Idaho Falls, ID 
Freeman Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 257ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Curbman32

5+    8/1/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: bldiehl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging pin locations, and quite a panaramic view.

Hole 15 can get some phenominal distance because of the wind coming over the hill. It is a 600 foot hole and can easily be made in 3. With a little luck and the right throw it can be done in 2.
Cons: There is a little creek that runs through holes 4 through 8 that can be difficult to locate disks in. Yellow and white disks are most easily found in the creek.

Hole 13 if you throw with a left handed turn on your disk you can easily wind up in the Snake River and it is impossible to retrieve a lost disk in there.
Other Thoughts: I play on this course daily, and it is a terrific course to play on!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun but super rough.

1    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Wagpup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes are mostly very different. Going up hill, down hill, thru trees, over a small river.
-Very spread out holes.
-Varing distance of holes.
-Concrete driving pads
-Good signs.
Cons: -Got lost a couple times, because I didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I've ever played. I saw it had a rating of 4 and thought because it was the only serious course in town that it got bloated with comparative ratings. But it deserves a 4 or better. It would be a 5 if there was some map somewhere (I could of missed it somewhere) Very Recommonded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun!

5+    6/13/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-attractive wooden signs at each tee showing distance/par/obstacles
-BEAUTIFUL PARK
-good use of creek in front nine
-very friendly locals
-challenging, yet still good for beginners
Cons: -almost always a bit of a breeze, if not a high wind
-occasional events during summer months sometimes impede certain holes
Other Thoughts: I grew up here, but actually started playing after I moved away. Play here everytime I visit family, it is the second best course I've been too. Lot's of fun, helps you master longer drives (which I desperately need) as well as some technical shots. I would definitely recommend bringing heavier discs you have them, due to this course I haven't bought a single disc lighter than 165.

Another note: previous reviews talked about the ampitheatre being in the way for hole 10, but it is actually in between holes 9 and 10. However, if people are using it you may have them wandering into either one of the fairways so keep a look out- usually there are little kids too.

Overall I would highly recommend this course to anyone travelling through the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Most of the Baskets were moved Spring 2010

5+    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FYI: NEW PIN PLACEMENTS SPRING 2010
-Awsome park along Snake River
-Elevation, trees, distance, good variety
-Course design is excellent
-Bathrooms and drinking fountains (summer)
-Spread out course with no overlap
-Good use of water and trees
-Nice cement tee pads
-Practice basket
Cons: -New pin locations are not updated on signs
-Unknown distances until signs are updated
-Park is crowded during popular times, but most days its wide open
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course for a few years and its great to have different tee positions. It is like getting a new course to the area. I've heard different opinions on the new pin locations, but I think the change is fun and challenging. New technical holes to figure out too. It is still pretty easy to navigate except hole #3, #16, and #17. Here are some tips:

#3 - Look straight from the tee pad back behind center field of the baseball field and the basket is behind the pine trees.

#16 - Across the dirt road behind the trees

#17 - Left of the bathroom in the corner behind the tree

All baskets were moved except number 7, 12, 13, and 18. This is a great park with lots of open space and beautiful surroundings. The course allows for a good variety of shots. Plenty of distance with a good mix of technical shots. The elevation, water, and trees make it challenging. There is a walking path that you can take along the river all the way down town. Here is a link to the course website and scorecard, but this is for the original pin placements until they update it:
http://www.idahofallsdiscgolf.com/course.html

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Varied course in huge park

1    6/12/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Flat, grippy, concrete tees
-Hand made wood carved tee signs. Large and visible
-Fantastic mix of par 3 and par 4 holes
-Perfectly manicured grass on the entire course
-Innova DISCatchers
-Practice basket
-Information sign at beginning of course
-Variety in holes
-Fairly easy to navigate, with a few small hiccups
-Front and back nine navigate back to the starting point allowing quick play, 'refills,' etc.
Cons: -If there are multiple pin locations, they are not described on tee signs
-If there are not multiple pin locations, some of the tee signs were inaccurate as far as locating the basket
-Some par 4 holes could use slightly longer tee pads.
-A few holes throw over or near roads with cars parked on them creating unnecessary hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course set along the banks of the Snake river in a very large memorial park. Rolling hills and spread out trees dominate the majority of the course, with a section in the first 9 with a larger number of trees and holes running along a small, but swift creek.

The front nine contained what I felt were the majority of the shorter, technical shots, but the general theme of this course is long and open. Trees generally dictate particular drives (usually right turning) which was an added challenge off the tee instead of just ripping it. The back was more open and less technical, but small treats like hole 12 added some fun par 3 birdie opportunities in the mix.

As I am finding a lot in this area, the more fun holes all seem to be side-arm friendly. While a few holes had some nice left turns for the backhand thrower, the longer, more 'wow' holes were all side-arm. Particularly 18.

Some memorable holes:
Hole one dangerously started out the course on a downhill shot across a dirt road lined with cars. The risk was windshields and the reward was a birdie. I comfortably parred the hole. I would imagine this area being a ton less busy on any day besides an event filled Saturday.

Hole 4 was a narrow tunnel with a creek right in front of the hole. Smarter golfers would lay up for a shot over the creek for an easy par, but dumber golfers who think they will ace the hole like me will throw their disc into the creek.

The next few holes snake around the creek and are in my opinion a great asset to the course. Careful placement and thinking ahead on your shot is essential.

Hole 8 is very long and as you close in on the basket, you become dangerously close to a road lined with parked vehicles. Once again I do not believe this is the norm, but I switched to a rubber putter for this hole just to play it safe.

While many others have mentioned an 'amphitheater' on hole 10, we noticed a heavily used area to the left of the fairway but was for the most part very out of the way of public use when compared to the front half.

If the course has a signature hole, in my opinion it would be hole 12. This is a slight downhill shot onto a (unique to the park) heavily wooded hill. The basket sits right in the middle of the hill that is easily obtainable should you make the 5 foot tunnel from 200 feet away. If you don't birdie it, a bogey is almost inevitable.

Following hole 12, the course opens up quite a bit for some fun, long par 3's and 4's. Hole 16 is a short throw across a seldom used road and the course finishes up with a couple of extremely fun holes.

As far as large park courses go, 'risk / reward' is the name of the game here at Freeman Park. We had a great time playing at this course and hope to play it again soon. Nice, helpful locals, a laid back vibe, and the scenery really can't be beat for a course in town. Should be on the list for any DG road trip that places you in the area; and you locals, well, you are lucky to have this course nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Regular

1    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: fiya79
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great course, agree with other posters on the average. still excellent amintenance. Getting altenate pin sleeve in 2010.
Cons: ! none I can think of.
Other Thoughts: People conflicts aren't as bad as I would expect for a very popular course in a big Idaho city. I rarely have to skip a hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great park!

1    9/5/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice fairways, easy to navigate. I played it alone at sunrise on a Saturday, so I didn't experience the people factor.
Cons: No real valid cons in my opinion, but like I said, I played early in the morn. on a saturday. I was on a road trip.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth stopping and playing if you are passing through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 7/1/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of par 3 and par 4s. Well maintained park. Elevation changes, a creek, and a variety of trees create different challenges. A couple nice long distance drives on the back nine.
Cons: Plenty of pine trees to catch your discs.
Other Thoughts: The more courses I play, the more I come back to this one as my favorite.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Freeman Park, Idaho Falls

5/5/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 153  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is on mowed grassy area. Teepads, Teesigns make it easy to navigate. Fairly challenging course with short and long holes to play.
Cons: College campus so lots of people walking around or sitting on fairways during the day. Hole ten conflicts with amphitheatre. Neighbors on hole 6 and 9 have complained about disc golfers in their backyard.
Other Thoughts: This course is better than average with all eighteen holes played on a well maintained grassy area. Definitely one of the better courses in the area only a 1/4 mile off of I-15. For the most part it is well designed with only a couple of holes that seriously conflict with anything, a stray shot on 6 or 9 will put you into the backyards of neighboring homes and # ten teepad needs to be relocated to put the outdoor amphitheatre out of play. Aside from that its a great course, just need to avoid the high travel times when people are walking around on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty of a Course

1    4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park - really nice. Baskets and tee pads in great condition. A must-play if one is in the area.
Cons: Not really challenging environment since it's relatively wide open. Some of the tee pads seem a little short. An extra few feet would go a long while since I think many of us are used to teeing off "natural" or concrete but rarely both. It often seems VERY windy.
Other Thoughts: A great place to bring beginners, since it's gorgeous and there's not too many obstacles. I concur with someone else's opinion that the morning has less wind.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.