Sheboygan, WI 
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 202ft.   4 / 202ft.   4 / 202ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Oldie but still holds up as fun

2-4    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well marked course in a very nice park. Pro shop actually on course too, something I haven't seen much of at any of the other courses around here.
This is the oldest course in Wisconsin and you can tell. Many of the holes are very short by current standards. As such you will find yourself using mid range discs for all but the last 6 holes.
This course plays over a ravine for many holes. As such there are plenty of elevation changes making many holes feel much closer than they actually are.
You also have several blind shots that curve to the right which adds a level of difficulty for RHBH throwers like myself. Something needed as the holes are very short otherwise.
Even with the lake right next to you there is no true water hazard. As the only hole you travel along the lake would take a terrible errant throw to put in in the lake. The bigger hazard is all the trees you will most likely hit along the way on all the holes.
Cons: On many holes the pin is within 30 feet of the next tee. Making the tee easy to find, but also means when you tee off you are in danger of hitting the next group all the time. Because it is quite the busy park.
You need to play with a group and pay attention to where the discs land. If you don't make the fairway and hit the wooded rough it is quite easy to spend 5 minutes or more looking for your discs.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play the oldest course in the State. Just remember that when a course is that old it was designed at a time where all anyone had was a putter so expect the short shots and a more control oriented game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

WI's oldest

1    6/28/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: The course is set in a popular park alongside Lake Michigan. There are nice level concrete tees on each hole. The baskets are Mach 3's that are all in good shape and caught nicely. Multiple pin placements on most if not all the holes I believe. There are a lot of trees throughout the course. Also the elevation is pretty awesome here. There are a bunch of up and downhill and even across valley shots. This is what really makes this course so good. There are also stairs and steps going up and down many of the steeper hills to aid in getting around. The tee signs here serve their purpose just fine. They have the hole number, basic hole map, par, distances and any alternate pin locations. Hole 13 plays along the lake shore which is pretty cool (and smelly). There is The Shack right by hole 1 which has a good selection of discs. This is very cool and rare for a public course. The course was surprisingly clean for how busy it gets. Also everything was well mowed.
Cons: The course gets extremely busy. There can be long waits and rounds will potentially take longer than expected. Also a bunch of the holes run right next to each other, in fact most do. This is the most dangerous course I've seen in this regard. A little confusing in a few spots for first timers with many tees and baskets being very close. Nothing too major just be aware of it.
Other Thoughts: This is WI's oldest course so it wasn't originally designed for todays discs. Even with that being said it plays just as good today as I'm sure it did back in the day. This is a really, really fun course. There's also a number of other course within a half hour or so making it a good area to play some nice courses. This is a good one though that I'd recommend to any skill level player.

Very cool old school course

5+    10/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 81  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an old school course, with 18 holes somewhat jammed into a city park, on the shore of Lake Michigan. The course offers one set of concrete tees and multiple pin placements on most holes.

Holes 1-4, 7, and 9 are packed together on a moderately wooded section of the park and can get a bit hairy when there are a lot of people are there.

Holes 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 18 play back and forth across a large ravine, which adds in quite a bit of elevation, with 18 being about 350' and going fully across the ravine. Lake Michigan breezes can wreak havoc on your shots here, so be careful!

12-17 play back around the backside of the park, with a bit of elevation mixed in (12, 14). Most of the holes are pretty straightforward, with many having a defined line. Hole 13 plays right along Lake Michigan, which makes for a great backdrop.
Cons: This course is 18 decent holes packed into a small space. This is the oldest course in WI, so it was designed long before warp speed drivers, so it's hard to ding it too much.

Traffic. This place gets BUSY...and being right in the middle of town, a lot of that traffic is teenyboppers. Now, I will say that most of the kids are well mannered and polite (and some decent shots, to boot). But there are a large amount of kids who could care less about the people around them, and basically do whatever the hell they want. On a normal day you'll find kids bopping around holes in no particular order, and I certainly wouldn't leave my bag unattended here...definitely a shady element to the place when it's busy.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice little course, especially if you can hit it on an early Saturday morning with nobody else around.

The Shack, which is the pro shop on site, is filled with great people and a decent selection of discs, bags, and other gear. Lots of Innova and a little bit of other brands.

Ample street parking is available, and there's other activities on site. You'll often see kid's sports going on in the bowl, or high school aged kids playing Ultimate. There's also a nice park and pavilion.

Overall, good solid course in a nice setting...especially if you can get there during non-peak times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun Park Setting

1    8/9/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A LOT of variety. Woods, elevation changes, and even a hole along Lake Michigan.

Some interesting basket placement - hidden in smaller areas.

Quite a few aceable holes with good throws - no gimmees.

Decent variety of length as well. More discs in your bag can be played.

Tee pads well marked and maintained.

On site pro shop was a pleasant surprise and the person staffing it was very helpful in giving some advise/direction for first time players.

FREE course - even with scorecards.
Cons: A little confusion on where to go next after a few holes, even trying to follow the scorecard. Fortunately there were enough players out to help us find our way really quick.

Par seems high on quite a few holes. I'd play the course as a straight par 3 - even though they have many holes marked as 4s.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know where the basket is before you throw. Some hole's baskets can be mistaken for others. I would definitely play this course more times if/when I'm back in the area. Love finding free courses like this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Busy

5+    10/14/2009   7/25/2010
Review By: barrykatiejones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great park and kept up well, Information and disc store right at the park, great challenges
Cons: Very busy park, parking can be a pain.
Other Thoughts: Great course we enjoy this one for a good challenge. Course is clean and there is a place for cooking out and a play ground

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Older the Sweeter

5+    6/18/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of different holes.Tests ur skills.Right by lake for nice view.Locals are cool and has shack to buy disc.
Cement tees.Change pin location from time to time.
Cons: Lot of walking up and down hills. Holes are kinda crowded.Summer its crawling with annoying little kids. No pro tees.
Other Thoughts: I live in sheboygan so this is one of my home courses, and i play it a lot.When its not packed with kids u can have a lot of fun here.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed, But Pretty Cramped...

5+    5/10/2010   6/3/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Some tight fairways, a few long holes (though most are short and reachable), elevation, Lake Michigan in play on the "Lake Monster," lots of trees.
2. Dedicated locals. The guys who run The Shack and a lot of the regulars out here are just great people. If you're out here alone, someone will usually ask if they can play along with you; a great place to meet some new friends with similar interests! Also, I don't think I've ever seen or heard of another city where the young kids are as into disc golf as in Sheboygan. When school gets out, and especially during the summer, this place is a ZOO. Some con associated with that; see below.
3. Maintenance. There are areas that probably don't need maintenance just because of the foot traffic alone wearing everything down, but there are plenty of trash cans and you'll typically see people packing their trash (even the guys who are so drunk they can barely stand will crush their cans and carry them with them). Well manicured.
4. Concrete tees.
5. BRAND NEW signs at each hole! The Sheboygan Jaycees bought new signs, and they look fantastic!
Cons: 1. Cramped. Some fairways are just too close for comfort. While the real cramped areas are the shorter holes, and thus not as many high-speed drivers rippin' through the park, you still gotta watch where you're going on most of the Front 9 and some of the Back. Most people are at least courteous to yell "Fore!," but you gotta look out for Number One (that's you; watch your cranium and shins!).
2. Disc theives. I don't know how bad of a problem this still is, and I personally never had a disc blatantly snatched up from my lie, but many people told me to watch my discs carefully out here. Sometimes sticky-fingered local brats will hide in the tall shrubbery off a blind tee, knowing that errant shots tend to fall that way, and have been known to grab your shanked shot and run off with it. I've also heard of kids waiting for a group to tee off, and while the group ahead watches their teammates' shots, the kids quickly snatch a disc out of one of their bags (usually a driver so it's not immediately noticed, i.e. at the next tee). Damn snakes.
3. Not a year-round course, but plenty of others in the area are (LTC Cleveland).
4. Vandalism. As a course designer, it particularly irks me to see baskets marked with Aces (or even Deuces--Seriously?). Nobody cares if you aced a hole. I sure don't. Write it on your disc. Apparently it's not uncommon for a basket to go missing here or at Quarry. Simply despicable, and even more, disrespectful. People don't appreciate the thought and planning that goes into a course and the benefits a decent course can have on a community. Hopefully the new tee signs don't get all marked up, but with how many pre-teens are out here (the typical "vandal" demographic), it almost seems inevitable, and perhaps the course maintainers have come to terms with that. I'd like to see just a little more respect out of Sheboygan's players, though.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty legendary, one of the oldest courses in the ground. Numerous improvements have been made over the years, and as of May 2010 this course is looking pristine, better than I've ever seen it. This is Barry Schultz's home course, dang it, so come play the course where one of the best in the game BECAME one of the best in the game. You'll probably see some future Barrys out here, too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible design, fun holes, challenging yet short, but poorly maintained.

1    5/9/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome design of a course. It has some open holes, wooded holes, holes up some large slopes, some down the slopes, some with baskets perched right on the slopes, one running along a rumbling Lake Michigan against the bouldered shoreline. Great views on many holes.

2) Lots of mature trees that influence your shot types.

3) Incredible use of the property elevation changes.Some holes you have to throw really high and lose a lot of distance because of the height of the disc. The couple holes where you throw out across the valley change your throws dramatically, especially if you are concerned about your disc staying near the basket as opposed to rolling away.

4) Awesome setting for a disc golf course because it is right on Lake Michigan.

5) Nice concrete tee pads and decent signage although none of the alternate distances are written on the signs.

Cons: 1) Not by any stretch of the imagination is this a beginner course. There are simply too many obstacles and too much elevation change. I do look at this as a positive but it has to be mentioned so if you are a beginner, practice up a bit before you hit this course up.

2) Turf areas are bare on the slopes and including the walked areas.

3) Course could really use some help of stairs to get up and down a few of the hills. Some are present but falling apart, slippery, or just poorly built.

4) Lots of garbage cans, but garbage is still present around the course.

5) Layout is a little goofy in a few spots. It is very tight on the first 9 holes, they are crammed into a very small area. They also loop around a couple times which is very confusing. I almost threw from #6 tee over #12 tee to the 14th basket, thinking that ws the hole, then I turned around and saw the basket. The first 4 are fairly open on top of the hill, 5 goes across the valley, 6 goes back across the valley, 7 is back by #1-4, 8 Goes across the valley again, walk back up the hill to #9, #10 comes back across the valley again, and #11 takes you back up the hill for the final time.
Other Thoughts: Not a positive or negative, but it has to be mentioned that the course is short overall (around a 200-220' average), but because of the trees and elevation changes it plays a lot longer than the overall distance.

Quite possibly this course factors some of the best design essentials into a golf course, but because of how old and beat up the course is the overall rating is probably a point lower than I would have given if it was a brand new course. #2 and #3 in my negatives are the biggest reason why this course isn't rated higher than 4. It is an excellent course in design and challenege and fun factor, but the overall maintenance is lacking significantly. I don;t even know if it would be possible to maintain turf or anything on some of these slopes, but have well designed and placed stairway would certainly save on the ground foliage (turf or other) in some of those areas. People are simply trying to climb some of the hills where they shouldnt be and that will kill the grass quickly. They will continue to slip and rip out the turf. ( I know, only a turfgrass management professional would notice this, but it is true. Stairs would improve so many areas on this course because people would climb the stairs instead of the other areas.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: mojo2090
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -there was a very large variety in the holes.
-some very large elevation changes
-concrete tees
-stairs for the hills
Cons: -the course was WAY to short, a lot of the holes were under 200 feet
-all you heard the whole time was "FORE", the holes were all cramped together
-there was nothing telling you where the pin is.
Other Thoughts: extremely over crowded. two or three groups on every hole

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

8/16/2007   4/12/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots required, some elevation changes, right on the shore of Lake Michigan in a public park. Some trees, but not ridiculous. Holes are a bit on the short side which is fun for the amateur, and the trees keep the better disc golfers humble.
Cons: sometimes hard to navigate due to layout, vandalism on signs, etc.
Other Thoughts: Our threesome had a lot of fun on this course, and we'd definitely return if ever in the area again.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.