Sheboygan, WI 
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  
Park Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

1    10/30/2010   1/11/2011
Review By: shackman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: In 2010 a retaining wall was built in front of 18 teepad with the help of VanDerVaart Concrete. Stairs have also been added to help safely decend the hill. Also new tee signs have been donated by the Sheboygan Jaycees, and some new pin placements have been added. Four boy scouts are doing their Eagle community service projects in 2011 to take care of some of the erosion and safety issues. The City of Sheboygan has also become more involved in these projects.
Cons: There are still some erosion issues to be delt with. They will be addressed in the future.
Other Thoughts: Vollrath Park will be celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2011. Please join us at the Pickle Open to see the improvments. For those who think the course is too short bring your Whamos and test your skill.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be Bery Bery fun!

1    6/25/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18+ hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Other than 2-3 holes, the potential for punishment happens either too close to the basket or is not severe enough to ever turn a bad throw into a bogey. A big part of this issue is that most of the holes are just very short. There are several baskets located near the edge of large drop-offs - very clever use of terrain features! That will most likely inflict the most punishment to anyone who is off their game.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(This is a birdie fest old school course. Only 3-4 of the holes offer any exhilaration for carding a deuce. To me, the only excitement is stringing together a whole bunch of birdies. Fun factor is through the roof - challenge factor…..ehhhhh)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Despite its short length and lowish challenge factor, this course is absolutely amazing in how it uses all the land features available!! I do not think there are more than 2 holes that are the same on the entire course (3 & 4 are pretty similar). Up, down, right, left, early turn, late turn, straight……you got it all. A fabulous place to learn the game of DG on!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(The course is pretty much on top of itself in a very nice municipal park….on the shore of Lake Michigan. Cleanliness, maintenance and the lake boost this score, but seclusion is lacking for those rounds where you just "wanna get away".)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (180+ 18-hole, 100+ 9-hole as of late 2010), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 old school

5+    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: AAB37
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: for starter's The oldest 18 hole course in wisconsin. Unbelievable how they got 18 holes in here but they did and tho it is not all to challenging it is the most unique course i have ever played. You have too throw up hill down hill lake michigan right next to hole 13 concrete on every hole brand new tee signs pro shop next to hole 1 multiple pin locations.
Cons: It seems to get played a lot so it gets crowded some fairways get close to each other and the pro shop only sells innova witch is a little annoying.
Other Thoughts: You can just feel the history at this course and i love coming here every chance i get but i live three hours away oh well for me.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Busy

5+    10/14/2009   7/25/2010
Review By: barrykatiejones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great park and kept up well, Information and disc store right at the park, great challenges
Cons: Very busy park, parking can be a pain.
Other Thoughts: Great course we enjoy this one for a good challenge. Course is clean and there is a place for cooking out and a play ground

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun old course

1    7/3/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an old school course, but with some great design elements that make it still fun to play. It uses the hills and ravine in the park quite well to make the generally short holes interesting and challenging. There are some steep holes, and many risky greens that make you really think about going for it on putts. There is a great variety of left and right turning holes that make you throw a variety of lines to score well here.

There are decent concrete tees that are plenty large enough for the length of the holes. There are decent tee signs showing hole layout and distance, including both pin placements. The alternate placements looked like they would change things up a little and add a little more variety. There is a pro shop near the beginning of the course with pretty good selection.
Cons: The course is crowded, making for some waiting on large groups and a pretty long round. There isn't much parking, with only street spots and lots of people playing. The heavy traffic has also led to lots of erosion on the hills and around the tees. There is no marking for which pin position is in use, and there are a couple of blind holes that make for some extra walking.

The design is solid, but there isn't enough room to make it very long or difficult. There are some places where the fairways get very close to one another making for some possible safety issues on a crowded day, be prepared to duck. The baskets are a little older and don't catch perfectly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, though not all that challenging. It's an awesome beginner course, with not too much rough and short distances, but great variety. More experienced players will have a great time with a putter and maybe a mid here, and though it won't test too many parts of your game, it's a great place to relax and play a round with friends. This one's worth a stop if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 definition of old school course

5+    7/30/2008   1/30/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're planning on writing a paper on the history of disc golf courses; this would be a fine place to begin the "classic designs of yesteryear" portion.
Elevation used on many holes. As expressed in other reviews; ravine is played up and down; in and around. This is just the main ravine. There are also two other hilly sections at the beginning and end of course.
The "Lake Monster"; hole #13; is a classic. 350 ft. with Lake Michigan running the right side of fairway, the entire length. Most of the time, it's possible to retrieve an errant throw here; but be extremely careful on the slippery, shore side rocks. Ankle breakers here.
I enjoy hole #14 a great deal, as well. Uphill, blind anny (rhbh).
Hole #15 a bit of a chucker; with road o.b. right.
Hole #16 very tucked in small pines, pin placement.
Hole #17 pin placed on the edge of large drop off.
#18, another decent chucker hole; so, last five holes, a good finish to this course.
Persons nearly always present to fulfill your plastic purchasing needs at "the shack"; near tee for hole one. Ask, and it's very possible someone is around to sell you as old and rare a disc as you may want for your collection.
Cons: While there is some form of difficulty on each and every hole at Vollrath; i.e. trees, blind hole, elevation, or all of the above; this is a short course; with no real possibility to add footage.
Course is very heavily played and has been for more than three decades and it shows in terms of course wear. On the plus side of this; I am actually fairly amazed that hills have not completely eroded to extremely dangerous levels; nor have I ever heard any talk from parks department; regarding issues in this regard.
Sheboygan/Vollrath vibe, has and, I imagine, always will; be for locals to conduct themselves a bit like they come from "the mean streets." This doesn't mean there will be anyone physically attacking you without provocation or anything. But, there are some foolish youngin's there to take advantage of your not paying attention to your plastic. And playing with Vollrath locals, you will find them saying things under their breath; just loud enough for you to hear; like...."oh, we don't have to worry about this guy," or, "wonder how long this guy's been playing?"; if you're kind of new to the game. They are known for using "gamesmenship."
Other Thoughts: This, though, fairly rural Wisconsin, "welcome to the hood" attitude, is just how they roll here. Many kids begin chucking plastic when they're less than 10 years old and play this course a zillion times before they're 15. They have a very pronounced "home boy/field bias." And, as a group, will attempt to use it on you for home field advantage.
This is backed up in their minds by two time world champ; Barry Schultz having honed his skills here as a young man. Aaron Wilde, who for a few years competed head to head with Barry; and finished top 30 in the World; also was making every putt from 50 foot in, when he was a teenager; and later developed a cannon arm to go with this. Long time pro; Steve Held, also grew up in the neighborhood.
In other words, they've got the pedigree as a spawning ground for disc excellence.
Part of the reason for this; relates back to the old school perfection of Vollrath. 1) Kids get out here young. 2) Kids were getting out here in the 1970s (an earlier review stated Vollrath is first course in Wisconsin; I maintain that Dr. George W. Hilliard Park, in Beloit, is older; but, I will ask anyone to prove me wrong on this; as I did in my review of that course.) 3) Due to the weekly leagues for players of all ages; for such a long period of time; all Vollrath players must learn to putt like madmen. You must score tons of birds here to compete with the likes of Barry and Steve and Aaron. Therefore, putting skills are at a premium. Drive for show and putt for dough; is the underlying motto at this course.
A fun feature of the annual state tourney stop; are a couple of holes; #2 and #15; which have artificial or road o.b. special rules; which force shots played from o.b. to be thrown with your opposite hand.
Though, from a toughness stand point, this course is probably only a 2.5 rated course; huge amounts of state players will make an annual pilgrimage to Vollrath, for the joy of ace runs; meeting up with long time local friends, and simply the overall ambiance and history of this old school layout. If you're in the area; I suggest you do the same.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety on this course

1    10/22/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: rohloffj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tons of different shots needed here, some good elevation changes. Most holes don't require long distance which is great for the novice player, but often times your disc must be put through a gap in trees making it a little difficult. #13 by Lake Michigan is fantastic. I really like #5 and #8. #5 is short but watch the crosswinds. #8 with the close pin placement can be a little tricky. #18 gives you a chance to see what your arm is made of. The tee marker says about 250', but it is much longer than that.
Cons: Can be very slippery if wet, a lot of the vegetation is worn away due to so much use of the course. Still, much better course than the other in Sheboygan, Quarryview.
Other Thoughts: Not many chances to grip and rip here. Because of that, tough to get low really low scores with family par with the lack of par 5's. As a pretty decent player, I think, I have reached -8 on pro par.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent design, crowded park

5+    6/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very unique terrain and very well designed to make the most of these features, that is the most enduring quality of Vollrath. There is a large ravine disecting the course, and rather than play around it, you play across it, through it, along side of it, and up and down. Very excellent design that makes you make the shot. I do think Vollrath design is great. The variety and balance is excellent with water hazard, uphill, downhill, acrosshill, left, right, tight woods, open rippers, etc. The front nine plays up in the main park area (think mature city park with huge oaks and maples and a playground). It flirts with the ravine and plays back and forth across it, and along side of it. Then the back nine cross the other side of the ravine, plays along the lake, back up the huge shoreline dropoff, and starts into a nice open park area with a few pines and large trees (as well as street OB) to define the holes.
Very neat sharp elevation changes, but no huge elevation.
Cons: The holes up near the playground area are very tight and crowded, and because they are under a canopy of trees, an errant shank off a tree can put you in any of three different fairways on certain holes - definitely some crowding issues. The course is overall very short, but some of the back nine holes add a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: The city park can be hugely crowded and overrun. The age, condition, erosion of the course can really be seen and all the traffic, garbage, graffitti, etc really take away from the experience. The only thing missing from amazing variety would be a huge downhill ripper hole, a true water hazard that was in a landing zone where you'd have to be careful of your throw, and some really tightly wooded holes (liek tunnels). I like playing Vollrath a lot, I just don't like the experience, crowds, garbage, etc. Playing on a quiet morning is your best bet. Come up and play the Triple Double Trouble event in mid-September, it is a blast! My preference for peace and quiet often steers me away from Vollrath to LTC or Quarry, but Vollrath is always fun (on the right day). Only a 3 because I would choose to drive 50+ miles away to play any of the courses I rated a 4.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all ages, levels

5+    6/21/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very fun, but generally short, course. It's technical enough for advanced players, but short enough that beginners and young kids can come out and have fun. Last time I played it, I was with my 60-year-old father who was playing for the first time, and the group behind us was a man my age with his son who was about 10. We were all having a great time. Every hole has interest, whether it's from trees, the ravine, or Lake Michigan.
Cons: Crowded holes, with many tee pads close to baskets and / or throwing lanes. #17 tee basically makes you play over #16 basket back into the players behind you. The routing can be a little confusing for first-time visitors. The ravine holes are fun, but some may think it's a bit repetitive. There is not a lot of variety in hole-length until you get to #13 down by the lake.
Other Thoughts: Bring the whole family! If they don't disc golf, or only want to play a few holes, there are lots of other things to do.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must-play course

2-4    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A unique look with all the back and forth across the valley. Obviously you've heard about the elevation changes, and these comments are spot-on.
90% of the holes are short enough to ace, which makes this more of a technical course than anything.
The park is very nice, and has lots of cool playground equipment for the little ones. After my last round, my 4YO and I stayed to play on the many cool pieces of equipment found here.
The "shack" is closed on Mondays, and I'm not too sure when you can really find it open, but there's equipment and snacks for sale here, which is also unique.
I really enjoyed airing it out on #18 at the end. This hole most definitely is not 250' like the sign says however.
Cons: The layout forces you to walk across other fairways as you find the next tee pad, so watch out so you don't get freakin' nailed by some 12YO kid just learning what his new disc will do.
Hole #2 is kind of silly. If you cut the corner on the right side too much, you're going to due some mountain climbing. I can't imagine how me and my buddy both found our plastic in that mess.
The location for the course is cool, but you basically have to drive clear across Sheboygan from the interstate in order to find this place.
There only a few holes that really let you air it out. Only 2-3 that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: From what I understand, this was the first course in WI. That history, coupled with the many changes in elevation, as well as the views of Lake Michigan, make this a must-play in my book.
As also mentioned, aces are abundant here as well. Last time I played here, I saw a teenager nail #5, and that was pretty cool.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.