Many Trees need accuracy

5+    7/15/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: greenrod1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accuracy is the name of the game at times and this course demands it.A very good course to play all your shots. Thumbers and Tomahawks a must.
Cons: Hole # 1... have skipped this hole more times than we can count. Has become custom to play 2-18 and then throw at #19as a 3.(Practice basket) from outside of basket of 18. If your off your game a little you could have a long day. Tees can be a little rough at times.As this is my home course I wanted to get a drive together to bring cement tees to this course, But until work is completed on hole #9 and #10 it wouldn't make much sense as I cant see the Tees current placement remaining
Other Thoughts: This course continues to be a work in progress. and even more so now. It looks like there will be more work needed as it looks like there will be construction through the ninth Hole and a road is being put in from new student housing area that is splitting Hole #10

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy Over Power

5+    5/16/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't have alot of power? Not a problem here, accuracy is the name of the game at this course. Signs make it easy to navigate.
Cons: Very tight fairways. Throwing overhand makes or breaks your game for too many holes. Few instances of elevation change. Hole 1 is very hard and if you miss the fairway you may never see your disc again.
Other Thoughts: Average course all the way around, but it will definately give you a lesson in throwing for accuracy. Don't try to do too much, just hit the fairway with every shot. Par for the course is not listed on the website, but the signs list it. It's 56, holes 1 and 18 are par 4's the rest are par 3's

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OK for a Change

7/19/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets in good shape with nice markers to next tee, Tee sites fairly easy to find with signage for each hole. Possible signature holes (# 6 with Mando & 90 degree turn in fairway, # 12 open field drive & then into woods) Interesting mix of holes from # 7on through to # 18 with some elevation in play, in and out of the woods.
Cons: Tough start on # 1 where an errant throw is greeted by tangled brush on both sides. Even fairway on # 1 was high weeds. Holes 2 - 6 play much the same way, no real variety until you hit # 7. Transition from 9 to 10 is tough (no signs) if you don't know where you are going.
Other Thoughts: This park was very busy with soccer tournament but it had no effect on parking or play. Woods were nice and cool on a very hot and humid day, caught in downpour on the last few holes but well sheilded by woods there also. Drove some 30 miles to play this but may not return soon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc eating trees

7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: MarkN
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many interesting holes, mostly wooded. Forces broad range of shots on relatively short but challenging holes. Most of the wooded holes lack understory, easy to find wayward discs. Course generally well marked.
Cons: This course strikes me as a bit sadistic, at least for someone as un-accurate as me, left me questioning several posted pars. Many holes have tight fairways, some with considerable brush that gobble discs (#1 & 9 in particular). Poison ivy adundant in spots (various holes in back 9).
Other Thoughts: Leave the distance driver at home, sunglasses won't do much good either.

Look out for baseball spectators peeing in the woods.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Located just west of Rochester, NY. Most holes play in the woods. A nice course that is still rough around the edges. Great location for a course except one hole plays near a little league field. (This may have changed) Most holes play short but ae not easy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 soo many trees!

5+    11/27/2009   9/20/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 205  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging holes, interesting maditories on 2 holes one is a changing maditory. course is a nice finess course for experienced players.
Course utilizes multiple tee pads and basket positions to change slightly through out the season to prevent monotony. course has little to no outside traffic. course flows well with some signage directing you to the next tee. some holes have tee signs.
*update: bathrooms facility added (not always open)
practice tee for warming up.
Cons: Hole 1 has been moved and is not only hard to find, but it is a horrible hole (over 40 courses played and I still think this is the worst hole ever 2.5 years later). it is a pointless disc eater that my friends refuse to play, instead they throw for 18 to the 19 practice basket to get a full 18 holes

The heavily wooded nature of this course makes it less beginner friendly. Sweden is not the course to introduce players to the sport.
There is a decent chance of disc loss in the foliage so leave your green discs at home.
Other Thoughts: the course changes frequently so know where the baskets are before you toss.
*update: hole 10 has chanded to a straight shot with OB on the road.
Hole 1 starts up by the skate park.

If you only have time to play 1/2 choose the back 9.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still Under Construction

7/22/2007   7/25/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very easy to navigate, signs do well to lead you from one hole to the next. Like a well groomed nature trail through the woods. Nice snack bar at the practice basket.
Cons: The course was not complete yet when I played it. Baskets 1 and 9 were not there yet, and there were only plans for tee markers. I'm sure these temporary issues will soon be fixed, but as I tell my students, "I can't grade based on potential."
In addition: you need some math to figure out the distance of each hole from what is marked on the signs. The front nine is totally separated from the back nine. The small pond in the course is just for show and really doesn't come into play; it would be neat if it did.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be a good course, but when I played it was only passable. I'm sure it is progressing as I type this, but even so I cannot see it ever matching Chestnut Ridge as far as shorter woods courses around here go.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.