Idaho Falls, ID 
Freeman Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Worth playing

5+    9/24/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: stussyjoker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: NIce baskets
Large tee boxes
Well manicured park
A lot of variety in hole length
Great scenery
Cons: Intersecting walking path can cause delays with park-goers
Tee signs do not indicate pin position
Kids/families can be hazards on busy days
Other Thoughts: Freeman is a fun course. If you live within 30-45min, it's worth the drive to play a round or two at least. I don't think it's as great of a course as many of the reviews here indicate, though. Definitely the best course in the area, but not a great course. The local club should really work on updating the tee signs in order to have the multiple pins indicated. There is one hole that has a laminated print-out with the information, but it isn't very useful. I'd agree with other reviewers that said to have a map of the course handy on your first visit. I do however disagree that there are any extraordinarily long walks within holes. Just my opinion though.

Eastern Idaho Gem

1    10/1/2015   10/10/2015
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful well-groomed park setting with mature trees and a nice little stream running through the park.
Nice views of the Snake River on a few holes.
Good basket placements that require moderate accuracy.
Decent mix of holes lengths and balance between hyzer and anny throws.
Some decent use of elevation.
Cons: Too many long holes for my liking. I would have liked 2-3 more short and technical holes.
There were a few unnecessarily long walks between holes, especially from #16 basket to #17 tee.
Tee signs are placed perpendicular to the tee pad instead of at the head of the pad. This confused me and I almost threw the wrong direction a couple of times. The pictures on a few holes weren't accurate as to basket location.
I really wish this course (in fact, ALL COURSES) had "Next Tee" arrows on each basket. I got turned around on navigation several times. I would print a map before you go.
Watch out for the disc-eating Spruce trees. The Spruce trees are pretty, but absolutely swallow discs.
Other Thoughts: I had been looking forward to playing this course for a while. It is a good course, but not quite as good as advertised. My favorite holes were 1-8. They play close to the pretty little stream that runs through the park. There were too many long holes on the back side for me, although #10 was an interesting downhill hole with a few trees to dodge as well as OB behind the basket. #12 was a Pro/Con hole for me. I wish the tee wasn't placed back down the hill from basket 11. It could have been a really nice, short downhill shot to a hidden basket with OB behind. It's still an interesting hole where you have to actually throw past the hole and to the left, then throw a reverse approach/putt into a tight gap in the trees. The course is definitely worth playing if you're in Idaho Falls.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    11/21/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: Drewmon71
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: nice well kept course. great variety of distance and throws. Creek comes into play on a few holes, but is dry by the fall. nice use of elevation and multiple pin placements
Cons: distances on signs are not accurate. Long walk between some of the holes

 Freeman Park, Idaho Falls

5/5/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 169  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 37.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is on mowed grassy area. Teepads, Teesigns make it easy to navigate. Fairly challenging course with short and long holes to play.
Cons: College campus so lots of people walking around or sitting on fairways during the day. Hole ten conflicts with amphitheatre. Neighbors on hole 6 and 9 have complained about disc golfers in their backyard.
Other Thoughts: This course is better than average with all eighteen holes played on a well maintained grassy area. Definitely one of the better courses in the area only a 1/4 mile off of I-15. For the most part it is well designed with only a couple of holes that seriously conflict with anything, a stray shot on 6 or 9 will put you into the backyards of neighboring homes and # ten teepad needs to be relocated to put the outdoor amphitheatre out of play. Aside from that its a great course, just need to avoid the high travel times when people are walking around on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for the people

5/23/2007   3/23/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of strategically placed pins, a well thought out course. Wide open all around but tight were it needs to be.
Cons: TOO MANY RANDOM PEOPLE! The course is in the middle of the major park in Idaho Falls.
Other Thoughts: The design makes it a 4.0-4.5 but the people brought it down to a 3.5

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center