Sheboygan, WI 
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers   (Taken 3/2012)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Oldie but still holds up as fun

2-4    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well marked course in a very nice park. Pro shop actually on course too, something I haven't seen much of at any of the other courses around here.
This is the oldest course in Wisconsin and you can tell. Many of the holes are very short by current standards. As such you will find yourself using mid range discs for all but the last 6 holes.
This course plays over a ravine for many holes. As such there are plenty of elevation changes making many holes feel much closer than they actually are.
You also have several blind shots that curve to the right which adds a level of difficulty for RHBH throwers like myself. Something needed as the holes are very short otherwise.
Even with the lake right next to you there is no true water hazard. As the only hole you travel along the lake would take a terrible errant throw to put in in the lake. The bigger hazard is all the trees you will most likely hit along the way on all the holes.
Cons: On many holes the pin is within 30 feet of the next tee. Making the tee easy to find, but also means when you tee off you are in danger of hitting the next group all the time. Because it is quite the busy park.
You need to play with a group and pay attention to where the discs land. If you don't make the fairway and hit the wooded rough it is quite easy to spend 5 minutes or more looking for your discs.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play the oldest course in the State. Just remember that when a course is that old it was designed at a time where all anyone had was a putter so expect the short shots and a more control oriented game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

WI's oldest

1    6/28/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: The course is set in a popular park alongside Lake Michigan. There are nice level concrete tees on each hole. The baskets are Mach 3's that are all in good shape and caught nicely. Multiple pin placements on most if not all the holes I believe. There are a lot of trees throughout the course. Also the elevation is pretty awesome here. There are a bunch of up and downhill and even across valley shots. This is what really makes this course so good. There are also stairs and steps going up and down many of the steeper hills to aid in getting around. The tee signs here serve their purpose just fine. They have the hole number, basic hole map, par, distances and any alternate pin locations. Hole 13 plays along the lake shore which is pretty cool (and smelly). There is The Shack right by hole 1 which has a good selection of discs. This is very cool and rare for a public course. The course was surprisingly clean for how busy it gets. Also everything was well mowed.
Cons: The course gets extremely busy. There can be long waits and rounds will potentially take longer than expected. Also a bunch of the holes run right next to each other, in fact most do. This is the most dangerous course I've seen in this regard. A little confusing in a few spots for first timers with many tees and baskets being very close. Nothing too major just be aware of it.
Other Thoughts: This is WI's oldest course so it wasn't originally designed for todays discs. Even with that being said it plays just as good today as I'm sure it did back in the day. This is a really, really fun course. There's also a number of other course within a half hour or so making it a good area to play some nice courses. This is a good one though that I'd recommend to any skill level player.

Very cool old school course

5+    10/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 81  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an old school course, with 18 holes somewhat jammed into a city park, on the shore of Lake Michigan. The course offers one set of concrete tees and multiple pin placements on most holes.

Holes 1-4, 7, and 9 are packed together on a moderately wooded section of the park and can get a bit hairy when there are a lot of people are there.

Holes 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 18 play back and forth across a large ravine, which adds in quite a bit of elevation, with 18 being about 350' and going fully across the ravine. Lake Michigan breezes can wreak havoc on your shots here, so be careful!

12-17 play back around the backside of the park, with a bit of elevation mixed in (12, 14). Most of the holes are pretty straightforward, with many having a defined line. Hole 13 plays right along Lake Michigan, which makes for a great backdrop.
Cons: This course is 18 decent holes packed into a small space. This is the oldest course in WI, so it was designed long before warp speed drivers, so it's hard to ding it too much.

Traffic. This place gets BUSY...and being right in the middle of town, a lot of that traffic is teenyboppers. Now, I will say that most of the kids are well mannered and polite (and some decent shots, to boot). But there are a large amount of kids who could care less about the people around them, and basically do whatever the hell they want. On a normal day you'll find kids bopping around holes in no particular order, and I certainly wouldn't leave my bag unattended here...definitely a shady element to the place when it's busy.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice little course, especially if you can hit it on an early Saturday morning with nobody else around.

The Shack, which is the pro shop on site, is filled with great people and a decent selection of discs, bags, and other gear. Lots of Innova and a little bit of other brands.

Ample street parking is available, and there's other activities on site. You'll often see kid's sports going on in the bowl, or high school aged kids playing Ultimate. There's also a nice park and pavilion.

Overall, good solid course in a nice setting...especially if you can get there during non-peak times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun Park Setting

1    8/9/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A LOT of variety. Woods, elevation changes, and even a hole along Lake Michigan.

Some interesting basket placement - hidden in smaller areas.

Quite a few aceable holes with good throws - no gimmees.

Decent variety of length as well. More discs in your bag can be played.

Tee pads well marked and maintained.

On site pro shop was a pleasant surprise and the person staffing it was very helpful in giving some advise/direction for first time players.

FREE course - even with scorecards.
Cons: A little confusion on where to go next after a few holes, even trying to follow the scorecard. Fortunately there were enough players out to help us find our way really quick.

Par seems high on quite a few holes. I'd play the course as a straight par 3 - even though they have many holes marked as 4s.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know where the basket is before you throw. Some hole's baskets can be mistaken for others. I would definitely play this course more times if/when I'm back in the area. Love finding free courses like this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My First Love

5+    6/26/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: kevinmeves
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 33.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, 18 unique holes, great location, pro shop on site
Cons: Very crowded (popular), neighboring park sometimes interferes with play.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and spent the majority of my summers here as a child.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Crowded

1    7/7/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: 2chainz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun elevation changes and is easily maneuvered; there is many places to practice up and down hill shots that are not normally found in city courses.
Cons: Sooooooo crowded; i felt like i was ontop of another golfer at all timers and some times i had to thread the disc around people let alone the course design. And it wasnt anything too fancy and short for my taste.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The way it all started in Wisco, the right way.

1    9/22/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the street it looks like a pitch and putt course.
Don't get discouraged. There's a whole lot more to it.
I'll start with the scenery. There were only 2 or 3 holes that were typical. Every other hole has it's own unique feel.
The elevation changes enable a fantastic disc golf vibe. Valleys to shoot over, rolling/drop off greens. The whole deal.
Lake Michigan borders a few holes as well as still being visible for fantastic scenery for at least half the round.
Most of the holes can be reached with a soft mid-range or a solid putter throw. Has a few driver worthy holes.
Regardless, the designer got it right.
Mix of Flex, Anny, Hyzer, and Straight on shots.
The realistate isn't "that big" but it's put together very well with the space available.
Baskets are solid, concrete teepads.
Maintained very nicely overall.
Back in the day, disc's were still frisbees and weren't anything like what we have in our bags now. Keep this in mind when you think the course is too short.
Sure someone can pull their utility Roc out and park at least half the holes with a solid throw.
But creativity can (absolutely) be utilized.

Cons: I had read a review prior to visiting the course.
Heard about the un-supervised kids...
Saw the un-supervised kids...
Jumping teepads, running around.
Didn't interfere with (my) round personally.
Other Thoughts: Afterwards I visited "The Shack"- Oldest disc golf pro shop in Wisconsin.
Purchased a 12-time Champ Eagle. Had The Shark and The Dinosuar sign it.
Recieved a little history lesson and a few good ole disc golf stories. Very awesome.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Vollrath

5+    4/20/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lokis Tyro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc shack with a great selection of discs with a great operator. Lots of discs!. On the lake. Great elevation changes. Blind shots are fun. A few holes that are somewhat of a long length. I enjoy playing in the lake winds.
Cons: Too many kids without adult supervision. There have been multiple instances where discs have been stolen because you can't see where you've shot in my group. For the first few holes you're throwing in the direction of the next tee, which is too close for comfort with all the rugrats muckin' up the joint. In my opinion the "improvements" don't make any sense, i.e. trees cut, brick wall..use real live plants to slow erosion! (brick is not forgiving to discs if a mishap occurs, especially their choice of extremely rough textured block), improperly spaced stairs don't seem to make it any safer to travel down the steep incline. Telephone pole support cables, electric box and an unnecessary metal lamp post can also damage discs. I've seen it happen plenty of times. The general population is unwilling to let you play through, even if their group is 2-3 times the size of yours. No pro tees.
Other Thoughts: I don't enjoy this course nearly as much as I used to especially with removing the challenge from 2 of my favorite holes. I pick windy days to come here as its nearly the only time it isn't packed full of kids or early in the morning when the people of Sheboygan are too hungover to play. I gave this course a low rating because it's not being improved properly. Trees are what make this course, don't get rid of any more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  City screwed up the course

5+    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Brabyn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Gear cousre for a beginner but super easy for any one that's has been Playing for years.
Cons: The city of sheboygan has screwed up the course by taking a bunch of trees out of hole 12 and 14, in summer there are too many little kids running around the park, it's just not what it used to be.
Other Thoughts: If your comri g to Sheboygan to paly this course go for it, it's a good course but also go to the Cory o hwy 42 it a much better course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: ShebyDiscer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course. I'm a local and have played this course probably 20 times. There is a neat little pro shop by the hole 1 tee. They sell Innova only which is fine by me. Great use of terrain. Short course but it's still challenging enough due to tight lines and trees. Also, some holes are right next to a drop offs which will make you think twice about putting for the make as opposed to setting it next to the basket. Definitely recommend it if you are in the area.
Cons: Short course.
Busy.
Not so challenging but still fun.
Other Thoughts: #1 Straight with a couple trees to dodge. Drop off behind basket will punish you if you overshoot.
#2 Short but challenging with trees to dodge. punishing drop off by putting green. Blind. Doglegs to the right.
#3 Medium distance. Multiple lines that are all relatively tight due to trees.
#4 Similar to 3 but with drop off 20 feet behind basket.
#5 Short hole with ace opportunity. Watch the crosswinds coming off lake Michigan. A few trees to throw around. Fairway goes over ravine.
#6 Another "aceable" hole but with trees surrounding the pin. Fairway goes over ravine.
#7 Short hole with a few trees scattered in the fairway. Huge drop off on the right.
#8 Challenging. short hole with a tee pad on the edge of a drop off. Basket tucked away in densely wooded terrain.
#9 Short hole calling for a straight shot as there is a narrow lane made of trees. If your shot isn't perfectly straight, it will hit a tree.
#10 Best hole to ace in the whole park. Only one tree to worry about which shouldn't be an issue. Fairway is over a ravine.
#11 Blind. Uphill and doglegs to the right. Short.
#12 Downhill and blind shot. Big risk/reward here. Dense bushes on the left with trees scattered among the fairway.
#13 Volrath is famous for this hole. Lake Michigan on the right. If you feed the lake monster you're not gonna get your disc back unless you go for a swim. Dense woods on the left. Long fairway.
#14 Short blind shot with an uphill dogleg to the right.
#15 Long, straight fairway with a road on the right. Some trees on the left but aren't of any worry except for a bad shot.
#16 Medium distance with trees on left. Basket is on the base of a small hill and under a bushy tree.
#17 The blindiest(if that's a word) blind hole on the course. You have to throw over bushy trees. The basket is on the edge of a punishing drop off.
#18 Longest hole on the course. Fairway is over a ravine. No hazards to worry about just let 'er rip!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.