Disc Golf Store
Idaho Falls, ID 
Freeman Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 357ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Something for everyone

5+    7/10/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
Pros: Expansive city park
Cement tee boxes and good signage
Double-chain baskets
A reasonable amount of up and down
Hole lengths vary from moderately short and highly technical holes to holes that are very long and favor brute-force players.
Normally not busy at all.
Some holes have water and require more accuracy.
Cons: There is a lot of open space, and most holes are not that technical. They tend to favor power players
Other Thoughts: A rapidly flowing stream/ditch comes into play on three holes in the front nine. The water flows fast enough that even though discs usually sink and stay on the bottom, they could be swept all the way to the Snake River and be lost for good. Be ready to run down and jump in the water after discs that go awry. This can be stressful for inexperienced/inaccurate players.

 

2-4    7/29/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -What caught my eye first was the wood signs that were very accurate with trees, trains, and water.
-Very open grass fields with trees making for some imaginitive shots.
-Distances vary for the long bombs to the tight shots.
-The creek makes for a great hazard but does not run the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: -The second time we played was on a Sunday afternoon, the park was a lot busier and shots had to be timed between crowds.
-There are some shady characters in the park, just keep your head up.
Other Thoughts: During a 15 hour drive we took the hour stop and played this course a second time. I found this course to be one of my favorite courses in the west coast so far. Just so many fun shots, long and short.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Curbman32

5+    8/1/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: bldiehl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging pin locations, and quite a panaramic view.

Hole 15 can get some phenominal distance because of the wind coming over the hill. It is a 600 foot hole and can easily be made in 3. With a little luck and the right throw it can be done in 2.
Cons: There is a little creek that runs through holes 4 through 8 that can be difficult to locate disks in. Yellow and white disks are most easily found in the creek.

Hole 13 if you throw with a left handed turn on your disk you can easily wind up in the Snake River and it is impossible to retrieve a lost disk in there.
Other Thoughts: I play on this course daily, and it is a terrific course to play on!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun but super rough.

1    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Wagpup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes are mostly very different. Going up hill, down hill, thru trees, over a small river.
-Very spread out holes.
-Varing distance of holes.
-Concrete driving pads
-Good signs.
Cons: -Got lost a couple times, because I didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I've ever played. I saw it had a rating of 4 and thought because it was the only serious course in town that it got bloated with comparative ratings. But it deserves a 4 or better. It would be a 5 if there was some map somewhere (I could of missed it somewhere) Very Recommonded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun!

5+    6/13/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-attractive wooden signs at each tee showing distance/par/obstacles
-BEAUTIFUL PARK
-good use of creek in front nine
-very friendly locals
-challenging, yet still good for beginners
Cons: -almost always a bit of a breeze, if not a high wind
-occasional events during summer months sometimes impede certain holes
Other Thoughts: I grew up here, but actually started playing after I moved away. Play here everytime I visit family, it is the second best course I've been too. Lot's of fun, helps you master longer drives (which I desperately need) as well as some technical shots. I would definitely recommend bringing heavier discs you have them, due to this course I haven't bought a single disc lighter than 165.

Another note: previous reviews talked about the ampitheatre being in the way for hole 10, but it is actually in between holes 9 and 10. However, if people are using it you may have them wandering into either one of the fairways so keep a look out- usually there are little kids too.

Overall I would highly recommend this course to anyone travelling through the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 7/1/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of par 3 and par 4s. Well maintained park. Elevation changes, a creek, and a variety of trees create different challenges. A couple nice long distance drives on the back nine.
Cons: Plenty of pine trees to catch your discs.
Other Thoughts: The more courses I play, the more I come back to this one as my favorite.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.