Sheboygan, WI
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 170ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Very cool old school course

5+    10/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an old school course, with 18 holes somewhat jammed into a city park, on the shore of Lake Michigan. The course offers one set of concrete tees and multiple pin placements on most holes.

Holes 1-4, 7, and 9 are packed together on a moderately wooded section of the park and can get a bit hairy when there are a lot of people are there.

Holes 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 18 play back and forth across a large ravine, which adds in quite a bit of elevation, with 18 being about 350' and going fully across the ravine. Lake Michigan breezes can wreak havoc on your shots here, so be careful!

12-17 play back around the backside of the park, with a bit of elevation mixed in (12, 14). Most of the holes are pretty straightforward, with many having a defined line. Hole 13 plays right along Lake Michigan, which makes for a great backdrop.
Cons: This course is 18 decent holes packed into a small space. This is the oldest course in WI, so it was designed long before warp speed drivers, so it's hard to ding it too much.

Traffic. This place gets BUSY...and being right in the middle of town, a lot of that traffic is teenyboppers. Now, I will say that most of the kids are well mannered and polite (and some decent shots, to boot). But there are a large amount of kids who could care less about the people around them, and basically do whatever the hell they want. On a normal day you'll find kids bopping around holes in no particular order, and I certainly wouldn't leave my bag unattended here...definitely a shady element to the place when it's busy.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice little course, especially if you can hit it on an early Saturday morning with nobody else around.

The Shack, which is the pro shop on site, is filled with great people and a decent selection of discs, bags, and other gear. Lots of Innova and a little bit of other brands.

Ample street parking is available, and there's other activities on site. You'll often see kid's sports going on in the bowl, or high school aged kids playing Ultimate. There's also a nice park and pavilion.

Overall, good solid course in a nice setting...especially if you can get there during non-peak times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun Park Setting

1    8/9/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A LOT of variety. Woods, elevation changes, and even a hole along Lake Michigan.

Some interesting basket placement - hidden in smaller areas.

Quite a few aceable holes with good throws - no gimmees.

Decent variety of length as well. More discs in your bag can be played.

Tee pads well marked and maintained.

On site pro shop was a pleasant surprise and the person staffing it was very helpful in giving some advise/direction for first time players.

FREE course - even with scorecards.
Cons: A little confusion on where to go next after a few holes, even trying to follow the scorecard. Fortunately there were enough players out to help us find our way really quick.

Par seems high on quite a few holes. I'd play the course as a straight par 3 - even though they have many holes marked as 4s.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know where the basket is before you throw. Some hole's baskets can be mistaken for others. I would definitely play this course more times if/when I'm back in the area. Love finding free courses like this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My First Love

5+    6/26/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: kevinmeves
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 32.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, 18 unique holes, great location, pro shop on site
Cons: Very crowded (popular), neighboring park sometimes interferes with play.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and spent the majority of my summers here as a child.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Crowded

1    7/7/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: 2chainz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun elevation changes and is easily maneuvered; there is many places to practice up and down hill shots that are not normally found in city courses.
Cons: Sooooooo crowded; i felt like i was ontop of another golfer at all timers and some times i had to thread the disc around people let alone the course design. And it wasnt anything too fancy and short for my taste.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The way it all started in Wisco, the right way.

1    9/22/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the street it looks like a pitch and putt course.
Don't get discouraged. There's a whole lot more to it.
I'll start with the scenery. There were only 2 or 3 holes that were typical. Every other hole has it's own unique feel.
The elevation changes enable a fantastic disc golf vibe. Valleys to shoot over, rolling/drop off greens. The whole deal.
Lake Michigan borders a few holes as well as still being visible for fantastic scenery for at least half the round.
Most of the holes can be reached with a soft mid-range or a solid putter throw. Has a few driver worthy holes.
Regardless, the designer got it right.
Mix of Flex, Anny, Hyzer, and Straight on shots.
The realistate isn't "that big" but it's put together very well with the space available.
Baskets are solid, concrete teepads.
Maintained very nicely overall.
Back in the day, disc's were still frisbees and weren't anything like what we have in our bags now. Keep this in mind when you think the course is too short.
Sure someone can pull their utility Roc out and park at least half the holes with a solid throw.
But creativity can (absolutely) be utilized.

Cons: I had read a review prior to visiting the course.
Heard about the un-supervised kids...
Saw the un-supervised kids...
Jumping teepads, running around.
Didn't interfere with (my) round personally.
Other Thoughts: Afterwards I visited "The Shack"- Oldest disc golf pro shop in Wisconsin.
Purchased a 12-time Champ Eagle. Had The Shark and The Dinosuar sign it.
Recieved a little history lesson and a few good ole disc golf stories. Very awesome.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Vollrath

5+    4/20/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lokis Tyro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc shack with a great selection of discs with a great operator. Lots of discs!. On the lake. Great elevation changes. Blind shots are fun. A few holes that are somewhat of a long length. I enjoy playing in the lake winds.
Cons: Too many kids without adult supervision. There have been multiple instances where discs have been stolen because you can't see where you've shot in my group. For the first few holes you're throwing in the direction of the next tee, which is too close for comfort with all the rugrats muckin' up the joint. In my opinion the "improvements" don't make any sense, i.e. trees cut, brick wall..use real live plants to slow erosion! (brick is not forgiving to discs if a mishap occurs, especially their choice of extremely rough textured block), improperly spaced stairs don't seem to make it any safer to travel down the steep incline. Telephone pole support cables, electric box and an unnecessary metal lamp post can also damage discs. I've seen it happen plenty of times. The general population is unwilling to let you play through, even if their group is 2-3 times the size of yours. No pro tees.
Other Thoughts: I don't enjoy this course nearly as much as I used to especially with removing the challenge from 2 of my favorite holes. I pick windy days to come here as its nearly the only time it isn't packed full of kids or early in the morning when the people of Sheboygan are too hungover to play. I gave this course a low rating because it's not being improved properly. Trees are what make this course, don't get rid of any more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  City screwed up the course

5+    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Brabyn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Gear cousre for a beginner but super easy for any one that's has been Playing for years.
Cons: The city of sheboygan has screwed up the course by taking a bunch of trees out of hole 12 and 14, in summer there are too many little kids running around the park, it's just not what it used to be.
Other Thoughts: If your comri g to Sheboygan to paly this course go for it, it's a good course but also go to the Cory o hwy 42 it a much better course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: ShebyDiscer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course. I'm a local and have played this course probably 20 times. There is a neat little pro shop by the hole 1 tee. They sell Innova only which is fine by me. Great use of terrain. Short course but it's still challenging enough due to tight lines and trees. Also, some holes are right next to a drop offs which will make you think twice about putting for the make as opposed to setting it next to the basket. Definitely recommend it if you are in the area.
Cons: Short course.
Busy.
Not so challenging but still fun.
Other Thoughts: #1 Straight with a couple trees to dodge. Drop off behind basket will punish you if you overshoot.
#2 Short but challenging with trees to dodge. punishing drop off by putting green. Blind. Doglegs to the right.
#3 Medium distance. Multiple lines that are all relatively tight due to trees.
#4 Similar to 3 but with drop off 20 feet behind basket.
#5 Short hole with ace opportunity. Watch the crosswinds coming off lake Michigan. A few trees to throw around. Fairway goes over ravine.
#6 Another "aceable" hole but with trees surrounding the pin. Fairway goes over ravine.
#7 Short hole with a few trees scattered in the fairway. Huge drop off on the right.
#8 Challenging. short hole with a tee pad on the edge of a drop off. Basket tucked away in densely wooded terrain.
#9 Short hole calling for a straight shot as there is a narrow lane made of trees. If your shot isn't perfectly straight, it will hit a tree.
#10 Best hole to ace in the whole park. Only one tree to worry about which shouldn't be an issue. Fairway is over a ravine.
#11 Blind. Uphill and doglegs to the right. Short.
#12 Downhill and blind shot. Big risk/reward here. Dense bushes on the left with trees scattered among the fairway.
#13 Volrath is famous for this hole. Lake Michigan on the right. If you feed the lake monster you're not gonna get your disc back unless you go for a swim. Dense woods on the left. Long fairway.
#14 Short blind shot with an uphill dogleg to the right.
#15 Long, straight fairway with a road on the right. Some trees on the left but aren't of any worry except for a bad shot.
#16 Medium distance with trees on left. Basket is on the base of a small hill and under a bushy tree.
#17 The blindiest(if that's a word) blind hole on the course. You have to throw over bushy trees. The basket is on the edge of a punishing drop off.
#18 Longest hole on the course. Fairway is over a ravine. No hazards to worry about just let 'er rip!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/30/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: shackman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: In 2010 a retaining wall was built in front of 18 teepad with the help of VanDerVaart Concrete. Stairs have also been added to help safely decend the hill. Also new tee signs have been donated by the Sheboygan Jaycees, and some new pin placements have been added. Four boy scouts are doing their Eagle community service projects in 2011 to take care of some of the erosion and safety issues. The City of Sheboygan has also become more involved in these projects.
Cons: There are still some erosion issues to be delt with. They will be addressed in the future.
Other Thoughts: Vollrath Park will be celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2011. Please join us at the Pickle Open to see the improvments. For those who think the course is too short bring your Whamos and test your skill.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be Bery Bery fun!

1    6/25/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18+ hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Other than 2-3 holes, the potential for punishment happens either too close to the basket or is not severe enough to ever turn a bad throw into a bogey. A big part of this issue is that most of the holes are just very short. There are several baskets located near the edge of large drop-offs - very clever use of terrain features! That will most likely inflict the most punishment to anyone who is off their game.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(This is a birdie fest old school course. Only 3-4 of the holes offer any exhilaration for carding a deuce. To me, the only excitement is stringing together a whole bunch of birdies. Fun factor is through the roof - challenge factor…..ehhhhh)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Despite its short length and lowish challenge factor, this course is absolutely amazing in how it uses all the land features available!! I do not think there are more than 2 holes that are the same on the entire course (3 & 4 are pretty similar). Up, down, right, left, early turn, late turn, straight……you got it all. A fabulous place to learn the game of DG on!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(The course is pretty much on top of itself in a very nice municipal park….on the shore of Lake Michigan. Cleanliness, maintenance and the lake boost this score, but seclusion is lacking for those rounds where you just "wanna get away".)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (180+ 18-hole, 100+ 9-hole as of late 2010), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.