Sheboygan, WI 
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #13 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 320ft.   5 / 320ft.   4 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short and SWEET!

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Although the holes are very short, There is some serious elevation changes. Hole 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, and 18 are all centered around a valley with a road running through it. The first 4 holes may seem to be boring, but you haven't even started until you get to 5. Hole 13 provides an excellent view of Lake Michigan. This hole also allows you to throw it pretty far, if you keep the throw straight. The valley has stairs and is easy to navigate down. Also this course is a great place to get your first ace! Any hole on the side of the valley with the shack is straight forward and a perfect scoring opportunity. One of my favorite holes is hole 8. The hole is hidden behind a small section of trees and brush. You can opt to layup and throw around the trees, or you could easily cut the corner, with a good throw. Keep it straight. Even if it winds up in the trees, you can still get a descent shot and end up with a two. Hole 14 I feel is the hardest hole. Starting at the base of a very steep incline, the tee shot is blind, and it's very likely that it'll take you a couple of shots to reach the top. Aim for the fence on the right or the trees, otherwise your disc may roll right back to hole 13. Hole 17 and 18 are good closing holes to this course. The tee shot on 17 is blind over a small tree and the hole is at the edge of the valley. It's much better to miss the basket short than long. Good luck! Hole 18 is the longest hole. The sign says 250 ft. Trust me, it's longer than that. The goal for your tee shot is to clear the valley. Trees guard the left side and are the worst place for your disc to end up. Your next shot, should you clear the valley should get you around the tree in front of the hole. This course provides some hiking and a great challenge for beginners and pros alike. Choose this course over the Quarry if your passing through Sheboygan.
Cons: The course can be very crowded. Some of the pin placements are just ridiculous. Hole 2 for example. I couldn't find the hole until I aimed for the wrong basket. The pin is on the right side of the fairway just a little ways down the hill. If you have a partner, have he/she stay at the base of the hill to stop your disc if it rolls. The course bunches a lot of tees and holes around the 3rd basket. You may shoot at the wrong basket, the sign for each hole, however, usually includes a second route if you choose the wrong one, so don't worry. The valley is deceiving and wind from the Lake can be frustrating. Watch for others on every hole or you'll be saying "FORE!"
Other Thoughts: When I got to this park, I thought instantly, ''How will they fit 18 holes in a park this size? Once the course was complete, I felt they could've added another 9 holes to this course. Although some holes are bunched together, the designer spreads things out enough to keep it safe. It may seem like a maze trying to find the next tee. It's not to challenging. Sometimes it just requires a little walking. Look at each sign at every hole. There should be something that points to the next tee on the map of the hole. I think this course is great. It's lots of fun and not so challenging, that you get frustrated all the time. The valley holes are the signature point that completes this course. Without it, this course would probably suck! Don't forget to stop at the shack. It provides a wide variety of discs and snacks. Enjoy this course!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Disc Golf Enviroment I've Seen

1    7/28/2007   8/17/2009
Review By: Mayo
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The environment: from the shack at the first tee to the overall community in the park. My experience here made me wish we had a community like this in my hometown. The course was a blast to play. Lots of elevation and right on the lake. This is one of those places where it seems like disc golf is accepted.
Cons: Course is worn. LOTS of people. Some of the holes feel a little cramped. Not a whole lot of challenge for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Feels like home. I could seriously pull up a chair and just hang out here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rat Maze Course

5+    6/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Sensai Scuba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice challenge for everyone, this course has three of the four major disc golf food groups... it's got water, field, and trick shots. There is only one water shot but.... the waters the lake lol. Also there's an air current there with the water and the shore and that hill and those trees so, it's just fun lol. I have to mention that hole 18 is a blast too, just launching over a giant bowl, lots of fun.
Cons: It uh... it's a rat maze lol, up a hill down a hill up another hill then around the corner and your throwing to a upward right angle where theres a road.... Oh it's also missing one of the four basic disc golf food groups....throwing through heavy woods. And no matter where you are, and where other people are.... when you hear someone yell "Four!!!" you look around, there's so many criss cross shots that it's easy to get friendly fire. The criss cross is also a pro though because it's easy to skip around big groups or slow groups or replay a chunk of holes.
Other Thoughts: The shack rules!! Hours are late afternoon/evening and the selection is lots of innova discs, the people who run it are very cool too, I've had them order frisbees if they don't have it in stock.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Older the Sweeter

5+    6/18/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of different holes.Tests ur skills.Right by lake for nice view.Locals are cool and has shack to buy disc.
Cement tees.Change pin location from time to time.
Cons: Lot of walking up and down hills. Holes are kinda crowded.Summer its crawling with annoying little kids. No pro tees.
Other Thoughts: I live in sheboygan so this is one of my home courses, and i play it a lot.When its not packed with kids u can have a lot of fun here.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed, But Pretty Cramped...

5+    5/10/2010   6/3/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Some tight fairways, a few long holes (though most are short and reachable), elevation, Lake Michigan in play on the "Lake Monster," lots of trees.
2. Dedicated locals. The guys who run The Shack and a lot of the regulars out here are just great people. If you're out here alone, someone will usually ask if they can play along with you; a great place to meet some new friends with similar interests! Also, I don't think I've ever seen or heard of another city where the young kids are as into disc golf as in Sheboygan. When school gets out, and especially during the summer, this place is a ZOO. Some con associated with that; see below.
3. Maintenance. There are areas that probably don't need maintenance just because of the foot traffic alone wearing everything down, but there are plenty of trash cans and you'll typically see people packing their trash (even the guys who are so drunk they can barely stand will crush their cans and carry them with them). Well manicured.
4. Concrete tees.
5. BRAND NEW signs at each hole! The Sheboygan Jaycees bought new signs, and they look fantastic!
Cons: 1. Cramped. Some fairways are just too close for comfort. While the real cramped areas are the shorter holes, and thus not as many high-speed drivers rippin' through the park, you still gotta watch where you're going on most of the Front 9 and some of the Back. Most people are at least courteous to yell "Fore!," but you gotta look out for Number One (that's you; watch your cranium and shins!).
2. Disc theives. I don't know how bad of a problem this still is, and I personally never had a disc blatantly snatched up from my lie, but many people told me to watch my discs carefully out here. Sometimes sticky-fingered local brats will hide in the tall shrubbery off a blind tee, knowing that errant shots tend to fall that way, and have been known to grab your shanked shot and run off with it. I've also heard of kids waiting for a group to tee off, and while the group ahead watches their teammates' shots, the kids quickly snatch a disc out of one of their bags (usually a driver so it's not immediately noticed, i.e. at the next tee). Damn snakes.
3. Not a year-round course, but plenty of others in the area are (LTC Cleveland).
4. Vandalism. As a course designer, it particularly irks me to see baskets marked with Aces (or even Deuces--Seriously?). Nobody cares if you aced a hole. I sure don't. Write it on your disc. Apparently it's not uncommon for a basket to go missing here or at Quarry. Simply despicable, and even more, disrespectful. People don't appreciate the thought and planning that goes into a course and the benefits a decent course can have on a community. Hopefully the new tee signs don't get all marked up, but with how many pre-teens are out here (the typical "vandal" demographic), it almost seems inevitable, and perhaps the course maintainers have come to terms with that. I'd like to see just a little more respect out of Sheboygan's players, though.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty legendary, one of the oldest courses in the ground. Numerous improvements have been made over the years, and as of May 2010 this course is looking pristine, better than I've ever seen it. This is Barry Schultz's home course, dang it, so come play the course where one of the best in the game BECAME one of the best in the game. You'll probably see some future Barrys out here, too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible design, fun holes, challenging yet short, but poorly maintained.

1    5/9/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome design of a course. It has some open holes, wooded holes, holes up some large slopes, some down the slopes, some with baskets perched right on the slopes, one running along a rumbling Lake Michigan against the bouldered shoreline. Great views on many holes.

2) Lots of mature trees that influence your shot types.

3) Incredible use of the property elevation changes.Some holes you have to throw really high and lose a lot of distance because of the height of the disc. The couple holes where you throw out across the valley change your throws dramatically, especially if you are concerned about your disc staying near the basket as opposed to rolling away.

4) Awesome setting for a disc golf course because it is right on Lake Michigan.

5) Nice concrete tee pads and decent signage although none of the alternate distances are written on the signs.

Cons: 1) Not by any stretch of the imagination is this a beginner course. There are simply too many obstacles and too much elevation change. I do look at this as a positive but it has to be mentioned so if you are a beginner, practice up a bit before you hit this course up.

2) Turf areas are bare on the slopes and including the walked areas.

3) Course could really use some help of stairs to get up and down a few of the hills. Some are present but falling apart, slippery, or just poorly built.

4) Lots of garbage cans, but garbage is still present around the course.

5) Layout is a little goofy in a few spots. It is very tight on the first 9 holes, they are crammed into a very small area. They also loop around a couple times which is very confusing. I almost threw from #6 tee over #12 tee to the 14th basket, thinking that ws the hole, then I turned around and saw the basket. The first 4 are fairly open on top of the hill, 5 goes across the valley, 6 goes back across the valley, 7 is back by #1-4, 8 Goes across the valley again, walk back up the hill to #9, #10 comes back across the valley again, and #11 takes you back up the hill for the final time.
Other Thoughts: Not a positive or negative, but it has to be mentioned that the course is short overall (around a 200-220' average), but because of the trees and elevation changes it plays a lot longer than the overall distance.

Quite possibly this course factors some of the best design essentials into a golf course, but because of how old and beat up the course is the overall rating is probably a point lower than I would have given if it was a brand new course. #2 and #3 in my negatives are the biggest reason why this course isn't rated higher than 4. It is an excellent course in design and challenege and fun factor, but the overall maintenance is lacking significantly. I don;t even know if it would be possible to maintain turf or anything on some of these slopes, but have well designed and placed stairway would certainly save on the ground foliage (turf or other) in some of those areas. People are simply trying to climb some of the hills where they shouldnt be and that will kill the grass quickly. They will continue to slip and rip out the turf. ( I know, only a turfgrass management professional would notice this, but it is true. Stairs would improve so many areas on this course because people would climb the stairs instead of the other areas.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: mojo2090
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -there was a very large variety in the holes.
-some very large elevation changes
-concrete tees
-stairs for the hills
Cons: -the course was WAY to short, a lot of the holes were under 200 feet
-all you heard the whole time was "FORE", the holes were all cramped together
-there was nothing telling you where the pin is.
Other Thoughts: extremely over crowded. two or three groups on every hole

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Vollrath Park

6/14/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: bass4grace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I nice short course full of Birdie possibilities, and Ace runs. Lots of elevation changes and unique holes. No two holes are alike. A MUST PLAY in my book.
Cons: Can be very busy. Vandalism has been a bit of a problem. Slightly confusing layout between a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: A classic old course, designed more for precision throws rather than power. Bring ALL your discs for the many different kinds of throws.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/14/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very entertaining course. Lots of different shots are required to achieve a good score. The course is well kept and is absolutely beautiful in mid-summer and fall
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc once the trees and bushes fill in. May be too easy for experienced players.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An Experience

5/23/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice old course with lots of elevation changes. Very fun for amateurs but can be a challenge for better players. A msut paly course.
Cons: It can be really windy on the course as it is right on lake michigan.
Other Thoughts: Very conveniently has a place to buy discs on the first hole.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.