Austin, MN 
Todd Park Share
Uploaded By: Jensonian Hole #26 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Long Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
To Quote Snoop Dog "Toddow"

1    11/10/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 27 holes of enjoyment to be had in this park.
2) Dual trapezoidal concrete tees are always the best in the game. The concrete had a mark of red or blue on the concrete to help distinguish which tee you are standing on.
3) Incredible variety on this course.
4) All shots are needed on this course including hyzers, anhyzers, low ceiling, high shots, rollers, etc . . . You will definitely need your entire shot arsenal to play well out here.
5) Awesome foliage density ranging from mostly open to somewhat wooded to some tight wooded holes too. They did the best they could with the property to mix it up the best way they can.
6) Tee-signs are located at some of the tees and are a metal plate inserted into a concrete structure. These look to be indestructible, although some were missing. I am not sure if this was vandalism or if the course had been re-designed. Either way they look nice and are functional with Hole#, distance, and an arrow to the next tee. They indicate trees and other key features too.
7) There are plenty of garbage cans on this course to help keep the garbage off the ground. I imagine a weekly garbage run is easily needed on the disc golf course.
8) The turf is in pretty good condition. The park looks to receive a high level of maintenance and they take care of their turf and trees.
9) For the most part this course is beginner friendly because it is mostly open. There is plenty of room for beginners to stray to the side of the fairway without the risk of punishing rough or losing discs. There are a couple tight and tough holes that will challenge the beginner to keep the disc straight but show them what challenging disc golf courses are like.
10) Moderately rolling terrain although very few of the holes actually go up or down much.
Cons: 1) There were a couple times where it was tough to figure out which way to go. With missing tee-signs there was no way to now to cross the street here, or turn right and backtrack there. Overall directionals are a far better option than next tee arrows on the signs or baskets even.
2) While I always enjoy a challenge, I imagine a couple of holes frustrating beginners. Even good players could end up in the brush on #8, 9, or 10.
3) They did their best to route things, but there were some goofy walks having to go way around a pond in order to get to a basket. Then a long walk back to the next hole because there was no bridge in the ideal location. This is only minor because it does not affect how great the disc golf is, it only adds more steps to your day.
Other Thoughts: I was excited to get to this park because it was the highest rated course along my way from Milwaukee to Northfield for a wedding. I always want to play the best courses in any area and when travelling I make it a point to ensure the better courses while adding on any other courses just for convenience, so I did not want to miss this one.
I was not let down, it was a wonderful course. While park-like in many ways, this course had a lot more trees, terrain features, water, and variety than you would normally find on a park-like course. These features and variety made this course into the best course it could be on the property. I am giving this course a solid 4.0 disc rating. If there were a few more densely wooded holes, some more dramatic elevation change, or overall it was just more picturesque this course could elevate it's rating slightly.
I had a lot of fun and I played the entire course in about 90-100 minutes. That is pretty good for such a long course especially considering it was my first time here. I will be back if I ever find time to pass through this part of MN again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Top Shelf Course

2-4    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: therealpursuit
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Contains my new favorite practice hole; the 500 foot arrow-straight tunnel. Dueces are hard to come-by unless you are throwing 350' accurately which makes it a great course for those wanting their long arms to give them an advantage over more technical players. LOTS OF WATER FOUNTAINS!!! :) and also trash cans.
Cons: Bridges seem to be placed in less than optimal locations.
Other Thoughts: There are really awesome signs w/maps on about half of the holes. If they were on every hole this would be a world class course worthy of at least a 4.5. As it is, the course itself offers a little bit of everything, and all 27 holes are challenging and fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Southern Minnesota

1    9/10/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 26  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a very nice long one, and is very well-maintained. Almost every hole has alternate tees, and the first 18 holes have informative markers which show the outline of the hole and next tee. Every hole has nicely painted themed garbage cans, and there is a course map by hole 1.

The course is set in a large city park with a wandering creek that comes into play in many holes. There's a good mix of open holes and wandering through the forest. The setting is very nice-looking.

Hole 10 is closest to a signature hole, straight 500ft through a 15ft alley lined by trees.
Cons: Very little elevation change (except hole 24).
The last 9 or so holes are missing markers, making some of the holes with hidden baskets difficult.
Navigation is a little difficult - we got lost going to hole 9 (go toward the no trespassing fence).
There are some notable holes, but no amazing unique holes.
The layout has changed, and some of the baskets have incorrect numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: I went during a drought so I didn't run into any swamp problems.

I didn't find any easy birdies on this course. As an intermediate player who can only drive around 300', all of the holes seemed really long.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: happytree290
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this course was great compared to the courses I've played. This course seems pretty well designed with a good mix of wooded and open holes. Each pin has a long and short pad depending on your skill. The pads are in pretty good shape, especially the short tee pads on the back 9, some look almost brand new. The course layout also would make it easy for someone to skip baskets if they didn't want to play the full 27 holes.
Cons: I'd advise to where a good pair of boots, or a pair of shoes that you don't mind getting a little muddy, and seal them up tight with some waterproofing. The ground for a lot of the course is very soft and soggy. Holes 8 - 11 are very muddy and wet as are 21-27, especially on 26 you'll want to aim your shot very accurately or you'll be in murky waters for sure. Pads 17-27 also don't have tee signs on them, so they are a little harder to navigate, since some of the baskets you can't see from the pads, and they're also more spread apart then the rest of the course. The baskets on 17 - 20 are also mismarked, I'm assuming they must have just recently updated the course. The tee signs could use an upgrade too. They can be hard to read int the bright sunlight.
Other Thoughts: Although I did give it a lot of negative's i still think that this is a great course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

5+    1/25/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Anything you might expect from a city park. Bathrooms, shelters, playgrounds, walking/biking trails, ample parking.

Tees. Concrete tee pads on every hole are level and in good shape. Tee signs are located at the front of each tea pad (which pad varies between long and short pad), though several of the metal plates are missing from the concrete tee posts.

Navigation. Slightly confusing in a few areas. After hole 8, follow the fence line into the woods. After hole 15 head past hole 20 towards the baseball diamond into the area to find hole 16. Otherwise the next tee is visible from the previous basket.

Variety. A wide variety of shots required, a good mix of wooded and open holes, with even the big arm holes requiring some accurate placements. Many technical holes require pinpoint accuracy and line shaping with the monster number 10 giving me nightmares.

Length. Everything from short ace runs, big arm holes, and a grueling gauntlet.

Water. Good use of the creek that flows through the park, it comes into play and offers high risk opportunities while keeping a conservative route open. The water is generally clear and shallow enough to retrieve discs from.

Clean. The unique garbage cans almost make this park worth the stop in themselves, besides keeping the grounds free of litter. The park is well manicured with the fairways and tee pads maintained regularly.

Scenery. A nice southern MN wooded park with a meandering creek, is a pleasant if not very secluded feeling.

Leagues and Tournaments. This city has an active disc golf community with weekly leagues and tournaments fairly often throughout the year.

Access. Easily accessible off of I-90.

Memorable Hole. Hole 10, a grueling deathmarch, 400 some feet through a 15' wide tunnel of trees.
Cons: No loops. The course doesn't really return near the parking lot to make convenient loop options. You could easily skip holes, or walk back to the parking lot of you had to cut a round short.

Elevation. Mostly flat with only some slight elevation near the end.

Not Beginner Friendly. This is a great course for aspiring intermediate players, rec players may get frustrated by the long technical holes and water hazards.
Other user areas. The disc golf course is fairly well isolated from the other user areas, though the walking path crosses through, several holes play near the park road, and wayward shots could find a wayward pedestrian, as always, be aware of others.

Not Maintained in the winter. *Doesn't affect my rating, but have been taking note of it now that I have been playing more and more in the snow* I had to break my own trail and play on snow covered tees in the winter months.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the play if you're in the area, I'd definitely make the stop if traveling past on I-90.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

27 holes of goodness

1    6/28/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Can't beat 27 holes
-Most holes had sweet painted garbage cans by them
-The first holes had good signage
-Multiple tees on every hole
-Good variations in distance, on the longer side overall
-Many open and wooded holes, some tight tunnel shots
-Good variation in right and left turning holes, many holes had a few possible lines
-Nice baskets
-Adequate parking, bathrooms, shelters, plenty of other stuff in park
-Other stuff doesn't interfere with disc golf course
-River comes into play on a few holes, good challenge
-Good use of the little elevation that is here
-Good disc golfing community here, many tournaments and events
-Very easy to find off I90
-Park didn't have a lot of trash laying around, overall well maintained
Cons: -Navigation was kind of hard. I think the layout has changed a little recently.
-Some signs were missing, especially after hole 17
-No scorecards/map at first tee like site says
-Could lose discs in river/rough
Other Thoughts: If the navigation issues were fixed by map and repaired signage most of my cons would be gone. This course has 27 good holes of disc golf. I will be stopping every time I am in the area and I would recommend that you do the same.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.