Sheboygan, WI 
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 236ft.   4 / 236ft.   4 / 236ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  City screwed up the course

5+    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Brabyn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Gear cousre for a beginner but super easy for any one that's has been Playing for years.
Cons: The city of sheboygan has screwed up the course by taking a bunch of trees out of hole 12 and 14, in summer there are too many little kids running around the park, it's just not what it used to be.
Other Thoughts: If your comri g to Sheboygan to paly this course go for it, it's a good course but also go to the Cory o hwy 42 it a much better course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be Bery Bery fun!

1    6/25/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18+ hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Other than 2-3 holes, the potential for punishment happens either too close to the basket or is not severe enough to ever turn a bad throw into a bogey. A big part of this issue is that most of the holes are just very short. There are several baskets located near the edge of large drop-offs - very clever use of terrain features! That will most likely inflict the most punishment to anyone who is off their game.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(This is a birdie fest old school course. Only 3-4 of the holes offer any exhilaration for carding a deuce. To me, the only excitement is stringing together a whole bunch of birdies. Fun factor is through the roof - challenge factor…..ehhhhh)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Despite its short length and lowish challenge factor, this course is absolutely amazing in how it uses all the land features available!! I do not think there are more than 2 holes that are the same on the entire course (3 & 4 are pretty similar). Up, down, right, left, early turn, late turn, straight……you got it all. A fabulous place to learn the game of DG on!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(The course is pretty much on top of itself in a very nice municipal park….on the shore of Lake Michigan. Cleanliness, maintenance and the lake boost this score, but seclusion is lacking for those rounds where you just "wanna get away".)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (180+ 18-hole, 100+ 9-hole as of late 2010), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun old course

1    7/3/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an old school course, but with some great design elements that make it still fun to play. It uses the hills and ravine in the park quite well to make the generally short holes interesting and challenging. There are some steep holes, and many risky greens that make you really think about going for it on putts. There is a great variety of left and right turning holes that make you throw a variety of lines to score well here.

There are decent concrete tees that are plenty large enough for the length of the holes. There are decent tee signs showing hole layout and distance, including both pin placements. The alternate placements looked like they would change things up a little and add a little more variety. There is a pro shop near the beginning of the course with pretty good selection.
Cons: The course is crowded, making for some waiting on large groups and a pretty long round. There isn't much parking, with only street spots and lots of people playing. The heavy traffic has also led to lots of erosion on the hills and around the tees. There is no marking for which pin position is in use, and there are a couple of blind holes that make for some extra walking.

The design is solid, but there isn't enough room to make it very long or difficult. There are some places where the fairways get very close to one another making for some possible safety issues on a crowded day, be prepared to duck. The baskets are a little older and don't catch perfectly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, though not all that challenging. It's an awesome beginner course, with not too much rough and short distances, but great variety. More experienced players will have a great time with a putter and maybe a mid here, and though it won't test too many parts of your game, it's a great place to relax and play a round with friends. This one's worth a stop if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 definition of old school course

5+    7/30/2008   1/30/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're planning on writing a paper on the history of disc golf courses; this would be a fine place to begin the "classic designs of yesteryear" portion.
Elevation used on many holes. As expressed in other reviews; ravine is played up and down; in and around. This is just the main ravine. There are also two other hilly sections at the beginning and end of course.
The "Lake Monster"; hole #13; is a classic. 350 ft. with Lake Michigan running the right side of fairway, the entire length. Most of the time, it's possible to retrieve an errant throw here; but be extremely careful on the slippery, shore side rocks. Ankle breakers here.
I enjoy hole #14 a great deal, as well. Uphill, blind anny (rhbh).
Hole #15 a bit of a chucker; with road o.b. right.
Hole #16 very tucked in small pines, pin placement.
Hole #17 pin placed on the edge of large drop off.
#18, another decent chucker hole; so, last five holes, a good finish to this course.
Persons nearly always present to fulfill your plastic purchasing needs at "the shack"; near tee for hole one. Ask, and it's very possible someone is around to sell you as old and rare a disc as you may want for your collection.
Cons: While there is some form of difficulty on each and every hole at Vollrath; i.e. trees, blind hole, elevation, or all of the above; this is a short course; with no real possibility to add footage.
Course is very heavily played and has been for more than three decades and it shows in terms of course wear. On the plus side of this; I am actually fairly amazed that hills have not completely eroded to extremely dangerous levels; nor have I ever heard any talk from parks department; regarding issues in this regard.
Sheboygan/Vollrath vibe, has and, I imagine, always will; be for locals to conduct themselves a bit like they come from "the mean streets." This doesn't mean there will be anyone physically attacking you without provocation or anything. But, there are some foolish youngin's there to take advantage of your not paying attention to your plastic. And playing with Vollrath locals, you will find them saying things under their breath; just loud enough for you to hear; like...."oh, we don't have to worry about this guy," or, "wonder how long this guy's been playing?"; if you're kind of new to the game. They are known for using "gamesmenship."
Other Thoughts: This, though, fairly rural Wisconsin, "welcome to the hood" attitude, is just how they roll here. Many kids begin chucking plastic when they're less than 10 years old and play this course a zillion times before they're 15. They have a very pronounced "home boy/field bias." And, as a group, will attempt to use it on you for home field advantage.
This is backed up in their minds by two time world champ; Barry Schultz having honed his skills here as a young man. Aaron Wilde, who for a few years competed head to head with Barry; and finished top 30 in the World; also was making every putt from 50 foot in, when he was a teenager; and later developed a cannon arm to go with this. Long time pro; Steve Held, also grew up in the neighborhood.
In other words, they've got the pedigree as a spawning ground for disc excellence.
Part of the reason for this; relates back to the old school perfection of Vollrath. 1) Kids get out here young. 2) Kids were getting out here in the 1970s (an earlier review stated Vollrath is first course in Wisconsin; I maintain that Dr. George W. Hilliard Park, in Beloit, is older; but, I will ask anyone to prove me wrong on this; as I did in my review of that course.) 3) Due to the weekly leagues for players of all ages; for such a long period of time; all Vollrath players must learn to putt like madmen. You must score tons of birds here to compete with the likes of Barry and Steve and Aaron. Therefore, putting skills are at a premium. Drive for show and putt for dough; is the underlying motto at this course.
A fun feature of the annual state tourney stop; are a couple of holes; #2 and #15; which have artificial or road o.b. special rules; which force shots played from o.b. to be thrown with your opposite hand.
Though, from a toughness stand point, this course is probably only a 2.5 rated course; huge amounts of state players will make an annual pilgrimage to Vollrath, for the joy of ace runs; meeting up with long time local friends, and simply the overall ambiance and history of this old school layout. If you're in the area; I suggest you do the same.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.