Muskegon, MI 
McGraft Park Share
Uploaded By: Hyramdubya  
Shot of the Creek



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
McGraft Park

5+    12/20/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
This review was updated on 6/28/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Centrally located for Western Muskegon. +Umm, it has baskets...
+If you like l-o-n-g drives, it has quite a few.
+You can generally meet some nice folks.
+Lots of BIG trees for some fun 'pinball'!
+Hole 7 short tee is one of my favorites, you can throw out over the road and have it cut back, pretty cool!
Cons: -Really, really, really bad dirt tee pads, probably the worst I have played

UPDATE ***I hear they are putting in concrete pads this summer thanks to tee pad sponsorships, that is very cool!

- A few spots you can completely loose your disc, such as holes 10 and 11, 16 I think?
- (they) did not take advantage of the topagraphy.
-A lot of the hole play right along side of two different roads, Twice I have had a drive land in the road and people driving stop and pick them up, lost one that way. I have seen it happen to other people and discs run over!
-No signs / arrows
-Flow is really goofy, you have to walk from basket 7 on the road to 8 and then cross that road to get to 10 then cross it again to get back
-Some of the front 9 holes are weird because you can mistake which basket you are actually throwing for.
Other Thoughts: ^It is better than nothing?
^Personally, with concrete tee pads, maybe some benches and signs I think this place 'could' be pretty good.
^It does get ALOT of play! I have been here many times and seen people on every hole!
^Hole 2 plays next to a basketball court, Saw a fight breakout after a 'baller' got hit
^A few holes play along a swamp, stay out the water! Don't drink it and if you get it on you, wash up soon, it is toxic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 depressing...

1    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -there are baskets
-there are trees
-there are wood sign posts
-some variety
-um...you're still disc golfing
Cons: -horrible flow through park
-single chain baskets
-tee signs have horribly wrong distances if even on post
-next basket locations not easy to find (if at all)
-many redundant large tree holes
-water hazards are more like muddy city water sewage hazards
Other Thoughts: Ok...this day might have been my most depressing round of disc golf I have played...BUT let me start this off by saying that I was glad to see Muskegon have A disc golf course in this area than not to have one...that aside this place was the epitome of the city and location, and that's not so good.

The park is a so so location in economic down turned Muskegon and it feels like it. 6x6 wooden posts with huge numbers that mark the dirt "pro" and "am" spots on the ground. Single chain yellow rimmed baskets. First 6 holes that look and play the same with minimal differences. Hole 7 a slight downhill that shoots RIGHT next to a busy road/power lines. Very poor location for a hole. Hole 8,9, and 10??? Had NO idea where these holes where. After 7 all you see is the post for 11. After the round a local told me you had to cross the road bridge and it was on the other side hidden by thick brush. Ok?

Hole 11 starts to run you along side a swappy area then back UP to the trees for 12 and 13, then back down to the swamp for 14 then back up for 15 in the same old trees then over to 16. weird weird course flow.

Hole 16 plays slightly downhill and involves throwing over a small creek that smells of city sewage and looks like burnt coffee. If I were to toss a disc in this "water" I would probably leave it in the fear of contracting Hep B...kind of like the same fear when banging Pam Anderson.

Holes 17 and 18 play along side the swamp region again and leave you FAR away from the parking lot you started. Once again, poor layout.

Like I said, such a mediocre park and layout. In my honest opinion I think a reworking of this park with some effort and maintenance could raise it up to a 2, maybe a 3. This is a neighborhood course for sure so one can't complain too much. Very NON representative of the West Michigan areas finer courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sled hills and squirles

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an easy course for anyone who's starting. This park is kept clean.
Cons: Advanced players won't find this course fun. Straight shots, no pads, and the hole placement was just a circle.
Other Thoughts: This is just a random course. No signs just wooden posts, no maps, no tee's.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.