Idaho Falls, ID
Freeman Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 191ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
In town, out of town

1    2/23/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 63  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot variety is great.
In town, but almost has an out of town feel with great views.
Good use of elevation.
Multiple pin placements.
Difficult fairways/greens with O.B.
Minimal water
Holes 1,9,10,18 play nice traditional loops if you only have time to play 9, you're right back at the car.
Cons: Not many trees, but good use of those that were available.
Some holes played much to close or over walking paths.
Not clearly marked "To next tee"
Short tee pads
Other Thoughts: All in all, I enjoyed this course. I think during heavy park use, some holes could be dangerous with their proximity to the walking path, but there are simple design changes that could make this a non-issue. Was very glad to have a local while playing and if you don't have one, try to find a course map before venturing out.
Outside of the few questionable holes along the walking path, anyone who gets to call this their "home course" has it pretty well off from a proximity to town perspective.
Also nice that a 5 minute drive could put you in a place to pick up those things you might have forgot (water, snack, etc.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course but rated too high

1    8/20/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: AnnhyzerFrank
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Good variety of shots/ shot distances
Good signage/ easy flow of course
Mostly open course - difficult to lose discs even in the only water in the park
Liked the holes with the elevation changes.
Variable hole distances have something for beginer and advanced players. Additionally I liked the Variety of hyzer, annhyzer, and straight shots this course had to offer.
Well maintained park
Cons: Crowds at several holes unknowing they were on the course or in the line of fire.
Many cars parked near the roads complicate some holes
For the rating this course received before I think my expectation was a little too high . There isn't a whole lot wrong with this course, but it just doesn't have the local, signature holes that really sets a course apart from the average city park. Among city parks this one is great but after the round ended I wasn't exactly blown away.
Other Thoughts: This was an overall fun course to play. Haven't played the other courses in Idaho Falls but this appears to be the best one. The course does a good job with the space available in the park and I am a visiting Oegonian disc golfer so take my opinion with a grain of salt. The course is definitely worth stopping and playing a quick one. If i I lived in Idaho falls I would play this course all the time. Expect to have a good time but don't expect the best course you've ever played.

Something for everyone

5+    7/10/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: Alan01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Expansive city park
Cement tee boxes and good signage
Double-chain baskets
A reasonable amount of up and down
Hole lengths vary from moderately short and highly technical holes to holes that are very long and favor brute-force players.
Normally not busy at all.
Some holes have water and require more accuracy.
Cons: There is a lot of open space, and most holes are not that technical. They tend to favor power players
Other Thoughts: A rapidly flowing stream/ditch comes into play on three holes in the front nine. The water flows fast enough that even though discs usually sink and stay on the bottom, they could be swept all the way to the Snake River and be lost for good. Be ready to run down and jump in the water after discs that go awry. This can be stressful for inexperienced/inaccurate players.

Rated too High

1    9/14/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 33  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: 1. Signs had map, par, distance
2. Beautiful park
3. Very calming relaxing course
4. Water fountains and bathrooms
5. Concrete tees
Cons: 1. Navigation was terrible
2. Lengthy holes
3. Not much variety
4. Tee pads could be a bit bigger
5. Walking path goes through a few holes
Other Thoughts: This course was good, however somewhat of a letdown because of such high reviews it had. This course was fun and relaxing, however not challenging or technical. The best holes were the first 7, after that they all just seemed the same, Long and boring. With that being said, I loved the first 7 holes. Throwing over and playing near the creek was a blast. These few holes were very unique and interesting enough for me to love this course. I saw some old posts where the holes used to be, wish I played it back then. Overall a good course, could be very good to excellent with some better holes, benches, or larger tees. But definitely a fun round and would recommend.


2-4    7/29/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -What caught my eye first was the wood signs that were very accurate with trees, trains, and water.
-Very open grass fields with trees making for some imaginitive shots.
-Distances vary for the long bombs to the tight shots.
-The creek makes for a great hazard but does not run the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: -The second time we played was on a Sunday afternoon, the park was a lot busier and shots had to be timed between crowds.
-There are some shady characters in the park, just keep your head up.
Other Thoughts: During a 15 hour drive we took the hour stop and played this course a second time. I found this course to be one of my favorite courses in the west coast so far. Just so many fun shots, long and short.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good All Around

2-4    6/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
Pros: Varying hole positions, some short technical shots, other long fairway shots. Front 9 as mentioned above are mostly shorter, with a few fun long shots. Trees add a measure of difficulty with most holes requiring some sort of break. Very well maintained park, nice grass making discs easy to find.
Cons: Some of those pine trees are thick, and swallow discs easily, and getting sap all over your hands while climbing to get the disc out is no fun. Shorter pads on holes that I have played in the past, some holes are along roads that cars frequently park on, which isn't good for a beginner / novice player. Difficulty knowing where the next hole is after some of the holes. Had to walk around some to find where to go.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Idaho Falls in my opinion, and living in Rexburg, it's a great park right off the freeway to find and get to easily.

 Excellent Course

5+    5/15/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: srobbins13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I absolutely love this course.
Cons: Don't roll your disc into the stream. It is a bit to wide to easily get it back out of the middle.
Other Thoughts: You can play either the front or the back nine on a short day, or go for a full round. The front nine is a more technical round, while the back nine are for more of the long shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good course

5+    11/21/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: Drewmon71
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: nice well kept course. great variety of distance and throws. Creek comes into play on a few holes, but is dry by the fall. nice use of elevation and multiple pin placements
Cons: distances on signs are not accurate. Long walk between some of the holes

  Curbman32

5+    8/1/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: bldiehl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging pin locations, and quite a panaramic view.

Hole 15 can get some phenominal distance because of the wind coming over the hill. It is a 600 foot hole and can easily be made in 3. With a little luck and the right throw it can be done in 2.
Cons: There is a little creek that runs through holes 4 through 8 that can be difficult to locate disks in. Yellow and white disks are most easily found in the creek.

Hole 13 if you throw with a left handed turn on your disk you can easily wind up in the Snake River and it is impossible to retrieve a lost disk in there.
Other Thoughts: I play on this course daily, and it is a terrific course to play on!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun but super rough.

1    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Wagpup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes are mostly very different. Going up hill, down hill, thru trees, over a small river.
-Very spread out holes.
-Varing distance of holes.
-Concrete driving pads
-Good signs.
Cons: -Got lost a couple times, because I didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I've ever played. I saw it had a rating of 4 and thought because it was the only serious course in town that it got bloated with comparative ratings. But it deserves a 4 or better. It would be a 5 if there was some map somewhere (I could of missed it somewhere) Very Recommonded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.