Gorham, ME 
Bennett Disc Farm Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 216ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Could be better,

1    6/18/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is hard one to analyze, if only because it's so different than anything else that I've played. A good portion of the holes are on an open field, with some real distance on a lot of them.

On many, narrow fairways are mowed into tall grass. At some points along the way, wider circles are mowed. These provide targets to hit along the way, if you don't to spend hours searching the 4-foot high grass for your disc. It requires a different kind of accuracy: the path your disc takes is irrelevant, only the landing spot matters. At the very least, its interesting.

There are also a few holes that stand out. In particular, three is memorable. It's not the first time I've thrown from a high platform, but this was a good one.

There's also a hole where your drive is essentially layed up to the foot of a cliff, from which point you try to place your disc at the top of the cliff. Then you climb the cliff using a rope anchored to the ground above.
Cons: While it's fun to aim for the mowed areas, its really a cheap way to increase difficulty. After all, once you locate your disc in the rough, your next throw is not really affected the way it would in ball golf. So the tall grass here doesn't make the course more difficult, it just makes it more frustrating.

While the woods holes features some of the more interesting shots, they also feature some of the worst maintenance. There was a basket in there that was essentially covered by tall grasses. Basically, anywhere that you can't get a mower was left a little on the wild side. A weedwacker would a nice investment.

Finally, good signs would be a tremendous help in navigation, especially in the open holes. I played from the first tee to what I now believe to be the 17th basket. I just played onto 2, which is a shame because it looked like 1 would have been a solid hole to play.
Other Thoughts: There's a very good, even a great course here but navigation and frustration issues mean its merely good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big arms rejoice

2-4    7/31/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 72  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained on a very nice property. The baskets and tee pads are in great shape. All the open fairways and greens are mowed and the wooded fairways are clear.

Trash cans at most tees keep the course relatively litter free.

There are a lot of opportunities to test your arm and throw for max distance without any obstacles in the way.
Cons: This course is very open, leaving it very much at the mercy of the weather. There is not a lot of shade on sunny days. And the wind can really whip through, especially on the hill tops.

There isn't a lot of imagination on the hole design. Since most holes are play clear over grass, it's mostly a grip and rip course. There isn't a lot of need to shape unique lines.

Signs have hole number only. It would be nice to see distance listed particularly since it can be very hard to guage distance on the wide open holes.

The tall grass off the fairways can really eat discs. It's best to play with a group to comb the field to find errant throws faster.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course to go out of your way to play, but if you're in the area, it's certainly worth a look. I don't have a lot of specific pros listed, but that doesn't mean it's not fun to play, there just isn't a lot to call out.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice secluded piece of property that seems well maintained by a very friendly group of staff. There were some long holes to pull out the big discs on, and a handful of wonderful holes playing through the woods. There are two intertwined layouts that offer variety for returning players, or more bang for your buck if you want to play them back to back.
Cons: I think this course suffers from too many wide open holes. I want obstacles that force me to throw a variety of shots, but on so many holes here you can aim straight for the pin. I was fortunate to play on a very windy day which provided a different type of challenge, but on a calm day I think this would play too easy.

The other con is that they could really use some professional signage. With a non-intuitive layout that requires crossing back over holes you've already played, some "next tee" arrows would be a big improvement. I also missed having basic map + distance signs at the teepads.
Other Thoughts: There is paintball on site, so if you're into that as well, this could be a great place to spend a day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 the 'rough' is ROUGH

5+    7/27/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: xZombiEx
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all! VERY long holes, short holes, and lots of elevation changes. Holes 5-8 move through the woods for an added challenge, The rest of the course is primarily field play. Also a 9 hole putting area for a warm-up.
Cons: The grass in the 'rough' is SO LONG that it is entirely possible to lose a disc for 20 minutes when it only goes three or four feet into the tall grass. Also, the owner deals primarily with paintball, so the pro shop is never adequately stocked. Make sure to bring all the discs you will need for the day.
Other Thoughts: When I was in college this was my home course because it is 3 miles from where I went to school. Overall this is a quality course and deserves a play through, but I have observed the same negative aspects for the last 4 years.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center