Idaho Falls, ID 
Freeman Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 200ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 variety defines this course

5+    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: LiquidDivide
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first 9 on the course mostly requires shorter, technical shots. You have to cross a creek or come dangerously close to it several times. Plenty of shots require you to go around or under trees.

The second half of the course opens up with some longer distance holes and some more open fairways.

Each half of the course begins and ends near the parking lot, so it's easy to play a quick half game. A group of guys from the office go play 9 holes during lunch.

Many of the pins have 2 locations and the park moves some of them every week or so, making the course different all the time.
Cons: signs are inaccurate with redesign and multiple pin locations.

Some of the tees are a bit of a walk from the previous pin. Bring a map if you've never been before. It can be tricky to find out where to go next.

I wish the variety was a bit more mixed in between the front and back half. It almost seems like 2 different courses the way things change completely in the middle. Mixing a few longer holes on the front and some more technical holes on the back would make the course better I think.

Depending on the season, the creek can be pretty deep, swift, and murky, so you may want to check the creek before playing the front nine. It's very easy to lose a disc when it is running fast, but the front 9 has some of my favorite holes.
Other Thoughts: The park can be very crowded on holidays and some weekends in the middle of summer. Don't plan on playing on the 4th of July as this park is a prime spot to watch the fireworks. Occasionally people are sitting under some of the trees on the course, but none have caused a problem for me before.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good All Around

2-4    6/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
Pros: Varying hole positions, some short technical shots, other long fairway shots. Front 9 as mentioned above are mostly shorter, with a few fun long shots. Trees add a measure of difficulty with most holes requiring some sort of break. Very well maintained park, nice grass making discs easy to find.
Cons: Some of those pine trees are thick, and swallow discs easily, and getting sap all over your hands while climbing to get the disc out is no fun. Shorter pads on holes that I have played in the past, some holes are along roads that cars frequently park on, which isn't good for a beginner / novice player. Difficulty knowing where the next hole is after some of the holes. Had to walk around some to find where to go.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Idaho Falls in my opinion, and living in Rexburg, it's a great park right off the freeway to find and get to easily.

  Excellent Course

5+    5/15/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: srobbins13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I absolutely love this course.
Cons: Don't roll your disc into the stream. It is a bit to wide to easily get it back out of the middle.
Other Thoughts: You can play either the front or the back nine on a short day, or go for a full round. The front nine is a more technical round, while the back nine are for more of the long shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Most of the Baskets were moved Spring 2010

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FYI: NEW PIN PLACEMENTS SPRING 2010
-Awsome park along Snake River
-Elevation, trees, distance, good variety
-Course design is excellent
-Bathrooms and drinking fountains (summer)
-Spread out course with no overlap
-Good use of water and trees
-Nice cement tee pads
-Practice basket
Cons: -New pin locations are not updated on signs
-Unknown distances until signs are updated
-Park is crowded during popular times, but most days its wide open
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course for a few years and its great to have different tee positions. It is like getting a new course to the area. I've heard different opinions on the new pin locations, but I think the change is fun and challenging. New technical holes to figure out too. It is still pretty easy to navigate except hole #3, #16, and #17. Here are some tips:

#3 - Look straight from the tee pad back behind center field of the baseball field and the basket is behind the pine trees.

#16 - Across the dirt road behind the trees

#17 - Left of the bathroom in the corner behind the tree

All baskets were moved except number 7, 12, 13, and 18. This is a great park with lots of open space and beautiful surroundings. The course allows for a good variety of shots. Plenty of distance with a good mix of technical shots. The elevation, water, and trees make it challenging. There is a walking path that you can take along the river all the way down town. Here is a link to the course website and scorecard, but this is for the original pin placements until they update it:
http://www.idahofallsdiscgolf.com/course.html

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Varied course in huge park

1    6/12/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Flat, grippy, concrete tees
-Hand made wood carved tee signs. Large and visible
-Fantastic mix of par 3 and par 4 holes
-Perfectly manicured grass on the entire course
-Innova DISCatchers
-Practice basket
-Information sign at beginning of course
-Variety in holes
-Fairly easy to navigate, with a few small hiccups
-Front and back nine navigate back to the starting point allowing quick play, 'refills,' etc.
Cons: -If there are multiple pin locations, they are not described on tee signs
-If there are not multiple pin locations, some of the tee signs were inaccurate as far as locating the basket
-Some par 4 holes could use slightly longer tee pads.
-A few holes throw over or near roads with cars parked on them creating unnecessary hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course set along the banks of the Snake river in a very large memorial park. Rolling hills and spread out trees dominate the majority of the course, with a section in the first 9 with a larger number of trees and holes running along a small, but swift creek.

The front nine contained what I felt were the majority of the shorter, technical shots, but the general theme of this course is long and open. Trees generally dictate particular drives (usually right turning) which was an added challenge off the tee instead of just ripping it. The back was more open and less technical, but small treats like hole 12 added some fun par 3 birdie opportunities in the mix.

As I am finding a lot in this area, the more fun holes all seem to be side-arm friendly. While a few holes had some nice left turns for the backhand thrower, the longer, more 'wow' holes were all side-arm. Particularly 18.

Some memorable holes:
Hole one dangerously started out the course on a downhill shot across a dirt road lined with cars. The risk was windshields and the reward was a birdie. I comfortably parred the hole. I would imagine this area being a ton less busy on any day besides an event filled Saturday.

Hole 4 was a narrow tunnel with a creek right in front of the hole. Smarter golfers would lay up for a shot over the creek for an easy par, but dumber golfers who think they will ace the hole like me will throw their disc into the creek.

The next few holes snake around the creek and are in my opinion a great asset to the course. Careful placement and thinking ahead on your shot is essential.

Hole 8 is very long and as you close in on the basket, you become dangerously close to a road lined with parked vehicles. Once again I do not believe this is the norm, but I switched to a rubber putter for this hole just to play it safe.

While many others have mentioned an 'amphitheater' on hole 10, we noticed a heavily used area to the left of the fairway but was for the most part very out of the way of public use when compared to the front half.

If the course has a signature hole, in my opinion it would be hole 12. This is a slight downhill shot onto a (unique to the park) heavily wooded hill. The basket sits right in the middle of the hill that is easily obtainable should you make the 5 foot tunnel from 200 feet away. If you don't birdie it, a bogey is almost inevitable.

Following hole 12, the course opens up quite a bit for some fun, long par 3's and 4's. Hole 16 is a short throw across a seldom used road and the course finishes up with a couple of extremely fun holes.

As far as large park courses go, 'risk / reward' is the name of the game here at Freeman Park. We had a great time playing at this course and hope to play it again soon. Nice, helpful locals, a laid back vibe, and the scenery really can't be beat for a course in town. Should be on the list for any DG road trip that places you in the area; and you locals, well, you are lucky to have this course nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Regular

1    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: fiya79
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great course, agree with other posters on the average. still excellent amintenance. Getting altenate pin sleeve in 2010.
Cons: ! none I can think of.
Other Thoughts: People conflicts aren't as bad as I would expect for a very popular course in a big Idaho city. I rarely have to skip a hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great park!

1    9/5/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice fairways, easy to navigate. I played it alone at sunrise on a Saturday, so I didn't experience the people factor.
Cons: No real valid cons in my opinion, but like I said, I played early in the morn. on a saturday. I was on a road trip.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth stopping and playing if you are passing through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty of a Course

1    4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park - really nice. Baskets and tee pads in great condition. A must-play if one is in the area.
Cons: Not really challenging environment since it's relatively wide open. Some of the tee pads seem a little short. An extra few feet would go a long while since I think many of us are used to teeing off "natural" or concrete but rarely both. It often seems VERY windy.
Other Thoughts: A great place to bring beginners, since it's gorgeous and there's not too many obstacles. I concur with someone else's opinion that the morning has less wind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Freeman Park!

3/30/2008   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neatly carved tee box signs, nice concrete tee pads and high quality baskets. Beautiful place to play.
Cons: As another reviewer noted, there is some unwanted (non-golfer) foot traffic here, but not too much. All in all a very nice I.F. landmark.
Other Thoughts: Built in a Vietnam War Memorial Park, this 18 hole delight offers some very contrasting views and challenging, fun holes. Played it many times during my Search and Rescue days up there in Bonneville County (2001, 2003). Always a good time....recommended.....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.